Sylmar, CA 
Sylmar (Veterans Park) Share
Uploaded By: flash86 Hole #1
3 / 230ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 L.A. Area Icon Course!

1    3/31/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 719  Reviewed: 670  Exp: 37 Years
18 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Because I showed up to play at daybreak, I'll have to skip on a couple of obvious pros to this course. The pro shop wasn't open yet. There were no friendly (or unfriendly) locals around to play with or guide me. Just a nice old couple out for a early morning walk. It's obvious that a lot of TLC has gone into this course. Great teepads with some rock work on some. The signs were pretty clear and informative. This is just a nice park for a course, lots of trees, plenty of elevation. A little more rustic than most courses I've experienced in SoCal. It's definitly a course that could challenge most any player. There are chances for most of us to air it out. # 11 plays is a sweet downhill throw. A couple of very demanding uphill shots. There's enough elevation to wear you out.
Cons: Just a couple of smaller items. Playing by myself in the early AM, navigation ws a little dicey. Even with the map, I wasn't always sure which basket to throw to. I think I'm a liitle too thick for the three colored basket system. There were a couple of holes playing very close to neighbors yards.
Other Thoughts: I'm sorry I missed out on visiting the pro shop. Sounds great. The $2 sounds like a small pittance to play all day. And I think had I been able to play here with a local or had been able to follow some locals, it would have greatly enhanced my experience at Skylmar. While I liked this course, I won't say it was my favorite in the area. I don't know if the locals consider Lake Casitas as an area course or not? But I would have to rank it as my favorite SoCal course. But having said that, I enjoyed Skylmar and would love to play it again or have it as my home base.

18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Worth every penny!

2-4    3/29/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: mrstiggy
Played: 78  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Plenty of trash cans and nearly litter free. Great more "rustic" setting then most SoCal courses. Great sinage was being installed as I played. Elevation changes, and a good mix bag of shots. It took nearly every shot in my bag. Most holes are birdieable if you are a moderate player. There are a few huge bombs and a couple tough uphill shots. Plenty of obsticals, and the rough is not too rough.
A good mix of distances. Well maintained and placed T-pads. Pro-shop on-site. Pro-shop takes Visa/Mastercard/Discover. Plently of cold drinks and snacks in stock at fair prices. Large selection of Innova and a moderate selection of Discraft. A good selection of rare discs, and X-outs. Small used stash. What is really great is that they have a lost and found section, though it would be tough to loose a disc here. Friendly staff.
Intuitive Red, White, and Blue basket system makes it very easy to navigate. Maps provided at proshop when you pay your entrance fee. Paths are worn in and easy to follow. Conrete tees poured throughout the course. Friendly locals always willing to let you pick up a game, or give you navigation directions. Multiple pin positions.
There is a putt practice basket that is very well set up. It contains a "confidence" ring made out of concrete blocks. Each block is labled with a distace to quite a way out. Great place to tune in your short game, start from the closest block and work out. Its truely a So-cal Gem.

Cons: There are only few small cons, and I have to dig to find them on this course.
Biggest drawback was there was kinda a creepy homeless guy looking for bottles and cans, but he kept to himself.
Although it is not an issue for me, some recreational players might get winded/tired out from some of the climbs.
As the same for all So-Cal Parks drinking is a bad idea on the course so keep yer beers low, if you fancy that sort of thing on the course.
Other Thoughts: So far this is the best year round course I have found in SoCal. Only course that tops it that I have seen here is Sunrise. If you are in the area, this is a must play.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Unique, Epic, and Beautiful

