Canton, GA 
Sequoyah Park Share
Uploaded By: Protool1983 Hole #11
3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Honest local

5+    2/11/2009   2/11/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course,but honesty is the best policy...

-Woods holes are fair.Throw the correct shot and you will be rewarded, a bad shot will be punished.
-Lots of trash cans and benches.
-Good job using available land. Most of the course is right along property lines or other park activities, but you still get that isolated sort of feeling.
-Great support from locals.With almost no help from parks dept. the locals get the work done out here.Kudos.
-Teepads are concrete.There are 3 holes with rubber pads, but these holes are VERY short.Its really a non issue for those holes.
-Just plain fun. I have been playing here for 8 years now, and it still makes me smile.Some days I play great and shoot 7 or 8 down (54 par) Some days its 2 or 3 over. It rarely comes down to luck out here.Throw straight, putt well, and your score will reflect it.
Cons: -13 teepad is pointed at the wrong basket.Look down the jogging path for the basket. If its in the long you will see it, in the short it hides behind the pines.
-On 13 14 15 and 17 you have to throw over either a jogging trail or the park road.Most of the time its a non issue, but in the summer/fall the park can be busy on weekday evenings.You may have to wait for some walkers or cars to go by.
-Hillsides can be slippery, if it has rained recently, pay attention.
-In a perfect world this course would be longer, but just about every inch of available land is used here.
Other Thoughts: I noticed a few of the reviewers who did not like the "Back 6" ,as we call it, were players who have not been playing long. l can definitely see these holes frustrating a newer player, but they are not as tough as they seem.The ponds and schule can be harsh, but if you can control your disc for about 200'+ you will be fine. On 16, if you don't see the line right away, walk to the shorter pad and you will see that there is a clear line.From the concrete tee, throw something stable with a touch of anhyzer, and let it flex. This will help you avoid the schule on the right.

This is another 5 star in my heart course for me.I wont lie,there are flaws, but the pros really outweigh the cons here.The fun factor here is high, and thats generally the most important for me.

One more thing....The donkeys on 16 really love to do their HEE-AWW noise right as you throw. Then they give you a children of the corn kinda stare when you turn around.Creepy...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

5+    1/27/2009   1/29/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 131  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 12/26/2010
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The course is good to work on short game accuracy. Holes 10,11 and 13 can be fun to throw and playing the course is sort of work out. Multiple pin positions kind of add some variety.
Cons: The course is overall poorly thought out and designed. The course is way too short.to be any fun at all. Holes 4 and 7 are jump putts at best. The only really good hole on the course is hole 5. There is virtually no flow to the course and many of the holes just do not make any sense. The reality is that this piece of property simply cannot support a legitimate disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: The only way this course could really be fun or interesting is if you were playing with a midnight flyer. It could be redesigned to be better but the locals seem to be very proud of it as is.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 "The hills are alive..."

1    12/17/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Woods and open spaces. The tee boxes are concrete, a definite plus. Most of the wooded holes are not terrible. You can't open up on your tee off, but you can throw it. It's a very nice area. The signs are amazing. You waste no time trying to find the next tee. It's challenging in a good way and is kept up very well. There are multiple basket placements which is really great. Hole 10.... the disc soars.
Cons: The walk is long. It's not so much the length as it is the walking up and down all the hills. I felt like I was hiking more than I was playing. Hole 16 is ridiculous. End of story.
Other Thoughts: To be honest... this is a GREAT course. There are only a couple of issues. I know I said things about the hills. I've lived in Ga all my life, hills are inevitable. I just felt that some of these were ridiculous for the game. Overall... play it if you get the chance.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 FUN FUN

1    12/17/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun yet tough woods course. Some holes are tight yet some are open! My friend and I had a lot fun. Holes 10 and 11 are AWESOME!
Cons: A lot of walking up and down and up and down slopes. signs not present on some teeboxes and you have to search for the basket. Some holes are weird after number 12 but playable. Hole 16 is downright stupid! Bring your hiking boots and some water for this one!
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a great course in a good area. I liked it a lot, Facts are facts, high elevation changes and bad signage are the cons, however, it is a lot of fun!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course overall

2-4    11/28/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: craigd
Played: 97  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course in a very nice park. Besides being a fun course, it offers plenty of other ways to lure you back to play often.

I've never seen it overly crowded so waiting to tee off is not going to be an issue very often. You will find some other players out at peak times though. Everyone I have met on the course is very friendly. There is a good group of locals who take great pride in the course and will be sure to welcome you.

At the parking lot you'll find ample parking. There is a bulletin board with info, maps and score cards at the bathroom shack with water fountain near hole number one. While organized sports are in season you'll find a concession stand selling snacks and soft drinks.

