Sylmar, CA 
Sylmar (Veterans Park) Share
Uploaded By: flash86 Hole #5
3 / 250ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Fairway



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Right Line

2-4    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out course that makes great use of the terrain. There is great variation in distances and shot types. Every hole provided a great challenge but there was nothing too difficult to make it annoying. There is is a very high risk reward level on this course as one bad throw makes it really hard to save par. There was a great flow to the course and I really felt like I was out of the city as I was playing this round, a huge bonus for being in the greater LA area. I found all the tee pads to be wonderful, even if they were different on just about every hole. The tee signs were very helpful and the fact that the basket color rotated (Red, White, Blue) throughout the course helped do away with any confusion especially with matching colors on the tee signs. There is a fully stocked pro shop right there in the parking lot with a very helpful owner. This is the home course of Steve Rico and he dose a lot for this course. There are multiple basket locations and they are changed once a week. There will be little to no foot traffic on this course.
Cons: The biggest negative in my opinion is that this a a pay to play course. After that I am really reaching to come up with some negatives. There were a bunch of holes that felt like they were straight uphill. Some of the baskets were not consistent with the rest of the course having either stiff chains or a shallow basket. Even though this course plays through the trees, it can still get very hot. It was somewhere in the 80's when I played and coming up the hill near the end felt like it was much hotter than that.
Other Thoughts: After just playing a couple of rounds this course may actually have become my favorite course in the greater LA area, even over La Mirada, where I have over 100 rounds. The care that goes into this course is amazing and the only thing that maybe keeps this course at the same level as La Mirada is that it is only 18 holes and you have to pay $2 to play. I loved the fact that I really felt like I was somewhere besides in a city park with only a couple of holes playing over grass. Otherwise it had the feel of a mountain course to some extent, especially when considering the fact that you really have to choose the right line and then hit it. There are some very tight holes on the course. I do not know what to say about thrower traffic for this course. There was almost no one there as I played on a monday late morning and early afternoon but I am sure that a gem of a course like this will get a lot more traffic. I heard that there was also a temp course set up for a recent tournament that is super challenging and amazing in its own right, if only they could make it a second permanent course here.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sylmar is Sweet!!!

2-4    4/13/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2010
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the terrain, has a natural flow. Losta elevation changes. Tight, Open, Long, Short, Lefts, Rights shots. Brings all the skills out. By far my favorite course in the greater LA area.

Ingenious use of alternating Red, White, & Blue Teesigns and Holes (makes following the course easier). Accurate and good signage. Excellent teepads, all concrete and large.

Has a excellent pro shop with really friendly, good people runnin' it. Great plastic for sale at reasonable prices. As well as the rest of the gear and refreshments and snacks. Restroom is centrally located in the course and clean. All holes have benches and trash cans. The Summertime layout (extra 18 added at park for tourney) is awesome

The Course Is Disc Golf Exclusive!!!
Cons: Not any that I can think of....... A must play if your anywhere near the course!!!!

Some rocky terrain that will chew up your DX plastic, my Star stuff does pretty good...... But that is just pouting, not a real con.
Other Thoughts: Can't say enough how great the people are that I met. From the shop to all the people playin'.

Favorite Holes:

Front, #1. Makes you use accuracy and textbook technique. I throw the Stingray LHBH and hope it makes it through the trees

Back, #11 Take it deep and to the left and let 'er bomb in. The pyramid, elevated placement is great fun and an extra challenge

Worth every dime of the 2 bucks they ask for to play


19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Nice LA course

1    2/7/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The setting of this course is very nice. Tucked up a mountainside just a short drive north from the 210 freeway, and only a few minutes east of the 5, it is very accessible. The neighborhood is working class, but friendly. We arrived at this course on a day when the rain clouds were just lifting after several rainy days. The sky was crystal clear, and there were wonderful views of San Fernando Valley and all the surrounding mountains.

The course is set on a bumpy hillside that used to be part of a Veterans hospital and care center, is well-mowed grass with numerous kinds of mature trees. There was an enormous hawk flying around the course while we were there, which was fun to watch.

