Columbia, SC 
Earlewood Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #16 (Taken 9/2012)
5 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    11/30/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very well maintained park setting , most unique baskets I have ever played - all silver , slim chains with domed tops . Beautiful layout easily navigated .
Cons: Fairly short overall par 54 , but a nice mix , a couple of blind short holes can lead to hard to find tee shots .
Other Thoughts: A must play in Columbia .

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Great Elevation Changes

1    11/28/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevation changes on this course are epic! I really enjoyed the scenery and the layout was great. The holes all had very different challenges to them. Some were more wooded than others. Some had greater elevation changes than others. The hazards were very nice because they would definitely add a stroke but you were able to get your disc back unlike some water hazards I've played. I also have learned to treasure cement tee pads when they are present. This course is filled with signature holes the three that come to mind are:

6 - Which has a great blind drive downhill. Great reward for going all out with your drive but you could very easily end up in the ravine.

15 - Which plays around the amphitheater. This hole was fun being forced to play along the left side. A good drive sets you up for an easy 3.

18 - What to say about this hole? Long, beautiful view, enormous elevation change. A nice straight drive on this hole can easily travel 300-400 feet. This was a unique fun hole to play and made the hour drive well worth it.
Cons: The layout is definitely not obvious and printing the map is a 100% must. I had some beginners with me and this course was definitely not for them. The par numbers on this course are weird but really doesn't matter that much. Just according to course par I shot 5 under. If I played all par 3's than I shot 9 over. Small thing but mentally I had the greatest round of my career. The only other con, and I don't think everyone will deal with this, but a large group of people were walking back to their car and walked right in front of the 15th tee box. There was obviously no hurry to get out of the way or care that we were waiting on them, they did not thank us for waiting for them or apologize for taking so long. It was just very rude, I know most courses are mixed use parks but a little courtesy would be nice.

P.S. It was fall and all of the leaves had fallen, one of our group was playing primarily with a red disc, this was very hard to find. I'd suggest this time of the year bringing bright discs.
Other Thoughts: This course was great. The facilities were all nice, and it was well worth the hour drive that it took to get there. I really enjoyed this course and will make a point to visit every time I'm near Columbia. Also there has been a lot of comments on the type of baskets. They all seemed just fine to me and I never had a problem with missing puts because of the chains.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the stop...

1    10/14/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation changes.
-Big magnificent looking trees towering overhead, still leaving fairways open.
-Pretty easy to find your way around.
-Epic ditches (almost canyons) if your shot goes awry.
-Old school pars that make you feel awesome about your game.
-Close out your game chucking down a humongous hill. Always awesome.
-Good peoples, see other thoughts.
Cons: -A few places that give you the opportunity to really damage your disc.
-Old baskets, but still good ones. (Apparently upgraded before I had a chance to write this)
-Old school pars that make you feel awesome about your game, even when you suck.
Other Thoughts: I really, really, enjoyed playing this course. Being from Michigan, the flora was just different enough to be exotic. It was very hot, and I didn't know there was water located in the circle island by the parking lot. After nine holes, I saw someone else who directed me there, and I filled up. The people seemed very nice, and there was a lost disc sitting by a trash can, unmolested, and someone had some signs posting about finding a lost disc and wanting to return it. My fiancee had the joy of impressing some locals throwing some of the best shots of her life in quick succession, and they were cheering her on.

I definitely will be stopping by again, if I find myself in Columbia.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta play it

5+    9/12/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: kmelton
Played: 103  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You can use a variety of discs on this course. It challenges your whole game. Sure it is short and the pros can tear it up, but since almost every hole has elevation it can bite back. Earlwood is known for its' rollaways. #18 is just beautiful to look at, but your mantra on 18 is throw low because a nasty dose of bushes await you on the immediate left and a swampy area on the left more down toward the basket. This is really the only hole you can lose a disc (maybe 9 in the ditch or over the railroad tracks.)
Cons: Old school baskets can lead to blow throughs. Just pull out ye ol' blowfly! Baskets are in the process of getting extra chains though. (#11 already has them installed and they work great) Restrooms in the rec center are rarely open. Can interfere with other park users on some holes #11,12, 16
Other Thoughts: Ignore all par signs. This course should be played as all par 3's--par 54 (did some math for you there)
Favorite holes: 4, 8, 16, 18
Holes that can piss me off: 7.
Saw a drug deal near hole 8 one day.
This is a great course for beginners too. It open enough for errant shots. Somewhat of a playground for your kids to play on.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/2/2008   8/29/2010
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.2 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: One of if not the funnest course I've ever played. This is hands down without a doubt the best course in the world without a par 4 or 5. Elevation on this course is awesome and just so many fun shots. 18 might be the best par 3 finishing hole in the world and just when you play a great hole, there is another great hole around the corner.
Cons: The basket's are old and you get some funky spits and lip outs. It's not in a very good area of town and there are a lot of roll aways which can get frustrating.
Other Thoughts: A must play. That simple.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

3/11/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation, huge trees, and each hole is interesting and different. A great finishing hole, where a 2 or even 3 stroke lead can be lost. Hard, sloping greens produce long rollaways if you don't land flat.
Cons: Fairly short---if you can throw 350' you can reach every hole. As an urban park there are a few problems with the general public....but this was my "home course" for 12 years and problems have been very few.
Other Thoughts: Unique domed-top baskets, slightly narrower than most baskets you see nowadays.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  My Starting Course

3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: Hogarth
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well laid out - flows nicely. City park that l originally started playing back in 95. I would call it a great open, tight, wide, wooded, water hazards, etc... It's got everything that you need to sharpen your skills.
Ed has done an excellent job of keeping this course updated and is always a good challenge.
Cons: Like someone else mentioned, the city park element lends itself to walk-thru traffic. But the "others" know what we're doing out there and are almost always considerate of our game.
Other Thoughts: I'm my mind, I always compare all other courses to this one.
This is an excellent baseline course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.