Sylmar, CA 
Sylmar (Veterans Park) Share
Uploaded By: flash86 Hole #11
3 / 307ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Fairway



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 19th Hole

2-4    8/13/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: SkipAceJoe
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course offers a little bit of everything. Some long drives, tight lines, elevated tee shots, uphill shots, grass and dirt. There is a mix of tall and small trees that make this course very technical. Great tee signs and cement tee pads. The disc shop offered a variety of discs at a reasonable price.
Cons: There are no water misters on the covered benches at hole 8.
Other Thoughts: I'd visit this course more if I didn't have to pass 4 other great courses on my hour and a half drive out there.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sylmar - Veterans Park

1    6/29/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 193  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 15.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Beautiful terrain incorporating massive eucalyptus and pine trees throughout this 94-acre hillside, in the foothills of Los Angeles. With grassy fairways on the first three holes, the rest of the course plays up and down much more rugged terrain the remainder of the round. Looping toward the paking lot multiple times, this course has great flow and challenging design.
*Multiple pin placements (3) w/ red, white, or blue DISCatchers on every hole, hence the name Veteran's Park. Baskets get moved regularly and are often strategically placed around natural obstacles. Accurate tee signs showing distance, par, obstacles, and pin position make navigating the course much easier for first timers. There are large concrete tee pads on every hole w/ cinder blocks to support when necessary due to erosion or elevation. Some w/ two pads like holes one and three, which add hole length and difficulty.
*Technical course allowing for multiple approaches both off the tee and in the fairways. Holes range from 215ft. -390ft. Course is well balanced for both LH and RH players, rewarding accuracy over power. Only a few holes on the course are blind.
*Strong local club which helps to maintain the course and make ongoing improvements. The $2 fee helps to push this course in to the future and allow it to compete as one of the premier courses in the state! Well worth the cost to enjoy a premier level course.
*Best pro shop I have seen on site in all the courses I have played to date! It offers snacks, drinks, wide variety of discs, apparel, etc. Visit the 19th Hole when you visit and help support the Rico brothers. They do a lot for this community and the game itself. For being one of the best dgers in the world, Steve is very humble and very approachable.

Favorite hole/s: #11 (Pyramid Hole), #12 - #15
Cons:
* Lower portion of the course can get brutally hot and dusty during the warm summer days so bring shades and water.
*Multiple areas where a disc can go out of bounds over a fence and in to a neighborhood so just be aware.
*Due to its popularity, crowds can be an issue during the weekends and summer.
*With only a few placements reaching nearly 400 ft, it would have been nice to have had some longer holes although not necessary. They do however use the upper portion of the park (above the first three holes) during tournaments which addresses this issue.
Other Thoughts:
*Sylmar has been around for over three decades and yet continues to get much praise for being technical and challenging. Although the original course has been modified and redesigned over the years, it continues to utilize the land making every hole unique unto its own. Since the takeover by the Rico brothers, Sylmar has vastly improved and become a place where advanced and pros alike come to get better. A-Tiers are held here as well as several other competitive pdga tournaments, and is home to a disc golf legend.

**A must play if in LA**

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best

1    3/24/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 121  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 12.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
On-Site Pro Shop
Multiple Pin Positions
Baskets/Each Position is Color Coded
Amazing Use of Elevation
Requires Every Shot in Your Bag
Figure 8 Design (9 & 18 End at Parking Lot)
Great Flow and Design
Great Variety of Distances
Course Is Away From Other Park Traffic
Very Well Manicured and Maintained
Locals Are The Best (Friendly and Helpful)
Practice Basket
Trash Cans and Benches Throughout
Ample Parking
Beautiful Course/Landscaping
Lessons (From Pro) Available for a Fee
Great Tee Signs
Bathrooms On-Site
Cons:
*I really have to nitpick for cons.

Could Use More Distance Holes
Can Get Crowded
You Can See the Wear/Erosion Issues
Other Thoughts:
Sylmar/Veteran's Park Disc Golf Course is located in a nice 96-acre park in Sylmar, CA, a suburb of Los Angeles. The Park is very easy to locate, just minutes from the 210. Enter the park from Sayre Street and make a left once inside the park. The 19th Hole, the pro shop, and parking lot will be on your left.

