Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Alpharetta, GA 
Wills Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #15
3 / 262ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Never Again

2-4    9/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: hooboy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Almost none, other than you are playing disc golf, albeit on a poor course. Some holes are OK, but some are downright unplayable.
Cons: Not well maintained. Winds all over the park and crosses walking paths many times, forcing you to wait long periods of time. I just plain gave up waiting for all the walkers on some holes. When not crossing the path, you are throwing near pavillions, horse barns, ball fields, and people - downright unsafe. Many of the holes away from the people seem unplayable to me, with no discernible fiarway. The walk from 11 to 12 is monstrous, and not marked at all, next hole is on complete other side of park. Dirt / grass tees. In my opinion this course would need a total redesign before I would go back. If you are looking for a place to play near Alpharetta, drive over to East Roswell Park, its far superior.
Other Thoughts: The only really bad course I have found in metro ATL. Too many people, too close to other park activities, and poor holes, but hey you're playing disc golf. After my last, frustrating (waiting for people), and incomplete round, I won't go back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good if in the area

5+    7/14/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: Protool1983
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has lots of different kinds of holes ranging from really easy birdie holes to all around annoying ones (hole 7 is the worst). The tee box for hole 4 is a great place to practice your drives. The pins for 1, 2 and 4 are also fun to just throw between for practice.
Cons: There are way too many people in the park. Lots of the holes cross walking paths and picnic areas. I once had to wait 15 minutes just to drive on 16 which has a walking path going all the way down the fairway. Another draw back are the campers and RVs that park in the middle of the fairway on 1 and 3. I've nailed more than one, I won't lie. Also, in the summer time the creek becomes a real pain in the ass. It has eaten two of my discs.
Other Thoughts: Lots of the problems with this course are the result of them building on top of it over the years. From what I hear, the walking paths and the tennis courts on 14 were all put up long after the course was built. and there is a really long walk between 11 and 12 which I guess is good if your using a score card. It gives you time to check your standings while you walk. Also, I've heard that some of the footage is wrong due to the fact that the boy scouts came in a moved some of the tee boxes around for some reason. A good example is on hole 15. The actual tee box is along the creek right in front of the fire pit. The sign for the box is about 20 feet forward and to the right. All in all, your better off going to East Roswell if you want to play a serious round. I just go to Wills to practice on my breaks from work.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing if you're close by

5+    9/18/2008   9/18/2008
Review By: Lewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a pleasant setting in an attractive park. Several of the tee shots are extremely risky, promising both the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat. The course is not particularly wooded nor overgrown, so a good second shot will let you recover from a disastrous drive. The other players are friendly, are are happy to help you find your way around.
Cons: Many of the fairways cross pedestrian paths that see heavy walking traffic. You will probably have to shoo small children out of the middle of several fairways. You will also probably need help navigating this course the first time or two you play it, because the flow from basket to tee is often confusing, if not counterintuitive. This course is interesting, but in my humble opinion, poorly laid out.
Other Thoughts: The large, open field by the first hole is a nice place to warm up your arm before starting.

Don't try to throw over the tennis courts on #13. Step up to the concrete slab by the corner of the tennis courts and tee off from there. #16 is maddening, and it's where you're most likely to hit somebody. It's a narrow shot from the tee straight up a pedestrian path, with heavily used ball fields a few yards away on the left, a number of large trees a few yards away on the right, and two medium-sized trees directly in front of the tee box.

With all the strikes against it, this course remains charming, probably because it's only a 5 minute drive from my workplace. Recreational players will likely enjoy this course more than the nearby East Roswell. If you're willing to play it safe and wait for pedestrians to clear away, you'll have plenty of fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth checking out

