Sylmar, CA 
Sylmar (Veterans Park) Share
Uploaded By: flash86 Hole #7
3 / 265ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Fairway



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Must play in LA

5+    7/15/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -One of the best maintained courses in the area.
-Excellent pro shop
-3-5 pin placements per hole. I've played this course for a couple of years and I still sometimes see a new placement.
-Intuitive course flow (both the front and back 9 begin and end at the parking lot/pro shop
-Well marked
-TOP OF THE WORLD HOLE 11 is super fun!
-While not containing many skill shots off the tee, the ones they have are very cool.
Cons: -Last 2 holes are arm-taxing uphill shots (see my tip in "other thoughts")
-Severely elevated tee box on 1, No actual pro box on 4
-Hole 4 is an annoyingly long blind shot into a potentially trafficked area.
-DUSTY and STICKY BURRS
-Very little stroke variety off the tee. Almost every hole can be opened with a flat RHBH drive (hole 5 turns left, 2 and 9 are skill shots, 11 lets you get really creative).
Other Thoughts: If you're making your way through the LA area, this should be one of the 3 courses you make sure to play (the others being Elysian Park and Oak Grove). It's challenging but not oppressive. A beautiful location North of the city center, it's a great place to pack a lunch and make a full afternoon.

Tip: Try playing the back 9 first, then the front 9. It's a good way to avoid having a tired arm for those uphill shots on 12, 17, and 18.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home Sweet Home

5+    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ·Nothing but disc golf, over a mix of typical city park, and groves of Eucalyptus trees.
·Large variety of shots required.
·4 or 5 pin locations on every hole, with some very creative placements
·Good local crowd, the Legacy crew are helpful.
·Great pro shop right by hole 1
·Not a lot of wind here in LA but Sylmar can get some pretty strong gusts coming from the pass to the north. Good practice certain times of the year.
Cons: ·Could use a few longer holes.
·Though there is plenty of shade, the valley gets hot and dusty in the summer.
·A single walkway cuts through the lower half of the park. The occasional dog walker comes through, but they're easy enough to spot.
·Despite abundance of trees, they're mostly tall pines and eucalyptus which don't provide much in the way of obstacles for misplaced throws. Easy to recover from many shots.
Other Thoughts: Several memorable holes, if you're planning a visit come in March or April when its at its greenest.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shucks, why not? Go Disc!

1    5/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - $2 to play
- distance and technical, great for experienced players.
- clear signs and clean cement tees
- feels safe for solo ladies* a big plus!
- proshop
- played within a large, grassy, clean park
- "rest" spots offer some privacy
- restrooms near by (park area)
Cons: - new players don't expect many pars unless you are gifted.
- baskets are a tad hard to locate for newcomers- bring a map
Other Thoughts: I like it here and will play again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    4/1/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: BZoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Red,White,Blue layout makes course navigation fairly easy without a map for first timers
-Good mix of holes. Long/short/left/right
-Some elevation comes into play
-Has a shop on site
-Nice teepads and baskets
-Not too many pedestrians walking through when I played
-Bathrooms conveniently located
Cons: -Some teesigns are missing
-Didn't really have any holes that stood out to me
-A lot of trash on the ground considering amount of trashcans around
Other Thoughts: I played this course at 730 am... Was one of the only ones there the whole time I played, shop wasn't open

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sylmar

5+    12/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Sylmar offers one of the best disc golf experiences in SoCal. With a good variety of lines and distances with elevation changes this course offers a fun but challenging round of disc golf.

- All holes have 3 pin positions, giving the course a good feel of variety.

- Big elevation changes on a bunch of holes. Hole 11 is a big downhill shot, a lot of fun when playing to the elevated pin position. Also pleanty of uphill shots with a good deal of distance.

- The couse is DG exclusive!!!. I will happily continue to pay 2 bucks so I don't have to worry about hitting little kids or their oblivious parents walking throught the course.

- The course offers a variety of obstacles. Most holes are moderately wooded, with major elevation changes. Also the wind can be very punishing. Last Sylmar Open there were gusts of 30 mph, making a very interesting round.

- Navigation is easy. Maps are provided at the pro shop and baskets follow red white blue pattern.

- The course has a great disc golf vibe, you can tell that the course is well maintained and enjoyed by the locals. with the pro shop on site and a local disc golf legend calling this course home.
Cons: The course can be very dusty during the summer.

No major complaints about this course. I will admit that it plays kind of short, but it still offers a good challenge.
Other Thoughts: Sylmar is a bit out of the way for me but everytime I go there I end up wishing I made the drive more often. This is one of my favorite courses in SoCal.