From the parking lot you can see the pro shop, practice basket, and the first tee pad will be beside the pro shop, left of the entrance to the shop. Be sure to stop in the shop, not only to pay for your rounds, but to check out their huge selection of discs and accessories. The pro shop is also where you are likely to find at least one, if not both of the Rico brothers, Bamba and Steve. Not only do the run the shop, they designed the current layout and also give lessons by the hour (for a nominal fee).

Begin your round at hole 1 near the pro shop. The designers have implemented a well thought-out red, white, and blue color coded system for the baskets. Each hole has a red, white, and blue placement and the baskets are painted to match. Not only does this allow you to see which placement the basket is in and the distance of each, it also helps with navigation. The holes are always placed in a red, white and blue pattern so if you just played a red hole the next will be white, then blue and so on.

The course itself plays through beautiful mature trees that really force you to chose your lines and use a variety of shots to shoot well. The designers also made great use of the elevation that this park has to offer. At least half of the holes, if not more, have some sort of elevation in play, whether it be uphill, downhill, or a well placed basket you will need to know how to play elevation changes on this course.

The designers/crew also did an amazing job with the landscaping and overall aesthetics. Carefully placed boulders, bricks and landscaping timbers are not only pleasing to the eye, they create challenge and prevent further erosion keeping this park in great condition.

Overall this is one of the best and most fun courses I have yet to play. Sylmar is a must-play for anyone heading to the greater LA area and a course I will play time and time again.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 I would rate 4 star but...

2-4    9/4/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: The Meat Truck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2010
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great hole variety, nice elevation on certain holes, all baskets are clearly marked.
Easy to find your way around hole to hole.
Nice pro shop.
Good tee pads.
Park right at hole one and finish near your car.
Cons: Can be very busy, had to wait for two people in front of my group last time, but not everytime.
2 dollars to play not a big deal really but still.
My one BIG issue with this course is the overgrown weeds with thorny stickers, that stuck everywhere, and i mean everywhere the entire bottom of my shoes were covered with them and for a course i have to pay to play at, they should really have better upkeep.
Other Thoughts: Good challenging course that I would give 4 stars if they would clean it up a bit.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Highly Recommended

1    9/9/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: throwmadisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, I would like to say this is now my favorite course to play. When we played this course there wasn't to many people so it was nice and relax. I love the scenery, the holes are short but still make you give your shot some thought. Technical but not out of control. You got your left hooks, and you right hooks, you got your trees, your ups and a downs. My favorite hole is 11, you throw down the hill and your disc just flys real nice. They also have a man-made pyramid that a basket sits on top of raising the basket about 4 feet off the ground, we weren't lucky enough to have it the rounds we played but it looked like it would be alot of fun to play. Also one thing to bring attention to is the tee work and color coded tees and baskets. This set up makes the flow of the course extremely easy to follow. You simply see the color that is posted on the signs and that is the color basket you are throwing to. Such a great system to have. All the tees have some type of stone work or rock work around them. Tee pads to range in size but never to small. and the biggest plus of all..this side of the park is 100% Dedicated to Disc Golf.

Cons: Holes could be a little bit longer, its sylmar so on the wrong day it could be a scorcher! A little far out there (thats just for us because we live further south so its a bit of a drive)
Other Thoughts: PLAY HERE!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf the Way It Was Meant to Be

1    7/12/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 14 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amenities, views, course upkeep
Other Thoughts: The course at Veterans Park is a high-end SoCal disc golf experience. With an excellent onsite pro shop, lessons available from the onsite pros, top-end signage, concrete teepads, a large area of the park devoted strictly to disc golf, an easy to follow color-coded system to get from hole to hole, and a bunch of broad views, you'll be hard pressed to find a better overall disc golf outing in the whole Los Angeles sprawl.

