Columbia, SC 
Earlewood Park Share
Uploaded By: DavidSauls Hole #16 (Taken 3/2007)
5 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice course in pretty area

1    6/18/2012   9/18/2013
Review By: DrumMD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful shade trees, hills, varying terrain. Holes are encouraging as par is not difficult for intermediate players. Lots of trees and other to avoid.
Cons: Again, maybe par is set too low on most holes.
Other Thoughts: We enjoyed the course a lot and will return if we are in the area.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some minor improvements

5+    5/6/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: holmslice
Played: 25  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Aesthetics
Variety of Elevation
Variety of layouts
Cons: Poor Signage
Tight Layout, lots of switchbacks
Lack of Seating
Lack of Trash Receptacles
No Bathrooms
Other Thoughts: This is a very pretty course with lots of up and down and some really serene layouts. Layout of holes is pretty tight and you end up having to cross another fairway to get to the next pad a few times. Can also be confusing for first timers, a hole layout and next tee signs would be a great addition. Course is pretty short, but makes up for it with aesthetics and tight holes and elevation changes providing a good degree of challenges. Overall a great course, a few minor improvements would turn this course from average to excellent.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great place

5+    12/2/2011   12/2/2012
Review By: EricBasile
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: great place
i only played here while first learning to play
my reviews probably would be different now that i can play a lot better
If in SC i would definately make a stop here to get in a round or two
Cons: Not much to complain about. I see people out there doing maintenance so it is well kept. Not a lot of traffic but maybe it could be a bit more challenging.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: discninja
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -it has a large Varity of elevation, and it is well kept.
-path does not cut though the holes as much
- open and tight holes
- a good Challenge
Cons: -no restrooms
- Sometimes tiring
-hardly any benches
Other Thoughts: there is a new building being bulit, and it looks like it will be pretty big Compared to the old one.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Just playing through

1    2/5/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of ups, downs, lefts, and rights, not any tight doglegs though
Some open fairways as well as some tight ones
Very well maintained, didn't see any trash
Hole No. signs with footage
Concrete pads
Nice players on the course
Cons: Wish they had signs designating which basket goes with which hole, only a problem as it was my first time playing and the holes are fairly close together.
Many fairways and tees are very close together, so be mindful of other players.
Other Thoughts: Played the course quickly on my way through town but was very impressed. Ample parking and a great mixture of different holes. Had a great time and would definitely play it again if I go through Columbia again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/8/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: TeeJay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes
Distance changes
and all around a nice course
all the creeks and streams have dried up and there is no water hazard unless it rains.
it is very challenging and i love to play this course
Cons: the mach 1 baskets seem old school and narrow but i had no trouble putting into them at all but the baskets could cause problems and i believe restrooms on the course would be nice.
on hole nine there is a big drop off and in some spots it is hard to retrieve discs maybe they should do like the course where im from in florida and make bamboo poles with hooks.
Other Thoughts: it is not really for new players but it is a fun challenging course
this course is very fun and there is no problem with navigation.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Old School

5+    8/28/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 36.6 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice mixed of holes that allows for all skills level a sense of challenge while not pandering to one skill level or another.

The course offers cement tee pads and utilizes the parks natural features really well as far as the available land, creek beds and elevation. I thought the flow of the course worked well too...even though others say the course is hard to follow for first time players.

The best thing about the course was the sense of community I felt when first arriving at the park. All the players that were just heading out on to the course or had just finished 18 were pleasant with saying hello and general chit-chat. I don't hear that as often at others courses.
Cons: Cons would be the real old-school Mach I (I think) baskets...they're a bit narrower than more traditional baskets and the basket itself is shallower than others and allow for more putts to be rejected

I also felt like some obstacles like the Amphitheater on hole 16 wasn't well thought out as it appears to have been built after the least it looks newer than the course looks.
Other Thoughts: All in all Earlewood is a classic neighborhood park that works its way through an older area of town and the course is a very classic old school feel.

When I hear people talking about "World Class Course" they'e always saying things need to be longer. Earlewood shows how limited space with other activities at a park can still showcase the best of Disc least what Disc Golf was when I first began playing.

The best ways to increase my rating of this course would be to update the baskets and maybe make the tees slightly bigger. Those are 2 minor things.

Earlewood is a course you will want to play if you want to learn where Disc Golf came from and why all the old timers still throw a lot of short range control discs. This course shows that you can leave the bigdogs at home.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 A Great 18 Hole.

5+    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: JoshuaWayneHester
Played: 21  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *All Mach 1 goals in excellent shape.Great use of the hill sides, making some shots upwards, downwards and a few flat shots.

*Fair amount of trees give some of the short distances a better challenge.

*All concrete tee pads, except on hole 1.

