Anaheim, CA 
Twila-Reid Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #6
3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Plays back toward south foot bridge



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice Little Nine Holer With Thousands OF Pedestrians!

1    6/19/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow, it's not often when the biggest problem with a course is seemingly endless horde of walkers using the park's sidewalks, even at 06:30 am. I can't even imagine attempting to play this course on a Saturday afternoon or any evening.

Twila-Reid is a fairly large, mostly flat city park which seems to be in a fairly decent neighborhood. The course has these nice, large signs which have a big hole #, distance, Par and a basic route for the hole. There is the standard "Rules of Disc Golf" sign at the beginning. the designers have simply used the park's sidewalks for tee pads. The park has scattered trees to provide most of the challenge. It plays as a basic recreational level course. That is, it's challenging enough for an old REC player such as myself or easy and open enough that you could bring a beginner and they wouldn't get too frustrated. Advanced/Pro players won't find any challenge here. The holes are mostly in the 275' range without much in the way of obstacles. there are a couple of shorter ACE runs such as #8 which is 150'. # 9 sign says it's a 100' but the basket is probably set out at 200'.
Cons: # 9 basket is pretty well beat up. # 6 is currently an older single chain model. @ 2 basket is plastered with various stickers making it look like a Nascar car.
There were many times, even at 6:30 am, when I found myself having to wait for the parade of morning walkers to clear before I was able to throw.
Navigation got a little sketchy after # 6.
Other Thoughts: This is actually a fun little 9 holes. There are a decent variety of throws needed, enough distance and trees to provide challenge for most of us, places to roll and the course loops around to the finish.
A previous reviewer had commented on the navigation issues toward the end of the course. I'll have to agree. I needed some homeless dude to point me in the right direction for holes 7-8-9. I rewarded him with a hit of black tar heroin.
Play early (maybe 4 am) to avoid the crowds and bring some street drugs to reward the homeless.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

why are all the bums allowed to live here???

2-4    11/14/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 74  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well I was working right down the street from this course so I stopped by. There were baskets. I think that's all the pros I can come up with.
Cons: Holy crap there's a lot of homeless people here! They have camps set up all over the park but most of them know not to sleep in the fairways. I was very apprehensive about walking away from my truck. There aren't a lot of obstacles to throw around and no exciting shots. Most holes are pretty short and just stuck where they fit. Lots of non-dg traffic. No tee pads. Just throw from where the sign is planted. I definatly would not come here near dusk. Actually I won't be coming here again at all. All the bums laying around sour the mood. Why doesn't the city kick them out?
Other Thoughts: Don't come to this course. La mirada is right down the street. Go there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Practice Course

5+    9/3/2009   9/3/2013
Review By: OG Neal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
-Fun shots
-Well thought out course
-Will build confidence and finesse
-Can play course in 25 mins
Cons: -Not for big arms
-People, families around
-Can play course in 25 mins
Other Thoughts: Used to play this course on the way to tourneys in OC/SD. The people there are awesome! Not the greatest neighborhood, but you couldn't tell from the friendly, nice people. Check it out if you're going through or want a quick game.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

NIGHT GOLF!!

5+    8/1/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not just another little 9er. This one is lit up all night!!

- 9 Baskets with a fun safari layout that makes it interesting.

- A good place to take friends to introduce them to the game. You don't need to throw far to score well here.

- A surprisingly good club presence for a 9 hole course. With regular weekly events, occasional ace race and a good number of solid players that call this course home.
Cons: - The regular layout is short. Another deuce or die course.

- There are a lot of non disc golfers, even at night.

- The baskets have seen better days.
Other Thoughts: The lights set this one apart from the average 9 hole course. The short layout is nothing special and the ambiance is lacking. But on the whole it serves it's purpose well and is the place to go when the sun goes down.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

5+    7/10/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great to work on upshots and running the baskets on approaches
Lit up all night you can play till dawn if you please
Well manicured grass and is upkept really well
Cons: Public Park
Terrible Baskets
Hole 2 fairway is littered with soccer players
'interesting' folks who hang around at night
Other Thoughts: Its a great place to practice your mids/putters so take it for what it is.

The gorrila layout is actually pretty fun but is really confusing, if you play the random doubles on tues/thrus the people will show you the layout.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Do not play during busy hours

1    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Because almost all of the tees are on the concrete footpaths, they are nice for driving.
Cons: Hole #7 can be hard to find. From the basket for #6, the tee for #7 is on the exact opposite side of the playground. Basically, walk due west. It's near the corner of Parkview & W Stonybrook.