5+    2/21/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2010
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation changes constant throughout the course - lots of tough uphill shots and plenty of epic downhills
Weather proof concrete tee pads
Great Pro Shop with a top of the line selection of discs, primary Innova. Some great hard to find discs here as well.
Creative pin placements mixed in with man made rock outcroppings
Red White and Blue Tee Sign/Basket markings leave the guesswork out of in hole navigation.
Each hole seemed to have multiple pin positions
Friendly locals, it definitely is a happening place on the weekends. Between 8:30 - 9:30am seemed like an ideal time to tee off.
Amazing scenery with views of the Valley and beyond
Seats and benches on almost every hole
Cons: Tee pad lengths vary a bit - some are a bit shorter than others
Not very many restrooms. Guess I shouldn't have drank a liter of water on the way.
A map is probably necessary the first time if you don't have a guide - it is not always totally clear what the "next" basket is. I guess you could technically follow the Red, White, Blue colorcode but I turned the wrong way for the "next hole" a few times.
It would be nice to have some tee signs with a map of pin positions, but at least they have the hole number and color
Other Thoughts: Veteran's Park in Sylmar is a beautiful, historic park tucked in at the base of the mountains. The top part of the park used to hold the grounds for Olive Crest Hospital, which was destroyed in the 1971 Sylmar Quake. The course went through a redesign in the last few years and its current state is better than ever. This course looks like a lot of man hours have been invested in landscape design and manicure.

There is a great mix of medium and long length holes here - intermediate to advanced players will feel completely at home. The angles all seem thought out, and nothing is an Easy deuce. The uphill shots tend to be killers, Like Hole # 12. Goes up about 100 to 120 feet in elevation and it is a 300 foot or so hole in length. The downhill shots make you think about your line, and the affects of the wind. Since there is so much elevation drop, if you get the disc up it will fade drastically.

You will also need a good mix of shots here, especially the "Get out of trouble" shot that comes in handy so much when you come in close contact with obstacles or rough. Bring your forehand and tomahawk game along with your hyzer and anhyzer rhbh shots. When you get tempted to "air it out", be conservative and stay closer to the ground and you will be rewarded on this course.

Sylmar is a must play in the L.A. area if you are visiting. The grounds that the course is based on are ideal for disc golf, especially with the drastic and sudden elevation changes. Signature hole seems to be # 11, boasting a walled in tee on the side of the hill shooting down to a basket at about 330 - 370 placed on top of a man made pyramid. It makes the bottom of the basket sit at about 9 feet off the ground. Truly unique hole, especially for Socal. Bottom line, there is nothing like this course in the Southern California area - it is in a league of its own.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in So Cal

2-4    1/3/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic mix of technical holes with left, right up, down, long, and short options. This course makes you really think about your shot, not only are the lines carved through the trees tough but then you add elevation and you really have to take your time and plan your shot. Something that is lacking in most So Cal courses.

Plays near the bottom of a hill that can see about 75' (?) of elevation on a few holes with a cool "top of the world" hole with the pin on top of a man made pyramid. The flow of the holes is perfect as there is very little travel between holes; the course look shoehorned into it's spot but there is very little overlap of fairways and you never feel like you'll be throwing on anyone ever with the tighter feel.

Navigation is a breeze from tee to tee, tee signs are in great shape and the Red, White, and Blue basket/tee sign system needs to be implemented across the country at higher level courses. No guessing whatsoever to which basket to throw at.

Grounds are well manicured as well as trees and obstacles, mulch covers 2/3 of the fariways along with some undulating hills at the bottom of the hill with some rockey terrain thrown in. Cool gazebos at a couple tees which are all cement and of proper size for each hole. Shorter hole, shorter tee box, long hole, long tee box.

Pro shop has the most discs this side of Discovering the World and it's run by a true pro; Steve Rico. He looks a little sleepy in the morning but will gladly answer all questions. $2 per day to play and you can see that small fee being used to help the course.
Cons: Only 1 practice basket (pretty rickety at that) and a pretty small practice area around it. Could probably use 1 more long hole but I'm sure that's taken care of at tournaments with some different pin placements.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in SoCal. I will gladly travel the hour+ to play this course.

You have to think so much more at this course than anywhere else in the area. Birdies are available but you really have to think about your shot and be able to shape a line to get to the pin.

The mix of elevation, natural obstacles, course amenities, and the technique required to score well make this one a must for all golfers.

