Disc Golf Store
Columbia, SC 
Earlewood Park Share
Uploaded By: Citadelly Hole #10 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
My youth group is going to regret this

2-4    4/23/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Earlewood is an old course. It was designed six years before I was born. It has so many of the "old course" qualities. It's a relatively easy course that any player can enjoy. The hole quality here is a 137/180 so that makes it exciting.
-Great balance of open/wooded here! Most holes are in the middle here. There are a few truly wooded holes and a couple open holes. A hole that stands out as an open/wooded hole is 13! It's an uphill hyzer that starts in the open but the green is very wooded. Definitely my favorite green on the course. 18's green is up there with 13's green! 18 has a creek past the basket. I can't believe I got in the creek on my drive! There are plenty of treacherous greens as well (particularly drop offs.)
-Some huge elevation changes here. 18 is one of the greatest finishing holes I have played! It's a long par 3 (par 5 if you play rec) with a huge elevation drop. It's the empty your bag hole! 18 is my favorite hole on this course. 7 is a huge uphill shot as well. It's only 275' but plays right around 400'! Those two holes have the greatest elevation changes but there are several straight ups and downs! There is a six hole elevation combo. Holes 11-16 all utilize elevation very well! 16 is a sweet valley shot over the amphitheater. I would never want to see an event going on around the amphitheater because it would be hard to play the hole!
-Beginner friendly! The tee signs say the par for rec players but you can always play white level by playing every hole as a par 3. I shot 1 under playing every hole as a par 3. The rough is used very fair. None of the rough is used to the extreme but is used solidly and just the way it should. The lost disc potential is low but there is a chance.
-Trees. The trees make it a little bit tricky but nothing over the top. Due to trees, some holes require an interesting hyzer. Particularly hole 12. Very cool hole with very small gaps straight ahead making it a good idea to hyzer to the right. Same with hole 2. A straight shot won't do here. You can hyzer or anhyzer.
-The Teepads are the way they need to be. Perfect size, great shape and concrete.
-The Mach 1 baskets work very well with the course. They are old but still catch fine. Like I said before, I love the basket locations too! Great greens with roller potential!
-Ace opprotunities. Some good ace runs here, they are definitely not gimmes but birdies will come if you hit your lines. An ace can come here but it's not going to come easily at all.
-Nice little park that's family friendly. It has a playground, a ball field, etc.
Cons: -Hole safety can be a real problem. Holes 1 and 2 are so close to each other. 17's fairway is awfully close to 18's Teepad as well. This problem comes around here are there showing there should be mandos.
-Hole 8 isn't a very good hole. It's just crammed in. It's super close to the road and there is a sign warning that the road ends. The hill slopes pretty steep to the left which could bring you back to hole 7. Just not a good hole for this course.
-Lack of amenities. No benches, trash cans, bathrooms.
-Hole 5's gulley is deep and insanely steep. I picked up my dad's disc and had a hard time getting out. It's even worse when it's wet outside. That's the hole that has good lost disc potential.
-I remember when I played here with my church group in 2012 and the bugs can be really bad in the summer.
Other Thoughts: -I love Earlewood and I love how it's still worth a road trip to play the disc golf course. We stopped in Columbia to spend the night so our drive to ocean isle won't be so long and boring. It was well worth my 2+ hour drive over here in Columbia where I was actually born. Even the scary merge from hwy 20 to hwy 26 during rush hour. I was glad to play here again because I loved the course when I played in the summer of 2012 and only played 10 holes. My youth leaders did not know what they missed here. They only played 1 thru 8. I played those holes as well as 10 and 11. They should've made more time to play here. A lot more time! Things get interesting after 11. Hole 12 was one of the best holes here as well as 13. Great greens and very interesting fairways.
-This is probably the best course in the area. I don't see what the hoo plah is about Crooked Creek. I've seen the pictures. It looks like a generic flat course. Same goes for Owens Field. This course is worth a road trip if you mostly play for your personal enjoyment. The hole quality is great! Same goes for Stoney Hill. I'd love to play that course and I will one day! This course is great and deserves this rating of a 4.0. I personally liked the back nine better than the front nine. It's just as hilly but has more uniqueness to it.

