Huntsville, AL 
Univ. of Ala. Huntsville (UAH) Share
Uploaded By: BmaEngnr92 Hole #14 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 345ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 UAH

1    1/15/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful college campus setting
- Well maintained grounds and course
- Lots of OB increases difficulty and adds interest
- Great signage on every hole
- Big concrete tee pads on every hole
- DisCatcher baskets are like new and have big, bright yellow flags for easy spotting
- Nice layout and course flow, with a few blips (see cons below)
- Decent variety: many long and open, some through trees, a few wooded, plenty of water to avoid by going around or over
- Many of the open holes are great throws: super long fairways with rolling hills and just enough trees and/or water to make you have to think
- Great water hazards on holes #13 and #17
Cons:
- Hole #3 is impossible to find without a map
- Must cross busy street between holes 11-12, 13-14, 14-15, 16-17 and 17-18
- The holes along the creek get a lot of standing water for days after heavy rain
- Holes #1 and #2 are located on intramural fields and can be unplayable when games are in progress
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course located on the University of Alabama Huntsville campus. While some players may find the open holes a bit repetitive, what the course lacks in variety it more than makes up for in beauty. The campus is pristine, the course is well maintained, and I really love the green grass fairways on rolling hills built along the wandering creek. Be sure to check out the numerous photos on this site that better illustrate what I am talking about. It was a bummer that the first two holes were relocated to an open field because this seems to be a downgrade from the previous layout. It also appears that some of the long holes have been further lengthened. For example, hole #10 is shown as 453' but is clearly longer than the adjacent hole #11 which is 609'. Finally, I absolutely loved the two over water holes (#13 "The Leech" and #17 "The Dragon"). Both offer challenge to the advanced player (a tight tree-lined opening on "The Leech" and a 350' shore-to-shore throw on "The Dragon") while offering less daunting yet enjoyable options for the less talented player such as myself. I look forward to playing UAH on my next visit to the Huntsville area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  uah course

5+    6/8/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: aj_777
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is nice to play if you can throw 250 to 350 ft. It is a good course to practice on getting more distance. I trained on it almost 3 times a week and it was definitely a good challenge. I enjoy playing 1-8 the most. Most of the holes require basically the same throw.
Cons: Some holes are near roads, which one road is quite busy. And some are by the creek/lake, which can be really annoying especially on a windy day. People lose discs in there quite frequently. That's why I like 1-8. Only problem is 3-7 are back in a slightly wooded area and they don't always cut the grass frequently.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/22/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UAH is a challenging 18 hole course set around the perimeter (not buildings) of campus. There is an excellent mix of hole style here as it plays across both manicured campus lawns mainly around the lake and then in an area that looks like park land and not part of a college campus. Most of the holes would be considered more open, but there are several tight wooded holes too. Though relatively open there are usually some trees to avoid, lots of O.B. usually in the form of paved surfaces, of course wind, 2 creeks are in play on 3-4 holes, and the lake is a major factor on another 4-5 holes. Solid mix of hole distances, but most holes are at a length (400'-500') that most people will be playing for a 3 as there is no chance for a birdie as most people will have long approaches. This to me is a strength of the course testing your ability to approach accurately with your fairway drivers and mids, unlike so many courses where it is all about getting it under the basket off the tee on every hole.

The course is equipped with your standard concrete tees (except for new 1 and 2), great signs with map and distance, and 2-tone DisCatchers with sponsors on the band. In the grass island where #1 used to be the disc golf kiosk and a practice basket.
Cons: The redesign/move of #1 and #2, which used to be some unique and difficult holes have been deleted and moved to an adjacent open field. They are now nothing more than a good warm up, are pretty boring, and currently have natural tees. I would guess the holes were changed because of safety as the main campus road bordered both 1 and 2, however, the road easily comes into play on another 4 holes at least, so I am not sure why these had to be changed only. Navigation is a little confusing because #1's tee is still there by the kiosk, but it is now unused. #3 is always hard to find (and even harder with the redesign). Check out the course map as it is accurate from holes 3-18. Cross the street and cross the bridge towards some buildings and the tee is up what looks like a maintenance path in the woods.

UAH lacks any major elevation changes (not the course's fault, the land is just mostly flat) with #4 slightly downhill, #10 on a small sidehill and #11 slightly uphill, but that is really all there is. Every time I have played here, holes 5-6 were marshy because it is lower ground and is close to the creek, and, as a result, the fairways were not mowed. As the course plays around the lake use caution when throwing around the roads and sidewalks.

