Albuquerque, NM 
Roosevelt Park Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #5 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 If Only...

1    6/16/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- If only... there was more room this course would be bad ass.
- There are some serious golf shots on this course. Championship stuff... however, the 10 baskets on 18 holes is crazy! They did what they could with the space provided and really made a nice course here though.
- Seriously, some of these shots are sooo good it's not funny. Beautifully designed picturesque, postcard quality shots! Some very memorable holes. If only... other people on a different hole weren't throwing at my basket too.
- For a hot ass day, this park was cool. It plays almost entirely in the shade and on grass... and since the wind is always blowing... it's cool.
- Awesome use of elevation on this course. Great use of danger as well with the pin placements being near a lot of OB.
- There was a large disc golf community.
Cons:
- 10 baskets on 18 holes. Confusion. This made for some long waits at the tee-pad.
- This course crosses over itself so many time with its design the way it is that is could be dangerous.
Other Thoughts:
- There is a nice brewery in this town called the Chama River Brewing Company (sp?). Nice IPA and a good burger.
- Oh yeah... if driving across the country from west to east... don't forget to take into account the time changes you will be driving through. On this day I went through two time zones and almost missed my opportunity to play Amarillo.
My Score: -2

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: t's kitty
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Alot of friendly and helpful people. Different shots with trees to make it challenging and fun.
Cons: Some homeless sleeping in the park and also recreational drug user on course and off. Though none bother you. Also beware of flying discs and also allow extra time to play due to shared baskets.
Other Thoughts: Nice setting compared to just flat desert play

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is...

2-4    5/16/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: English101
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is tucked neatly into central Abq. This course makes excellent use of elevation and has a couple of extremely entertaining holes. Well established trees help make the course more technical and a couple of "longish" holes help out with the difficulty rating here. The strongest holes are the ones that cross the small gulley/valley and use both the trees and elevation. Additionally the locals were friendly.
Cons: The shared baskets and criss-crossing shots can be difficult to follow and dangerous. Lots of homeless and other people who appear clueless wandering around the course or asleep next to catchers. A couple of the shorter holes were way too easy. No point using anything but a putter. One hole was like 130 feet with a giant pine tree right next to the catcher, just chuck your putter into the tree it falls next to the catcher and you get a birdie, those kinds of shots really aren't a lot of fun for me. Even with the map the course can be difficult to follow. The layout wasn't always a logical progression and even one of the locals I played with kinda got lost.
Other Thoughts: With all of that being said, the course was fun, the setting was nice and worth the minimal effort to get there. The course layout and shared catchers is understandable considering the limited space and circumstances (but still keeps the overall score down a bit). Made for an enjoyable afternoon. I would stop by again if I am in Abq. and have an afternoon to kill.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Play it.

5+    9/16/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Juggalo Alex
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Basket arrangements and older trees make for a picturesque round. Good course for friendly players and the avid professional.
Cons: Being that the course is downtown, watch for the homeless, the ignorant, and the drug dealers. "Fore" should be yelled whenever the park gets a little full. The course could use not being watered twice a day.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the drug dealers, and the morons who stand next to the baskets, the park is all-in-all one of the better parks in all the state of New Mexico. Come play a round with me - 505-463-9122. I'm always up for a game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/22/2006   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 3/31/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course near downtown ABQ in a well-kept park with large elms and lots of elevation changes. Tee pads are great as well as the signs for each hole. I printed off a course map before coming. This has a very good combination of uphill and downhill technical shots varying in length. Good practice for hilly upshots. Friendly locals helped me get around easier.
Cons: Having 9 shared baskets amongst 18 tees can slow down play on a busy day. You have to watch for flying discs at all times on the fairways as well as yelling "Fore" when necessary on drives! The course can get busy when weather is nice.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth checking out if you are in the area!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/30/2009   2/1/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, nice city park. Good tee pads and OK signs. Good baskets, some uniquely challenging drives through holes in the trees. Nice locals who helped me find holes.
Cons: Too many shared baskets. A somewhat small urban-style park with others not playing disc golf. Fairly difficult navigation.
Other Thoughts: City could use a more picturesque park outside metro area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cool little park

1    7/26/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gotta review this course because it is a fantastic course and no one has reviewed it yet. I went and played while on a trip through the area. It is a very pretty park with rolling hills and large trees throughout. The park is small and the holes are very "strategically" placed. I enjoyed each and every hole because they all had their own unique challenge. Very picturesque park. Many friendly people playing.
Cons: There was a lot of thrower traffic when we played. The fairways cross paths and each basket is shared by two different tees, so you have to be on alert at all times for flying discs. "Fore" is a commonly heard being yelled across the park.
Other Thoughts: Try to go early morning when it will be less crowded. Even when it was crowded, we enjoyed it thouroughly and liked getting to mingle with the local disc golf crowd.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.