Columbia, SC 
Earlewood Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 My 1st SC course!

1    5/27/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Earlewood's main attraction as a course would be the nice rolling hills throughout the course in which the designer did an excellent job of using. Also there are a number of trees that force you to shape your shots at this park in order to get a birdie. This combination along with open ground on which to walk and find discs ramps up the fun factor of this course to a very high level. Hole eighteen was my favorite hole on the course, it is a longer hole but downhill and reachable for most advanced players with a well thought out putter or mid range disc to bypass the guarding trees and possibly get an ace on. Baskets are older but seem to catch well enough and the tee pads and signs are also older but are still in decent shape.
Cons: This course was built back in 1991 and playing along it shows its age. Holes are just way to short on this course to be anything other than a pitch and putt. Beginners will have lots of fun on this course but advanced players will learn the lines very quickly and rack up birdies fast; after two or three times these players might start wishing for a harder course. The one thing that struck a cord with me was the poor course flow and strange navigation. After hole three the next logical tee pad that you see across the tiny bridge is actually in fact hole eleven and finding hole four is taxing and the flow here is strange. Also after hole nine or ten I believe you are crossing over hole one and its fairway again to get to where you want to go.
Other Thoughts: There is some construction near holes one through three but walking around it will get you to the first tee, wish I knew this before hand! Navigation isn't too terrible with the exception of what I previously mentioned but printing a map for me was helpful. If you are near Columbia I think stopping in here and at Owens Field Park are both worthwhile places to play.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of fun

1    5/3/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 37.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful ole time city park, with large mature trees and a gentle running creek dividing the course in two separate loops.

Elevation is the biggest positive here. The course maximizes it. You will be either throwing up or down some type of elevation, whether that is a dramatic change, or less severe. Several baskets are located on fast greens, to add to the difficulty.

Basic tee signs, along with decent concrete tee pads, located at all holes. All baskets have a next tee indicator, aiding in course navigation. This allows navigation without a map possible.

About a third of the holes play parallel to the creek, with one having you throw over it. The Combination of the creek with the elevation challenges, makes this a good course for all skill levels.
Cons: Hole 16 has you throwing over/near the amphitheater. It's one thing when it's not in use, very dangerous to unplayable if it is being used.

There are several parallel fairways, where errant shots will encroach on it's neighbor, slowing down play if crowded, and potentially getting hit by a disc, possible.

Non disc golfing walking trails increase pedestrian traffic, which will cause slow downs, if really crowded.

Going from basket 9 to tee 10 has you crossing over 1's fairway. 18's tee is too close to 17's fairway, so watch your head.
Other Thoughts: Single tee, single basket course that still is relevant in today's world of longer flying discs. You won't see this style of baskets much with their doom covers. Hopefully eliminating the dreaded, landing on top of basket, shot.

There was construction going on at the rec center behind #1 tee, so make sure you go around it to get to the first tee. The rec center and playground looked to be unavailable because of the construction.

Not overly challenging for me, but it was a lot of fun and is my favorite Columbus area course. Perfect for working on your game, or hanging with your friends, it is enjoyable either way.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great park course

1    4/19/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly city park with lots of elevation, nice mature trees and a small creek. The water comes into play around a couple greens, and many other pins are on slopes to make you really think about your short game. Most holes play up, down, or across the hills adding a lot of fun and challenge. Hole 18 is a lot of fun, it's a tight shot and one of the longest on the course, but it's steeply downhill and a potential ace run.

Though the holes are pretty similar lengths, the elevation makes them play shorter or longer, by quite a bit in some cases. Despite limited underbrush, there are enough trees to make you shape some interesting lines. There are decent concrete tees, and the baskets are older but catch fine. The signage is decent, with hole shape and length.
Cons: There are some navigation issues here, there are often multiple tees visible and it's not obvious which one is next. You have to walk across 1s fairway between holes 9 and 10. The course plays across an amphitheater and walking paths, and near picnic areas and a basketball court, all potential safety issues.

