Disc Golf Center
Columbia, SC 
Earlewood Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs some minor improvements

5+    5/6/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: • Aesthetics
• Variety of Elevation
• Variety of layouts
• Amphitheater
Cons: • Poor Signage
• Tight Layout, lots of switchbacks
• Lack of Seating
• Lack of Trash Receptacles
• No Bathrooms
Other Thoughts: This is a very pretty course with lots of up and down and some really serene layouts. Layout of holes is pretty tight and you end up having to cross another fairway to get to the next pad a few times. Can also be confusing for first timers, a hole layout and next tee signs would be a great addition. Course is pretty short, but makes up for it with aesthetics and tight holes and elevation changes providing a good degree of challenges. Overall a great course, a few minor improvements would turn this course from average to excellent.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun old school course

1    5/14/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great use of elevation on just about every hole
-lots of large, mature trees throughout the course
-small creek in play on a number of holes
-makes great use of the limited space
-a couple of very cool signature tee shots
-nice concrete tees
-basic signs at each tee
-old school, dome top baskets are in good condition
Cons: -shows age, very short holes
-too generous pars on the signs, definitely a par 54 course
-awkward flow and navigation, not too bad but 1st timers need a map or a local
-many very close fairways, errant throws into other fairways are probably pretty common, especially considering how busy this course probably gets
-baskets are in good condition and catch well enough but are definitely not as consistent as newer models
-thick, intimidating foliage if you are on the watch for posion ivy or sumac. it is definitely out there, especially near the creek
Other Thoughts: This fun old school course holds up very well. The design makes effective use of a relatively small space and exploits the elevation changes brilliantly. Nearly every hole has at least some elevation change. This is what really makes this course so fun even though it is so short.

The park is filled with large, mature trees and some of the lines are a little tight but fair. Most of the pin positions make good use of the natural obstacles and elevation. The hillside pin positions here really make you think about your approaches and putts. Given how short the holes are, you'll be thinking about how your disc is going to land even on your drives.

Holes 2 and 18 are the standouts for me. Hole 2 is a great downhill shot with a left to right fairway and a good number of trees. The basket sits on a hillside that slopes down to the left so you have to think twice about that anhyzer shot! Hole 18 is an awesome downhill through some trees with a ceiling to a pin straight ahead. A great ace run if you can hit the line. Hole 16 is also fun, shooting across the amphitheater to a hillside basket. The amphitheater is OB so you've got to make it. Must be a bummer when there is an event there because the hole is not playable then.

The rest of the holes are fun but some are a little repetitive. There are a couple blind downhill shots that are essentially the same: down overthrow down the hill and make sure you land flat. There are also two short, straight uphills (11 and 14) that are sort of filler, especially 14 since it is wide open too. Many of the holes here would be boring if it weren't for all the elevation changes.

Overall, this course is still fun 20 years later. For the modern player it is definitely a duece-or-die course but there are enough obstacles, tight lines and elevation issues to keep you on your toes. This is the place to go if you're in town looking for a casual round as the other course in town is more rough around the edges and has some very (very!) challenging wooded holes.



**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 My 1st SC course!

1    5/27/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Earlewood's main attraction as a course would be the nice rolling hills throughout the course in which the designer did an excellent job of using. Also there are a number of trees that force you to shape your shots at this park in order to get a birdie. This combination along with open ground on which to walk and find discs ramps up the fun factor of this course to a very high level. Hole eighteen was my favorite hole on the course, it is a longer hole but downhill and reachable for most advanced players with a well thought out putter or mid range disc to bypass the guarding trees and possibly get an ace on. Baskets are older but seem to catch well enough and the tee pads and signs are also older but are still in decent shape.
Cons: This course was built back in 1991 and playing along it shows its age. Holes are just way to short on this course to be anything other than a pitch and putt. Beginners will have lots of fun on this course but advanced players will learn the lines very quickly and rack up birdies fast; after two or three times these players might start wishing for a harder course. The one thing that struck a cord with me was the poor course flow and strange navigation. After hole three the next logical tee pad that you see across the tiny bridge is actually in fact hole eleven and finding hole four is taxing and the flow here is strange. Also after hole nine or ten I believe you are crossing over hole one and its fairway again to get to where you want to go.
Other Thoughts: There is some construction near holes one through three but walking around it will get you to the first tee, wish I knew this before hand! Navigation isn't too terrible with the exception of what I previously mentioned but printing a map for me was helpful. If you are near Columbia I think stopping in here and at Owens Field Park are both worthwhile places to play.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of fun

1    5/3/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful ole time city park, with large mature trees and a gentle running creek dividing the course in two separate loops.

Elevation is the biggest positive here. The course maximizes it. You will be either throwing up or down some type of elevation, whether that is a dramatic change, or less severe. Several baskets are located on fast greens, to add to the difficulty.

Basic tee signs, along with decent concrete tee pads, located at all holes. All baskets have a next tee indicator, aiding in course navigation. This allows navigation without a map possible.

