Columbia, SC
Earlewood Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 251ft.   3 / 251ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
nice course and fun to play

1    4/4/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course with varied distances and pars. Every course I played on always is a par 3 for every hole...it is nice to have par 4 and five mixed in. I like the terrain and the holes and tee boxes are well marked. It has up and down terrain giving you a good work out when playing.
Cons: The hills are rough on players like me that have bad knees. The course is very busy at times making it hard to get in a round. Some of the hilly parts can be a little slippery.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course that I would recommend to anyone that plays disc golf. It is also good that there is minimal pedestrians in the way.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/30/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very well maintained park setting , most unique baskets I have ever played - all silver , slim chains with domed tops . Beautiful layout easily navigated .
Cons: Fairly short overall par 54 , but a nice mix , a couple of blind short holes can lead to hard to find tee shots .
Other Thoughts: A must play in Columbia .

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course to Play

5+    11/9/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: drj1807
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well kept up. Beautiful area/surroundings.
Cons: A LOT of densely wooded area and deep ravines where you can lose a disk.
Other Thoughts: A really solid course. There are a LOT of trees. Is is also pretty hilly. ON a few tees the elevation drops or rises 30+ feet in a relatively short span.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in pretty area

1    6/18/2012   9/18/2013
Review By: DrumMD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful shade trees, hills, varying terrain. Holes are encouraging as par is not difficult for intermediate players. Lots of trees and other to avoid.
Cons: Again, maybe par is set too low on most holes.
Other Thoughts: We enjoyed the course a lot and will return if we are in the area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Needs some minor improvements

5+    5/6/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Aesthetics
Variety of Elevation
Variety of layouts
Amphitheater
Cons: Poor Signage
Tight Layout, lots of switchbacks
Lack of Seating
Lack of Trash Receptacles
No Bathrooms
Other Thoughts: This is a very pretty course with lots of up and down and some really serene layouts. Layout of holes is pretty tight and you end up having to cross another fairway to get to the next pad a few times. Can also be confusing for first timers, a hole layout and next tee signs would be a great addition. Course is pretty short, but makes up for it with aesthetics and tight holes and elevation changes providing a good degree of challenges. Overall a great course, a few minor improvements would turn this course from average to excellent.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great place

5+    12/2/2011   12/2/2012
Review By: EricBasile
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: great place
i only played here while first learning to play
my reviews probably would be different now that i can play a lot better
If in SC i would definately make a stop here to get in a round or two
Cons: Not much to complain about. I see people out there doing maintenance so it is well kept. Not a lot of traffic but maybe it could be a bit more challenging.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 .........

5+    1/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: discninja
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -it has a large Varity of elevation, and it is well kept.
-path does not cut though the holes as much
- open and tight holes
- a good Challenge
Cons: -no restrooms
- Sometimes tiring
-hardly any benches
Other Thoughts: there is a new building being bulit, and it looks like it will be pretty big Compared to the old one.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Just playing through

1    2/5/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 28  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of ups, downs, lefts, and rights, not any tight doglegs though
Some open fairways as well as some tight ones
Very well maintained, didn't see any trash
Hole No. signs with footage
Concrete pads
Nice players on the course
Cons: Wish they had signs designating which basket goes with which hole, only a problem as it was my first time playing and the holes are fairly close together.
Many fairways and tees are very close together, so be mindful of other players.
Other Thoughts: Played the course quickly on my way through town but was very impressed. Ample parking and a great mixture of different holes. Had a great time and would definitely play it again if I go through Columbia again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/8/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: TeeJay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes
Distance changes
and all around a nice course
all the creeks and streams have dried up and there is no water hazard unless it rains.
it is very challenging and i love to play this course
Cons: the mach 1 baskets seem old school and narrow but i had no trouble putting into them at all but the baskets could cause problems and i believe restrooms on the course would be nice.
on hole nine there is a big drop off and in some spots it is hard to retrieve discs maybe they should do like the course where im from in florida and make bamboo poles with hooks.
Other Thoughts: it is not really for new players but it is a fun challenging course
this course is very fun and there is no problem with navigation.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Old School

5+    8/28/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.1 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice mixed of holes that allows for all skills level a sense of challenge while not pandering to one skill level or another.

The course offers cement tee pads and utilizes the parks natural features really well as far as the available land, creek beds and elevation. I thought the flow of the course worked well too...even though others say the course is hard to follow for first time players.

The best thing about the course was the sense of community I felt when first arriving at the park. All the players that were just heading out on to the course or had just finished 18 were pleasant with saying hello and general chit-chat. I don't hear that as often at others courses.
Cons: Cons would be the real old-school Mach I (I think) baskets...they're a bit narrower than more traditional baskets and the basket itself is shallower than others and allow for more putts to be rejected

I also felt like some obstacles like the Amphitheater on hole 16 wasn't well thought out as it appears to have been built after the course...at least it looks newer than the course looks.
Other Thoughts: All in all Earlewood is a classic neighborhood park that works its way through an older area of town and the course is a very classic old school feel.

When I hear people talking about "World Class Course" they'e always saying things need to be longer. Earlewood shows how limited space with other activities at a park can still showcase the best of Disc Golf...at least what Disc Golf was when I first began playing.

The best ways to increase my rating of this course would be to update the baskets and maybe make the tees slightly bigger. Those are 2 minor things.

Earlewood is a course you will want to play if you want to learn where Disc Golf came from and why all the old timers still throw a lot of short range control discs. This course shows that you can leave the bigdogs at home.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.