Sylmar, CA 
Sylmar (Veterans Park) Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7
3 / 265ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach (Long Position): OB "pond" in front of basket



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun and Challenging

2-4    8/10/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: sbinwien
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety.
Good course for all skill levels.
Multiple pin positions are nice, but I have not played often enough to notice the difference.
Cons: Short holes for big arms.
The rocks and soil on the last 2/3 of the course will make short work of DX and Pro-D plastic. I had a new DX TeeBird go from stable to understable by the end of the round.
Other Thoughts: My favorite So Cal course, due to the variety of terrain, elevation, trees, etc. It has a little of everything.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun, but easy, short course

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: nawanda37
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice use of elevation
-Very well maintained and amenities on site, including great concrete tees (with hole numbers on them!), some hole signs, and discatcher baskets.
-Lack of underbrush makes it very forgiving for newer players (as does the distance)
-Course loops back to parking lot, which is always nice
-Fantastic, stress-free, walk in the park course.
Cons: -Very easy, both in terms of distance and lines needed, though the trees did make shaping fun. Wish I could have taken a crack at the gold tees :)
-Tough to find the pins/tees on many holes. The red/white/blue pattern helped, but I still had to walk a few holes to find the pin. The many missing tee signs didn't help.
-Yes, it is dusty. And hot. Why would anyone in LA leave their house when it's this hot (103* and 80%+ humidity)?
Other Thoughts: This review is based on playing only one time.
When I left, these were the main things going through my head:
-If you live somewhere with truly impressive courses, the 4.0+ ratings will make you expect a bit more in terms of golf.
-I had a fun time playing this course, and was grinning most of the time. Scoring under par even with a number of bad throws puts me in a good mood. At 8 am on a Tuesday, it was deserted and I could take my time.
-I never mind paying $2 for a well-maintained course, and this one was immaculate (probably helps that nothing could possibly grow on much of it).
-I'm assuming that I encountered a pretty easy set of pin placements, since I read about the technical nature of the course, but found it to be one of the easiest courses I've ever played. Skilled players can leave their high speed discs behind.
-I can see how this course would be a local favorite, but a rating of above 4.0 is pretty silly. I would assume that this rating comes from the age of the course and how cool the locals/scene are. These things are good, and they do factor into a course rating, but for out-of-towners it's a bummer that the numbers are so inflated.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 HMMM

2-4    6/29/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept up
Baskets chang regularly
Great Proshop
Friendly locals
Great use of the area and some amazing holes.
Not too easy but not crazy difficult.
Cons: Gets really hot and Dusty in summer
Can be tough to find pin positions if you dont play there often
Not in the best surrounding area
One teepad is on edge and kept me from a full follow through, drop of is not that high but nonetheless i dont want to eat dirt
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed Sylmar but wish the baskets were a bit longer when i went. Not a problem just ended up using a lot of mids that day. the proshop is awesome and they got a great selection in there. I enjoy courses where you finish close to where you started so there is unecessary hiking/walking involved. If it wasn't so far from me i would play this course much more often as it was a great test of my skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/4/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 74  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course features a nice mix of technical holes. Plenty of trees and vegetation force players to shape their lines precisely. However the undergrowth is pretty light, meaning bad shots will not be overly punished.

The course features a nice mix of distances with a few shorter putter or mid holes as well as a few chances to air out the big drivers.

The terrain changes quite a bit as your progress through. It starts with a couple flat grassy holes before heading into a more desert-like terrain.

The varied elevation is used quite well. Hole 11 features a nice downhill drive. The course finishes by playing back up the hill on 17 and 18.

Multiple pin positions keep things interesting. However with only one basket per hole, the specific layout is dictated by the course maintainers.

The pro shop on site offers a very nice selection of Innova, Discraft, and Legacy.
Cons: There were a couple points where navigation was a little tricky. Particularly after holing out on 11, you find yourself surround by tee pads with no indication of which one is next.

The biggest complaint I had about this course was the pin location of the tenth basket. It was literally in a bush. This just feels overly gimicky - not to mention it punishes a good shot that doesn't line up with the opening just right. I half expected to find myself needing to throw through the blades of a windmill on the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Outside of the gimicky pin location on 10, I thought this was a very well designed course. It forced me to use a wide variety of different shots and strategies throughout the course of the round. None of the holes felt like fillers, they all seemed to be well thought out.

The locals I ran into on the course seemed friendly and helpful. I got stuck behind a couple large groups but they were happy to let me play through and helped point me in the right direction when needed.

If I ever return to Southern California, I will definitely play this course again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great afternoon

5+    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: -Easy to find, lots of parking.
-Proshop fully loaded, pay your $2, pick up a few legacy grinders and walk to tee 1.
-Speaking of the legacy guys, there are always super friendly helpful folks hanging out here. Always nice to have smiling locals around.
-Most holes are well marked, adequate signage, lots of shot variation, elevation changes, plenty of trees to shape lines around, overall really not any boring holes.
-Water and bathrooms are available and decently clean.
-My favorite hole is definetly 10 to the pyramid, great downhill 300 ft'er where you can just let fly.

Cons: -Only real complaint is occasionally pins are moved into very hard to find spots, forcing you to walk the entire hole and search for the basket...#9 was in the bushes down from pin #8 today , spent 5 of min. looking around until someone pointed it out.
Other Thoughts: A great course with lots of fun holes and a pro shop worth stopping at. The presence of the Ricos and legacy make this even more special.

