Columbia, SC 
Earlewood Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
4 / 245ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

1    7/14/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 207  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course layout. Course flows nicely.
- Holes are close together, so no long walks.
- Good use of elevation, leading to a variety of holes and basket placements.
- Plenty of chances for birdies. On most holes, you won't get punished for bad tee shots.
- Short course means higher emphasis on accuracy than on distance. Average hole length is less than 270.
- Low chance for losing discs. Only holes with any risk are #3 & 12 (creek and thick brush between holes), to the right of #9 and to the left of #18.
Cons: Holes are too close to each other at times. I threw to wrong basket once because baskets were so close.
- Risk of hitting people on other holes seems high when course is crowded.
- Blind shots to several baskets can be good and bad.
Other Thoughts: If you wanted a blueprint for a course that uses the terrain to its best, this is it.
- This course was right in the middle in terms of difficulty. I was very neutral on it. Nothing really wowed me nor bothered me. I was hoping for more holes like #18.
- Most challenging hole is #18. Throwing downhill through a narrow opening in the trees. Hole plays shorter than listed, but the elevation drop increases the chance of disc curving. This was the only hole I stood on the tee and knew a great tee shot was needed to get a par.
- Favorite hole is #16. Loved the scene of throwing over the amphitheater and seats. One of the best views on any disc golf course I've played. NOTE: The photo of #16 on the website is old and doesn't give the full sense of view.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    5/20/2007   5/23/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Earlewood is a semi-wooded course, with just enough trees to be challenging, but still open enough that you don't need precise drives. There are good tee pads and some very memorable holes.

There are some pretty dramatic holes in this course, especially #16 throwing over the amphitheater and #18 a long, downhill, wooded hole. Nice use of elevation and using those hills to make some very nice holes. There is elevation on nearly every hole. Water comes into play on several holes, the most likely hole to get wet is #4 in the small creek running by the basket.

It is pretty easy to find your way around. Most of the tees are within sight of the previous basket.
Cons: The course isn't as challenging as others I have played, but it also isn't frustrating. It is easy to "figure out" this course, meaning after playing a couple of times, you know exactly what you want to throw from a given tee. The course generally has a nice flow, but watch #9 basket to #10 tee... you have to cross #1 fairway to get there. As was mentioned before, this course has fast greens. The "Earlewood Roll" can turn a par into a double-bogey real fast. A lot of the holes are simple 3s, so there isn't much to challenge better players.
Other Thoughts: I played this course a whole lot when I lived in Columbia, so I've had good days and bad days on it. I always had fun playing it, though. I really like what they did with what they had terrain wise with this course and it is one that I feel has "signature holes."

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 What I think

5/18/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: Newberry7
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plays through a lot of trees and gives you some difficult shots if you get behind them, has a great finishing hole with 18 being some 380 feet long all down hill, only really able to loose discs on a few holes that are either lined with trees or a lot of underbrush.
Cons: Theater comes into play on 15 and 16, near downtown so it didn't allow the course to spread out a good bit, basketball court is built in the course and I have had people come into the path to the basket and just stand there or long periods of time.
Other Thoughts: Its a good course to practice both long throws and short throws and allows starters to get the feel of the game and how it is played.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

3/11/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 123  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 20.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation, huge trees, and each hole is interesting and different. A great finishing hole, where a 2 or even 3 stroke lead can be lost. Hard, sloping greens produce long rollaways if you don't land flat.
Cons: Fairly short---if you can throw 350' you can reach every hole. As an urban park there are a few problems with the general public....but this was my "home course" for 12 years and problems have been very few.
Other Thoughts: Unique domed-top baskets, slightly narrower than most baskets you see nowadays.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  My Starting Course

3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: Hogarth
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well laid out - flows nicely. City park that l originally started playing back in 95. I would call it a great open, tight, wide, wooded, water hazards, etc... It's got everything that you need to sharpen your skills.
Ed has done an excellent job of keeping this course updated and is always a good challenge.
Cons: Like someone else mentioned, the city park element lends itself to walk-thru traffic. But the "others" know what we're doing out there and are almost always considerate of our game.
Other Thoughts: I'm my mind, I always compare all other courses to this one.
This is an excellent baseline course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great disc spot downtown

10/3/2007   11/15/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great tees, variety of shots on a very treed course. Not too many places to lose a disc and many interesting ace runs possible.
Cons: It's close to downtown, so look out for some of the randoms walking through. If you smoke cigs, the bums will seek you out.
Other Thoughts: My best friend has moved around the corner from this course from Michigan. Its a great local course with a lot of varied tees to try out and a decent community. They work hard to keep it clean, despite some of the trash that moves through the park. Help Columbia disc golf grow, North Carolina is so close, yet so far ahead in the DG world.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.