$2 to play is a steal at this course, not a con at all when you can see exactly where the money is going and know it's being put to good use.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Cool, Clear and a Chance of Birdies

2-4    12/29/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2010
28 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Grippy concrete tees
-Deep baskets, changed regularly and in great shape
-Hole design. Excellent use of terrain and plethora of trees. Most of the holes have a ceiling and/or a tunnel to navigate. Hole 11 is an exception. Throw off a 25' ridge around some tree trunks and tree tops, waaaaay down to either the corner of the course or to the basket atop an elevated pyramid. Great, open shot to mix things up a bit. Most holes utilize a significant elevation change masterfully. Very little fairway crossover.
-Pretty clean park setting. A few bottles here and there, but overall very well kept.
-DG exclusive area. Crowds have never been a problem when I have played.
-Plenty of parking
-One of the best pro shops on a SoCal course. Go buy up all their DGA and Gateway stuff so they can restock with Lat 64. :p Jokes aside, very knowledgeable gentleman working the shop will help you find whatever you seek.
-Really innovative Red, White, Blue basket system helps finding the proper target a breeze (though the reds and blues are a little tough to see when they are shaded).
Cons: -Pay to play. But the tees are clean, baskets are rotated regularly and maps and scorecards are free, so the $2 seems a small price to pay.
-I can see people having problems navigating the layout. I had a guide the two times I have played this course since the redesign, and i recommend you do the same.
-Missing a few signs on tees.
-Last 2 holes are right along a fence with no holes. It's a long walk around the fence to get your discs back. >:(
Other Thoughts: This is a course that has benefited greatly from the Rico's expertise. I played the old layout a handful of times and the newer, tougher layout is much more technical, with far more diverse lines to take off of each tee. Definitely an improvement in design.

They have also elevated the pro shop to an enviable level. The disc selection in the shack is unrivaled in the SoCal DG pro shop world. The busy bulletin boards around the pro shop are evidence of a vibrant local scene.

I really want to come back to Sylmar and spend some time there to get a better feel for the place and the people as their locals have a rep as being some of the friendliest around. I had a similar experience there. Stopped to let some guys play through so I could follow them and they insisted I join them. Incredibly friendly bunch who have my gratitude (thanks, Doug).

This is a tough course that will challenge every aspect of your game. Definitely worth checking out if you are in the area.

***UPDATE***

The word is number 10 PDGA rated (as of 1/26/2010) Steve Rico gives lessons for $20.

That's like having Rob Machado give you dirt cheap surfing lessons.

God I love this sport.

+.5 disc for the course.

**UPDATE UPDATE**

Took a lesson with Mr. Steve Rico. What a cool cat. Call the 19th Hole to schedule your private lesson. 818 362 9499

28 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain course in LA area

5+    11/29/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2011
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Many pin positions, changed regularly.
-Alternating red, white, and blue rimmed baskets make course navigation easy for newcomers. I honestly don't know why more courses don't do this.
-Variety of holes...3 grass pins at the beginning, dirt and woodchips for the rest.
-Practice basket with markers stating distances.
-Best Pro Shop I have seen in So Cal.
-99% DG exclusive. Non golfers are fully aware of the game if they are walking through.
-Pay to play. Yes, this is a PRO to me.
-Never gets repetitive. Easy, hard, and otherwise interesting shots are all spread out throughout the course.

Cons: -Can get dusty and hot in the summertime
-Toward the end of the day, locals tend to bunch up into HUGE groups. That two-some you allowed to pass you earlier can magically become a group of 8 or more a few holes in.
-Can get busy, course is not the most spread out that I have been to but is professionally designed.
Other Thoughts: Veterans Park plays on a sloping, wooded corner of a very large multi-use park. The first three holes play flat on grass, but following that, it heads down the slope into the rest of the course; a heavily wooded, always sloped, dirt/wood chip/natural grass DG exclusive paradise.

The $2 pay to play is chump change to pay at this course, where it is always evident that the money is being spent on the course. Besides, where else can you ask a pro of Steve Rico's caliber for advice on disc purchases? In just over a year, they have planted trees, added two long tees, rotate the pins very regularly, added new red & gold level pin positions, and created an awful but awesome double mandatory.

Signature hole 11 plays down about a 35 foot hill, and sometimes the pin is located on top of a man made pyramid. A very rewarding birdie...when you can make it.

Hole 7 is the most difficult on the course, with a vertical rise of about 20 feet and a long narrow tunnel to start it off. Often, the pin lies behind a large ditch that acts as an OB 'lake.'

Course flow is easy to interpret, but has a few areas that can become confusing to the newcomer. Maps and scorecards are provided in the pro shop. Also remember that they designed the course with red, white, and blue tee signs and baskets. It starts on a 'red' hole, followed by a 'white' one, and so on. Remembering this eliminates any confusion as to what hole the next one is when there are several in the vicinity.

