Disc Golf Store
Gautier, MS 
Shepard State Park Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #14
3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wooded

5+    5/11/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: DiscCoulter09
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The design of the course is wonderful. It goes through a wooded area and uses the trees and water and surrounding areas wonderfully. Each whole is different and requires some skilled shots. They have recently put up signs to next wholes. This is wonderful.
In the summer time, be prepared for a lot of insects, bring lots of water, sunscreen and bug spray. #11 also is a water hole - must be able to throw 200 ft in the air to clear the water. Also, it is good to have a spotter on some wholes to locate discs when they don't land in the fairway.
Cons: Not all tee pads are cement. They had some gravel ones, but have not maintained them at all. In the spring and summer, more keeping the course in shape would be nice.
Costs $3.00 to get into the park.
Other Thoughts: Put in more teepads, gravel or pavement, but take time do it right.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Make You Holla Fo 3 Dolla

5+    11/18/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: Osshane
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Various shots are called for. It has a good mixture of short, medium, and long holes. Great course to play in the upcoming winter. The course is not crowded and provides a great family atmosphere. Newly cleaned up by myself and some friends.
Cons: Bugs are very bad in the Summer and whenever else the feel like coming out so always have your bug spray for the woods. Easy to lose a disc if you go left or right as the woods are thick. I have been played there over 50 times and cleaned the course and have only seen one snake but they are present.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course if you are in the area! Come check us out! Looking to start up league play on the Weekends or late afternoon. If interested email me at OSshane@yahoo.com

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 cleaned-up!

5+    10/9/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: madmikesmith
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: newly cleaned and cleared!!! low traffic area, somewhat challenging, nice scenery, small overall distance b/w holes
Cons: bugs in the summer, thick brush, people littering!!!!
Other Thoughts: i was recently given permission to clean up this coarse as its my local coarse.my friends and myself have cleaned up the front 9, cleared alot of the overgrowth, even upgraded some of the natural tee boxes. we've also started the back 9 but still have a couple of holes to finish. hopefully everyone will enjoy our efforts and try to keep it clean from litter!!!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good in the Winter

1    3/16/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: Suic
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a varied and generally challenging layout and sadly is one of the best on the MS coast. I played during the Winter and so didn't have much if any trouble with overgrown brush. Have I played better courses? Absolutely; but for this course being as off the beaten path as it is and with such a small staff to keep things up; I was pleasantly surprised at the hole variety.
Cons: 1)Recent rain will turn a decent number of the holes into marshland
2)Most of the course punishes non-accurate throws by forcing the thrower to take a trip into thick underbrush(only during the summer)
Other Thoughts: I don't really feel that this deserves 4 stars, but I think the current overall average is much lower than this deserves. My real rating would be a 3.5 or 3.75 if that were possible.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.