2-4    7/10/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: jacobjw2
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of slightly treed, open, and wooded holes. Some nice narrow fair ways where straight is the only option unless you want to get into the creek. A technically mediocre course, really only few shots needed to win a hole. That said, there are holes where a good sense of technical play can earn very low scores.
Popular park area with lots to do, not just disc golf. Nice walking path around park and picnic areas. Can make a day of events here and incorporate disc golf into that. Draws a decent sized crowd, see "Other thoughts" for more information.
Cons: Course is not laid out well. Without the map (found here: http://alpharetta.ga.us/files...01.07.13.jpg)
it can be a chore to find your way around. It is not well marked, nor is far away from people. The course crosses walking paths, tennis courts, and baseball diamonds, making hitting a bystander a very real possibility.
Other Thoughts: I am cursed on this course. Between losing dics, getting rained out, and hitting people, I have a hard time enjoying this course. That is not so for everyone. Wednesdays at 6 there is a large group that meets for two-some play. Everyone who shows up is randomly paired and it is a really good time. The local players are nice and will help you if you get lost on the course. Again, make sure you bring the map:

http://alpharetta.ga.us/files...001.07.13.jpg

If you are in the area it is worth checking out, for at least one play through. Not worth a separate trip, though. East Roswell park is close and a better course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth seeing

8/1/2008   8/1/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Short, technical holes.
- Mistakes are costly
Cons: - Potential for being a lot of cross traffic with all the other recreational features available.
- Water hazards are fun, but traversing 4-5 foot drop offs to recover discs is not.
- Throwing over a tennis court is NOT an example of good design (#13).
- Teeing off next to someones travel trailer is not an example of good course design (#1, #3)
- A 400 yard hike across open ground from one a basket to the next tee, not an example of good course design (#11-#12)
Other Thoughts: This is a very pretty course. It was quiet and enjoyable. The park staff, from the deputy director, down to the guys mowing the grass, were all very friendly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 What a joke!

6/18/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: Rhinoflight
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You might get a free hot dog from picnicer that is wondering what the heck you are doing. And bystanders would very much like to retreive your disc and trow it back to you.
Cons: Errant throws might beget lawsuits.10 years ago, I liked this course. That was before the course shared space with every other recreation activity under the sun.
Other Thoughts: Go try out another course. Go to East Roswell.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's been ruined.

3/27/2008   3/27/2008
Review By: Crossed Reality
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At this point, none.
Cons: This course was once good when I first started playing around 2005. Now it has far too many problems:

1) First and foremost, the course design snakes through the entire park and all other park facilities, which means:

2) You will always have interference. For the past six months there has been a dog agility course permanently set up on holes #1 and #2. Other holes require you to throw over busy tennis courts or within a few feet of weekend baseball games. Miss a throw by a few degrees and you're in the outfield.

3) The other residents hate you. Many holes are directly next to pavilions. The past three times I've played at Wills I've had to throw over and through an easter egg hunt, a family BBQ hide and seek game, and a game of red rover. They will not appreciate it.

4) Finally, the course design itself is nothing special. If you remove all the obstacles and people, this is still a 3.0 at best. None of the holes are overly difficult, but quite a few are annoying. Most notably is the basket that's set up less than a foot from a four foot drop into a creek.
Other Thoughts: The popularity of Wills for other recreations in Alpharetta means that this course is not going to get better anytime soon. Try it once just for variety, but it's not likely to become your home course anytime soon. If you live in Alpharetta taking 140 out to Sequoyah or 400 down to ERP will serve you better.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Different

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: mreed12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nothing special
Cons: Almost impossible to find the first tee! No signs or directions.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best course.

2/7/2008   2/7/2008
Review By: punkfan55
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good mix of holes. Some of the holes were very challenging.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. It just rained and it was very muddy. No main entrance bulletin board. It was very hard to find the first tee, since there were a bunch of entrances.
Other Thoughts: I was playing this course since I was down in the area. Fun to check out new courses just wish it would have been concrete tee pads and proper signage.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shouldn't be high on your list

12/1/2007   1/11/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of history... Some fun, but short holes. Mix of open and tight partially wooded holes.
Cons: The park has really sprung up around (and through) the course, so be prepared for pedestrians or even horses on the holes. Sidewalks come into play on multiple holes. The course is poorly marked, has dirt teepads and a dilapidated feel, and is tough to find your way around. Also be prepared to walk 1/4 mile after hole 11 (head towards the giant playground)
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if you're in the immediate area...but definitely check out any other local course before this one if time is limited!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.