Sylmar, CA 
Sylmar (Veterans Park) Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #1
3 / 230ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
SoCal style Disc Golf

2-4    7/7/2015   7/8/2015
Review By: Phlick
Played: 63  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 33.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -'19th hole' disc golf shop on site - staffed and owned by the fabulous Rico family. Good selection of Legacy and Innova discs and accessories, cold drinks and snacks.
-Great teepads - lots of work went into these and it shows.
-Great signage - accurate distance and map of the hole
-Multiple Pins for each hole - at least 3 - some have 5. Replayability would be VERY good.
-Low traffic - all things considered
-Running water bathrooms on site
-Abundant trash cans
-Nice layout - good use of elevation and mandos.
Cons: -dusty and barren in the lower part of the park
-baskets are well worn
-navigation can be tough for first timers
-sketchy locale
Other Thoughts: Review is based on just a single day visit with multiple rounds. I played on a Tuesday afternoon from 2PM until about 7PM. The parking lot only had about 3 other cars in the DG lot, hardly anyone out on the course in the middle of a sunny afternoon in LA. With so few courses in the LA area given the population, I was very pleasantly surprised to see so few people. The lot was full when I left at 7PM, however it looked like the majority of the people parking were not disc golfing, the course still probably only had 5 or 6 groups playing, which is unbelievable.

$2 'green fee' is a great value - I've paid more to park my car for 30 minutes downtown. The shop is well stocked and has a nice collection of collector discs on display. Park is situated at the top of a hill and plays mostly on the slope, with a few holes going up and down, although It's a lot more fun to play down. The first 3 holes play in the grass/irrigated part of the course and the rest plays out on the woodchip/dirt/rock slope part of the course. Trees are sparse (by Pacific Northwest standards) - but well positioned in the course, continually coming into play. The course plays very fair with most holes being reachable by intermediate/advanced level players in all positions. The only opportunity to really rip into long range driver really only happens on a couple of holes - memorably -#4 which is a long slightly downhill shot that plays through a double mando 75' off the tee - and #12 which is only 300', but is about 50-60' up hill and plays more like 450'. There's a tough double mando on hole #16 that plays along a fence which could be tough for lefties or righty forehand only players. Locals were few and far between, but friendly and accommodating to let a single play through. The teepads and signage are some of the nicer ones I've played on. I really like the multiple pin positions and can see that this would make a killer home course with almost infinite re-playability. It's obvious a lot of blood sweat and tears have been put into this course. Being in a sketchy neighborhood there's going to be some un-savory NPC's hanging around the course, but the locals obviously do a good job keeping it as good as it is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    4/19/2015   4/28/2015
Review By: m_jank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is isolated from rest of park, only had to wait for a couple walking once.

-Was very quiet in the morning, around 11am when we played.

-Pro shop right at the first tee

- Beautiful surroundings. The park abuts right to the mountains.

-Nice elevation changes and multiple pin placements
Cons: -For a small course, if you aren't familiar you might get lost your first time.
-Very short course. Advanced players should have runs on must baskets.
-Dusty and hot.
-Pro shop was not open when we got their in the morning.
Other Thoughts: Nice, short course. Good elevation changes in a beautiful setting

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice park course

1    11/10/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area with very little interference from other park activities. The course seemed like it gets a lot of love and work put in, with good concrete pads and baskets in good shape. The tee signs are pretty accurate, and once a local pointed out that the basket color corresponds with the pin placement we had no trouble figuring out where to throw.

The course uses the moderate elevation changes really well, with some pins that offer roll away potential on slopes. There are a couple fun downhill shots and some tricky uphills, the elevation especially comes into play on the back 9 and really adds some fun and variety.

The available trees are also used well, with creative tee placements that make you hit a gap or avoid a low ceiling even with a limited number of obstacles on the hole. Some of the pins are well protected, making you really think about where you leave your drive or upshot.
Cons: There is almost no rough here, so though several holes feel pretty technical off the tee there is little punishment for errant shots. You can recover for par after a terrible drive on the majority of the holes, and that definitely takes away some of the technical challenge. There are a lot of straight shots here, even many of the left or right turning holes still basically play straight ahead with a small bend near the end.

The course is pretty short. It does a pretty good job of keeping things challenging, but even the longer placements are mostly putter or mid shots for better players. There are a couple places where it felt like tees were in the line of fire from previous baskets. A couple signs were missing, and the transitions were a little unclear between a few holes. I didn't really like the holes that played right along the fences at the edges of the park, though that's hard to avoid when putting 18 holes in this small a property.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the course tough but not too frustrating or punitive, and the shorter tees on several holes offer a less challenging experience. The longer tees add a little challenge for better players who will find the course challenging off the tee but fairly easy to score well with few risk/reward decisions. This is one of the more technical and fun courses in the LA area, and definitely worth a stop.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good variety

2-4    3/19/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A great variety of shots. On a lot of holes here u can elect to throw either a forehand or backhand.
-elevation changes; mild elevation changes going up and down with a nice downhill throw on Hole 11
-beautiful course with lots of trees and shade
-plentiful parking
-cool pro shop with lots of discs
Cons: -can be windy (not necessarily a con if you're looking for a challenge)
-wish there was one or two super lengthy holes.
-some signs are missing, although you should be able to get by with a map which is provided at the proshop
Other Thoughts: Highlights:
-Hole 4 long position: cool double mando u have to hit then the shot drops off downhill
-Hole 8 in the most left position forces you to throw a big blind hyzer shot
-Hole 11 is a fun and tricky downhill shot
Overall a great course with a little bit of everything. The tree lines dictate what throws are available.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Was a nice day