Con for some- there is good chance of losing discs. They are usually retrievable in the creeks, but the lake will swallow discs up.
Other Thoughts: UAH has hosted the PDGA Worlds twice (in 1983 and 1993), but it is a good indicator of how the game has changed so much since then. Just keep this in historical perspective as it is probably not the caliber of course that would be used for Worlds presently.

Park in the lot by the practice area island (what used to be hole #1). Huntsville may not have any top 50 national courses, but it does have several solid courses each with their own personality and style and they are all pretty close together. (For a good variety play more than one when you are here.) UAH used to be my clear cut favorite in Huntsville, but without the old #1 and #2 UAH loses 0.5 points in my rating for getting rid of what was possibly the most intimidating first tee shot on the planet and replacing them with junk filler.

*This review reflects the course conditions as I played it literally just a few days before the historic and devastating tornado outbreak on 4/27/11. I am unaware of any damage that may have occurred as a result since I live out of state. Obviously disc golf ranks way behind the loss of life and personal property, and my thoughts and prayers are with all those affected by this tragedy. Getting in and out of Huntsville may be difficult for a while, and I would suggest researching course playability before planning a trip to Alabama anytime soon.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 UAH DGC

2-4    10/12/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful coarse on UAH's campus. Long vast holes with great pin placement.
Cons: roads are right next to coarse, wasnt a big fan of it.
Other Thoughts: Bring ur waiters for hole 2 and 9!!! Oh and dont choke on the water holes

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Course For The Big Arms!

1    7/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through the woods, across the fields and then around a pond on the University of Alabama-Huntsville campus. This is most definitely a challenging course. The worlds were played here in 1983 and then again in 1993. You need to have the big arm to score well on this course. Most holes are long and out in the open fields. Between the length and the wind, it'll bring you to your knees. The signature holes are probably the two which play across the water. I like the fact that on both of these they have shorter alternate tees for us weak armed players or those who don't want to go fishing for their discs.
But I think the signature hole is the 698 foot # 4, I think, which follows a fairly narrow fairway until it opens up at the end.
The course has excellent teepads and the baskets are fine. There are tee signs at each hole. It's easy to navigate. Easy to read (from a distance) numbers on the baskets helped with first time navigation.
Cons: Really, I don't see anything glaringly wrong with course. It's kinda comes packaged this way. 500 foot holes across open fields are not my favorite but with a creek, OB's, trees, the wind and the ponds, there are more than enough hazards to challenge most any player.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't particularly want this as my home course only because my current playing level/style/tastes doesn't mesh well with this course. If you are a player capable of throwing 400-450', then you'll probably like this course a lot. This is just one of those excellent courses that doesn't neccesarily appeal to everyone. But that doesn't make it a bad course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/24/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Challenging - has long holes, water & wind that will test all levels of players
*Some awesome holes -- over water that make you think about what disc you're gonna throw -- and a long, multi-shot hole down a narrow path and into an open area
*OB comes into play on ~50% of holes....shot selection is important, as well as playing the wind
*Good signage with distances
*Fun combination of long & short holes
*All holes have valid fairways.
Cons: *Plays around a busy road
*More than a few 'tweener distance par 3.5 holes that are 450-500+ feet....you aren't going to get a 2, you shouldn't get a 4....these were probably legit par 4's when the course went in, but aren't now
*Much of the course plays along a road, on campus, or in sight of both -- not secluded at all
*Only one set of teepads; would be a really tough course for beginners
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course that i will always look forward to playing when visiting huntsville. I've played casually and in a tournament; for tournaments the course is setup with roped OB & poles to retrieve discs from cedars & water & is very groomed....playing it today casually, these elements were not there and the course seemed kinda overgrown, especially with privet in the wooded areas. Fun either way. All holes have valid fairways & most are visible from the tee, which is a huge perk. This is an open course with high exposure to the elements -- if it's sunny, you'll get plenty, and the same goes for wind.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/22/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UAH is a beautiful, well maintained course that will challenge both your distance and accuracy (through long up shots, placement holes and avoiding OB). The majority of the course is very long with half the holes over 400ft. Most of the course is wide open, but there are a couple wooded holes and a few other holes with strategically placed trees. There is OB in play on over half the holes in the form of roads, sidewalks and water.

