Layout Extinct

Alpharetta, GA 
Wills Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #13
3 / 329ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Challenging but with a few problems

1    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: Longace
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Alot of long narrow shots. Some newly poured concrete pads. Many holes require some tight shots. All in all it is a challenging course.
Cons: Park can be busy at times and several holes require you to thow. Across paths that are heavily used. Supposedly the are in the process of moving a few holes around. Navigating the holes can be challenging your first time around.
Other Thoughts: Try to avoid after rain; several of the tee pads become muddy holes.

 Not too Bad

5+    8/11/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: dmerk
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pretty easy course, with still some challenges. A well balanced course.

Holes 1-5 are open and are pretty fun (then is your time to birdie). The front 9 are a lot of fun. Just well thought out holes, and well placed. The distances are fairly short, for the most part, but still have a bit of a challenge.

There may be no signs to tell you distance or pars, but you can see the pin on every hole (except 8 and 14), so its not too difficult to figure out. Overall good course.
Cons: Two holes in particular. I have no idea what they were thinking when they made hole 12 & 13. On 12 you pretty much have to go through a pavilion or get lucky to have a good 2nd shot, and, at least for me, you can forget about birdie. Just not a well thought out hole, definitely my most hated hole, its just unnecessary. Hole 13 is just annoying with heavy woods to the left and tennis courts immediately to your right. Your only good choice is a very tight lane or maybe over the tennis courts. Again, just not a very well thought out hole.

If its your first time playing you might get a bit lost, no signs to the next hole.

It gets really annoying when you have dogwalkers/walkers/runners/crazy-gator-drivers going through the course.

Other than those two holes, for the most part its not a bad course. It gets a little boring after a few times, but not bad if just play it once or twice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Park Shared with ......Everyone!

1    7/4/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 669  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a large MULTI USE PARK. Golfers have to share the park with joggers, bicyclists, walkers, tennis players, ball players, equestrian folks, picnics, family reunions and many others. I hope we can all get along. The course plays from one end of this large park to the other starting and finishing near a small community garden plot. The skill level is above recreational but well below championship. The course is kind of old school with 17 single chain baskets, grass or dirt teepads, small wood signs at each hole. But it all worked for me. There were only a couple of next tee signs. One pointing the way for the very, long hike from # 11 to # 12. Starting at # 12 and continuing through about # 16, a deep drainage ditch comes into play. It was almost dry in July when I played but when filled would provide a hazardous obstacle. It especially comes into play on # 12.
Cons: I really didn't like the design of # 13 next to the tennis courts. You have two choices. Throw the intended narrow route between the courts and the ditch and risk the murky ditch waters or take the safer throw over the courts whereupon many players will end up landing on this courtyard next to the tennis courts or in the courts themselves. On one hole the basket is by two ditches with no bridge or log to cross. So everyone just crosses the ditch causing damage to it.
Other Thoughts: If you're going to play this course, please be a good ambassador for our sport and interact positively with all whose paths you cross. I played at 7 in the AM on a Saturday morning and even then had to wait a few times for joggers or walkers. But the good news, I found a Roadrunner with no name lying next to the # 3 basket. Threw it on the next hole and got a 288' gimme birdie. Now it's my new favorite disc!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth seeing

8/1/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Short, technical holes.
- Mistakes are costly
Cons: - Potential for being a lot of cross traffic with all the other recreational features available.
- Water hazards are fun, but traversing 4-5 foot drop offs to recover discs is not.
- Throwing over a tennis court is NOT an example of good design (#13).
- Teeing off next to someones travel trailer is not an example of good course design (#1, #3)
- A 400 yard hike across open ground from one a basket to the next tee, not an example of good course design (#11-#12)
Other Thoughts: This is a very pretty course. It was quiet and enjoyable. The park staff, from the deputy director, down to the guys mowing the grass, were all very friendly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Different

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: mreed12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nothing special
Cons: Almost impossible to find the first tee! No signs or directions.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.