Only one mandatory on the whole course, and most holes can be played exclusively RHBH. Some neat OB's add some challenge, especially when they put pin 9 on its 'island,' or pin 7 behind the planter. Hole 17 plays OB on the sidewalk and whatever side the pin is NOT on. OB re-tees.

Comparing to other LA courses, this one successfully combines distance and technicality. Wooded courses are short, park courses are long, but this one is both. Some wild elevation changes add to the challenge. The last three holes all play uphill, and I wish there was a more climactic ending, but there is nothing they can do about it based on their available land.

This is my favorite course to play in Los Angeles. The constant surprises, wonderful vibe, and always helpful pro shop make it a destination course in my mind, and the first one I recommend if you only have a few days in the area.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course - Excellent Pro shop

5+    10/10/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: Smelvis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Just added a website: http://sylmardiscgolf.com
- Best pro shop I have been to so far in my short disc golf career (Started June 2009) .
- All levels can play here.
- Regular tournaments every Thu before dark, call to get time, and Every third Sat. I am a new player and have yet to try a tourney. There is an ace pool. Gets in the hundreds I am told.
- Holes are varied regularly. I have been playing this course since June 2009 and I still see new holes.
- Excellent acess, easy to find.
- Good bathrooms (near hole 5)
- Plenty of parking.
- Excellent course map displayed on the bulletin board near tee 1.
Cons:
- Watch out for the fence on hole 6. Throw it over and you will have a long walk. There is a hole in the fence benind basket 5.
Other Thoughts:
- Bring a course map for your first visit.
- They say the pro shop opens at 8am, but this has never been the case for all of my visits. I would say 10am is the average opening time.
- I buy all my discs here. The pro shop is well stocked. I also take my 14 year old daughter and 6 year old boy. Good family fun
- The locals are the best.
- This is my favorite course of all the local courses I frequent.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play!

5+    10/2/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where to start?
Pro shop: with excellent selection of discs, drinks, snaks, etc.

Tons of old growth. Beautiful scenery. Kind of stuff we dont have in north Texas.

Challenging : Plenty of distance for the long bombers. Scenic elevation changing shots up and down hill. You will use every shot in your bag.

Great Locals!

Bathrooms, etc etc
Cons: The only con i can think of is that I'm not yet good enough to shoot under par here.
It's a really fun course to play!
Other Thoughts: I travel for a living and get to play a different course about every week since i started playing about 7 months ago. This is without a doubt one of the top 5 courses i've played and the people i met made it the best. Very friendly locals that taught me a lot about the sport and even took me on a road trip up north to play a few courses. I recomend anyone of any skill level to play this course. It will make anyone better. If work doesn't bring me back to this course, I'll still be back.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

5+    1/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course basically plays across a more-or-less gentle slope, with some wooded holes and some clear. Lots of technical shots here but also a few holes where the big arms can air it out. #11, which shoots downhill and #17, which shoots uphill, are both good "D" holes.

The Rico brothers run the course and operate the pro shop. This is an immense "pro", since not only do they stock a very wide variety of plastic, but they're also ready and willing to advise on disc selection. They also run periodic clinics for players and will not hesitate to offer technique tips.

They've also done a real number on a lot of the tee pads, which are now all level and come with benches and retaining walls as needed. There's a practice basket and picnic tables near the parking lot, too.

While you're playing, you can also watch the hang gliders who cruise up and down the thermals in the hills - just a little side attraction you don't find everywhere.
Cons: With the exception of the first couple of holes, the ground here is very rough. Lots of rocks and bare earth, which means your DX plastic will bear scars.
Other Thoughts: This course was completely redesigned a few years ago when the Ricos took over. I thought it was a good course back then, but now it's even better.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 first time here

1    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: differnet terrain. grass, dirt, wood chips, rocks, trees etc. different types of shots required. challange to get to basket without hitting a tree on probably half the holes. close to freeway. disc gold exclusive area. only 2 dollars. map and sign. easy to find next hole
Cons: ending with three uphill holes is a killer
Other Thoughts: goood place to play nobody was there at 6am on a saturday.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.