 Disc golf in the winter!

1    11/20/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: iamharrythehat
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to find T-boxes and baskets with the alternating colors, red, white, & blue.
Friendly locals ready to point out the baskets if your lost!
Pro shop right in the parking lot with info, discs, etc right there!
Cons: Too many sidewalks and "NO FRISBEE THROWING" signs surrounding the course.
Other Thoughts: This course was the last course I got to play prior to heading back to Alaska. What a great course and killer weather!! I would love to play this course some more times.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Park and a Pro Shop too.

1    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: BAM1961
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple Pin placement, color coded baskets, A Pro Shop, concrete pads, make this a very nice course.
Cons: it must have been a bad day, cuase I did not see nice people really, and no one wanted to point out the next pad or a pin (must be a Cali thing. Texas is warm and welcome). The canopy is about 5 foot high in a lot of places so its best for short people (or kids). and last but not least why so many side walks in play. You're sure to go OB at least twice in a game. Pay to Play. I already did with those high prices in the Pro-Shop, but it is only 2 bucks.
Other Thoughts: all in all I play disc golf I had a good time so it was worth the trip. I really thought Californians played more Disc Golf, but I guess it's better and Bigger in TEXAS.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 SYLMAR!

5+    9/27/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: DiscinTim
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -discatcher baskets in alternating colors as you play through
-variety of straight, left and right shots
-3 or more pin positions on EVERY HOLE
-alternate challenging pro pads on several hols
-variety of terrain including flat, uphill and downhill shots
-good use of all available land
-friendly locals including course pro Steve Rico
-terrain is developing and more trees have been added
-well maintained course, with benches or places to sit added on man holes
-If you want to get a good technical round of disc golf in, this is the place!

Cons: The course makes the best use of the available land. Since there is no irrigation on the bottom section of the course, it can get a little hot and dusty. There are drinking fountains near the bathrooms though.

-goat head thorns! around holes 10,11,15 these thorns will get stuck in everything, including your shoes, discs and hands. Just be careful of them!

-like MANY course, it will get crowded on weekends. This is a good thing for the sport though, crowds mean people are coming out to play.


Other Thoughts: The Rico family has done allot for disc golf, and they work very hard to keep this course up and running. Its a modest $2 to play, and this helps keep the course alive and well maintained.

The locals here are friendly, and always willing to show you around.

In terms of the 'upper course', they use it in tournaments, and there will be an Amateur only tournament, for the first time ever later this year. This will utilize the whole top for 18 holes, including the infamous 'island holes'. It is sure to be an amazing tournament!


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 19th Hole

2-4    8/13/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: SkipAceJoe
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course offers a little bit of everything. Some long drives, tight lines, elevated tee shots, uphill shots, grass and dirt. There is a mix of tall and small trees that make this course very technical. Great tee signs and cement tee pads. The disc shop offered a variety of discs at a reasonable price.
Cons: There are no water misters on the covered benches at hole 8.
Other Thoughts: I'd visit this course more if I didn't have to pass 4 other great courses on my hour and a half drive out there.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sylmar - Veterans Park

1    6/29/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Beautiful terrain incorporating massive eucalyptus and pine trees throughout this 94-acre hillside, in the foothills of Los Angeles. With grassy fairways on the first three holes, the rest of the course plays up and down much more rugged terrain the remainder of the round. Looping toward the paking lot multiple times, this course has great flow and challenging design.
*Multiple pin placements (3) w/ red, white, or blue DISCatchers on every hole, hence the name Veteran's Park. Baskets get moved regularly and are often strategically placed around natural obstacles. Accurate tee signs showing distance, par, obstacles, and pin position make navigating the course much easier for first timers. There are large concrete tee pads on every hole w/ cinder blocks to support when necessary due to erosion or elevation. Some w/ two pads like holes one and three, which add hole length and difficulty.
*Technical course allowing for multiple approaches both off the tee and in the fairways. Holes range from 215ft. -390ft. Course is well balanced for both LH and RH players, rewarding accuracy over power. Only a few holes on the course are blind.
*Strong local club which helps to maintain the course and make ongoing improvements. The $2 fee helps to push this course in to the future and allow it to compete as one of the premier courses in the state! Well worth the cost to enjoy a premier level course.
*Best pro shop I have seen on site in all the courses I have played to date! It offers snacks, drinks, wide variety of discs, apparel, etc. Visit the 19th Hole when you visit and help support the Rico brothers. They do a lot for this community and the game itself. For being one of the best dgers in the world, Steve is very humble and very approachable.

Favorite hole/s: #11 (Pyramid Hole), #12 - #15
Cons:
* Lower portion of the course can get brutally hot and dusty during the warm summer days so bring shades and water.
*Multiple areas where a disc can go out of bounds over a fence and in to a neighborhood so just be aware.
*Due to its popularity, crowds can be an issue during the weekends and summer.
*With only a few placements reaching nearly 400 ft, it would have been nice to have had some longer holes although not necessary. They do however use the upper portion of the park (above the first three holes) during tournaments which addresses this issue.
Other Thoughts:
*Sylmar has been around for over three decades and yet continues to get much praise for being technical and challenging. Although the original course has been modified and redesigned over the years, it continues to utilize the land making every hole unique unto its own. Since the takeover by the Rico brothers, Sylmar has vastly improved and become a place where advanced and pros alike come to get better. A-Tiers are held here as well as several other competitive pdga tournaments, and is home to a disc golf legend.

**A must play if in LA**

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.