Canton, GA 
Sequoyah Park Share
Uploaded By: lazrman778 Hole #12 (Taken 6/2016)
3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice Hilly Georgia Pines Course!

1    7/3/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course, especially the first 12 holes are set up in a lovely, hilly Georgia pine forest with lots of elevation to contend with. The tee pads are mainly concrete and are big enough to provide a nice run-up. The course generally plays tight to very tight with accuracy being the key. This is a not a course for the beginner. Although the course is fairly complicated to navigate, the many next tee signs allowed me to find my way around fairly (?) easily. There are benches on most every hole. The baskets are in a great shape. I saw no signs of any vandalism anywhere and the course was litter free. Holes # 10 and # 11 are the twin signature holes. Both throw across a little valley finally giving you a chance to air it out.
Cons: I, too, felt that the course design kinda fell apart starting with # 13. Throwing into oncoming traffic on # 13 is a recipe for disaster. Then on # 17 you throw across the road and an errant throw on # 18 could hyser off into traffic. Another thing that I didn't particularly like about this course was the amount of uphill, blind throws. I like seeing the basket I'm throwing to. I know some uphill throws are to be expected on a hills course but I was surprised at how many there were here.
Other Thoughts: My congratulations to the locals who worked and obviously continue to maintain this course. You obviously take pride in it. I truly appreciate how well marked it is and the lack of vandalism that tends to detract from so many other courses we play.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Sequoya

1    4/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 112  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty park that is well maintained. Nice restrooms at the beginning with a bulletin with course info avaliable. There are benches and trash cans available on most holes. The course was very clean and the locals I encountered were all very friendly. Mostly wooded course that makes great use of the avaliable elevation changes on this property. Tee pads are a mixture of concrete and rubber, most holes had signs. I missed a few signs I don't know if they were missing or I just overlooked them. However I had no problems navagateing the course.
There is a nice mixture of shots required here and many holes had multiple baske postions available. Every hole had a decernable fairway most were are pretty tight but there. Good shots yeild birdy or even some ace possibilities but the potential of disc pinball with trees allways lurking. I have to agree with others holes #10 and #11 have to be the most visably awesome. Long toss across the same valley with enough distance required to satisfy those big arms out there. Plenty of fun for all to had on the first 12 holes.
Cons: Things start to fall apart some at #13, the hole runs right along the park road. This hole is fairly dangerous in my opinion. If the tee pad was moved down by the walking path the road would be taken out of play. I actually like this hole other than the road hazard, especially the basket placement on the side of a hill with deep water run off crags. The water in play on these back 6 holes looked pretty nasty. They look like they would be mosquito heaven in the summer. Once again on hole 17 you have to throw accross the road.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a very fun park to play. While the last 6 were not quite up to the same level as the first 12, I would not let that stop me from comming back again, And hey you get to walk thru a tunnel to get from 14 to 15, how much fun is that?

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of fun

1    11/1/2008   3/4/2009
Review By: Dan_Dizzle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of hole types. Gets very technical on most holes. There are two hole that are side by side that throw over a deep ravine... just beautiful! Not too long until you get to the back 9 holes. Not too crowded and plenty of signs so you know where you are and where to go.
Cons: Could use more work and cleanup... the day I went there were 3 guys picking up dead wood. Overall mainenance is good but could just use a few more people helping out.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course situated in the woods. Treacherous back 9 and gets hilly. Trees call for a good challenge. Overall a really nice course! I would recommend playing here!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 12 hole courses are fine

2-4    2/23/2009   2/23/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 57  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 signature holes. LOTS and LOTS of elevation, down and uphill. Hole 10 is breathtaking to me. You are throwing over a gorge or small valley. Nice scenery and plenty of trees. Great workout. First 12 holes are easy to navigate and fun to play. Friendly locals.
Cons: Most of the back 6. This isn't a long course but it has some nice elevation working against you on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion this course should have been 12 holes. 13-18 are wastes of baskets. There is another Atl course that falls apart on the back 7, Wills park. Old park that has too much activity. Hopefully Sequoya never comes to that. After moving to Atlanta from Louisiana where there is little to no elevation, the front 12 at this course blew my mind. If you are used to high elevation heavily wooded courses, you might not be as impressed as I. It was my first course with elevated scenic shots so it will always hold a place in my heart. I miss Atlanta DG. If you are in area, East Roswell, Central and Rosewood Dekalb and white Oak are the most popular local courses that I am aware of, who knows there might be some new ones on the way.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Honest local

5+    2/11/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course,but honesty is the best policy...