The signs are pretty nice and I didn't have too much trouble finding my way around at all. The concrete pads are in great shape (a couple of tees are rubber). Hole number four has the possibility to flip flop the pin/hole placements. In other words you There are pin and pad placements that can be flipped flopped and don't effect the flow of the course negatively. It truly would make them two different holes altogether if you catch them in different placements. There are multiple pin placements on at some or most of the holes and some were in different places each time I've played. Six has some of the most challenging placements if you find them in the long position. On other holes there are ace opportunities even for less than average arms. There are a few longer holes and different degrees of variety mixed in, especially in the back six. Not too much repetitiveness when the course is looked at as a whole. There is a difficulty level good enough to keep a seasoned player challenged yet has the opportunity to keep a new player enjoying themselves by being frustrated or discouraged. Hole one is a nice uphill shot followed by a strait shot that tails off to left along a ridge. Both are decent holes then it's down a small hill to number three and in my opinion that's when the best of the course really starts. In my mind three-twelve are the heart of the course with plenty of variety in terms of mixed shots, minor doglegs, and some variations in lengths. Hole number four has the possibility to flip flop the pin/hole placements. In other words you would be throwing near where the pin ordinarily is to near where the hole normally is and vise versa. It truly would make them two different holes altogether if you catch them in different placements. These ten take you through a nice nature walk and it is quite pleasant and scenic. I believe hole number ten is the most fun of all. It is a nice shot across a gorge and is just beautiful. Number eleven is back across and uphill and you can really let her rip. Twelve is a tight shot across the ridge and thenů
Cons: This is where most consider the worst of the course to begin. You'll have to walk down a steep hill and across the parking lot to get to thirteen. Once there you'll notice the concrete tee pad points several degrees away from the pin on the other side of a walking path. Then pin is on the side of a hill that is terribly eroded (and muddy after a rain) but it is a pretty fun hole though. Number fourteen is ok but without the swamp that you have to throw over, it is a pretty basic hole. There is a little backtracking on this hole too. At this point, my least favorite part of the course begins. Number fifteen's pad is up on a mound which looks really cool but shoots over and along a pedestrian path with a punishing "cliff" to the left and the mire and mud to the right. I welcome risk and will gladly pay a penalty stroke for a bad shot but a laborious and irksome retrieval is an unnecessary gimmick. To be fair though, it is not that difficult to throw past the area. Additionally you might have to wait on walkers to pass before you can shoot. A longer than ideal walk to hole number sixteen brings you to the best of the "back six". It's a great and scenic wooded hole with some good elevation but the trouble it takes to get in and out of the area where it's located outweighs its reward. Then it's another longer walk to hole number seventeen. My first time there I had a hard time finding the tee pad; it is painted on the parking lot. It requires you to shoot across the parking lot and up to the top of the meadow on the side of a hill by the baseball field. Eighteen finishes up on a forgettable shot, slightly uphill and to the right. The park entrance road to the left (OB) will have you cautious throwing to avoid hitting incoming traffic. Another longer than practical walk back to the parking lot follows.
Other Thoughts: I hope the cons I pointed out don't scare you away. This really is a great course and the good far outweighs the bad. I do have a suggestion though. If you want to play all eighteen then start at thirteen and play from there. You will still finish your round at the parking lot near your car and assuming the back six isn't your favorite, you won't leave with a bad taste in your mouth.

Wooded courses lovers will be pleased. If longer open courses are you favorite then this may not be the course for you. For most folks, even with a decent drive you'll leave happy with an overall good course under your belt. Just know what to expect and enjoy.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent

5+    12/7/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: The Marshal
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight technical course that demands accuracy. Nice mix of short to medium holes with defined fairways mixed in with a few long hole that you can rip on.
Cons: Lose your drive off the fairway and you will be working on "Getting out of jail" if you go too deep in the schule.
Other Thoughts: Well maintained course with benches, directionals, signs, g-cans, and restrooms (winterized mid Dec-Feb). Read the sign on the tree after finishing hole 12 for directions to tee 13.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sequoyah Park

1    11/23/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most holes require tight accurate shots with some anhyzer shots involved no matter which hand you throw with. Awesome elevation changes on just about every hole. The baskets were marked with the hole number on them when I played. Holes were very well placed with alternate positions for baskets. Great distances for most holes.
Cons: The flow of the course wasn't fluid. Hole 14 goes over a small pond which really isn't a con but it is a hazard to lose discs in. Holes 15 and 16 are just about impossible to get a good score on unless you have played before given that you can't really see the basket. Some holes go over the main road of the park and it is possible to hit cars. Bathrooms were locked .
Other Thoughts: Overall pretty kick ass course would definitely give it another visit sometime in the near future. locals are very nice!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 no bad at all

1    11/23/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: 3monsterboys
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I just played this course today and I was pretty happy with it. Yes holes 1 - 12 are very fun with lots of trees. Good for working on your short game.
Cons: Holes 13 - 18 are o.k. not sure if they just ran out of ideas for where to put holes.
Other Thoughts: Good for a nice walk with nature. I would recommend everyone try it out.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My home course, but not my fav!

12/27/2007   4/22/2008
Review By: dherdt
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has some beautiful and fun holes. Multiple pins are changed regularly for some variety. 4 and 7 are aces for the accurate. 10 and 11 are fun to let 'er rip. The first 12 holes are all in golf-only areas.
Cons: Thick woods make any disc in the leaves a challenge to find. Some poison ivy. As noted with other reviews, 13-18 really take away the fun of the first 12. 13 & 14 have erosion issues, 13, 17 and 18 play across busy road and on saturdays should be skipped to avoid accidentally hitting a car blindly.
Other Thoughts: With the hilly terrain, I play speed golf to get a good cardio workout rather than actually working on my game.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Flawed but fun.

3/27/2008   3/27/2008
Review By: Crossed Reality
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The first 2/3s of the course has a good variety of tight shots and open spaces. Hole #10 is especially beautiful. You're essentially throwing over a small valley.
Cons: After hole #12 the course falls apart. When my friends and I play this course we generally play 1-13, 17, and 18 and then pick up a few holes at the start of the course to make a round 18.

Hole 13 has problems of its own as it has a blind left hook in it, has to be thrown over a road (albeit usually empty), and if you overshoot to the left you're in deep brush.

I can't say much about 14-16 other than that they're so bad we generally don't play them. Oh, and they involve small swamps.
Other Thoughts: Don't take the cons too seriously. We've found that the bad parts of this course are easily skipped. Yes, this means not playing 18 entirely different holes, but the first 2/3s of the course is worth the visit. There's nothing else quite like holes #10 and #11 in the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center