Huntsville, AL 
Univ. of Ala. Huntsville (UAH) Share
Uploaded By: BmaEngnr92 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 678ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Bomber course

1    6/24/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 390  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's big. Big and you will need max distance to play this course. There are a few holes which are nasty and are tough shots near or over water. The open holes get really boring after the sixth one.
Cons: Dull. Not really worth playing given the focus on distance. Also, the back holes are not maintained and you should skip them. Hole 5 had no basket.
Other Thoughts: If you love to crush shots this is your course. Go out and show off to all your buddies. If you can't throw 400 feet this course is a nightmare. There will be no deuces for you.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lora

2-4    9/29/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: loraski
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: This was a very challenging course for myself, who is still a novice. I really enjoyed it, the campus is beautiful.
Cons: I don't know if I'll EVER be good enough to par some of the holes. Seems like more than a few should be par 4.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course and a beautiful walk.

 UAH

1    1/15/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Beautiful college campus setting
- Well maintained grounds and course
- Lots of OB increases difficulty and adds interest
- Great signage on every hole
- Big concrete tee pads on every hole
- DisCatcher baskets are like new and have big, bright yellow flags for easy spotting
- Nice layout and course flow, with a few blips (see cons below)
- Decent variety: many long and open, some through trees, a few wooded, plenty of water to avoid by going around or over
- Many of the open holes are great throws: super long fairways with rolling hills and just enough trees and/or water to make you have to think
- Great water hazards on holes #13 and #17
Cons:
- Hole #3 is impossible to find without a map
- Must cross busy street between holes 11-12, 13-14, 14-15, 16-17 and 17-18
- The holes along the creek get a lot of standing water for days after heavy rain
- Holes #1 and #2 are located on intramural fields and can be unplayable when games are in progress
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course located on the University of Alabama Huntsville campus. While some players may find the open holes a bit repetitive, what the course lacks in variety it more than makes up for in beauty. The campus is pristine, the course is well maintained, and I really love the green grass fairways on rolling hills built along the wandering creek. Be sure to check out the numerous photos on this site that better illustrate what I am talking about. It was a bummer that the first two holes were relocated to an open field because this seems to be a downgrade from the previous layout. It also appears that some of the long holes have been further lengthened. For example, hole #10 is shown as 453' but is clearly longer than the adjacent hole #11 which is 609'. Finally, I absolutely loved the two over water holes (#13 "The Leech" and #17 "The Dragon"). Both offer challenge to the advanced player (a tight tree-lined opening on "The Leech" and a 350' shore-to-shore throw on "The Dragon") while offering less daunting yet enjoyable options for the less talented player such as myself. I look forward to playing UAH on my next visit to the Huntsville area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  uah course

5+    6/8/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: aj_777
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is nice to play if you can throw 250 to 350 ft. It is a good course to practice on getting more distance. I trained on it almost 3 times a week and it was definitely a good challenge. I enjoy playing 1-8 the most. Most of the holes require basically the same throw.
Cons: Some holes are near roads, which one road is quite busy. And some are by the creek/lake, which can be really annoying especially on a windy day. People lose discs in there quite frequently. That's why I like 1-8. Only problem is 3-7 are back in a slightly wooded area and they don't always cut the grass frequently.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/22/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UAH is a challenging 18 hole course set around the perimeter (not buildings) of campus. There is an excellent mix of hole style here as it plays across both manicured campus lawns mainly around the lake and then in an area that looks like park land and not part of a college campus. Most of the holes would be considered more open, but there are several tight wooded holes too. Though relatively open there are usually some trees to avoid, lots of O.B. usually in the form of paved surfaces, of course wind, 2 creeks are in play on 3-4 holes, and the lake is a major factor on another 4-5 holes. Solid mix of hole distances, but most holes are at a length (400'-500') that most people will be playing for a 3 as there is no chance for a birdie as most people will have long approaches. This to me is a strength of the course testing your ability to approach accurately with your fairway drivers and mids, unlike so many courses where it is all about getting it under the basket off the tee on every hole.

The course is equipped with your standard concrete tees (except for new 1 and 2), great signs with map and distance, and 2-tone DisCatchers with sponsors on the band. In the grass island where #1 used to be the disc golf kiosk and a practice basket.
Cons: The redesign/move of #1 and #2, which used to be some unique and difficult holes have been deleted and moved to an adjacent open field. They are now nothing more than a good warm up, are pretty boring, and currently have natural tees. I would guess the holes were changed because of safety as the main campus road bordered both 1 and 2, however, the road easily comes into play on another 4 holes at least, so I am not sure why these had to be changed only. Navigation is a little confusing because #1's tee is still there by the kiosk, but it is now unused. #3 is always hard to find (and even harder with the redesign). Check out the course map as it is accurate from holes 3-18. Cross the street and cross the bridge towards some buildings and the tee is up what looks like a maintenance path in the woods.

