Sylmar, CA
Sylmar (Veterans Park) Share
Uploaded By: flash86 Hole #16
3 / 230ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / 335ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Fairway (Right Side)



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice park course

1    11/10/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area with very little interference from other park activities. The course seemed like it gets a lot of love and work put in, with good concrete pads and baskets in good shape. The tee signs are pretty accurate, and once a local pointed out that the basket color corresponds with the pin placement we had no trouble figuring out where to throw.

The course uses the moderate elevation changes really well, with some pins that offer roll away potential on slopes. There are a couple fun downhill shots and some tricky uphills, the elevation especially comes into play on the back 9 and really adds some fun and variety.

The available trees are also used well, with creative tee placements that make you hit a gap or avoid a low ceiling even with a limited number of obstacles on the hole. Some of the pins are well protected, making you really think about where you leave your drive or upshot.
Cons: There is almost no rough here, so though several holes feel pretty technical off the tee there is little punishment for errant shots. You can recover for par after a terrible drive on the majority of the holes, and that definitely takes away some of the technical challenge. There are a lot of straight shots here, even many of the left or right turning holes still basically play straight ahead with a small bend near the end.

The course is pretty short. It does a pretty good job of keeping things challenging, but even the longer placements are mostly putter or mid shots for better players. There are a couple places where it felt like tees were in the line of fire from previous baskets. A couple signs were missing, and the transitions were a little unclear between a few holes. I didn't really like the holes that played right along the fences at the edges of the park, though that's hard to avoid when putting 18 holes in this small a property.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the course tough but not too frustrating or punitive, and the shorter tees on several holes offer a less challenging experience. The longer tees add a little challenge for better players who will find the course challenging off the tee but fairly easy to score well with few risk/reward decisions. This is one of the more technical and fun courses in the LA area, and definitely worth a stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good variety

2-4    3/19/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 33  Reviewed: 20
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A great variety of shots. On a lot of holes here u can elect to throw either a forehand or backhand.
-elevation changes; mild elevation changes going up and down with a nice downhill throw on Hole 11
-beautiful course with lots of trees and shade
-bathrooms
-plentiful parking
-cool pro shop with lots of discs
Cons: -can be windy (not necessarily a con if you're looking for a challenge)
-wish there was one or two super lengthy holes.
-some signs are missing, although you should be able to get by with a map which is provided at the proshop
Other Thoughts: Highlights:
-Hole 4 long position: cool double mando u have to hit then the shot drops off downhill
-Hole 8 in the most left position forces you to throw a big blind hyzer shot
-Hole 11 is a fun and tricky downhill shot
Overall a great course with a little bit of everything. The tree lines dictate what throws are available.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was a nice day

1    6/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: discatcher baskets in alternating colors as you play through
-variety of straight, left and right shots
-3 or more pin positions on EVERY HOLE
-alternate challenging pro pads on several hols
-variety of terrain including flat, uphill and downhill shots
-good use of all available land
-friendly locals including course pro Steve Rico
-terrain is developing and more trees have been added
-well maintained course, with benches or places to sit added on man holes
-If you want to get a good technical round of disc golf in, this is the place!
Cons: Gets really hot and Dusty in summer
Can be tough to find pin positions if you dont play there often
Not in the best surrounding area
One teepad is on edge and kept me from a full follow through, drop of is not that high but nonetheless i dont want to eat dirt

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A fun, but easy, short course

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: nawanda37
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice use of elevation
-Very well maintained and amenities on site, including great concrete tees (with hole numbers on them!), some hole signs, and discatcher baskets.
-Lack of underbrush makes it very forgiving for newer players (as does the distance)
-Course loops back to parking lot, which is always nice
-Fantastic, stress-free, walk in the park course.
Cons: -Very easy, both in terms of distance and lines needed, though the trees did make shaping fun. Wish I could have taken a crack at the gold tees :)
-Tough to find the pins/tees on many holes. The red/white/blue pattern helped, but I still had to walk a few holes to find the pin. The many missing tee signs didn't help.
-Yes, it is dusty. And hot. Why would anyone in LA leave their house when it's this hot (103* and 80%+ humidity)?
Other Thoughts: This review is based on playing only one time.
When I left, these were the main things going through my head:
-If you live somewhere with truly impressive courses, the 4.0+ ratings will make you expect a bit more in terms of golf.
-I had a fun time playing this course, and was grinning most of the time. Scoring under par even with a number of bad throws puts me in a good mood. At 8 am on a Tuesday, it was deserted and I could take my time.
-I never mind paying $2 for a well-maintained course, and this one was immaculate (probably helps that nothing could possibly grow on much of it).
-I'm assuming that I encountered a pretty easy set of pin placements, since I read about the technical nature of the course, but found it to be one of the easiest courses I've ever played. Skilled players can leave their high speed discs behind.
-I can see how this course would be a local favorite, but a rating of above 4.0 is pretty silly. I would assume that this rating comes from the age of the course and how cool the locals/scene are. These things are good, and they do factor into a course rating, but for out-of-towners it's a bummer that the numbers are so inflated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Park and a Pro Shop too.

1    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: BAM1961
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin placement, color coded baskets, A Pro Shop, concrete pads, make this a very nice course.
Cons: it must have been a bad day, cuase I did not see nice people really, and no one wanted to point out the next pad or a pin (must be a Cali thing. Texas is warm and welcome). The canopy is about 5 foot high in a lot of places so its best for short people (or kids). and last but not least why so many side walks in play. You're sure to go OB at least twice in a game. Pay to Play. I already did with those high prices in the Pro-Shop, but it is only 2 bucks.
Other Thoughts: all in all I play disc golf I had a good time so it was worth the trip. I really thought Californians played more Disc Golf, but I guess it's better and Bigger in TEXAS.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Highly Recommended

1    9/9/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: throwmadisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, I would like to say this is now my favorite course to play. When we played this course there wasn't to many people so it was nice and relax. I love the scenery, the holes are short but still make you give your shot some thought. Technical but not out of control. You got your left hooks, and you right hooks, you got your trees, your ups and a downs. My favorite hole is 11, you throw down the hill and your disc just flys real nice. They also have a man-made pyramid that a basket sits on top of raising the basket about 4 feet off the ground, we weren't lucky enough to have it the rounds we played but it looked like it would be alot of fun to play. Also one thing to bring attention to is the tee work and color coded tees and baskets. This set up makes the flow of the course extremely easy to follow. You simply see the color that is posted on the signs and that is the color basket you are throwing to. Such a great system to have. All the tees have some type of stone work or rock work around them. Tee pads to range in size but never to small. and the biggest plus of all..this side of the park is 100% Dedicated to Disc Golf.

Cons: Holes could be a little bit longer, its sylmar so on the wrong day it could be a scorcher! A little far out there (thats just for us because we live further south so its a bit of a drive)
Other Thoughts: PLAY HERE!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very well Maintained

6/26/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 35  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.8 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Looks like the course was once dominated by nasty shrubs and dead vegetation, however it looks as if there has been MUCH work done to eliminate this and break them down. The tees are very well take care of as well. The baskets are color coded and help you to see which placement they are in as each hole has 3/4 different pins. Very nice looking little course, but utilizes the area extremely well.
Cons: A little hard to follow some holes to the next pad, but not bad. A couple holes don't really have fairways, but only 2 or 3 are like this.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.