Canton, GA 
Sequoyah Park Share
Uploaded By: Protool1983 Hole #15
3 / 363ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Sequoyah Deserves More Than 3 stars

5+    3/16/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: ArmandDillo
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great selection of shots. Mostly of the tight, technical variety, but you do get a few chances to let it rip. Nice elevation changes.

The woods are pretty and the course is very well-kept. The park itself, and the course specifically, are rarely crowded.
Cons: All the trees can be frustrating for beginners.

There are a couple spots toward the end where you can lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: I was motivated to review this course because I thought 3 stars was a little low.


1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

5+    2/11/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some very unique holes that you will remember.
A variety of shots are required.
Some holes are a true test of accuracy while other holes allow for airing it out.
Cons: Some holes are filled with trouble.
Some treacherous terrain #17.
Other Thoughts: *The holes have changed(for the better) compared to the pictures in this review.
* New #15, Original #15 becomes #16, original #16 becomes #17, original #17 has been removed(yea!) original #18 remains.

This is my home course due to its convenient location and where I was introduced to Disc Golf. I look forward to it everytime. There are many unique holes that you will remember and look forward to playing. Fairway size it mostly reasonable, some are pretty tight and require accurate placement but there are a few holes(#10,11,15,&18) that allow you to air it out.
**New Hole #15 is a great addition which removed original #17 (the parking lot tee pad across entrance road). They extended #14 which still has the disc eating sludge pond over the hill and #15 plays from the back of that hole across a steep gorge back near #14 tee pad. This is a really nice addition to the course.
#16 has now been reworked and the steep gorge on the left has been properly filled in and the pond on the right has been drained. This hole is now far less scary with those two changes. #17 is difficult uphill shot. The terrain can be very difficult as it is a straight upward climb. Leaves can make it a slippery hike. Also many opportunities for your disc to roll down the right bank into the stream.(The water is not the problem but rather the steep grade retrieving your disc) so play the hole to the left as it is an easier walk and better approach. Hole 18 if you can keep it off the road is a great ending allowing for the release of letting it rip off the tee.

This course has introduced me to a variety of shots and since playing other courses around the area, I found that I was ready for anything from learning here. I still look forward to coming back to Sequoyah Park.
Hats off to the gentlemen who keep this course maintained. They do a great job and the course just keeps getting better. Even after 9 months of consistently playing this course it still challenges me every time.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sequoyah Review

5+    2/5/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: Crupie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great woods course with many birdie opportunities. Disccatcher baskets and concrete pads with good signs and directions to next hole.
Requires good forehand and a decent backhand
Cons: Not all of the holes have concrete pads and could use some more mulch for when it gets muddy. Some holes such as 1 and 4 are not as good when the move the pin positions
Other Thoughts: Fun course for beginners because of all the birdie opportunities and short distance holes. Beautiful during the spring time

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/6/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: dmerk
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a very wooded course, but not too much. The first twelve holes are just superb. Every hole is a challenge but great. Just so well thought out and placed. Its very diverse. some holes are well over 300 and then some are well under 200, but just as hard. Some of the most fun I've had. Just a great first 12 holes. Oh, and hole 14.
Cons: I get annoyed with all the hiking you have to do after the first 12 holes. It gets tiresome. Be prepared to climb (hole 16). The first twelve holes are fun but the last 6 are just kind of a blur. Nothing too exciting about them
Other Thoughts: There are a lot of places to lose a disc. keep that in mind.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of fun

1    11/1/2008   3/4/2009
Review By: Dan_Dizzle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of hole types. Gets very technical on most holes. There are two hole that are side by side that throw over a deep ravine... just beautiful! Not too long until you get to the back 9 holes. Not too crowded and plenty of signs so you know where you are and where to go.
Cons: Could use more work and cleanup... the day I went there were 3 guys picking up dead wood. Overall mainenance is good but could just use a few more people helping out.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course situated in the woods. Treacherous back 9 and gets hilly. Trees call for a good challenge. Overall a really nice course! I would recommend playing here!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "The hills are alive..."

1    12/17/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Woods and open spaces. The tee boxes are concrete, a definite plus. Most of the wooded holes are not terrible. You can't open up on your tee off, but you can throw it. It's a very nice area. The signs are amazing. You waste no time trying to find the next tee. It's challenging in a good way and is kept up very well. There are multiple basket placements which is really great. Hole 10.... the disc soars.
Cons: The walk is long. It's not so much the length as it is the walking up and down all the hills. I felt like I was hiking more than I was playing. Hole 16 is ridiculous. End of story.
Other Thoughts: To be honest... this is a GREAT course. There are only a couple of issues. I know I said things about the hills. I've lived in Ga all my life, hills are inevitable. I just felt that some of these were ridiculous for the game. Overall... play it if you get the chance.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 FUN FUN

1    12/17/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun yet tough woods course. Some holes are tight yet some are open! My friend and I had a lot fun. Holes 10 and 11 are AWESOME!
Cons: A lot of walking up and down and up and down slopes. signs not present on some teeboxes and you have to search for the basket. Some holes are weird after number 12 but playable. Hole 16 is downright stupid! Bring your hiking boots and some water for this one!
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a great course in a good area. I liked it a lot, Facts are facts, high elevation changes and bad signage are the cons, however, it is a lot of fun!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent

5+    12/7/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: The Marshal
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight technical course that demands accuracy. Nice mix of short to medium holes with defined fairways mixed in with a few long hole that you can rip on.
Cons: Lose your drive off the fairway and you will be working on "Getting out of jail" if you go too deep in the schule.
Other Thoughts: Well maintained course with benches, directionals, signs, g-cans, and restrooms (winterized mid Dec-Feb). Read the sign on the tree after finishing hole 12 for directions to tee 13.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.