Canton, GA 
Sequoyah Park Share
Uploaded By: Protool1983 Hole #17
3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Under rated!

2-4    11/26/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Not to long but great basket placement and trees in the right places to make you think twice.
Layout - Good variety with multiple basket positions. Mostly wooded. Great signage and the layout is well marked.
Tee pads are mixed some concrete and mats.
Maintained!!!!! The guys that maintain this course are always doing something. Once during the fall one guy brought a blower out to clear the fairway!
Holes 10 & 11 - These two are favorites. Shooting over valley with baskets same elevation as tee pad. Fun to launch it and watch them go. Baskets are well placed for these holes. 10 - is guarded by a tree and slightly to the left of the tee. 11 - is higher up and to the right.

13 - 18 Has to be the one place where I can turn a bad round back in to a positive. I know most people don't like these holes but they are great.
13 - Over the road into on coming traffic or down the trail. The first couple times you worry about it but you can see well enough that you shouldn't have an issue.
14 - Water to the right and the basket is down below tee box hidden. Great placement.
15 - My least favorite hole besides 6. Basket is to the.right with water possibly in play.
16 - Sweet hole now that the creek bank has been fixed. Basket is to left in the trees.
17 - Nice change in elevation. Basket is high and to right. Don't miss to the right!
18 - Throwing over the road again. No big deal.
Cons: Just erosion issues...but hopefully
it will improve with recent upgrades to park.
Hole 6 - when it is in the XL position. Makes for the longest hole in the course. (Just not my favorite.)
Other Thoughts: This course isn't going to be the hardest you play but is challenging. Holes 1-4 get you warmed up. 5 nice wide long straight shot. 7 & 8 are shorter but trees help make them challenging. 9 is a nice hole with a turn to the left.

I play this course a lot and it is fun. With the changing of baskets and the types of holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Day on the Course

1    10/18/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: wabrown23
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Restrooms located at #1 tee box which is also walk between 12 and 13.
-Several Benches and trash cans scattered throughout the course.
-Signs to next tee.
-Lots of parking
-Trails and Fairways were well kept.
-Holes 1-9, 12,14,15-18 (Not sure why everyone hates 17, great up hill anhyzer, fairway is open
Cons: -Hole signs, there are a few but not many and not in good shape, they also do not include all of the pin placements.
-A lot of blind pin locations, no flags or markings on holes to find pin from the tee. (1,2,4,6,8,9,12,14,15,16,17) It appeared that A positions were visible from the Tee but very few holes were in A position.
-Hole 13... Plays down a road. Really just poor design.
-Holes 6,10,11 all share a fairway
-Holes 3 to 4 and 6 to 7 you have to back track on the fairway to gt to the next tee box, this could cause back up on busy days.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course, a few locals were out and they were friendly. Course was clean and well kept, not the most challenging course but I would consider it a great intermediate course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love This Course!

5+    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Rosswake
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course if you enjoy the shade. Lots of wooded holes with an abundance of trees to keep you cool. The tight fairways reward you well when you hit your mark from the tee, but can punish you if you miss. Excellent changes have been made over the past month or two that have gotten rid of a bad hole and replaced it with a very cool hole that hugs a small pond. Right now, they are fixing the 16th hole so that 20 foot deep ditch and the nasty little pond has been filled in so the tee area isn't quite so scary.
Cons: Not a lot of people play this course, so it's not the best place to meet new disc golfers. This is my home course, so I hate to say that the players at this course aren't friendly but that is the 'feel' I get sometimes. So, just bring a friend with you if you don't like to play solo.
Other Thoughts: Lots of benches to relax and take a break after walking up and down the many hills at this course. Plenty of trash cans too, but it never hurts to bring your own and put your garbage in the cans close to the parking lot. There are a few holes that feel like easy birdies here, but if you don't play them smart you will end up with a bogey or worse. My rating will go up once the 16th hole is completed! Really close to a 4 right now!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course changed

5+    5/27/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: Dsplayname
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The maintenance of the course is pretty good, as it has always been. The "signature holes" are still there, with #14 getting longer and better, new #15 is my favorite. Today, there was a little league game, so the concession stand was open for business. $2 for powerade, $3 for bratwurst. Cougars galore!
Cons: It feels like they shortened most of the course. The front nine are all short(as was the pin placements for them), and can all easily be birdies. Classic #17 is gone, which I miss. New #17 is like a nightmare from White Oak, and is too demoralizing for the end of the round. Oh yeah, there are next tee signs, but not really any proper maps or hole layouts at the tees.
Other Thoughts: For the most part, this has become too easy of a course for my taste. The entire front 9 can be played in 18 strokes, and the only challange is a few trees. There isn't much requirement for skills or luck until you get to 14. The game changes drastically from 1-13 being pretty easy, to 14-17 becoming a real difficulty. 18 is a nice solid par 3 to finish out felling good. If only they could add 100 more feet on to holes 1-9, I'd call it a much better course. I left this course feeling like I should have gone to Central Park in Cumming for more of a challenge.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Sequoyah Deserves More Than 3 stars

5+    3/16/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: ArmandDillo
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great selection of shots. Mostly of the tight, technical variety, but you do get a few chances to let it rip. Nice elevation changes.