The course is shorter, and most of the challenge comes from the mature trees and elevation. Some holes offer roll away possibility, but otherwise errant shots aren't punished much here. There just isn't a ton of challenge, just about every hole is a birdie chance for intermediate or better players.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a great time here with reasonable lengths and limited punishment, it is a bit of a hike but otherwise very friendly for new players. More experienced players can have a really good time playing for birdies here, there's a lot of variety though not too much difficulty. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Neat Old School Course

1    5/1/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park course that combines rolling terrain and trees throughout. The fairways all have trees that create a variety of shots (except for doglegs) that will offer challenges and fun. It's a pretty quick play (45 minutes for me in a nearly empty park) due to it's short length.

There are many memorable holes (many short enough for ace runs) particularly holes 8, 15, and 18 (two of which are tunnel shots). Every single hole seems to have elevation change of some sort, which is great, and the space s well utilized.
Cons: Danger Zones: The proximity of holes to each other can cause some danger of discs wandering into other fairways (a long drive on 6 can smack someone on #4) and there's a pedestrian pathway going through #12.

The only "weak" hole (rather one that seemed to stand out as a filler hole was #14- just kinda open and short.
Other Thoughts: I suggest having a map handy. The tee pads are clearly marked but there's a few occasions where it's not quite clear where to go next.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Classic

1    3/20/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 246  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 19.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Earlewood is your classical older city park style course that is mature, seasoned, and perfectly worn. Elevation is the major challenge here playing both up and down on many holes, but it is tasteful and fun, not sadistically difficult. The course offers many other challenges and obstacles: trees are as you would expect, some thicker rough, creek hazards (site shows half the holes having water, but the creek really comes into play on just a couple, and it is small and seems like most of the time retrieving discs would not be a problem), and finally the unique structures like a pipeline and an amphitheater. Variation in hole distance is better than the it looks on paper due to the elevation changes utilized on most holes. The concrete tees, basic signs and older baskets get the job done. Course contains two loops of 9 holes. Navigation was not too bad as there are mostly short walks to the next tee, but print a map first to make it easy.

The finishing hole is one of the best around- long, downhill, narrow fairway between tall trees- it is gorgeous, challenging, and one where you will want to empty the bag. The downward elevation makes this 380' hole aceable for many, but get into trouble off the tee and you could be facing a bogey or worse. I bet many rounds have been decided on this hole with a multiple shot swing possible.
Cons: The course is integrated into other park activities somewhat- walking trail, the amphitheater, a road, picnic tables, tennis courts, and basketball courts. (And a note on the basketball, there was an intense game going on by some hot-tempered foul-mouthed locals and I would have not been shocked to have heard gunshots at some point--- we kept our distance!)

A few design issues- 1) the front is not as strong as the back, 2) the first few holes almost play on top of each other with no distinct division/barrier between them, and 3) the walk from 9 to 10 takes across #1 fairway that is blind because of the tennis courts (be sure to peek out before crossing to avoid a disc to the head). Also, the parking lot is not really close to hole 1 & 10 as we had to wander and hunt for it over some construction and we did not find any restrooms in the park.

This course does not provide the "removed-from-the-world" feel- it is your average city park with other park users around and you can see much of the park and course from just about anywhere on the course.
Other Thoughts: Earlewood is a great public course that thankfully has survived from an earlier era of disc golf. There are several run-of-the-mill holes, but there are also several good and unique holes here, too. This is a course I wouldn't mind playing over and over again. It has its challenges, but gives you a chance to work on your game without too much punishment. Overall, it is just fun to play and worth the stop it you are passing through the area.

*Note: At first glance it appears on the hole info link of this site that there are two sets of tees, but there is just one. This is just done to show both pars (the old ones shown on the tee signs and then the standard pro par of today).