I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the LA area. If you have time do Sylmar and Oak Grove in the same day for a great day of disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

2-4    8/10/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: sbinwien
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety.
Good course for all skill levels.
Multiple pin positions are nice, but I have not played often enough to notice the difference.
Cons: Short holes for big arms.
The rocks and soil on the last 2/3 of the course will make short work of DX and Pro-D plastic. I had a new DX TeeBird go from stable to understable by the end of the round.
Other Thoughts: My favorite So Cal course, due to the variety of terrain, elevation, trees, etc. It has a little of everything.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 HMMM

2-4    6/29/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept up
Baskets chang regularly
Great Proshop
Friendly locals
Great use of the area and some amazing holes.
Not too easy but not crazy difficult.
Cons: Gets really hot and Dusty in summer
Can be tough to find pin positions if you dont play there often
Not in the best surrounding area
One teepad is on edge and kept me from a full follow through, drop of is not that high but nonetheless i dont want to eat dirt
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed Sylmar but wish the baskets were a bit longer when i went. Not a problem just ended up using a lot of mids that day. the proshop is awesome and they got a great selection in there. I enjoy courses where you finish close to where you started so there is unecessary hiking/walking involved. If it wasn't so far from me i would play this course much more often as it was a great test of my skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/4/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 74  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course features a nice mix of technical holes. Plenty of trees and vegetation force players to shape their lines precisely. However the undergrowth is pretty light, meaning bad shots will not be overly punished.

The course features a nice mix of distances with a few shorter putter or mid holes as well as a few chances to air out the big drivers.

The terrain changes quite a bit as your progress through. It starts with a couple flat grassy holes before heading into a more desert-like terrain.

The varied elevation is used quite well. Hole 11 features a nice downhill drive. The course finishes by playing back up the hill on 17 and 18.

Multiple pin positions keep things interesting. However with only one basket per hole, the specific layout is dictated by the course maintainers.

The pro shop on site offers a very nice selection of Innova, Discraft, and Legacy.
Cons: There were a couple points where navigation was a little tricky. Particularly after holing out on 11, you find yourself surround by tee pads with no indication of which one is next.

The biggest complaint I had about this course was the pin location of the tenth basket. It was literally in a bush. This just feels overly gimicky - not to mention it punishes a good shot that doesn't line up with the opening just right. I half expected to find myself needing to throw through the blades of a windmill on the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Outside of the gimicky pin location on 10, I thought this was a very well designed course. It forced me to use a wide variety of different shots and strategies throughout the course of the round. None of the holes felt like fillers, they all seemed to be well thought out.

The locals I ran into on the course seemed friendly and helpful. I got stuck behind a couple large groups but they were happy to let me play through and helped point me in the right direction when needed.

If I ever return to Southern California, I will definitely play this course again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 SYLMAR!

5+    9/27/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: DiscinTim
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -discatcher baskets in alternating colors as you play through
-variety of straight, left and right shots
-3 or more pin positions on EVERY HOLE
-alternate challenging pro pads on several hols
-variety of terrain including flat, uphill and downhill shots
-good use of all available land
-friendly locals including course pro Steve Rico
-terrain is developing and more trees have been added
-well maintained course, with benches or places to sit added on man holes
-If you want to get a good technical round of disc golf in, this is the place!

Cons: The course makes the best use of the available land. Since there is no irrigation on the bottom section of the course, it can get a little hot and dusty. There are drinking fountains near the bathrooms though.

-goat head thorns! around holes 10,11,15 these thorns will get stuck in everything, including your shoes, discs and hands. Just be careful of them!

-like MANY course, it will get crowded on weekends. This is a good thing for the sport though, crowds mean people are coming out to play.


Other Thoughts: The Rico family has done allot for disc golf, and they work very hard to keep this course up and running. Its a modest $2 to play, and this helps keep the course alive and well maintained.

The locals here are friendly, and always willing to show you around.

In terms of the 'upper course', they use it in tournaments, and there will be an Amateur only tournament, for the first time ever later this year. This will utilize the whole top for 18 holes, including the infamous 'island holes'. It is sure to be an amazing tournament!


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 19th Hole

2-4    8/13/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: SkipAceJoe
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course offers a little bit of everything. Some long drives, tight lines, elevated tee shots, uphill shots, grass and dirt. There is a mix of tall and small trees that make this course very technical. Great tee signs and cement tee pads. The disc shop offered a variety of discs at a reasonable price.
Cons: There are no water misters on the covered benches at hole 8.
Other Thoughts: I'd visit this course more if I didn't have to pass 4 other great courses on my hour and a half drive out there.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.