Columbia, SC 
Owens Field Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #11 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Fun Challenge

5+    5/5/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: JJJJ
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a good mix of left and right, somewhat long and short. It rewards shot shaping and being able to throw straight. Mid range game and approaches will need to be on point to score well here. There are a couple of true par 4's which is nice.

I really appreciate that they took the time and effort to actually cut out fairways instead of just sticking baskets in random open places.
Cons: The only hole that I have a real problem with is 18. The opening to throw through just isn't big enough. I consider myself to be pretty good, but that gap is just not consistently hittable.

Other than that, navigation is the biggest problem with the course. It's a nightmare for beginners to get around the course, and the walk from 16 to 17 is just awful. The giant field in the middle causes this problem, but there has to be a way around having that trek in the middle of your round. 7-8 is a decent walk too, but not nearly as bad as 16-17.

When it rains, the course can start to be unplayable in some spots. The water does not drain at all and just creates a lake and/or mud pit. This also causes the mosquitoes to be a huge pest in the spring/summer.

Holes 15 and 16 turn into parking lots sometimes when people park there for soccer and lacrosse games and it makes the holes unplayable which kinda puts a damper on the end of your round.

Other than that, a few of the holes could be a little wider, but that's not really that big of a deal to me.
Other Thoughts: Owen's Field offers a true challenge for a change, much unlike Earlewood. Some of the holes' lines are a little too tight, but for the most part they are all fair. There are a few holes that stretch out 400+ feet, but really only one or two that you can really let it rip on. The rough is thick and punishing for bad shots and you can easily not get out of the woods if you try to go at the basket instead of a safe play. There are one or two short, ace run type holes that offer a nice break, but they too can turn deadly if you throw it badly. This course gets a bad name from beginners and players who can't score well on the course. It's a good course, regardless of how well you can score on it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course, but long

1    10/13/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: terryjoshbennett
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. It's surrounded by woods, so that makes the challenge exciting. If you want a long day of disc golf, this course is for you.
Cons: It's very spread out, making it difficult to find some of the tees even with a printed map. Because of the wooded area that surrounds it, you can easily lose a disc. It is so hard to find the next tee on MANY shots.
Other Thoughts: Great course overall, but it needs some updating with the navigation. The tees need to be renovated and more plainly in sight. If you're used to playing wooded courses, this one is DEFINITELY for you.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 underrated and very challenging!

1    5/14/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -very challenging wooded course
-lots of very tight lines, interestingly shaped fairways, double fairways
-great, well-thought pin positions
-dual tees on many holes
-baskets in great shape
-signs are there and have diagrams but are old and some are broken (didn't see the new signs others mentioned, maybe they went up after i played?)
Cons: -navigation is pretty poor in some spots, map doesn't help since it's the old layout (didn't see any of the supposedly new "next tee" signs or new tee signs)
-rough is very rough, lots of thick foliage off the fairways
-most of the fairways are fair but a couple are bordering on sadistic. hole #3 comes to mind
-a few of the holes are far removed from the rest of the course
-shady neighborhood
Other Thoughts: This course offers a real alternative to the style of play over at Earlewood Park, the other course in town. This is a much more modern, challenging wooded course. There are legit multi-shot holes, super tight wooded alleys, open bombs, you name it. The only thing missing is elevation change.

The hole shapes here are very unique. You will rarely step up to a tee here and be reminded of another hole you just played. The tees, pins and obstacles are all in the right places to really make you think hard about each shot.

I wish I had some better comments to add here but my experience was rather atypical, I hope. A thunderstorm came out of nowhere and from the time it took to hole out on 6 to tee off on 7 a wicked intense downpour started that lasted 15 minutes with whipping winds and thunder and lightening. I was teeing off in an ankle deep, fast moving creek on hole 8's teepad. Still finished my round but there were quite a few underwater teepads; I couldn't even get to the long tee on 12 there was so much water.

Anyway, the course is tough but lots of fun. I shot poorly but still had a great time. The dirt pads and old tees are sufficient but some new signs, navigational aids and concrete tees would really kick this place up a notch and probably draw in many more players. With some love and amenities this could be the premier course in town. The course rating does not do it justice, this is way better than 2.5 stars. This is the place to come to if you're in town looking for a challenging round as the other course in Columbia is an old school style birdie-fest.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Old Reviews Are Obsolete

1    5/27/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of those uncommon instances where the course was better than the actual rating here. This course has been newly redesigned and the navigational issues previous reviewers had a problem with I did not experience because of the new signs leading you around here so this is why older reviews are now obsolete.

This course has some really tight lines and very punishing fairways that adds serious challenge and produces big scores on very short holes if optimal lines are not met. Some reviewers have complained about unfairness in these holes and this I semi agree with. On some of these tight holes (the par 4 350 foot hole #3 comes to mind) luck is a factor but playing the smarter lines will still give you an advantage and help you score lower over time; it's like how professional poker players don't always make a hand or win a pot and sometimes get unlucky but over time they will see a profit, holes on this course are the same way. The longer par four holes are a great complement to the wooded holes as these are a bit more open and offer a couple of fun double fairways, hole #10 comes into my mind right away. What I really love about this course is how it makes you think. You really have to know your discs and you have to have a plan of attack to find your way and plenty of times throughout the course you will be making decisions that affect your score drastically.
Cons: Like I said I didn't have the navigational issues that previous reviewers have because of the new signs and the redesign but there are still a couple of head scratching moments out here if you bring a map. Yes I said if you bring a printed map it's actually worse than just playing it blind because the map here is old and outdated. The old 15 and 16 were across the large soccer fields and now you don't make that jump until 17 so don't bring a map just pay attention to the next tee signs and you will be fine.

There were a couple of 'clunker' holes here that I just didn't find all that appealing or interesting, in fact maybe even borderline annoying. Hole #1 isn't a terribly designed hole it's just not up to standards that the rest of the course sets and being this is the first hole I expect more. At 260 feet or so this is an easy two for most advanced players and is a heavily RHBH friendly hole. Hole #5 is a RHBH hyzer from an open spot next to a walking trail towards a gap in the trees and then up a hill to a guarded basket. This is another RHBH/LHFH hole that is listed as a par four but the distance and the line make this is a tweener. This is one of the only holes on this course where I prefer the short pad, even though the short pad is a 120 foot ace run.
Other Thoughts: There are some crazy holes on this course that you may never see anywhere else. The lines are hard and the rough is thick so be ready to throw many get out of trouble shots, this is a good course to practice them on. Remember that some of these holes aren't made to be aced or even get a two so remember this when choosing your shots and this should help you to stay on the fairway and reduce your scores. This combined with Earlewood Park is a nice one-two combination if you are in Columbia.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.