*All tee's are marked with number post with feet and par on them.

*There are navigation stickers on every basket pointing towards the next hole.

*Great scenery with very good maintance.

*Great course for beginners or newer players to learn the sport.

*Low risk of losing a disc, although there are water hazzards they are very small.

*Hole 18 is a hole with great use of elevation and wooded area.
Cons: *Navigation the first time around can be overwhelming, although the tee's are fairly easy to find the baskets are not so easy to spot.

*Very little buffer zones on a few holes, make it easy to fly a disc into another players way.

*This course can be a safety concern for smaller children due to the steep inclines and declines on a few holes.

*Although the baskets are in excellent shape they are older designs with smaller baskets and can cause a few more spit-outs.

*An easy course for intermediate to advanced players using the courses par system.
Other Thoughts: This is by far one of my favorite courses, Earlewood Park utilizes all of it's land to maximize the fun level for golfers. This course offers 18 easy to play holes with great elevation changes and good maintance. I would recommend bringing a map to navigate this course and plenty of water. I traveled 2 hours to play and it was worth every minute. *Highly recommended course*

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 fun old school course

1    5/14/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great use of elevation on just about every hole
-lots of large, mature trees throughout the course
-small creek in play on a number of holes
-makes great use of the limited space
-a couple of very cool signature tee shots
-nice concrete tees
-basic signs at each tee
-old school, dome top baskets are in good condition
Cons: -shows age, very short holes
-too generous pars on the signs, definitely a par 54 course
-awkward flow and navigation, not too bad but 1st timers need a map or a local
-many very close fairways, errant throws into other fairways are probably pretty common, especially considering how busy this course probably gets
-baskets are in good condition and catch well enough but are definitely not as consistent as newer models
-thick, intimidating foliage if you are on the watch for posion ivy or sumac. it is definitely out there, especially near the creek
Other Thoughts: This fun old school course holds up very well. The design makes effective use of a relatively small space and exploits the elevation changes brilliantly. Nearly every hole has at least some elevation change. This is what really makes this course so fun even though it is so short.

The park is filled with large, mature trees and some of the lines are a little tight but fair. Most of the pin positions make good use of the natural obstacles and elevation. The hillside pin positions here really make you think about your approaches and putts. Given how short the holes are, you'll be thinking about how your disc is going to land even on your drives.

Holes 2 and 18 are the standouts for me. Hole 2 is a great downhill shot with a left to right fairway and a good number of trees. The basket sits on a hillside that slopes down to the left so you have to think twice about that anhyzer shot! Hole 18 is an awesome downhill through some trees with a ceiling to a pin straight ahead. A great ace run if you can hit the line. Hole 16 is also fun, shooting across the amphitheater to a hillside basket. The amphitheater is OB so you've got to make it. Must be a bummer when there is an event there because the hole is not playable then.

The rest of the holes are fun but some are a little repetitive. There are a couple blind downhill shots that are essentially the same: down overthrow down the hill and make sure you land flat. There are also two short, straight uphills (11 and 14) that are sort of filler, especially 14 since it is wide open too. Many of the holes here would be boring if it weren't for all the elevation changes.

Overall, this course is still fun 20 years later. For the modern player it is definitely a duece-or-die course but there are enough obstacles, tight lines and elevation issues to keep you on your toes. This is the place to go if you're in town looking for a casual round as the other course in town is more rough around the edges and has some very (very!) challenging wooded holes.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 My Morning Earlewood

5+    7/3/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 284  Reviewed: 173  Exp: 13.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Earlewood Park has a very fun disc golf course that utilizes the limited space available perfectly. Each hole has a concrete tee pad, and a sign with distance and an inflated par for that hole. All holes are par 3 for experienced players. Distance is never overwhelming, as any basket can be reached from the box with a well placed drive. Elevation change is a factor on most holes, to varying degrees. Hole 18 is probably the signature hole, a long drive down a tall hill through the trees. Great flowing layout with little chance to lose plastic keeps the pace steady, even on a crowded day.
Cons: The fairways are not overly technical, and highly skilled players might find this course to be too easy. The baskets are OLD SCHOOL, and those chains will spit out a putt that would fall in many other targets. It is a compact park with other facilities, but other users rarely hinder disc golf play.
Other Thoughts: I love Earlewood Park. It is one of the most fun courses I've played that is still quite beginner friendly. The layout is practical with just enough obstacles to keep it interesting. The antiquated dome top baskets add a little flavor you can't find on modern courses. I may be over rating this course in some peoples opinions. There is a lack of difficulty (last round I had 6 consecutive birdies on the back nine), but it is care free disc golf and I like it! If you are in the neighborhood with your plastic at hand, then check it out for sure.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.