Signature holes would be 16 and 18. With 16 being the most interesting and 18 having the greatest use of elevation

Toughest hole-Ehhh I'd say hole 2. It's a very tricky downhill anhyzer shot. Perfect for flicks. Still a pretty easy 3 but requires an unusual anhyzer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice course and fun to play

1    4/4/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course with varied distances and pars. Every course I played on always is a par 3 for every hole...it is nice to have par 4 and five mixed in. I like the terrain and the holes and tee boxes are well marked. It has up and down terrain giving you a good work out when playing.
Cons: The hills are rough on players like me that have bad knees. The course is very busy at times making it hard to get in a round. Some of the hilly parts can be a little slippery.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course that I would recommend to anyone that plays disc golf. It is also good that there is minimal pedestrians in the way.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/30/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very well maintained park setting , most unique baskets I have ever played - all silver , slim chains with domed tops . Beautiful layout easily navigated .
Cons: Fairly short overall par 54 , but a nice mix , a couple of blind short holes can lead to hard to find tee shots .
Other Thoughts: A must play in Columbia .

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course to Play

5+    11/9/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: drj1807
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well kept up. Beautiful area/surroundings.
Cons: A LOT of densely wooded area and deep ravines where you can lose a disk.
Other Thoughts: A really solid course. There are a LOT of trees. Is is also pretty hilly. ON a few tees the elevation drops or rises 30+ feet in a relatively short span.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in pretty area

1    6/18/2012   9/18/2013
Review By: DrumMD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful shade trees, hills, varying terrain. Holes are encouraging as par is not difficult for intermediate players. Lots of trees and other to avoid.
Cons: Again, maybe par is set too low on most holes.
Other Thoughts: We enjoyed the course a lot and will return if we are in the area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Needs some minor improvements

5+    5/6/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Aesthetics
Variety of Elevation
Variety of layouts
Amphitheater
Cons: Poor Signage
Tight Layout, lots of switchbacks
Lack of Seating
Lack of Trash Receptacles
No Bathrooms
Other Thoughts: This is a very pretty course with lots of up and down and some really serene layouts. Layout of holes is pretty tight and you end up having to cross another fairway to get to the next pad a few times. Can also be confusing for first timers, a hole layout and next tee signs would be a great addition. Course is pretty short, but makes up for it with aesthetics and tight holes and elevation changes providing a good degree of challenges. Overall a great course, a few minor improvements would turn this course from average to excellent.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great place

5+    12/2/2011   12/2/2012
Review By: EricBasile
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: great place
i only played here while first learning to play
my reviews probably would be different now that i can play a lot better
If in SC i would definately make a stop here to get in a round or two
Cons: Not much to complain about. I see people out there doing maintenance so it is well kept. Not a lot of traffic but maybe it could be a bit more challenging.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 .........

5+    1/6/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: discninja
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: -it has a large Varity of elevation, and it is well kept.
-path does not cut though the holes as much
- open and tight holes
- a good Challenge
Cons: -no restrooms
- Sometimes tiring
-hardly any benches
Other Thoughts: there is a new building being bulit, and it looks like it will be pretty big Compared to the old one.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Just playing through

1    2/5/2012   2/5/2012
Review By: ColinB
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of ups, downs, lefts, and rights, not any tight doglegs though
Some open fairways as well as some tight ones
Very well maintained, didn't see any trash
Hole No. signs with footage
Concrete pads
Nice players on the course
Cons: Wish they had signs designating which basket goes with which hole, only a problem as it was my first time playing and the holes are fairly close together.
Many fairways and tees are very close together, so be mindful of other players.
Other Thoughts: Played the course quickly on my way through town but was very impressed. Ample parking and a great mixture of different holes. Had a great time and would definitely play it again if I go through Columbia again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/8/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: TeeJay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes
Distance changes
and all around a nice course
all the creeks and streams have dried up and there is no water hazard unless it rains.
it is very challenging and i love to play this course
Cons: the mach 1 baskets seem old school and narrow but i had no trouble putting into them at all but the baskets could cause problems and i believe restrooms on the course would be nice.
on hole nine there is a big drop off and in some spots it is hard to retrieve discs maybe they should do like the course where im from in florida and make bamboo poles with hooks.
Other Thoughts: it is not really for new players but it is a fun challenging course
this course is very fun and there is no problem with navigation.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center