Sylmar, CA 
Sylmar (Veterans Park) Share
Uploaded By: flash86 Hole #1
3 / 230ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 first time here

1    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: differnet terrain. grass, dirt, wood chips, rocks, trees etc. different types of shots required. challange to get to basket without hitting a tree on probably half the holes. close to freeway. disc gold exclusive area. only 2 dollars. map and sign. easy to find next hole
Cons: ending with three uphill holes is a killer
Other Thoughts: goood place to play nobody was there at 6am on a saturday.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 i love this course

5+    7/1/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: tai madama
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: the multiple pin positions and the fact that they get moved regularly makes it a varied experience. Bring your best game if you want to score well as it can give a challenge to even the most experienced players. There a lot of friendly locals. The Pro shop is fully supplied and you can get any disc available in there and maybe even on of there SUPER ROC's of the wall if the price is right
Cons: if i have to o would say the only thing is it can get crowded on the weekends with big groups
Other Thoughts: The weekly tourney is on thursdays at 5pm

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A well Rounded Course

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: surefee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A Well Rounded Course that makes you bring out all your skills. In my opinion, it is one of the best course within an hour drive of LA. It was a very luck based course unless your a pro. Well mantained and it was run by great guys. The Red White and Blue markers made the course very easy to follow. The Pro Shop is awesome and I buy all my disc here. Overall, a great course with a lot of pros. It is also very cheap $2.
Cons: There are few, if any, cons to this course however. It can get really hot in the summer. Also, it can tear up your DX disc and its not in the greatest area. No others that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This is a course up there with all the courses in the Southern California area. I think I saw TalbotTrojan today here too.

Favorite Holes:
Front 9: Hole 4
A very challenging hole that makes you turn both ways with difficult
Back 9: Hole 11
A downhill gem that makes your frisbee fly. Ending with a ten foot pyramid hole. My personal best is a 2 on this hole

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Right Line

2-4    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.1 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out course that makes great use of the terrain. There is great variation in distances and shot types. Every hole provided a great challenge but there was nothing too difficult to make it annoying. There is is a very high risk reward level on this course as one bad throw makes it really hard to save par. There was a great flow to the course and I really felt like I was out of the city as I was playing this round, a huge bonus for being in the greater LA area. I found all the tee pads to be wonderful, even if they were different on just about every hole. The tee signs were very helpful and the fact that the basket color rotated (Red, White, Blue) throughout the course helped do away with any confusion especially with matching colors on the tee signs. There is a fully stocked pro shop right there in the parking lot with a very helpful owner. This is the home course of Steve Rico and he dose a lot for this course. There are multiple basket locations and they are changed once a week. There will be little to no foot traffic on this course.
Cons: The biggest negative in my opinion is that this a a pay to play course. After that I am really reaching to come up with some negatives. There were a bunch of holes that felt like they were straight uphill. Some of the baskets were not consistent with the rest of the course having either stiff chains or a shallow basket. Even though this course plays through the trees, it can still get very hot. It was somewhere in the 80's when I played and coming up the hill near the end felt like it was much hotter than that.
Other Thoughts: After just playing a couple of rounds this course may actually have become my favorite course in the greater LA area, even over La Mirada, where I have over 100 rounds. The care that goes into this course is amazing and the only thing that maybe keeps this course at the same level as La Mirada is that it is only 18 holes and you have to pay $2 to play. I loved the fact that I really felt like I was somewhere besides in a city park with only a couple of holes playing over grass. Otherwise it had the feel of a mountain course to some extent, especially when considering the fact that you really have to choose the right line and then hit it. There are some very tight holes on the course. I do not know what to say about thrower traffic for this course. There was almost no one there as I played on a monday late morning and early afternoon but I am sure that a gem of a course like this will get a lot more traffic. I heard that there was also a temp course set up for a recent tournament that is super challenging and amazing in its own right, if only they could make it a second permanent course here.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sylmar is Sweet!!!

2-4    4/13/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 29.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2010
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the terrain, has a natural flow. Losta elevation changes. Tight, Open, Long, Short, Lefts, Rights shots. Brings all the skills out. By far my favorite course in the greater LA area.

Ingenious use of alternating Red, White, & Blue Teesigns and Holes (makes following the course easier). Accurate and good signage. Excellent teepads, all concrete and large.

Has a excellent pro shop with really friendly, good people runnin' it. Great plastic for sale at reasonable prices. As well as the rest of the gear and refreshments and snacks. Restroom is centrally located in the course and clean. All holes have benches and trash cans. The Summertime layout (extra 18 added at park for tourney) is awesome

The Course Is Disc Golf Exclusive!!!
Cons: Not any that I can think of....... A must play if your anywhere near the course!!!!

Some rocky terrain that will chew up your DX plastic, my Star stuff does pretty good...... But that is just pouting, not a real con.
Other Thoughts: Can't say enough how great the people are that I met. From the shop to all the people playin'.

Favorite Holes:

Front, #1. Makes you use accuracy and textbook technique. I throw the Stingray LHBH and hope it makes it through the trees

Back, #11 Take it deep and to the left and let 'er bomb in. The pyramid, elevated placement is great fun and an extra challenge

Worth every dime of the 2 bucks they ask for to play

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Nice LA course

1    2/7/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The setting of this course is very nice. Tucked up a mountainside just a short drive north from the 210 freeway, and only a few minutes east of the 5, it is very accessible. The neighborhood is working class, but friendly. We arrived at this course on a day when the rain clouds were just lifting after several rainy days. The sky was crystal clear, and there were wonderful views of San Fernando Valley and all the surrounding mountains.