1    6/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: discatcher baskets in alternating colors as you play through
-variety of straight, left and right shots
-3 or more pin positions on EVERY HOLE
-alternate challenging pro pads on several hols
-variety of terrain including flat, uphill and downhill shots
-good use of all available land
-friendly locals including course pro Steve Rico
-terrain is developing and more trees have been added
-well maintained course, with benches or places to sit added on man holes
-If you want to get a good technical round of disc golf in, this is the place!
Cons: Gets really hot and Dusty in summer
Can be tough to find pin positions if you dont play there often
Not in the best surrounding area
One teepad is on edge and kept me from a full follow through, drop of is not that high but nonetheless i dont want to eat dirt

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A fun, but easy, short course

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: nawanda37
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice use of elevation
-Very well maintained and amenities on site, including great concrete tees (with hole numbers on them!), some hole signs, and discatcher baskets.
-Lack of underbrush makes it very forgiving for newer players (as does the distance)
-Course loops back to parking lot, which is always nice
-Fantastic, stress-free, walk in the park course.
Cons: -Very easy, both in terms of distance and lines needed, though the trees did make shaping fun. Wish I could have taken a crack at the gold tees :)
-Tough to find the pins/tees on many holes. The red/white/blue pattern helped, but I still had to walk a few holes to find the pin. The many missing tee signs didn't help.
-Yes, it is dusty. And hot. Why would anyone in LA leave their house when it's this hot (103* and 80%+ humidity)?
Other Thoughts: This review is based on playing only one time.
When I left, these were the main things going through my head:
-If you live somewhere with truly impressive courses, the 4.0+ ratings will make you expect a bit more in terms of golf.
-I had a fun time playing this course, and was grinning most of the time. Scoring under par even with a number of bad throws puts me in a good mood. At 8 am on a Tuesday, it was deserted and I could take my time.
-I never mind paying $2 for a well-maintained course, and this one was immaculate (probably helps that nothing could possibly grow on much of it).
-I'm assuming that I encountered a pretty easy set of pin placements, since I read about the technical nature of the course, but found it to be one of the easiest courses I've ever played. Skilled players can leave their high speed discs behind.
-I can see how this course would be a local favorite, but a rating of above 4.0 is pretty silly. I would assume that this rating comes from the age of the course and how cool the locals/scene are. These things are good, and they do factor into a course rating, but for out-of-towners it's a bummer that the numbers are so inflated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Park and a Pro Shop too.

1    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: BAM1961
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin placement, color coded baskets, A Pro Shop, concrete pads, make this a very nice course.
Cons: it must have been a bad day, cuase I did not see nice people really, and no one wanted to point out the next pad or a pin (must be a Cali thing. Texas is warm and welcome). The canopy is about 5 foot high in a lot of places so its best for short people (or kids). and last but not least why so many side walks in play. You're sure to go OB at least twice in a game. Pay to Play. I already did with those high prices in the Pro-Shop, but it is only 2 bucks.
Other Thoughts: all in all I play disc golf I had a good time so it was worth the trip. I really thought Californians played more Disc Golf, but I guess it's better and Bigger in TEXAS.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Highly Recommended

1    9/9/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: throwmadisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, I would like to say this is now my favorite course to play. When we played this course there wasn't to many people so it was nice and relax. I love the scenery, the holes are short but still make you give your shot some thought. Technical but not out of control. You got your left hooks, and you right hooks, you got your trees, your ups and a downs. My favorite hole is 11, you throw down the hill and your disc just flys real nice. They also have a man-made pyramid that a basket sits on top of raising the basket about 4 feet off the ground, we weren't lucky enough to have it the rounds we played but it looked like it would be alot of fun to play. Also one thing to bring attention to is the tee work and color coded tees and baskets. This set up makes the flow of the course extremely easy to follow. You simply see the color that is posted on the signs and that is the color basket you are throwing to. Such a great system to have. All the tees have some type of stone work or rock work around them. Tee pads to range in size but never to small. and the biggest plus of all..this side of the park is 100% Dedicated to Disc Golf.

Cons: Holes could be a little bit longer, its sylmar so on the wrong day it could be a scorcher! A little far out there (thats just for us because we live further south so its a bit of a drive)
Other Thoughts: PLAY HERE!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

2-4    2/28/2012   2/5/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 87  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2015
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice, moderately wooded park on the slopes of nearby mountains. Excellent signs, cement tee pads and red/white/blue basket sequence to curb navigation issues.

Mountainside views offer an expansive view of the San Fernando valley, with coniferous trees giving it a different feel than other area courses. Several holes have expansive areas of bark, presumably to cut down on dust and erosion.Great maintenance and course design.

Tee pads are particularly good, better than any in the area. Tee view from Hole 11 is outstanding, with a Casitas-like downhill drive. Also has some Morley Field-like Holes (4, 5, 8-10).

Slopes of hills make distance and power required for shots difficult to judge, increasing the challenge factor.
Cons: City park course, with a few holes that are similar. Few long (>400') holes. Fairly crowded course, with waiting often part of the deal.

It seems there are other areas of the park that could in theory host more holes.
Other Thoughts: One of the best LA-metro courses, with additional attention to details such as selective tree removal, signs and navigational aids.

Reasonable $2 admittance fee, and an on-site pro shop with snacks and drinks.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Very well Maintained

6/26/2008   7/1/2008
Review By:
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.4 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Looks like the course was once dominated by nasty shrubs and dead vegetation, however it looks as if there has been MUCH work done to eliminate this and break them down. The tees are very well take care of as well. The baskets are color coded and help you to see which placement they are in as each hole has 3/4 different pins. Very nice looking little course, but utilizes the area extremely well.
Cons: A little hard to follow some holes to the next pad, but not bad. A couple holes don't really have fairways, but only 2 or 3 are like this.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.