About a third of the holes play parallel to the creek, with one having you throw over it. The Combination of the creek with the elevation challenges, makes this a good course for all skill levels.
Cons: Hole 16 has you throwing over/near the amphitheater. It's one thing when it's not in use, very dangerous to unplayable if it is being used.

There are several parallel fairways, where errant shots will encroach on it's neighbor, slowing down play if crowded, and potentially getting hit by a disc, possible.

Non disc golfing walking trails increase pedestrian traffic, which will cause slow downs, if really crowded.

Going from basket 9 to tee 10 has you crossing over 1's fairway. 18's tee is too close to 17's fairway, so watch your head.
Other Thoughts: Single tee, single basket course that still is relevant in today's world of longer flying discs. You won't see this style of baskets much with their doom covers. Hopefully eliminating the dreaded, landing on top of basket, shot.

There was construction going on at the rec center behind #1 tee, so make sure you go around it to get to the first tee. The rec center and playground looked to be unavailable because of the construction.

Not overly challenging for me, but it was a lot of fun and is my favorite Columbus area course. Perfect for working on your game, or hanging with your friends, it is enjoyable either way.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Classic

1    3/20/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Earlewood is your classical older city park style course that is mature, seasoned, and perfectly worn. Elevation is the major challenge here playing both up and down on many holes, but it is tasteful and fun, not sadistically difficult. The course offers many other challenges and obstacles: trees are as you would expect, some thicker rough, creek hazards (site shows half the holes having water, but the creek really comes into play on just a couple, and it is small and seems like most of the time retrieving discs would not be a problem), and finally the unique structures like a pipeline and an amphitheater. Variation in hole distance is better than the it looks on paper due to the elevation changes utilized on most holes. The concrete tees, basic signs and older baskets get the job done. Course contains two loops of 9 holes. Navigation was not too bad as there are mostly short walks to the next tee, but print a map first to make it easy.

The finishing hole is one of the best around- long, downhill, narrow fairway between tall trees- it is gorgeous, challenging, and one where you will want to empty the bag. The downward elevation makes this 380' hole aceable for many, but get into trouble off the tee and you could be facing a bogey or worse. I bet many rounds have been decided on this hole with a multiple shot swing possible.
Cons: The course is integrated into other park activities somewhat- walking trail, the amphitheater, a road, picnic tables, tennis courts, and basketball courts. (And a note on the basketball, there was an intense game going on by some hot-tempered foul-mouthed locals and I would have not been shocked to have heard gunshots at some point--- we kept our distance!)

A few design issues- 1) the front is not as strong as the back, 2) the first few holes almost play on top of each other with no distinct division/barrier between them, and 3) the walk from 9 to 10 takes across #1 fairway that is blind because of the tennis courts (be sure to peek out before crossing to avoid a disc to the head). Also, the parking lot is not really close to hole 1 & 10 as we had to wander and hunt for it over some construction and we did not find any restrooms in the park.

This course does not provide the "removed-from-the-world" feel- it is your average city park with other park users around and you can see much of the park and course from just about anywhere on the course.
Other Thoughts: Earlewood is a great public course that thankfully has survived from an earlier era of disc golf. There are several run-of-the-mill holes, but there are also several good and unique holes here, too. This is a course I wouldn't mind playing over and over again. It has its challenges, but gives you a chance to work on your game without too much punishment. Overall, it is just fun to play and worth the stop it you are passing through the area.

*Note: At first glance it appears on the hole info link of this site that there are two sets of tees, but there is just one. This is just done to show both pars (the old ones shown on the tee signs and then the standard pro par of today).

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 90  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice little park course. Lots of elevation changes -- the pictures don't do this justice, as the ups and downs are quite steep. Pin placements on a lot of these slopes add to the challenge. You must learn how to park your putts so they don't roll down these hills, or you'll be looking at long return shots.
The layout is nice, no repeat back-to-back holes -- a longer, uphill hole will be followed by a shorter, downhill hole. A lefty hole followed by a righty, although there are no major doglegs.
I love the challenge that seems to slowly develop over the course. As you get to the back 9, the holes start to take a different shape and very unique lines.
I love the amphitheatre shot, a nice long run with the amphitheater in the valley between the pin and the tee. I also loved 18 -- almost 400' downhill tunnel with trouble to the left.
Excellent signage. I questioned the measurements on a couple holes, but the signs themselves are quite nice.
Cons: If you're an experienced player, you should ignore the listed par and play everything par 3. No hole over 400', and no major doglegs = par 3 course(imho).
Older baskets, gray tops that are often hard to see. The chains were fine though, which is the most important piece :).
Navigation was not great -- I was in a group that knew the course but tried to see it as if I were alone. A few "next tee" signs help, but you can see a lot of baskets and tees from most places, and it could be confusing without a guide or map.
Church bells - again, not a BIG con, but when they ring, they ring for 10 minutes or more!
Traffic. Lots of people out and about wandering through the course. Some looked to be bums.
There's a basketball court all alone in the middle of the park. While it doesn't interfere much with throwing, it was very popular when we were there, lots of people and loud. Again not a big deal, but they definitely didn't know what disc golf was -- one person picked up one of our drives and might have kept the disc without us yelling that it was ours. Many more just casually walked down fairways straight at us, and I wouldn't want to start trouble with them either.
No trashcans, except at the front of the park. No restrooms either.
Other Thoughts: I like the course and I'm looking forward to playing the upcoming tourney, but with no hole over 400', the baskets, the location, the lack of amenities, and by comparison, I rate this as a "Good" 3.0

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Classic City Course.