A pro shop selling almost exclusively Innova discs is right at the parking lot and tee #1 (more Discraft discs can be found at a convenience market down the hill a few block from the course on Sayer). The people are friendly. While there is a $2/per day fee to play, the proceeds very obviously go toward making this a very nicely maintained course stocked with new baskets, signs, concrete tees, etc..

There are right turning, left turning, multiple pathway, gentle uphill, extreme uphill, gentle downhill, across hill, tunnel shots, tree shrouded, open, and every other kind of hole you could possibly extract from this course. There are multiple pin positions, and distances range from just over 200 ft to well over 400 ft. I used right hand backhand drives off the tee about 50% of the time, rollers 10%, and forehand about 40%. Several of the tees have a couple trees ahead on either side that psych you out and which are heavily scarred by thousands of disc strikes.

When we were there the course was relatively free of players, and we never had to wait at a tee. The vibe was relaxed and people were playing at a comfortable pace. There were no jerks who act like they own the place, no idiots who threaten and intimidate newcomers or visitors like you might find at other courses like Oak Grove.

Cons: There were a few holes where tree cutting and removal created piles of debris that were some what in the fairway, but these weren't really all that bad.

Other Thoughts: Some of the local players I talked to had fun stories about other locals, such as an old veteran master who can skip his disc off some of the roofs of nearby houses on the holes near the bottom of the course and park a birdie. Seems almost impossible, but fun to think about nonetheless.

I'm not a big fan of the Innova baskets in use here, mostly because the high profile top rim seems to present a psychological distraction and is a disc magnet for me. Also because they are becoming too dominant in the disc golf industry, and I like to see money spread around a bit more.

The Sheriff was cruising the park right at sunset and making sure everyone was leaving the park, so plan accordingly.


13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/28/2012   2/5/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2012
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice, moderately wooded park on the slopes of nearby mountains. Excellent signs, cement tee pads and red/white/blue basket sequence to curb navigation issues.

Mountainside views offer an expansive view of the San Fernando valley, with coniferous trees giving it a different feel than other area courses. Several holes have expansive areas of bark, presumably to cut down on dust and erosion.Great maintenance and course design.

Tee pads are particularly good, better than any in the area. Tee view from Hole 11 is outstanding, with a Casitas-like downhill drive. Also has some Morley Field-like Holes (4, 5, 8-10).

Slopes of hills make distance and power required for shots difficult to judge, increasing the challenge factor.
Cons: City park course, with a few holes that are similar. Few long (>400') holes. Fairly crowded course, with waiting often part of the deal.

It seems there are other areas of the park that could in theory host more holes.
Other Thoughts: One of the best LA-metro courses, with additional attention to details such as selective tree removal, signs and navigational aids.

Reasonable $2 admittance fee, and an on-site pro shop with snacks and drinks.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/25/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Awesome layout and use of space. Red, white, and blue pins to help guide you through the course. A fair amount of accuracy is needed to be successful here but not too much distance is needed. Bathroom facilities are centrally located on the course and are accessible from all protons of the park.It was also very well maintained and has a great pro shop. some elevated baskets with brick stairs around them. most of the holes do a good job of changing the flow of the course, making sure that the same shot is not used on the next hole. concrete tees and discatcher baskets.

the course is pay to play but it is clear that the money you spend actually goes back into the course. and it's dog friendly.
Cons: some very short holes. construction debris, but it is to improve the course. the small chance you may have to retrieve a disc from one of the back yards.
Other Thoughts: every time i come home i make sure to come out and play this course.

this is also the course that the new Climo Feldberg DVD was shot at.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/2/2007   12/13/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in Southern California. (and i played 20 of them, the week I was in the area)

Pro shop on site

This may be hard to understand but, each next tee sign was painted a different color, but once I figured it out it made finding the next hole alot simpler. The color sequence is red white and blue. So hole # 1 might be red, hole # 2 white, and hole # 3 blue, then hole # 4 red and so on. Only course that I know of that uses this method.