The woods are pretty and the course is very well-kept. The park itself, and the course specifically, are rarely crowded.
Cons: All the trees can be frustrating for beginners.

There are a couple spots toward the end where you can lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: I was motivated to review this course because I thought 3 stars was a little low.


1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

5+    2/11/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some very unique holes that you will remember.
A variety of shots are required.
Some holes are a true test of accuracy while other holes allow for airing it out.
Cons: Some holes are filled with trouble.
Some treacherous terrain #17.
Other Thoughts: *The holes have changed(for the better) compared to the pictures in this review.
* New #15, Original #15 becomes #16, original #16 becomes #17, original #17 has been removed(yea!) original #18 remains.

This is my home course due to its convenient location and where I was introduced to Disc Golf. I look forward to it everytime. There are many unique holes that you will remember and look forward to playing. Fairway size it mostly reasonable, some are pretty tight and require accurate placement but there are a few holes(#10,11,15,&18) that allow you to air it out.
**New Hole #15 is a great addition which removed original #17 (the parking lot tee pad across entrance road). They extended #14 which still has the disc eating sludge pond over the hill and #15 plays from the back of that hole across a steep gorge back near #14 tee pad. This is a really nice addition to the course.
#16 has now been reworked and the steep gorge on the left has been properly filled in and the pond on the right has been drained. This hole is now far less scary with those two changes. #17 is difficult uphill shot. The terrain can be very difficult as it is a straight upward climb. Leaves can make it a slippery hike. Also many opportunities for your disc to roll down the right bank into the stream.(The water is not the problem but rather the steep grade retrieving your disc) so play the hole to the left as it is an easier walk and better approach. Hole 18 if you can keep it off the road is a great ending allowing for the release of letting it rip off the tee.

This course has introduced me to a variety of shots and since playing other courses around the area, I found that I was ready for anything from learning here. I still look forward to coming back to Sequoyah Park.
Hats off to the gentlemen who keep this course maintained. They do a great job and the course just keeps getting better. Even after 9 months of consistently playing this course it still challenges me every time.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sequoyah Review

5+    2/5/2011   2/7/2011
Review By: Crupie
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great woods course with many birdie opportunities. Disccatcher baskets and concrete pads with good signs and directions to next hole.
Requires good forehand and a decent backhand
Cons: Not all of the holes have concrete pads and could use some more mulch for when it gets muddy. Some holes such as 1 and 4 are not as good when the move the pin positions
Other Thoughts: Fun course for beginners because of all the birdie opportunities and short distance holes. Beautiful during the spring time

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in this area

1    8/12/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: MarkDanielle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some real picturesque holes. ... A lot of hole variety, with some straightaway and others dogleg left or right. ... Well-groomed. ... Loved the 'next tee' signs. For the most part, we had no trouble locating the next tee box. ... The holes are just the right length. At one point I thought that maybe they were too short. But this course isn't just about length. ... The course requires you to perform a lot of different shots. I found myself having to be imaginative on a lot of the holes, which is one of the criteria I use when judging courses. Of course, that means that on this night I got to use some discs that normally gather dust. ... Just enough hills. Sometimes I feel as if there are simply too many hills. But this felt just right. ... A few of the holes had you throwing through the limbs of two trees, which I found pretty neat
Cons: Bring your own water because we never found a fountain. ... Hole 17 actually had you teeing off -- if you can believe this -- through a parking lot filled with cars and over a road. I convinced my two playing partners that this was silly and we simply skipped the hole. ... The inclines on one of the back-9 holes were too steep. Fetching a wayward drive on this hole means risking life and limb. ... Some of the tee boxes were missing hole maps. ... Some of the 'next tee' signs had fallen off their respective trees, leaving us to guess. .... For me, the only real way to get to No. 13 was by throwing over a busy road. My playing partners chose not to do this, opting instead for the long way around. But the hole really needs to be worked over because a disc golfer getting hit by a car isn't out of the question. ... A few of the holes were just too tight.
Other Thoughts: Would most likely be my home course if I lived in the area. A friend recommended I play it before leaving town, and he didn't disappoint. I return home in a few days but I sure hope I get the chance to play this course again. Aside from the lameness of Nos. 13 and 17, I really have no complaints.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 12 holes good, 6 holes bad

1    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: First 12 holes.
Cons: Last 6 holes.
Other Thoughts: My rating for this course is a one disc/poor primarily due to the last six holes. The first 12 holes are a really fun pitch & putt. Tightly wooded but very fair--there are actual paths to the basket and not just random openings through scattered trees. I used a good variety of discs & shots here. The two long holes (10 & 11) combine distance and accuracy. The features of the "Front 12" include:

Concrete tee pads on all holes
Easy to follow flow (despite the absence of signs on many holes)
Risky shots are rewarded if executed correctly
No benches, although many tee pads had plastic lawn chairs; a unique touch
Alternate basket positions on just about every hole
Great for family play & beginners, but advanced players will be challenged by the tightness and twistyness of the fairways

After the first 12 holes, you emerge back in the parking lot where you started. Here, there is a snack bar (open during baseball games) and restroom facilities. While enjoying some cold drinks, we bumped into a couple of players that were going to replay the first 12 holes. When we told them we were continuing on to #13, they were surprised and told us "Good luck" with a grin. We very quickly found out why.

