Canton, GA 
Sequoyah Park Share
Uploaded By: Protool1983 Hole #7
3 / 148ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
The Saq!

5+    7/31/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: iLessThan3DiscGolf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~Mostly concrete pads, with a couple high-density rubber mats
~Tight & technical course. Definitely "Shot Golf"
~Mixed variety of shots will test most of the discs in your bag
~Couple chances to bomb a driver
~Holes are long enough to be tough, but short enough to be fair
~Some short, ace-worthy holes
~Fairways are kept clean and clear
~Most holes have multiple pin positions, and positions are updated throughout busy season
~Local club & county maintains the course
~Great walk through the woods
Cons: ~Older Mach 1(or 2?) baskets do frequently spit out discs
~Murky retention pond in play that will eat your discs (Holes 14,15,16)
~Walking path sometimes in play
~Road in play, but only one hole and generally not a hazard
~Hole 17; one of the less-enjoyable holes ever created
~Park is getting busier every year. Baseball and fall-football tends to fill the parking lots most days
~Can be a bit tricky to navigate; the signs are dated and some are missing
Other Thoughts: Sequoya is a course that will test your game, and your patience. If you are willing to fight through some tight fairways and ill-placed trees, par will be your reward. Hit a few too many trees and you're looking at a long round.

The "shot-golf" style course will test your woods-game, and if played often will sharpen your skills into a better golfer. Sequoya has been my local course over the past few years, and she still reaches out and slaps me in the face quite often. There are a few unfortunate aspects of Sequoya that we could live without, but those things are what make Sequoya what she is. You know what to expect when you play Sequoya; a real challenge!

During baseball season weekends, the concession stand is open and will sometimes even stock Chik-fil-a sammiches, but don't expect it every weekend.

If you are a fan of the tight & technical aspect of disc golf, I highly recommend Sequoya!

*She recently received a bit of a haircut, so if you haven't been here since June, take a look.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Bag

1    3/2/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has great potential, some very nice technical wooded holes and obstacles. Significant elevation changes throughout and the baskets are pretty good.

Concrete tee pads on almost every hole with a few grippy rubber mats mixed in.

It's a pretty course and a decent hike as well.

Also if you are there during baseball games there is a conssesion stand with water and power aide.
Cons: It's a very busy multi use park and there are serial times where you have to throw across the jogging path and a few where the road comes into play. I didn't like the fact that an on target throw could often hit a runner.

The layout is okay if you have the map, you will want to download the map, but can be a little confusing. There are several spots where you can see 2 or 3 baskets from the tee and if you don't have the map you won't know which one to throw to.

Also 13/14/15 throw over a murky retention pond. If you throw one in there it's done you won't be able to see it at all.

Actually several easy spots to loose discs, I won't bring my A bag if I play there again.

It's also a little hard to find tee 1.
Other Thoughts: I like the course but the many spot where it is hard to navigate and intersect the jogging path detract greatly.

If your working on refining you short game it's great but overall other local courses are easier to enjoy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sequoyah Park Canton

5+    7/13/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: D Slanger
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nobody is ever playing the course. Decent for learning some specific shots.
Cons: Super tight lanes, very unforgiving, some of the holes look like they were after thoughts and just thrown together. Strictly shot golf, no open drives.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Sequoyah Shakedown

1    6/30/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 236  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sequoyah Park in Canton, GA is a fun course in a nice park. The variety between short holes skirted by woods and long, open bombs give good contrast. Elevation changes often provide another nice element to the mix. The equipment is good, including concrete tee pads, good baskets, signs for all holes, as well as great, descriptive arrows pointing out paths connecting the holes. Not super difficult, but no pushover: it definitely got the best of me first time out. I think this course is underrated, and kind of want to give it a four, they have done a great job with what is there. A couple of really great shots, as well as a few birdie holes. One of those that I know I could play well, if I was a little more familiar with it.
Cons: There were other park users that strayed onto the course a couple of times, causing delays. Dogs must stay on a leash. Sort of a long walk between 17 and 18. There are really not a lot of negatives that come to mind.
Other Thoughts: Sequoyah Park is a really nice, intermediate to advanced level disc golf course. If you like elevation change, you will likely enjoy this course. The park is clean and in good condition. I would play it again, if I were in the neighborhood. Baseball games brought crowds the summer Sunday I visited, and the concession stand was open for business. Reminiscent of Deer Lick Park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    12/12/2012   2/21/2013
Review By: DG_Printer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course. The course is empty most of the time. Friendly golfers. Course located inside a park for the most part you do not overlap with pedestrians. Great elevation holes. Good mix of open and wooded holes.


Cons: Not to many negative things to say about this course. The baskets/chains are not the greatest. On occasion a putt will slip through the chains and miss. Some of the hills are very steep which makes for some very fun shots. However, once you are finish the 18th hole it is unlikely you will want to play much more cause you will be tired
Other Thoughts: I love this course because it helped me develop my game, especially in terms of elevation. Whenever I go there is usually no one or very few golfers. It almost feels like I have the whole course to myself when I am their. Very relaxing course

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Under rated!

