Sylmar, CA 
Sylmar (Veterans Park) Share
Uploaded By: flash86 Hole #5
3 / 250ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 390ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Fairway



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Must play in LA

5+    7/15/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -One of the best maintained courses in the area.
-Excellent pro shop
-3-5 pin placements per hole. I've played this course for a couple of years and I still sometimes see a new placement.
-Intuitive course flow (both the front and back 9 begin and end at the parking lot/pro shop
-Well marked
-TOP OF THE WORLD HOLE 11 is super fun!
-While not containing many skill shots off the tee, the ones they have are very cool.
Cons: -Last 2 holes are arm-taxing uphill shots (see my tip in "other thoughts")
-Severely elevated tee box on 1, No actual pro box on 4
-Hole 4 is an annoyingly long blind shot into a potentially trafficked area.
-DUSTY and STICKY BURRS
-Very little stroke variety off the tee. Almost every hole can be opened with a flat RHBH drive (hole 5 turns left, 2 and 9 are skill shots, 11 lets you get really creative).
Other Thoughts: If you're making your way through the LA area, this should be one of the 3 courses you make sure to play (the others being Elysian Park and Oak Grove). It's challenging but not oppressive. A beautiful location North of the city center, it's a great place to pack a lunch and make a full afternoon.

Tip: Try playing the back 9 first, then the front 9. It's a good way to avoid having a tired arm for those uphill shots on 12, 17, and 18.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Sweet Home

5+    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ·Nothing but disc golf, over a mix of typical city park, and groves of Eucalyptus trees.
·Large variety of shots required.
·4 or 5 pin locations on every hole, with some very creative placements
·Good local crowd, the Legacy crew are helpful.
·Great pro shop right by hole 1
·Not a lot of wind here in LA but Sylmar can get some pretty strong gusts coming from the pass to the north. Good practice certain times of the year.
Cons: ·Could use a few longer holes.
·Though there is plenty of shade, the valley gets hot and dusty in the summer.
·A single walkway cuts through the lower half of the park. The occasional dog walker comes through, but they're easy enough to spot.
·Despite abundance of trees, they're mostly tall pines and eucalyptus which don't provide much in the way of obstacles for misplaced throws. Easy to recover from many shots.
Other Thoughts: Several memorable holes, if you're planning a visit come in March or April when its at its greenest.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice park course

1    11/10/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area with very little interference from other park activities. The course seemed like it gets a lot of love and work put in, with good concrete pads and baskets in good shape. The tee signs are pretty accurate, and once a local pointed out that the basket color corresponds with the pin placement we had no trouble figuring out where to throw.

The course uses the moderate elevation changes really well, with some pins that offer roll away potential on slopes. There are a couple fun downhill shots and some tricky uphills, the elevation especially comes into play on the back 9 and really adds some fun and variety.

The available trees are also used well, with creative tee placements that make you hit a gap or avoid a low ceiling even with a limited number of obstacles on the hole. Some of the pins are well protected, making you really think about where you leave your drive or upshot.
Cons: There is almost no rough here, so though several holes feel pretty technical off the tee there is little punishment for errant shots. You can recover for par after a terrible drive on the majority of the holes, and that definitely takes away some of the technical challenge. There are a lot of straight shots here, even many of the left or right turning holes still basically play straight ahead with a small bend near the end.

The course is pretty short. It does a pretty good job of keeping things challenging, but even the longer placements are mostly putter or mid shots for better players. There are a couple places where it felt like tees were in the line of fire from previous baskets. A couple signs were missing, and the transitions were a little unclear between a few holes. I didn't really like the holes that played right along the fences at the edges of the park, though that's hard to avoid when putting 18 holes in this small a property.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the course tough but not too frustrating or punitive, and the shorter tees on several holes offer a less challenging experience. The longer tees add a little challenge for better players who will find the course challenging off the tee but fairly easy to score well with few risk/reward decisions. This is one of the more technical and fun courses in the LA area, and definitely worth a stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A must play course

5+    6/25/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: rickztahone
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well thought out course
-A wide variety of shots
-cheap to play
-Well maintained
-Friendly staff and very knowledgable with a WHOLE lot of discs to choose from
-Great locals
-Cement Tees
-Easy to read Tee signs
-Pins change almost on a weekly basis with about 4 different locations on each.
-RHBH & RHFH friendly :-)
-DISCatcher baskets
Cons: -Not too many cons but one of them is that a few Tees get super dirty and need to be swept often. Mainly, #13, but a few more can deal with the occassional sweep. This is just minor because I really can't think of too many cons to this course.
Other Thoughts: This is my local watering hole for DG so if you are a local or someone out of town who would like a guide please pm me on the forum and we can set something up. Locals, I go quite often, i'm in the learning part still but I love going out to practice so if you find yourself going alone please pm me and we can set something up as well.

I'm lucky enough that my favorite course is also the closest course to my house. What I really like about it is the diversity and the complexity of each pin.

I was reading some reviews here and I saw mentioned that the Tee signs were confusing because the color of the basket shown on the Tee does not correspond with the color on the Tee map. In actuality, it is far simpler than this. The color SURROUNDING the Tee sign is directly correspondent to the color of the basket. So say that pin #1 has a yellow surround Tee sign, this means the #1 basket will have a yellow top. This makes it super easy to identify each basket and not shoot towards the wrong one.

There is one main bathroom on site and it is by basket #5. You kind of play around it for the next few baskets so if you need to go to the bathroom you should do it there because after you leave that area there isn't one around. There is also a water fountain by the bathroom but I would still suggest bringing your on water.

The terrain is rouged, and a nice hike. I personally like hiking and I consider this a plus, YMMV however.

There is a good amount of height to some of the shots but for the most part you are on a somewhat level playing field. You do tend to go uphill once in a while and #11 is the best altitude shot IMO.