-Woods holes are fair.Throw the correct shot and you will be rewarded, a bad shot will be punished.
-Lots of trash cans and benches.
-Good job using available land. Most of the course is right along property lines or other park activities, but you still get that isolated sort of feeling.
-Great support from locals.With almost no help from parks dept. the locals get the work done out here.Kudos.
-Teepads are concrete.There are 3 holes with rubber pads, but these holes are VERY short.Its really a non issue for those holes.
-Just plain fun. I have been playing here for 8 years now, and it still makes me smile.Some days I play great and shoot 7 or 8 down (54 par) Some days its 2 or 3 over. It rarely comes down to luck out here.Throw straight, putt well, and your score will reflect it.
Cons: -13 teepad is pointed at the wrong basket.Look down the jogging path for the basket. If its in the long you will see it, in the short it hides behind the pines.
-On 13 14 15 and 17 you have to throw over either a jogging trail or the park road.Most of the time its a non issue, but in the summer/fall the park can be busy on weekday evenings.You may have to wait for some walkers or cars to go by.
-Hillsides can be slippery, if it has rained recently, pay attention.
-In a perfect world this course would be longer, but just about every inch of available land is used here.
Other Thoughts: I noticed a few of the reviewers who did not like the "Back 6" ,as we call it, were players who have not been playing long. l can definitely see these holes frustrating a newer player, but they are not as tough as they seem.The ponds and schule can be harsh, but if you can control your disc for about 200'+ you will be fine. On 16, if you don't see the line right away, walk to the shorter pad and you will see that there is a clear line.From the concrete tee, throw something stable with a touch of anhyzer, and let it flex. This will help you avoid the schule on the right.

This is another 5 star in my heart course for me.I wont lie,there are flaws, but the pros really outweigh the cons here.The fun factor here is high, and thats generally the most important for me.

One more thing....The donkeys on 16 really love to do their HEE-AWW noise right as you throw. Then they give you a children of the corn kinda stare when you turn around.Creepy...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

5+    1/27/2009   1/29/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 131  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 12/26/2010
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The course is good to work on short game accuracy. Holes 10,11 and 13 can be fun to throw and playing the course is sort of work out. Multiple pin positions kind of add some variety.
Cons: The course is overall poorly thought out and designed. The course is way too short.to be any fun at all. Holes 4 and 7 are jump putts at best. The only really good hole on the course is hole 5. There is virtually no flow to the course and many of the holes just do not make any sense. The reality is that this piece of property simply cannot support a legitimate disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: The only way this course could really be fun or interesting is if you were playing with a midnight flyer. It could be redesigned to be better but the locals seem to be very proud of it as is.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 "The hills are alive..."

1    12/17/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Woods and open spaces. The tee boxes are concrete, a definite plus. Most of the wooded holes are not terrible. You can't open up on your tee off, but you can throw it. It's a very nice area. The signs are amazing. You waste no time trying to find the next tee. It's challenging in a good way and is kept up very well. There are multiple basket placements which is really great. Hole 10.... the disc soars.
Cons: The walk is long. It's not so much the length as it is the walking up and down all the hills. I felt like I was hiking more than I was playing. Hole 16 is ridiculous. End of story.
Other Thoughts: To be honest... this is a GREAT course. There are only a couple of issues. I know I said things about the hills. I've lived in Ga all my life, hills are inevitable. I just felt that some of these were ridiculous for the game. Overall... play it if you get the chance.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 FUN FUN

1    12/17/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: BobbyCorn
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun yet tough woods course. Some holes are tight yet some are open! My friend and I had a lot fun. Holes 10 and 11 are AWESOME!
Cons: A lot of walking up and down and up and down slopes. signs not present on some teeboxes and you have to search for the basket. Some holes are weird after number 12 but playable. Hole 16 is downright stupid! Bring your hiking boots and some water for this one!
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a great course in a good area. I liked it a lot, Facts are facts, high elevation changes and bad signage are the cons, however, it is a lot of fun!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course overall

2-4    11/28/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: craigd
Played: 103  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course in a very nice park. Besides being a fun course, it offers plenty of other ways to lure you back to play often.