1    5/9/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Classic Golf Course. Earlewood is what I would consider a "Classic" style disc golf course. It's definitely an older course that was probably designed pre-beveled edge discs… however, the design holds up. All the holes are influenced by trees, but trees do not dominate. Rather, they force you to shape shots and hit gaps… with good shots being rewarded with a birdie opportunity.
- Great Golf Shots. There are just some really great golf shots here. Perfect use of natural features (foliage, elevation, ravines, creeks, thick ruff, etc…) and manmade features (OB roads, parking lots, and trails). And, it seemed as if for tournament play, there were lots of "add-on" restrictions that could be put in place to give the course an added challenge (i.e. OB trail and beyond, "island" greens, extra mandys, etc…).
- Hole 18. An extremely picturesque 380' tunnel shot, dropping steeply downhill, through a 20' wide window and under a ceiling, then flattening out for the final 250', all the while with Extremely Thick Disaster Left and OB road right. It's unfortunate that 96% of disc golf courses don't end with a bang like this one.
Cons:
- Primitive Signage. I'm glad they invested in signage; however, Hole number, distance and "Rec" Par is all you get. It would have been nice if they had invested in some more informative signage that had a diagram showing the Hole layout with OB's and Mandys clearly marked. There was more than one hole where we didn't know that there was a Mandy, or that the pin was perched next to a potentially OB trail, until after we had thrown and walked 200' up the fairway.
- Traffic Issues. There was a walking path / Nature trail that bisected much of the front 9. There was also a basketball court and pavilion area that could come into play for novice throwers. We didn't have any issues (on a beautiful Sunday afternoon), but if the park was busy it could slow down play.
- Only One Pin Position. The pins seem to be cemented in the ground with no way to change their location. Not only does this not allow for course variety over time, but it also increases the amount of erosion surrounding the baskets… Lots of exposed roots.
Other Thoughts:
- Posted Par. If you've ever read the threads regarding Par on this site then you know it's a hot topic. Let me clearly state that I am not a member of the "everything's a Par 3 / Pro Par" faction. And, let me say that I am in favor of having courses with Recreational Par labels as a way to get beginners motivated… However, with that said, the posted Pars here are false. Unless you're an extreme beginner, everything's a 3.
- Congrats DiscChainBasket18. DCB18 and I have been traveling around hitting up courses like crazy since I moved to NC (30 courses together in 10 months). This was his 50th course. Awesome milestone! Thanks DGCR!
- My Score: -4

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Pearl- Wood

1    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is a jewell. Beautiful park setting. The course is played through a stand of old growth trees. These majestic giants provide shade & challenge as each hole seems to utilize a path through the forest. Wooded but not thick. Space between the trees allows a great course layout. Benches on most holes. Tee signs & large cement tee pads await you on each hole. Garbage cans meant a clean course. Walking paths & picnic areas with good parking nearby. Creative use of elevation comes into play on nearly every hole although it's an easy walk. A small creek also comes into play from time to time. The baskets are the old design with a small rounded top & single-row (heavy) chains. These make a distinctive 'tone' sound when the disc hits them. It only adds to the unique vibe of the course.
Cons: Walkways & park benches are in the way of some throws. Tee signs could be a bit more descriptive. No super-long holes for big arms.
Other Thoughts: I had heard a tourament at this course that seems to sell out VERY quickly each year. I wondered what made the course so popular (review voting seems high as well). Now that I have played it I see why people enjoy it. It is a very cool 'old-school' course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/14/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course layout. Course flows nicely.
- Holes are close together, so no long walks.
- Good use of elevation, leading to a variety of holes and basket placements.
- Plenty of chances for birdies. On most holes, you won't get punished for bad tee shots.
- Short course means higher emphasis on accuracy than on distance. Average hole length is less than 270.
- Low chance for losing discs. Only holes with any risk are #3 & 12 (creek and thick brush between holes), to the right of #9 and to the left of #18.
Cons: Holes are too close to each other at times. I threw to wrong basket once because baskets were so close.
- Risk of hitting people on other holes seems high when course is crowded.
- Blind shots to several baskets can be good and bad.
Other Thoughts: If you wanted a blueprint for a course that uses the terrain to its best, this is it.
- This course was right in the middle in terms of difficulty. I was very neutral on it. Nothing really wowed me nor bothered me. I was hoping for more holes like #18.
- Most challenging hole is #18. Throwing downhill through a narrow opening in the trees. Hole plays shorter than listed, but the elevation drop increases the chance of disc curving. This was the only hole I stood on the tee and knew a great tee shot was needed to get a par.
- Favorite hole is #16. Loved the scene of throwing over the amphitheater and seats. One of the best views on any disc golf course I've played. NOTE: The photo of #16 on the website is old and doesn't give the full sense of view.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.