Layout Extinct

Alpharetta, GA 
Wills Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #12
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Thumbs Down

1    11/8/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs on every hole identifying the hole number and distance to basket. Good place to take the kids since there are lots of other park activities in addition to the disc golf course.
Cons: Course intertwines other areas of the park such as walking trails and playgrounds making it hard to play without risk to injuring other park goers. No tee pads other than a few worn down dirt patches near the tee signs. Course is almost impossible to navigate without a map or previous experience.
Other Thoughts: There is not much going for the Wills Park DGC other than the fact it is a complete 18-hole course in a nice safe park. However, I would not consider returning unless I really needed to play a round and this was somehow the only option. My party did not print a map in advance, and without having one, the course was just about impossible to navigate. We spent more time walking around trying to match baskets to tee pads than we did actually playing. In fact, we finally gave up after five holes when a 15 minute search did not yield the #6 tee pad (even though I later found it is very close to the #5 basket). Each hole is marked by a low wooden sign with the hole number, par and distance. These are the only indications of where the tee box area is and you really need eagle eyes to spot them. Once you can find where to throw from and what to throw to, there is the issue of danger to other park goers. Most of the five holes we played had you throwing over or along a busy walking trail. We spent a lot of time waiting for pedestrian traffic to clear so we could safely play a hole. Even then, you had to use extreme care to throw clear of other public areas like the adjacent playground and parking lots. I dislike giving such a lengthy negative review because it seems like I am just griping, but I hope sharing my experience will help others to decide whether or not a visit to this course is worthwhile.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme Makeover Disc Golf Edition

1    10/16/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: JBryant
Played: 70  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: None that I could see. First few holes were fun to play. Other than that not much in the likeable category.
Cons: Older than dirt! This course is in bad need of repairs and a fresh look. Could use some new baskets at the most! The layout is awful on the last few holes. The walk from 11 to 12 is a pain! Who in the heck built those last holes did not know what they were doing. Many ppl at this course. That wasn't as bad as the course layout and all the water that had piled up from the rain from earlier in the week.
Other Thoughts: I would not go back to this course unless it was a different time of year and at a time when less ppl were there. Is there a time for that? Highly doubtful. UPDATE IT GUYS! There are plenty of other courses in the area that are far better to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Never Again

2-4    9/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: hooboy
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Almost none, other than you are playing disc golf, albeit on a poor course. Some holes are OK, but some are downright unplayable.
Cons: Not well maintained. Winds all over the park and crosses walking paths many times, forcing you to wait long periods of time. I just plain gave up waiting for all the walkers on some holes. When not crossing the path, you are throwing near pavillions, horse barns, ball fields, and people - downright unsafe. Many of the holes away from the people seem unplayable to me, with no discernible fiarway. The walk from 11 to 12 is monstrous, and not marked at all, next hole is on complete other side of park. Dirt / grass tees. In my opinion this course would need a total redesign before I would go back. If you are looking for a place to play near Alpharetta, drive over to East Roswell Park, its far superior.
Other Thoughts: The only really bad course I have found in metro ATL. Too many people, too close to other park activities, and poor holes, but hey you're playing disc golf. After my last, frustrating (waiting for people), and incomplete round, I won't go back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a joke!

6/18/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: Rhinoflight
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You might get a free hot dog from picnicer that is wondering what the heck you are doing. And bystanders would very much like to retreive your disc and trow it back to you.
Cons: Errant throws might beget lawsuits.10 years ago, I liked this course. That was before the course shared space with every other recreation activity under the sun.
Other Thoughts: Go try out another course. Go to East Roswell.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's been ruined.

3/27/2008   3/27/2008
Review By: Crossed Reality
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At this point, none.
Cons: This course was once good when I first started playing around 2005. Now it has far too many problems:

1) First and foremost, the course design snakes through the entire park and all other park facilities, which means:

2) You will always have interference. For the past six months there has been a dog agility course permanently set up on holes #1 and #2. Other holes require you to throw over busy tennis courts or within a few feet of weekend baseball games. Miss a throw by a few degrees and you're in the outfield.

3) The other residents hate you. Many holes are directly next to pavilions. The past three times I've played at Wills I've had to throw over and through an easter egg hunt, a family BBQ hide and seek game, and a game of red rover. They will not appreciate it.

4) Finally, the course design itself is nothing special. If you remove all the obstacles and people, this is still a 3.0 at best. None of the holes are overly difficult, but quite a few are annoying. Most notably is the basket that's set up less than a foot from a four foot drop into a creek.
Other Thoughts: The popularity of Wills for other recreations in Alpharetta means that this course is not going to get better anytime soon. Try it once just for variety, but it's not likely to become your home course anytime soon. If you live in Alpharetta taking 140 out to Sequoyah or 400 down to ERP will serve you better.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.