Also, the flow of #8 and #9 is off, so I'd play #9 before #8 (see below).

I played on a Thursday at 10am and it wasn't that busy. However, it's really easy to see how it could be unplayable during the majority of daylight hours. Many fairways went over sidewalks and jogging paths that were slightly busy at 10am when I played.

The baskets are not uniform. Some have the double layer of chains. Others have a single layer. And the basket on #9 is dented.
Other Thoughts: Playing from the tee signs is not that exciting, so I played using the following tees:

#1 - From the original tee sign, walk back until you hit the park entrance and drive from there.

#2 - In the NE corner of the park, two footpaths intersect on Halliday St. This adds some needed distance.

#3 - play as is

#4 - Playing back about 20-40 feet not only adds more distance, but brings a couple of trees somewhat into play.

#5 - play as is (after you're done waiting for all the joggers/walkers to clear out)

#6 - play as is

#7 - I moved back as close as I could get to Stonybrook Dr, where the sidewalk and footpath intersected. This adds distance and brings some young trees into play (which I hit in both rounds).

#9 - I'd play this hole before playing #8. Play as is.

#8 - After finishing #9, walk north to the sidewalk on Orange Ave and walk west until you are due north of both the tee and the basket for #8. I teed off from the sidewalk on Orange, adding 100+ feet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The only disc golf course around for miles
-The lights make night-time play possible, but if you go that route, bring glow discs if you've got them, as there are still plenty of dark spots
-Nice course for a quick, casual round, or to teach newbies how the game works
Cons: -Not very challenging. You'll have to hyzer around some trees here and there, but beyond that, it's a pretty straight-forward layout.
-I can see the walkways through the park being problematic for discers on crowded days. There aren't many holes where they don't come in to play, and no one wants to hit a mother walking a stroller with a Roc or Buzzz!
-There aren't any dedicated tee pads; you'll have to use the aforementioned walkways next to each tee sign.
-I can see how the course could be difficult to navigate for first-timers to the course. Make sure you look for the little black "next tee" directional symbol on the tee signs to know where to go next.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at night when the Disneyland fireworks were going off. Kinda cool to think "they can have Mickey; I'm gonna throw for birdies". Even at night there were a lot of non-disc golfers in the park, which makes me think that weekend play would be problematic when families are having picnics or at the playground or whatever. It's worth a visit if you live nearby or are in town for Disney, but there are better options out there... albeit far away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unimpressive.

1    7/15/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's nine holes in a place where courses are few and far between, considering the millions of people who live around here.

The course divides into two parts: holes 1-6 and holes 7-9. Holes 1-6 will give you a pretty decent midrange workout but see below for #7-9.
Cons: After you finish #6 you have to trek all the way across the park to get to #7, which is a pretty short hole. Then #8 (72 feet long, par 2 as I recall) goes backward, which means to get to #9 you have to walk the length of #8 in reverse and then some. So the design of the "back 3" leaves a whole hell of a lot to be desired.

Other cons include many fairways that cross walking paths, baskets that saw better days many years ago, and a crowd of sketch characters (homeless?) hanging out near #8 and 9. Also no map and most tees not marked. Definitely a "casual play" course at best.
Other Thoughts: This was my third time trying to play this course. The first time I couldn't find anything but tee #7. The second time they were setting up for a concert and there were just too many pedestrians around for safety.

If you must play this course - another notch in your belt or whatever - go during a weekday when use by non-golfers is at a minimum. Actually I'd recommend just playing 1-6 and forgetting about the last three holes entirely. Dropping #7-9 would probably add at least half a disc to my rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 MId-Night Games

5+    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: arcechris21
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -LIGHTS!!!!
-Friendly Players.
-Fairly easy to navigate.
-If you look at the ground on the walkways you'll find hidden tees, I've found a few.
Cons: -Non-golfers (even at night)
-No bathrooms at night.
-Could use more lights toward the end of the course (7-8)
Other Thoughts: I played this at night for the first time and for the most part the last three holes where no where near the first 6 holes, But we were lucky to have other players to help us. What I like the most is I can get my fix after work on my way home.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/14/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: large course
lit for night play
Cons: kind of hard to follow.
very packed park, even at night i was surprised to see how many people were there
Other Thoughts: correct me if im wrong, but this park seems as though its in Buena Park. when i went the park had a lot of night time activity...and the signs werent exactly super helpful. BUT im not going to complain, this is one of the only courses around me that actually has lights so you can play at night.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.