Hole #13: When you get to the tee box and see the hole placement, you will actually ask "Are you kidding me?" out loud. You have to throw a long shot that turns left, but you are actually throwing right down the middle of the busy park entrance road. The hole is around to the left and the road goes down and out of view to the right, so there is no way to determine if there is any oncoming traffic. There are tall trees to the left and right of the road and the road itself is out of bounds--I am NOT making this up. You have to throw right down the middle of the road and have your disc follow it down and around to the left then keep curving to the left after the road turns right to get to the basket. The basket itself is on a steep embankment that is all Georgia clay and has experienced so much erosion, it is surprising the basket is still standing. The area around the basket looks like moon craters. I went into so much detail because this is actually the best of the final six holes--it just keeps getting stranger.

Hole #14: The fairway is actually the trail that you had to walk up to get from #13 to the #14 tee pad. You are walking up the trail while golfers teeing off on #14 are throwing down the trail. You have to throw across a nasty pond and back into the woods. Beyond the basket is about a 20 foot sharp drop-off to the same nasty pond--don't overthrow.

Hole #15: Unplayable by all but the most adventurous players. You are throwing down a 20 foot wide trail about 300 feet to the basket. For the first 250 feet, throws to the right get another nasty pond and anything to the left gets a sheer 20 foot drop-off to a creek with water that has both color and smell that water should not have. Anything not down the middle is almost a sure goner. You have three choices: be really good, be really lucky, or throw a series of 25 foot flop shots. I skipped this hole.

Hole #16: About 300 feet up a steep hill through the woods following a winding footpath. 20 feet to the left of the footpath is a barbed wire fence; immediately to the right of the path is the 20 foot sheer drop-off to Stinky Creek. For added fun, the barbed wire fence takes a sharp right turn and runs about 20 feet behind the basket as well. Hole skipped for the same reasons as #15.

Hole #17: The tee pad is painted in the parking lot of a soccer field. You have to throw across the parking lot, across the busy entrance road (which is about 10-15 feet higher than the parking lot) towards the basket which is on a steep embankment that rises up to the outfield wall of a baseball field. There are trees all around the entrance road, but you only have about a 20 foot wide alley to go through. I would have actually played this hole except most shots will zip across the road at windshield level and it is not possible to see traffic coming down the road until it is too late.

Hole #18: Playable, but the tee pad is right alongside the very busy entrance road (don't let an arm or leg wander off the left side of the tee pad). The fairway is the narrow right shoulder of the road. The road itself is out of bounds, but the traffic is so heavy you don't want to wander over there anyway. The top of the basket is barely visible over a hill; be advised that overthrowing the basket could put you on the busy road that the park is located on.

While I thought #18 was the most normal hole of the "Back Six", there was one more surprise in store for us. Following the trail from the #18 basket back to the parking lot, after a lengthy walk we were surprised to find the trail evolves into the fairway for hole #1 and we were walking right towards a threesome about to throw right at us as we were coming down. Fortunately they saw us and we did not have to deal with any unplanned plastic surgery.

I really don't like being so negative about these last six holes (especially considering the enjoyment of the first 12), but they are just so darn bizarre I feel they have earned it. In fact, I highly recommend playing this course at least once if you have the opportunity. Even if you decide not to come back, the entertainment value of those last six holes makes the trip worthwhile.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/7/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: TylerD
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Sequoyah park is a nice little pitch and putt course, with a couple of holes that give you the opportunity to open it up. The designers have done a nice job with the amount of land they had to work with. There are two things you have to do to score well out there, throw straight and get out of trouble. The shule can be punishing, but it is fair.

95% of the holes are valid. This is not a chuck and pray wooded course. The back six are fun.
Cons: The local barneys seem to have no understanding of the etiquette rules. Watch out for people throwing when you are still on a hole. Also, it's very easy to find groups of 5 or 6 that do not want to let you play through.

Hole nine's short left position
Hole ten's short left position
Other Thoughts: Do not listen to the barneys that have written reviews about the back six, for they are barneys. Chances are, if you can only throw 250 ft, you won't care too much for challenging holes with water, or holes that have other park activities located near them. We get it, you are scared.

This is a fun course and it can be rewarding. I would recommend playing it if you are in the area.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.