Disc Golf Store
Anaheim, CA 
Twila-Reid Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #9
3 / 212ft.   3 / 212ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
why are all the bums allowed to live here???

2-4    11/14/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 75  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well I was working right down the street from this course so I stopped by. There were baskets. I think that's all the pros I can come up with.
Cons: Holy crap there's a lot of homeless people here! They have camps set up all over the park but most of them know not to sleep in the fairways. I was very apprehensive about walking away from my truck. There aren't a lot of obstacles to throw around and no exciting shots. Most holes are pretty short and just stuck where they fit. Lots of non-dg traffic. No tee pads. Just throw from where the sign is planted. I definatly would not come here near dusk. Actually I won't be coming here again at all. All the bums laying around sour the mood. Why doesn't the city kick them out?
Other Thoughts: Don't come to this course. La mirada is right down the street. Go there.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Unimpressive.

1    7/15/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's nine holes in a place where courses are few and far between, considering the millions of people who live around here.

The course divides into two parts: holes 1-6 and holes 7-9. Holes 1-6 will give you a pretty decent midrange workout but see below for #7-9.
Cons: After you finish #6 you have to trek all the way across the park to get to #7, which is a pretty short hole. Then #8 (72 feet long, par 2 as I recall) goes backward, which means to get to #9 you have to walk the length of #8 in reverse and then some. So the design of the "back 3" leaves a whole hell of a lot to be desired.

Other cons include many fairways that cross walking paths, baskets that saw better days many years ago, and a crowd of sketch characters (homeless?) hanging out near #8 and 9. Also no map and most tees not marked. Definitely a "casual play" course at best.
Other Thoughts: This was my third time trying to play this course. The first time I couldn't find anything but tee #7. The second time they were setting up for a concert and there were just too many pedestrians around for safety.

If you must play this course - another notch in your belt or whatever - go during a weekday when use by non-golfers is at a minimum. Actually I'd recommend just playing 1-6 and forgetting about the last three holes entirely. Dropping #7-9 would probably add at least half a disc to my rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9er

1    8/16/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy city park with some scattered areas of trees. There are a couple minor elevation changes that come into play and add some interest. The trees available are used well to make some nice lines, the variety of hole shapes here surprised me compared to the other 9 holers around the area. There is a nice balance of shorter and longer holes here.
Cons: There are no defined tees, some seem to be next to the tee signs on sidewalks or sloped grassy areas, and some seem to be some distance away from the actual sign. There are also some alternate tees marked around the park, probably a fun addition for locals but it adds to the tee confusion. The baskets and tee signs were in poor shape, the only real evidence of it being a less than stellar neighborhood (all the locals we ran into including non dg-ers were very friendly). Several holes conflict with picnic areas and walking paths which could be a safety issue on a nice day. We were there on a gray not very nice day and still had to throw around several picnics, I imagine that a sunny summer day would be significantly worse.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better 9 hole courses around the area, especially in terms of design. It does, however, share the same issue of overlapping with lots of other park uses in a busy park, and that's one big thing that brings my ratings down in general. It's a great course for people learning the sport, with reasonable distances and not too much punishment for errant shots, but enough challenge that you'll need some different shots. More experienced players won't find it all that challenging, but there's enough variety to make it interesting when you can play on a non-crowded day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rush Hour Course

2-4    7/2/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Twinskulls
Played: 74  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to follow... Mostly open with some big trees as obstacles. Big and clean park with amenities. They have lights for night play! It probably best time to play due to less crowd.
Cons: It is a public park. The park usually is crowded, I mean really crowded!, I had to skip few holes due to crowded non-disc golf people. That's only con about this course.
Other Thoughts: I recommend you to try play there during non-peak hours such as early morning or night with less crowd people.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Need a guide

1    8/19/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park that is mostly open with some large trees.
Cons: Only 8 baskets (#6 used twice). Extremely hard to follow. Tee signs are useless. Markings on the sidewalk are confusing because there are at least two different layouts that the locals play. Park is heavily used by non-golfers.
Other Thoughts: The course is there, but unless you have a guide or good directions from tee to tee I would skip this one. There are to many good courses in the area for this one to compete.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 In Need Of TLC