I've never seen it overly crowded so waiting to tee off is not going to be an issue very often. You will find some other players out at peak times though. Everyone I have met on the course is very friendly. There is a good group of locals who take great pride in the course and will be sure to welcome you.

At the parking lot you'll find ample parking. There is a bulletin board with info, maps and score cards at the bathroom shack with water fountain near hole number one. While organized sports are in season you'll find a concession stand selling snacks and soft drinks.

The signs are pretty nice and I didn't have too much trouble finding my way around at all. The concrete pads are in great shape (a couple of tees are rubber). Hole number four has the possibility to flip flop the pin/hole placements. In other words you There are pin and pad placements that can be flipped flopped and don't effect the flow of the course negatively. It truly would make them two different holes altogether if you catch them in different placements. There are multiple pin placements on at some or most of the holes and some were in different places each time I've played. Six has some of the most challenging placements if you find them in the long position. On other holes there are ace opportunities even for less than average arms. There are a few longer holes and different degrees of variety mixed in, especially in the back six. Not too much repetitiveness when the course is looked at as a whole. There is a difficulty level good enough to keep a seasoned player challenged yet has the opportunity to keep a new player enjoying themselves by being frustrated or discouraged. Hole one is a nice uphill shot followed by a strait shot that tails off to left along a ridge. Both are decent holes then it's down a small hill to number three and in my opinion that's when the best of the course really starts. In my mind three-twelve are the heart of the course with plenty of variety in terms of mixed shots, minor doglegs, and some variations in lengths. Hole number four has the possibility to flip flop the pin/hole placements. In other words you would be throwing near where the pin ordinarily is to near where the hole normally is and vise versa. It truly would make them two different holes altogether if you catch them in different placements. These ten take you through a nice nature walk and it is quite pleasant and scenic. I believe hole number ten is the most fun of all. It is a nice shot across a gorge and is just beautiful. Number eleven is back across and uphill and you can really let her rip. Twelve is a tight shot across the ridge and then...
Cons: This is where most consider the worst of the course to begin. You'll have to walk down a steep hill and across the parking lot to get to thirteen. Once there you'll notice the concrete tee pad points several degrees away from the pin on the other side of a walking path. Then pin is on the side of a hill that is terribly eroded (and muddy after a rain) but it is a pretty fun hole though. Number fourteen is ok but without the swamp that you have to throw over, it is a pretty basic hole. There is a little backtracking on this hole too. At this point, my least favorite part of the course begins. Number fifteen's pad is up on a mound which looks really cool but shoots over and along a pedestrian path with a punishing "cliff" to the left and the mire and mud to the right. I welcome risk and will gladly pay a penalty stroke for a bad shot but a laborious and irksome retrieval is an unnecessary gimmick. To be fair though, it is not that difficult to throw past the area. Additionally you might have to wait on walkers to pass before you can shoot. A longer than ideal walk to hole number sixteen brings you to the best of the "back six". It's a great and scenic wooded hole with some good elevation but the trouble it takes to get in and out of the area where it's located outweighs its reward. Then it's another longer walk to hole number seventeen. My first time there I had a hard time finding the tee pad; it is painted on the parking lot. It requires you to shoot across the parking lot and up to the top of the meadow on the side of a hill by the baseball field. Eighteen finishes up on a forgettable shot, slightly uphill and to the right. The park entrance road to the left (OB) will have you cautious throwing to avoid hitting incoming traffic. Another longer than practical walk back to the parking lot follows.
Other Thoughts: I hope the cons I pointed out don't scare you away. This really is a great course and the good far outweighs the bad. I do have a suggestion though. If you want to play all eighteen then start at thirteen and play from there. You will still finish your round at the parking lot near your car and assuming the back six isn't your favorite, you won't leave with a bad taste in your mouth.

Wooded courses lovers will be pleased. If longer open courses are you favorite then this may not be the course for you. For most folks, even with a decent drive you'll leave happy with an overall good course under your belt. Just know what to expect and enjoy.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent

5+    12/7/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: The Marshal
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight technical course that demands accuracy. Nice mix of short to medium holes with defined fairways mixed in with a few long hole that you can rip on.
Cons: Lose your drive off the fairway and you will be working on "Getting out of jail" if you go too deep in the schule.
Other Thoughts: Well maintained course with benches, directionals, signs, g-cans, and restrooms (winterized mid Dec-Feb). Read the sign on the tree after finishing hole 12 for directions to tee 13.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.