The course is set on a bumpy hillside that used to be part of a Veterans hospital and care center, is well-mowed grass with numerous kinds of mature trees. There was an enormous hawk flying around the course while we were there, which was fun to watch.

A pro shop selling almost exclusively Innova discs is right at the parking lot and tee #1 (more Discraft discs can be found at a convenience market down the hill a few block from the course on Sayer). The people are friendly. While there is a $2/per day fee to play, the proceeds very obviously go toward making this a very nicely maintained course stocked with new baskets, signs, concrete tees, etc..

There are right turning, left turning, multiple pathway, gentle uphill, extreme uphill, gentle downhill, across hill, tunnel shots, tree shrouded, open, and every other kind of hole you could possibly extract from this course. There are multiple pin positions, and distances range from just over 200 ft to well over 400 ft. I used right hand backhand drives off the tee about 50% of the time, rollers 10%, and forehand about 40%. Several of the tees have a couple trees ahead on either side that psych you out and which are heavily scarred by thousands of disc strikes.

When we were there the course was relatively free of players, and we never had to wait at a tee. The vibe was relaxed and people were playing at a comfortable pace. There were no jerks who act like they own the place, no idiots who threaten and intimidate newcomers or visitors like you might find at other courses like Oak Grove.

Cons: There were a few holes where tree cutting and removal created piles of debris that were some what in the fairway, but these weren't really all that bad.

Other Thoughts: Some of the local players I talked to had fun stories about other locals, such as an old veteran master who can skip his disc off some of the roofs of nearby houses on the holes near the bottom of the course and park a birdie. Seems almost impossible, but fun to think about nonetheless.

I'm not a big fan of the Innova baskets in use here, mostly because the high profile top rim seems to present a psychological distraction and is a disc magnet for me. Also because they are becoming too dominant in the disc golf industry, and I like to see money spread around a bit more.

The Sheriff was cruising the park right at sunset and making sure everyone was leaving the park, so plan accordingly.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


2-4    2/28/2012   2/5/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 87  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2012
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice, moderately wooded park on the slopes of nearby mountains. Excellent signs, cement tee pads and red/white/blue basket sequence to curb navigation issues.

Mountainside views offer an expansive view of the San Fernando valley, with coniferous trees giving it a different feel than other area courses. Several holes have expansive areas of bark, presumably to cut down on dust and erosion.Great maintenance and course design.

Tee pads are particularly good, better than any in the area. Tee view from Hole 11 is outstanding, with a Casitas-like downhill drive. Also has some Morley Field-like Holes (4, 5, 8-10).

Slopes of hills make distance and power required for shots difficult to judge, increasing the challenge factor.
Cons: City park course, with a few holes that are similar. Few long (>400') holes. Fairly crowded course, with waiting often part of the deal.

It seems there are other areas of the park that could in theory host more holes.
Other Thoughts: One of the best LA-metro courses, with additional attention to details such as selective tree removal, signs and navigational aids.

Reasonable $2 admittance fee, and an on-site pro shop with snacks and drinks.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/25/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 88  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Awesome layout and use of space. Red, white, and blue pins to help guide you through the course. A fair amount of accuracy is needed to be successful here but not too much distance is needed. Bathroom facilities are centrally located on the course and are accessible from all protons of the park.It was also very well maintained and has a great pro shop. some elevated baskets with brick stairs around them. most of the holes do a good job of changing the flow of the course, making sure that the same shot is not used on the next hole. concrete tees and discatcher baskets.

the course is pay to play but it is clear that the money you spend actually goes back into the course. and it's dog friendly.
Cons: some very short holes. construction debris, but it is to improve the course. the small chance you may have to retrieve a disc from one of the back yards.
Other Thoughts: every time i come home i make sure to come out and play this course.

this is also the course that the new Climo Feldberg DVD was shot at.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    5/2/2007   12/13/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1292  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 27.5 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in Southern California. (and i played 20 of them, the week I was in the area)

Pro shop on site

This may be hard to understand but, each next tee sign was painted a different color, but once I figured it out it made finding the next hole alot simpler. The color sequence is red white and blue. So hole # 1 might be red, hole # 2 white, and hole # 3 blue, then hole # 4 red and so on. Only course that I know of that uses this method.

A lot of park/ club activity done to improve park.

Great Mexican restaurant at the bottom of the hill across the street from a school
Cons: A few of the latter holes run along a fence that seperates the park from the residential area, (i'm left handed so it didn't really come in play) but if a disc was thrown over the fence the 'old perverbial' climb or the fence retrieval method could be used, or a long walk around.

Lack of shaded parking spaces.
Other Thoughts: Not in the best neighborhood, but not in the worst either. Just be aware of your surroundings.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in Los Angeles

5+    12/12/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: charliekerper
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 well groomed holes with maps at each tee to direct you to the basket. The course is mainly inhabited by disc players with the occasional jogger or couple passing through, which provides a pleasant tone. Every hole offers a unique challenge. The onsite disc center has discs for sale and the guys there are always friendly and helpful. Generally everyone encountered playing there is helpful and courtious.
Cons: A few holes run along a fence that seperates the park from the residential area, and I have seen a few throws make it to the street, which leads to fence climb retrieval, or a long walk around. Other than that, everything is great, and even the fence isn't that bad, as long as it isn't me who has to go get the disc that went over the fence.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you give yourself about an hour and a half to two hours to play before sunset, as the last holes seem to get real dark as the sun sets.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.