A few ace runs here and almost all baskets can be birdied, but more times than not I usually par, lol.

There is always a lot of parking, easy to find location. If you've been thinking of coming up here to play just get in the car and start driving.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shucks, why not? Go Disc!

1    5/8/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - $2 to play
- distance and technical, great for experienced players.
- clear signs and clean cement tees
- feels safe for solo ladies* a big plus!
- proshop
- played within a large, grassy, clean park
- "rest" spots offer some privacy
- restrooms near by (park area)
Cons: - new players don't expect many pars unless you are gifted.
- baskets are a tad hard to locate for newcomers- bring a map
Other Thoughts: I like it here and will play again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hot course but fun round

1    6/1/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When I first parked, it appeared that my round was going to be impeded by the many park users nearby. Not so. The park nicely utilizes a section of the park that doesn't appear to be used for much of anything else. After the first couple holes on the grass, the rest plays down and around a gentle slope on lightly wooded fairways of woodchips, dirt, and sand.

The design is pretty solid. There are a few holes with nice elevation changes where you need to hit a certain gap to have a good shot. The course is not super tight, but none of the holes were just grip and rip.

Tee signs were a mixed bag (see below). All tee pads were concrete. Navigation was pretty easy, and I only referred to the map I printed a couple times.

Every hole had 4-5 positions. I love when designers take the time to put in a bunch of positions. Ordinary courses can stay continually interesting for locals when positions are changed frequently.
Cons: The tee signs have color-coded basket locations. The baskets are the same colors, but they don't correspond. For instance, there might be a blue basket that is clearly in the red position on the tee sign, or a gold basket in the black position. So ignore the colors. But it was confusing some times when I wasn't sure if I was throwing to the 255' position or the 290' position.

On hole 17 I apparently played to the basket for 18 and didn't see the basket for 17 until after I left. I teed from 18 straight up the fairway and was confused when I couldn't find the basket since I'd already played to it.
Other Thoughts: When I came to hole 5, I had a strange feeling of deją vu. I believe this is the hole that Dave Feldberg and Ken Climo were driving on in their instructional video.

From the pictures on the site, it looks like there are some cool positions that weren't in use while I was there (the pyramid, the mound, inside that bush). Too bad, but a good excuse for me to return.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    4/1/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: BZoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Red,White,Blue layout makes course navigation fairly easy without a map for first timers
-Good mix of holes. Long/short/left/right
-Some elevation comes into play
-Has a shop on site
-Nice teepads and baskets
-Not too many pedestrians walking through when I played
-Bathrooms conveniently located
Cons: -Some teesigns are missing
-Didn't really have any holes that stood out to me
-A lot of trash on the ground considering amount of trashcans around
Other Thoughts: I played this course at 730 am... Was one of the only ones there the whole time I played, shop wasn't open

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good variety

2-4    3/19/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A great variety of shots. On a lot of holes here u can elect to throw either a forehand or backhand.
-elevation changes; mild elevation changes going up and down with a nice downhill throw on Hole 11
-beautiful course with lots of trees and shade
-bathrooms
-plentiful parking
-cool pro shop with lots of discs
Cons: -can be windy (not necessarily a con if you're looking for a challenge)
-wish there was one or two super lengthy holes.
-some signs are missing, although you should be able to get by with a map which is provided at the proshop
Other Thoughts: Highlights:
-Hole 4 long position: cool double mando u have to hit then the shot drops off downhill
-Hole 8 in the most left position forces you to throw a big blind hyzer shot
-Hole 11 is a fun and tricky downhill shot
Overall a great course with a little bit of everything. The tree lines dictate what throws are available.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sylmar

5+    12/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Sylmar offers one of the best disc golf experiences in SoCal. With a good variety of lines and distances with elevation changes this course offers a fun but challenging round of disc golf.

- All holes have 3 pin positions, giving the course a good feel of variety.

- Big elevation changes on a bunch of holes. Hole 11 is a big downhill shot, a lot of fun when playing to the elevated pin position. Also pleanty of uphill shots with a good deal of distance.

- The couse is DG exclusive!!!. I will happily continue to pay 2 bucks so I don't have to worry about hitting little kids or their oblivious parents walking throught the course.

- The course offers a variety of obstacles. Most holes are moderately wooded, with major elevation changes. Also the wind can be very punishing. Last Sylmar Open there were gusts of 30 mph, making a very interesting round.

- Navigation is easy. Maps are provided at the pro shop and baskets follow red white blue pattern.

- The course has a great disc golf vibe, you can tell that the course is well maintained and enjoyed by the locals. with the pro shop on site and a local disc golf legend calling this course home.
Cons: The course can be very dusty during the summer.

No major complaints about this course. I will admit that it plays kind of short, but it still offers a good challenge.
Other Thoughts: Sylmar is a bit out of the way for me but everytime I go there I end up wishing I made the drive more often. This is one of my favorite courses in SoCal.

I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the LA area. If you have time do Sylmar and Oak Grove in the same day for a great day of disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was a nice day

1    6/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: discatcher baskets in alternating colors as you play through
-variety of straight, left and right shots
-3 or more pin positions on EVERY HOLE
-alternate challenging pro pads on several hols
-variety of terrain including flat, uphill and downhill shots
-good use of all available land
-friendly locals including course pro Steve Rico
-terrain is developing and more trees have been added
-well maintained course, with benches or places to sit added on man holes
-If you want to get a good technical round of disc golf in, this is the place!
Cons: Gets really hot and Dusty in summer
Can be tough to find pin positions if you dont play there often
Not in the best surrounding area
One teepad is on edge and kept me from a full follow through, drop of is not that high but nonetheless i dont want to eat dirt

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.