Layout Extinct

Alpharetta, GA 
Wills Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: punkfan55 Hole #1
3 / 347ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Old times there are not forgotten

5+    11/21/2004   11/21/2009
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 148  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.9 Years
Pros: There are a few challenging holes.
Cons: Too much activity in this park. I dont mind sharing space with other park users; but enough is enough.
Other Thoughts: This was once "the" course to play back in the late 80's. Once Chastain and Southern Tech were closed...and prior to Redan opening... this is where Atlanta Disc Golfers played. Back then this course was very popular. It has long seen it's day and I wish the PARD would move the course to a more suitable location. Many memories here!

 Not Very Pleasant

1    2/3/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: andrewn1919
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Open fairways
-Accurate shots required
Cons: -Lots of creeks
-Hole #15 is right next to a creek
-Awkward throwing discs next to baseball fields
-One mistake will get your disc lost in thick bushes of thorns and creek
-Hard to find hole #12 (Have to walk 400 yards to get there and directions are unclear. I got lost)
-Courses are not well planned out
Other Thoughts: I would come back to play this course to improve my game and the course is fairly close to my house. However, I wouldn't recommend it to others.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wishy-Washy

5+    5/27/2008   12/27/2008
Review By: Galahad
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few decent holes.
Cons: Far too much interaction with the other activities in the park. Walkers, joggers, baseball, tennis, etc etc. Some of the fairways are simply ridiculous, esp. the one next to the tennis courts.
Other Thoughts: This is the first ever disc golf course I played on about 20 years ago. Back then there was minimal, almost none other things to affect the play except the fields on hole 16. Now the park is so doggoned busy it's really not a reasonalbe place to play except maybe early early. I don't want to diss it so much but it really would do so much better to redesign it or find another place for the baskets. The course layout now is a little different than it used to be. We also used to play "curse of the reverse" where we played the course backwards...kind of fun. Peace.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woods.....

1    12/13/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: jreeves16
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you like a challenge... this is one to play. It's 90%+ woods, so if you like a wood course give this park a try. It's very straight forward. The signs are helpful.
Cons: DO NOT PLAY THIS COURSE AFTER A RAIN. If you do... bring boots and a bathing suit. This course retains water. Plus there's a creek or two that runs through it. I didn't see one tee box. It's also really close to people on several holes. It's almost completely in the woods so don't plan to let it rip here. The only other thing is around 11, it's a little difficult to know where to go. Just make sure you get a map.
Other Thoughts: I've only done this course once and it was after a rain. I want to play it again when it's dry. I'll give it a 1.5 for now...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good if in the area

5+    7/14/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: Protool1983
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has lots of different kinds of holes ranging from really easy birdie holes to all around annoying ones (hole 7 is the worst). The tee box for hole 4 is a great place to practice your drives. The pins for 1, 2 and 4 are also fun to just throw between for practice.
Cons: There are way too many people in the park. Lots of the holes cross walking paths and picnic areas. I once had to wait 15 minutes just to drive on 16 which has a walking path going all the way down the fairway. Another draw back are the campers and RVs that park in the middle of the fairway on 1 and 3. I've nailed more than one, I won't lie. Also, in the summer time the creek becomes a real pain in the ass. It has eaten two of my discs.
Other Thoughts: Lots of the problems with this course are the result of them building on top of it over the years. From what I hear, the walking paths and the tennis courts on 14 were all put up long after the course was built. and there is a really long walk between 11 and 12 which I guess is good if your using a score card. It gives you time to check your standings while you walk. Also, I've heard that some of the footage is wrong due to the fact that the boy scouts came in a moved some of the tee boxes around for some reason. A good example is on hole 15. The actual tee box is along the creek right in front of the fire pit. The sign for the box is about 20 feet forward and to the right. All in all, your better off going to East Roswell if you want to play a serious round. I just go to Wills to practice on my breaks from work.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth checking out

2-4    7/10/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: jacobjw2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of slightly treed, open, and wooded holes. Some nice narrow fair ways where straight is the only option unless you want to get into the creek. A technically mediocre course, really only few shots needed to win a hole. That said, there are holes where a good sense of technical play can earn very low scores.
Popular park area with lots to do, not just disc golf. Nice walking path around park and picnic areas. Can make a day of events here and incorporate disc golf into that. Draws a decent sized crowd, see "Other thoughts" for more information.
Cons: Course is not laid out well. Without the map (found here: http://alpharetta.ga.us/files...01.07.13.jpg)
it can be a chore to find your way around. It is not well marked, nor is far away from people. The course crosses walking paths, tennis courts, and baseball diamonds, making hitting a bystander a very real possibility.
Other Thoughts: I am cursed on this course. Between losing dics, getting rained out, and hitting people, I have a hard time enjoying this course. That is not so for everyone. Wednesdays at 6 there is a large group that meets for two-some play. Everyone who shows up is randomly paired and it is a really good time. The local players are nice and will help you if you get lost on the course. Again, make sure you bring the map:

http://alpharetta.ga.us/files...001.07.13.jpg

If you are in the area it is worth checking out, for at least one play through. Not worth a separate trip, though. East Roswell park is close and a better course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.