1    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is in a very nice park setting, some holes provide for a unique challenge. There appears to be a local crowd that loves this course as they are trying to make the most out of what is there. There are at least 11 playable holes. There are lights so that you can play at night.
Cons: Tee signs are in horrible disrepair, I counted one that was actual useable. Markings on walkways for tee pads are hard to find especially for those holes that are currently missing signs. The course is built right through several high traffic areas, including one hole that goes straight through a basketball court. There are only 8 baskets there currently and many holes play to the same basket. The course is on the short side as only a couple of holes are longer than 300 ft. The layout makes very little sense as far as flow of play is concerned. Baskets are not in the best shape.
Other Thoughts: I am so glad that when I came to this course that I ran into some guys that I know from playing in tournaments. Without them I would have been completely lost on this course. I parked in the back parking lot on the course and this put me very far away from the course so be sure to park in the lot that is right on Orange. First tee is near the firehouse though the origional first hole basket is no longer there, play to #6. I am glad that I played this course once, but will probably never come back here to be honest. If you live near here, you may as well go to La Mirada or El Dorado. The way the course is now, there needs to be some work done to make it of much value. You will also need to make sure that if you are going to play this course to go at a time when foot traffic is at a minimum, the good news is that you should be able to figure out when this will be the case.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 OK once you figure it out, local knowledge needed

5+    3/26/2009   5/5/2008
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - pretty park
- local to a large part of L.A.
- friendly local players are happy to help you figure out the course
- soccer players are happy to move if they are practicing on the fairway
Cons: - course is hard to figure out, 1st tee is a long way from the sign, there are some long walks between holes, and two holes are reversed. See notes on how to play this course
- local pitch-n-putt, most holes are short with few obstacles
- course was laid out with holes #8 and #9 reversed, see notes on how to find and play these holes
- some of the tee markers are defaced, point the wrong way, or are incorrect
- park is busy with soccer practice around 5-6 pm, play earlier or later (lights) to avoid crowds
Other Thoughts: How to play this course:
- To locate 1st tee, start at park sign and look east to find tee sign, then from tee sign walk to sidewalk approx 30' south to locate two small corner markings spray painted on sidewalk indicating front edge of 1st tee (see photos). The "real" first basket was removed, so we use basket #6 for holes #1 and #6. You'll see it straight ahead from the first tee markers on the sidewalk.
- 2nd tee is in between the tee and basket for hole #1 and the 2nd basket is a dogleg to the left around the fire station back fence. Take two discs -- shoot tee shots for #1, then on the way shoot tee shots for #2 before continuing with hole #1
- 3rd tee and basket are easy to find walking south (away from Orange)
- 4th tee is a longish walk south on park sidewalk from basket 3 and the sign has been broken out of the holder, look for the empty frame on a pole by the sidewalk
- 5th tee faces the wrong way, basket is back north to the east/right of the south foot bridge
- 6th tee is by the south foot bridge and shoots north toward the other foot bridge
- 7th tee is across the north foot bridge from basket 6 and shoots back toward south foot bridge
- 8th tee is all the way on the other side of the park. Walk west along park sidewalk past playground and park buildings until you come to a basket marked #8 on a mound encircled by the sidewalk
- holes 8 and 9 are marked backwards, the basket marked 8 is actually for the 9th hole
- the tee sign by the basket marked 8 says it's for hole 9, but play it as 8 -- locals have painted the REAL tee box for #8 on the sidewalk to the right of the "official" tee sign marked 9
- shoot #8 from the sidewalk tee box north to the basket by the horseshoe pits and NW parking lot
- shoot #9 from the defaced tee by the horseshoe pits, back to the basket marked 8

Once you know how to play this course, it's a fun, short course to practice. It's probably not worth traveling to, but if you're in the area, it's a lovely little park and a fun little course. The locals here are very friendly. Print these instructions to take with you, maps are not available and the course is difficult to follow.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.