UAH lacks any major elevation changes (not the course's fault, the land is just mostly flat) with #4 slightly downhill, #10 on a small sidehill and #11 slightly uphill, but that is really all there is. Every time I have played here, holes 5-6 were marshy because it is lower ground and is close to the creek, and, as a result, the fairways were not mowed. As the course plays around the lake use caution when throwing around the roads and sidewalks.

Con for some- there is good chance of losing discs. They are usually retrievable in the creeks, but the lake will swallow discs up.
Other Thoughts: UAH has hosted the PDGA Worlds twice (in 1983 and 1993), but it is a good indicator of how the game has changed so much since then. Just keep this in historical perspective as it is probably not the caliber of course that would be used for Worlds presently.

Park in the lot by the practice area island (what used to be hole #1). Huntsville may not have any top 50 national courses, but it does have several solid courses each with their own personality and style and they are all pretty close together. (For a good variety play more than one when you are here.) UAH used to be my clear cut favorite in Huntsville, but without the old #1 and #2 UAH loses 0.5 points in my rating for getting rid of what was possibly the most intimidating first tee shot on the planet and replacing them with junk filler.

*This review reflects the course conditions as I played it literally just a few days before the historic and devastating tornado outbreak on 4/27/11. I am unaware of any damage that may have occurred as a result since I live out of state. Obviously disc golf ranks way behind the loss of life and personal property, and my thoughts and prayers are with all those affected by this tragedy. Getting in and out of Huntsville may be difficult for a while, and I would suggest researching course playability before planning a trip to Alabama anytime soon.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Revered course earned my respect...and my discs

1    10/20/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well designed course considering the grounds. I'm sure it's not easy to ask the school to let you cover their front lawn with yellow baskets.

The holes nearest the road feel picturesque, with the pond and fountains to close.
Cons: The day I visited the course, it felt pretty dilapidated. The grass was nearly all dead looking, there was a lot of undergrowth in the rough (had a briar needle penetrate my shoes!) and there was litter here and there.
I expected a bit more from what I'm told is a champion level course. Anyone with 500ft of driving power could murder this course on a calm day.

There's really not a lot of shot selections required. Even if it weren't as windy when I played it, I probably would have used only 1 or 2 different discs off the tee. Driver straight, appropriate approach disc, putter, repeat. Certainly, there are a few holes that this doesn't apply to, but I guess I was just expecting more.
Other Thoughts: This course takes an ugly turn after the front 9. You'd better get your birdies before you make the turn.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 UAH DGC

2-4    10/12/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful coarse on UAH's campus. Long vast holes with great pin placement.
Cons: roads are right next to coarse, wasnt a big fan of it.
Other Thoughts: Bring ur waiters for hole 2 and 9!!! Oh and dont choke on the water holes

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Course For The Big Arms!

1    7/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through the woods, across the fields and then around a pond on the University of Alabama-Huntsville campus. This is most definitely a challenging course. The worlds were played here in 1983 and then again in 1993. You need to have the big arm to score well on this course. Most holes are long and out in the open fields. Between the length and the wind, it'll bring you to your knees. The signature holes are probably the two which play across the water. I like the fact that on both of these they have shorter alternate tees for us weak armed players or those who don't want to go fishing for their discs.
But I think the signature hole is the 698 foot # 4, I think, which follows a fairly narrow fairway until it opens up at the end.
The course has excellent teepads and the baskets are fine. There are tee signs at each hole. It's easy to navigate. Easy to read (from a distance) numbers on the baskets helped with first time navigation.
Cons: Really, I don't see anything glaringly wrong with course. It's kinda comes packaged this way. 500 foot holes across open fields are not my favorite but with a creek, OB's, trees, the wind and the ponds, there are more than enough hazards to challenge most any player.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't particularly want this as my home course only because my current playing level/style/tastes doesn't mesh well with this course. If you are a player capable of throwing 400-450', then you'll probably like this course a lot. This is just one of those excellent courses that doesn't neccesarily appeal to everyone. But that doesn't make it a bad course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your wading boots!

5+    4/20/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: roc54
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Many different challenges. You can just fling it for everything you have on a couple holes. Beautiful.
Cons: Very challenging for a beginner like me. High risk of losing discs. Bring a pole. Longest hole is low lying and is in a marsh during the spring or after rains.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: wdemick
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: holes 3,4,6,14 and 18 are good dg holes.
Cons: most of the course plays along a busy road or are 700' open field shots.
Other Thoughts: Boring! Much preferred the old course. All the nearby courses are much more fun to play than this one.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center