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mature Course

1    4/5/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, yet forgiving holes.
Elevation changes add color and variety to the course. Unique holes that you will remember and look forward to playing again.
Fairways are open but trees add the element of good decision making for placement of shots.
Locals were firndly enough to direct me to the start and other places where the basket was blind.
Cons: Some fairways overlap and a few holes you have to walk through another fairway.
Lots of other activity in the park that could disrupt your game.
Baskets look old.
Tee pads have a lot of debris on them.
Par noted is questionable(very forgiving)
Signage is poor.
Other Thoughts: First time to this area and looking for a place to play. Earlewood offers a varaity of shots needed and a great place to work on your game from different aspects. Like other reviewers noted. each hole brings a unique character to the course and the holes are not repetitive. This is a course that if you lived here, you could play a million times and continue to enjoy it. While the baskets could use a bit of sprucing up and the tee pads provided some brooms, the upkeep of the course is very good. The signs from baskt to next tee are poor and I found a few times early on in the course wandering around trying to figure out which way to go. With a little sprucing up, this is easily a 4 star course.This was a nice surprise to add onto a out of town trip. I would encourage you to add this to your wish list if you're in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/23/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: medic5888
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads
Maintained very well, very clean
Several elevated shots
Great for new players or experienced players
Classic course from the 90s
Cons: I have been out when its packed and you have to wait to play a hole.
Watch out for people with a wild throw coming at your head due to the course being compact.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, I play it several times a week.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 123  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 12 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice little park course. Lots of elevation changes -- the pictures don't do this justice, as the ups and downs are quite steep. Pin placements on a lot of these slopes add to the challenge. You must learn how to park your putts so they don't roll down these hills, or you'll be looking at long return shots.
The layout is nice, no repeat back-to-back holes -- a longer, uphill hole will be followed by a shorter, downhill hole. A lefty hole followed by a righty, although there are no major doglegs.
I love the challenge that seems to slowly develop over the course. As you get to the back 9, the holes start to take a different shape and very unique lines.
I love the amphitheatre shot, a nice long run with the amphitheater in the valley between the pin and the tee. I also loved 18 -- almost 400' downhill tunnel with trouble to the left.
Excellent signage. I questioned the measurements on a couple holes, but the signs themselves are quite nice.
Cons: If you're an experienced player, you should ignore the listed par and play everything par 3. No hole over 400', and no major doglegs = par 3 course(imho).
Older baskets, gray tops that are often hard to see. The chains were fine though, which is the most important piece :).
Navigation was not great -- I was in a group that knew the course but tried to see it as if I were alone. A few "next tee" signs help, but you can see a lot of baskets and tees from most places, and it could be confusing without a guide or map.
Church bells - again, not a BIG con, but when they ring, they ring for 10 minutes or more!
Traffic. Lots of people out and about wandering through the course. Some looked to be bums.
There's a basketball court all alone in the middle of the park. While it doesn't interfere much with throwing, it was very popular when we were there, lots of people and loud. Again not a big deal, but they definitely didn't know what disc golf was -- one person picked up one of our drives and might have kept the disc without us yelling that it was ours. Many more just casually walked down fairways straight at us, and I wouldn't want to start trouble with them either.
No trashcans, except at the front of the park. No restrooms either.
Other Thoughts: I like the course and I'm looking forward to playing the upcoming tourney, but with no hole over 400', the baskets, the location, the lack of amenities, and by comparison, I rate this as a "Good" 3.0

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 a hike

1    2/24/2011   2/25/2011
Review By: joe_kool315
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: lots of elevation changes. plenty of "in-play" trees to force you to try different lines and lots of LARGE standing trees make for a nice walk in the park
Cons: It is early in the year but there was a TON of leaves all over, made disc hunting challenging at times. I think I saw 2 blades of grass so there was a lot of packed dirt, leaves and other ground cover but not much grass at all
Other Thoughts: probably a nicer course in the mid to late summer, keep this in mind when trip planning.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun, no big arm required

2-4    2/9/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: Sabooo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Compact course with lots of elevation changes. The park is very well kept, and the course is well maintained. Some great signature holes (#18 and the ampitheater are my favorites) Local players are very friendly!
The course has a very good amount of activity, and it's easy to find a tour guide.
Cons: While no long distance walking required between holes, lots of up and downhill walking. Parks dept recently added a walking path that runs through some fairways, but no walkers when I played. Soil compaction along the wooded fairways means lots of exposed roots to trip over.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! You can knock out a solo round very quickly. I dropped in on the wednesday doubles, and joined 17 other players for a round. The locals are super friendly, and offered quite a bit of help with this old man's technique.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.