A lot of park/ club activity done to improve park.

Great Mexican restaurant at the bottom of the hill across the street from a school
Cons: A few of the latter holes run along a fence that seperates the park from the residential area, (i'm left handed so it didn't really come in play) but if a disc was thrown over the fence the 'old perverbial' climb or the fence retrieval method could be used, or a long walk around.

Lack of shaded parking spaces.
Other Thoughts: Not in the best neighborhood, but not in the worst either. Just be aware of your surroundings.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in Los Angeles

5+    12/12/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: charliekerper
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 well groomed holes with maps at each tee to direct you to the basket. The course is mainly inhabited by disc players with the occasional jogger or couple passing through, which provides a pleasant tone. Every hole offers a unique challenge. The onsite disc center has discs for sale and the guys there are always friendly and helpful. Generally everyone encountered playing there is helpful and courtious.
Cons: A few holes run along a fence that seperates the park from the residential area, and I have seen a few throws make it to the street, which leads to fence climb retrieval, or a long walk around. Other than that, everything is great, and even the fence isn't that bad, as long as it isn't me who has to go get the disc that went over the fence.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you give yourself about an hour and a half to two hours to play before sunset, as the last holes seem to get real dark as the sun sets.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Updating Review

5+    10/18/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in Southern California. The course plays mostly on a gently sloping hillside covered with eucalyptus trees, pine trees, oak trees and even some palm trees. The first few holes do play across grass. There is a great variety of throws required to be successful out here. You will find a nice balance between tight vs. open fairways, right-handed vs. left- handed, short vs. long and flat vs. elevation. They do a nice job of rotating basket placements to make things a little different each time you play. When the baskets are in their short positions, a 1000-rated round could be a -11. However, when they are all long, then a 1000-rated round could be a -3. The variations in basket placements definitely alters the overall challenge of the course. Replay never gets old out here. Outstanding pro shop that is well-stocked and well-staffed. Great local scene with competitive weekly's on Thursday evenings and monthly's on the third Saturday of each month. This is the home course of Steven Rico and Bamba Rico. They are great about giving tips and advice. Another positive is that you don't have to worry about non-disc golfers on the course. There is very little foot traffic on the paths through the course so we have it all to ourselves.
Cons: Sylmar can get very hot! Make sure to bring water during the summer or if you planning a long day with lots of rounds. This is not really an issue for me, but just wanted to give some people a heads up in advance.
Other Thoughts: Gary Sandoval, Steve Rico, Bamba Rico and other locals do a great job putting on two PDGA tournaments every year. The Sylmar Open is a one-day, three-round tournament held during the Spring. It is definitely a test of your endurance and focus. The Summertime Open is held later in the year and it is by far one of the best tournaments I have played in. It is a two-day, four-round tournament that attracts the best Pros and Ams from all around because of the large payouts, nice players' packs and the near-legendary temporary Upper Course they put in for just a few days for the Summertime Open. If this course were permanent, I would rate it as 5.0 Discs. These tournaments just add to the overall experience of Sylmar.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans Park Sylmar, Ca

7/13/2008   7/16/2008
Review By: colbynoscopy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is my favorite it is just challenging enough to make it difficult, but you can get some great shots. It has its own store and the course is owned by the 2006 Japan Open Winner Steve Rico. The longest hole by my memory is 360 ft. This course is very well taken care of some hills on 4 of the holes . Ive been there a couple of times and love it every time.
Cons: We got lost on a one hole but every thing else is great.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Very well Maintained

6/26/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.4 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Looks like the course was once dominated by nasty shrubs and dead vegetation, however it looks as if there has been MUCH work done to eliminate this and break them down. The tees are very well take care of as well. The baskets are color coded and help you to see which placement they are in as each hole has 3/4 different pins. Very nice looking little course, but utilizes the area extremely well.
Cons: A little hard to follow some holes to the next pad, but not bad. A couple holes don't really have fairways, but only 2 or 3 are like this.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.