The course starts out on grassy, flat, groomed park land, which does unrealistically set expectations a bit. After hole 4 you move down into the more dirt and mulch area of the park, but the advantage is that elevation becomes more of a factor also. Sylmar is an older course, and thus is not particularly long, but does have plenty of fun shots, downhill, uphill, and just among the many large trees. There are enough trees to keep you honest, but you don't need a variety of shots to succeed out here - driving long enough and for the most part straight is the main thing. Beyond the pro shop and other amenities already noted, the two features that stand out are the nice views of the valley from several holes, particularly #11, and then the several uphill holes, which add a good bit of challenge to an otherwise par 3 course.

While Veterans Park has only one set of teepads, multiple pin placements will keep the course fresh for even regular players, I'm sure. It's the kind of course most of us would love to have as a local course - you can buy everything you need right there, it's nice looking, the baskets can be moved around as needed, you don't have to share the space with other park users, and it's kept in great shape. I'd put this course at or near the top of your SoCal wishlist if you're planning a visit, and I'm sure all you locals are grateful to have such a nice course tucked away out there on the quiet edge of the L.A. megaopolis.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/21/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: Jason Daves
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Exclusive use course, great pro-shop, multiple pins and tees. I really enjoyed this course. The staff at the pro-shop were great!
Cons: It's not in Colorado!
Other Thoughts: This is a must visit if you're in the LA area. I can't wait to go back.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    6/6/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: TrippinBill
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sylmar has a great variety of holes with varying degrees of length and difficulty. Some nice elevation change, nice tunnel shots, some more open holes with protected greens, shorter finesse holes, multiple pin locations, and now a couple of extra "pro" tee pads. The disc golf section of the park is used primarily for just that. Some occasional folks walking their dogs, but all that I have encountered yield to the disc golfers. I've even had some stop their walk while I putt. The tee pads are a good size and all concrete. The baskets are in good shape, and they alternate colors. Red, white and blue as you go around the course. This makes navigation a breeze. My first time playing it I did it with no map with no problems. They have an excellent pro shop with discs, bags, apparel, snacks, and drinks. Some times Steve Rico is working behind the counter. Nice practice basket just outside the pro shop. There is a bathroom close to several tee pads and baskets.
Cons: The course can be a bit dusty, but it's not too bad. The area is frequently windy, and this makes the dust worse. There could be a few more trash cans throughout the course. Some players might feel that the course is too short or not challenging enough, but for a player like me it is great.
Other Thoughts: One of the best things about this course is that the Rico brothers are very involved with it. Unless I play the course multiple times in one day, it is never the same. I have personally never experienced back ups on the course except in tournament play. One thing I feel I should mention is that the sheriffs patrol the park frequently. No alcohol allowed and smoking on the course is prohibited.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: Ludwig
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Friendly and knowledgeable staff at pro shop.

-Friendly fellow disc golfers on the course.

- Relatively short course, but that's more than made up for with trees and elevation changes in addition to the multiple pin locations that seem to change every week or two.

- Pro shop has great selection of discs and other related equipment. As well as some snacks and drinks for those hot days.

Cons: - Arriving any time after 10:00 a.m. on weekends, the course can get a little crowded and very HOT. Although there's a good amount of shade, bring something to drink or buy water or gatorade from the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: This will most likely become my "regular" course as not only is it the closest one to me, but it is an excellent course to boot and I'll be returning frequently.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My Cali home course

5+    1/1/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: z-man
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.9 Years
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Let me begin by saying California lacks the park land for really spectacular disc golf courses...This being said...Sylmar offers a course that is about as close to what I expect coming from my home state of Iowa...

-Multiple pin positions changed fairly frequently allow a different course to be played each week.
-Accurate tee signs
-Pro shop right off of hole number 1
-Friendly locals willing to show you around
-Excellent use of terrain...this course will require you to throw hyzers, anhyzers, up and down hills, etc...
-Practice basket off of hole 1 to allow you to warm up
-Weekly mini on Thursday nights
Cons: -Can get fairly crowded on the weekends...if you arrive early enough its usually not a problem
-Kind of rocky terrain can scuff up some of your plastic
-Gets hot in the summer time...try to play from the shade
Other Thoughts: There is a huge expanse of land just north of the park...If the city would allow the course to drift a little farther up that way another 18 hole course could be created...

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.