2-4    11/26/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Not to long but great basket placement and trees in the right places to make you think twice.
Layout - Good variety with multiple basket positions. Mostly wooded. Great signage and the layout is well marked.
Tee pads are mixed some concrete and mats.
Maintained!!!!! The guys that maintain this course are always doing something. Once during the fall one guy brought a blower out to clear the fairway!
Holes 10 & 11 - These two are favorites. Shooting over valley with baskets same elevation as tee pad. Fun to launch it and watch them go. Baskets are well placed for these holes. 10 - is guarded by a tree and slightly to the left of the tee. 11 - is higher up and to the right.

13 - 18 Has to be the one place where I can turn a bad round back in to a positive. I know most people don't like these holes but they are great.
13 - Over the road into on coming traffic or down the trail. The first couple times you worry about it but you can see well enough that you shouldn't have an issue.
14 - Water to the right and the basket is down below tee box hidden. Great placement.
15 - My least favorite hole besides 6. Basket is to the.right with water possibly in play.
16 - Sweet hole now that the creek bank has been fixed. Basket is to left in the trees.
17 - Nice change in elevation. Basket is high and to right. Don't miss to the right!
18 - Throwing over the road again. No big deal.
Cons: Just erosion issues...but hopefully
it will improve with recent upgrades to park.
Hole 6 - when it is in the XL position. Makes for the longest hole in the course. (Just not my favorite.)
Other Thoughts: This course isn't going to be the hardest you play but is challenging. Holes 1-4 get you warmed up. 5 nice wide long straight shot. 7 & 8 are shorter but trees help make them challenging. 9 is a nice hole with a turn to the left.

I play this course a lot and it is fun. With the changing of baskets and the types of holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Day on the Course

1    10/18/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: wabrown23
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Restrooms located at #1 tee box which is also walk between 12 and 13.
-Several Benches and trash cans scattered throughout the course.
-Signs to next tee.
-Lots of parking
-Trails and Fairways were well kept.
-Holes 1-9, 12,14,15-18 (Not sure why everyone hates 17, great up hill anhyzer, fairway is open
Cons: -Hole signs, there are a few but not many and not in good shape, they also do not include all of the pin placements.
-A lot of blind pin locations, no flags or markings on holes to find pin from the tee. (1,2,4,6,8,9,12,14,15,16,17) It appeared that A positions were visible from the Tee but very few holes were in A position.
-Hole 13... Plays down a road. Really just poor design.
-Holes 6,10,11 all share a fairway
-Holes 3 to 4 and 6 to 7 you have to back track on the fairway to gt to the next tee box, this could cause back up on busy days.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course, a few locals were out and they were friendly. Course was clean and well kept, not the most challenging course but I would consider it a great intermediate course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love This Course!

5+    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Rosswake
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course if you enjoy the shade. Lots of wooded holes with an abundance of trees to keep you cool. The tight fairways reward you well when you hit your mark from the tee, but can punish you if you miss. Excellent changes have been made over the past month or two that have gotten rid of a bad hole and replaced it with a very cool hole that hugs a small pond. Right now, they are fixing the 16th hole so that 20 foot deep ditch and the nasty little pond has been filled in so the tee area isn't quite so scary.
Cons: Not a lot of people play this course, so it's not the best place to meet new disc golfers. This is my home course, so I hate to say that the players at this course aren't friendly but that is the 'feel' I get sometimes. So, just bring a friend with you if you don't like to play solo.
Other Thoughts: Lots of benches to relax and take a break after walking up and down the many hills at this course. Plenty of trash cans too, but it never hurts to bring your own and put your garbage in the cans close to the parking lot. There are a few holes that feel like easy birdies here, but if you don't play them smart you will end up with a bogey or worse. My rating will go up once the 16th hole is completed! Really close to a 4 right now!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course changed

5+    5/27/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: Dsplayname
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The maintenance of the course is pretty good, as it has always been. The "signature holes" are still there, with #14 getting longer and better, new #15 is my favorite. Today, there was a little league game, so the concession stand was open for business. $2 for powerade, $3 for bratwurst. Cougars galore!
Cons: It feels like they shortened most of the course. The front nine are all short(as was the pin placements for them), and can all easily be birdies. Classic #17 is gone, which I miss. New #17 is like a nightmare from White Oak, and is too demoralizing for the end of the round. Oh yeah, there are next tee signs, but not really any proper maps or hole layouts at the tees.
Other Thoughts: For the most part, this has become too easy of a course for my taste. The entire front 9 can be played in 18 strokes, and the only challange is a few trees. There isn't much requirement for skills or luck until you get to 14. The game changes drastically from 1-13 being pretty easy, to 14-17 becoming a real difficulty. 18 is a nice solid par 3 to finish out felling good. If only they could add 100 more feet on to holes 1-9, I'd call it a much better course. I left this course feeling like I should have gone to Central Park in Cumming for more of a challenge.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Sequoyah Deserves More Than 3 stars

5+    3/16/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: ArmandDillo
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great selection of shots. Mostly of the tight, technical variety, but you do get a few chances to let it rip. Nice elevation changes.

The woods are pretty and the course is very well-kept. The park itself, and the course specifically, are rarely crowded.
Cons: All the trees can be frustrating for beginners.

There are a couple spots toward the end where you can lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: I was motivated to review this course because I thought 3 stars was a little low.


1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.