While big distance can really help you out here, it can also get you in trouble if you aren't accurate. Distance is helpful, but I believe a player who can throw 300-350 ft accurately can do well here.

Course has great signage, long tee pads, the baskets are in good shape and even have flags on top of them.
Cons: Very little shade, bring water in the summer! It would be nice to have more trashcans and benches here.

The course has a very nice flow from hole to hole, however there is a bit of a walk from 13 to 14 and 14 to 15. It isn't difficult to find the next hole, but it's not obvious like it is on the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Keep that in mind this is a championship caliber course, not a par 3/ace run course. If this is the kind of course you're looking for, you won't be disappointing.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Championship Caliber Course

5+    12/12/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Championship caliber course that will test most aspects of your game, but none more than your middle approach shots. There is good signage and concrete tee pads on every hole. The course flows naturally, so finding the next hole shouldn't be a problem. There's also a lot distance for those with big arms, but it's not just a grip-it and rip-it course. It was designed to be a pro-level course, so a lot of the trouble is magnified when you start throwing it 400+ (which I don't ;)). It's right on campus, so it's usually well maintained, and you're close to stores and the like.

Holes 4 (The Beast), 13 (The Leech), & 17 (The Dragon) are demanding, but really good holes.
Cons: There are no trash cans or benches on the course, which detracts a bit, because there is no shade other than a few holes, and having a place to sit and rest would be a nice addition. It also borders a few busy campus roads, and one very busy road, so it can be a bit distracting sometimes. However, this isn't a big negative, because the roads allow for some strategic OB lines on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line, this a good course, but isn't necessarily beginner friendly. Most of the holes are very long, and several equally require good accuracy and big D. I enjoy playing the course due to it's challenge, and it's also a special course in the area because it has held USDGC twice, and the USWDGC. If you're looking for an easy pitch and putt course, this isn't it. However, if your looking for a good course that will challenge every facet of your game, then this is the place for you. I definitely recommend this course to anyone in the area, or anyone looking to take a day trip for some disc golf.

Favorite Holes: 2**(the old one), 4, 7, 9, 13, 16, 17, 18

**Update: 2 was a great hole, but now, due to the layout change, it leaves a lot to be desired.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best designs in the SE

1    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Pads are in great shape. Holes are challenging and require placement off the tee. There is a lot of thinking about how to set yourself up for approaches which I believe adds a lot to the game. Signs are excellent. Groundskeeping was immaculate. Bathrooms are close to a majority of the holes.
Cons: Litter...there are few (if any) garbage cans on the course. There is a small pond that some of the holes play around and it was full of trash all along the bank of hole 17. There was also a lot of trash in the woods lining hole 4.

Traffic Distractions...Some holes are close to the interstate. Some play along a strectch of a 4-lane road that is very very busy. Many other holes play along campus roads. There were more than one occasion where I would wait for traffic as flight paths go over the roads.

DiscCatchers...I just don't like them. But these have been decorated very well by the Rocket City Chain Gang.
Other Thoughts: If you asked me to grade the design of the course, I would give it around a 4.5. But the traffic that is encountered is a nuisance at some point. I know I am not the highest rated pro, but stepping up to a tee pad and thinking "if I don't get on top of this drive, it may hyzer out into 4 lanes of traffic" is not a thought that makes a course enjoyable. Strangely, I found this course to be almost stressful to play and I play for relaxation. The litter was a pretty big problem. If it was cleaned up with some garbage cans placed at every third hole or so, the course would look much better.

As a side note (this did not factor into my evalauation) I found the locals to be very unfriendly. There were two guys that were in front of me, which is what I wanted because I did not have a map and I wanted to see where they would go after holing out. After a few holes they yelled at me to play through. I told them why I was following them but they said I was "pressuring" them by waiting at the tee. So I finally thought "screw it" and I played through. Then about 4 holes later, they yelled ahead at me because I was taking too long and didn't know where to go. There was also another guy who jumped in front of me in the middle of the course. No big deal, I figured I would follow him. There are two holes that play parallel (down and back) and we both teed off at the same time, so our drives landed about the same distance, each in our own fairway. Well he was about 30 feet away, so I politely said "how's it going?" as I passed. He looked right at me, kinda shrugged his shoulders and grunted and walked right past. So I just finished my round and drove to Guntersville for the night.


10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.