Anaheim, CA 
Twila-Reid Park Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #5
3 / 372ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Do not play during busy hours

1    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Because almost all of the tees are on the concrete footpaths, they are nice for driving.
Cons: Hole #7 can be hard to find. From the basket for #6, the tee for #7 is on the exact opposite side of the playground. Basically, walk due west. It's near the corner of Parkview & W Stonybrook.

Also, the flow of #8 and #9 is off, so I'd play #9 before #8 (see below).

I played on a Thursday at 10am and it wasn't that busy. However, it's really easy to see how it could be unplayable during the majority of daylight hours. Many fairways went over sidewalks and jogging paths that were slightly busy at 10am when I played.

The baskets are not uniform. Some have the double layer of chains. Others have a single layer. And the basket on #9 is dented.
Other Thoughts: Playing from the tee signs is not that exciting, so I played using the following tees:

#1 - From the original tee sign, walk back until you hit the park entrance and drive from there.

#2 - In the NE corner of the park, two footpaths intersect on Halliday St. This adds some needed distance.

#3 - play as is

#4 - Playing back about 20-40 feet not only adds more distance, but brings a couple of trees somewhat into play.

#5 - play as is (after you're done waiting for all the joggers/walkers to clear out)

#6 - play as is

#7 - I moved back as close as I could get to Stonybrook Dr, where the sidewalk and footpath intersected. This adds distance and brings some young trees into play (which I hit in both rounds).

#9 - I'd play this hole before playing #8. Play as is.

#8 - After finishing #9, walk north to the sidewalk on Orange Ave and walk west until you are due north of both the tee and the basket for #8. I teed off from the sidewalk on Orange, adding 100+ feet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The only disc golf course around for miles
-The lights make night-time play possible, but if you go that route, bring glow discs if you've got them, as there are still plenty of dark spots
-Nice course for a quick, casual round, or to teach newbies how the game works
Cons: -Not very challenging. You'll have to hyzer around some trees here and there, but beyond that, it's a pretty straight-forward layout.
-I can see the walkways through the park being problematic for discers on crowded days. There aren't many holes where they don't come in to play, and no one wants to hit a mother walking a stroller with a Roc or Buzzz!
-There aren't any dedicated tee pads; you'll have to use the aforementioned walkways next to each tee sign.
-I can see how the course could be difficult to navigate for first-timers to the course. Make sure you look for the little black "next tee" directional symbol on the tee signs to know where to go next.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at night when the Disneyland fireworks were going off. Kinda cool to think "they can have Mickey; I'm gonna throw for birdies". Even at night there were a lot of non-disc golfers in the park, which makes me think that weekend play would be problematic when families are having picnics or at the playground or whatever. It's worth a visit if you live nearby or are in town for Disney, but there are better options out there... albeit far away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/14/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: macViciouss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: large course
lit for night play
Cons: kind of hard to follow.
very packed park, even at night i was surprised to see how many people were there
Other Thoughts: correct me if im wrong, but this park seems as though its in Buena Park. when i went the park had a lot of night time activity...and the signs werent exactly super helpful. BUT im not going to complain, this is one of the only courses around me that actually has lights so you can play at night.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  New Signage 09/06/09

5+    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: opizzao
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park recently got brand new signs. The signs are currently in excellent condition. Both tee and basket signs are now crystal clear. Anyone who may have recently steered clear of this course due to poor signs should give it another chance. In addition, basket one has returned! All 9 baskets now exist. Play on weekdays only.
Cons: Don't even bother playing this course during weekend. Huge groups of non-golfers await you on every hole and flight-path thereto, including live mariachi bands. Also, the brand new basket #1 is already deformed/warped. The sad reality is that the new signs will likely not last long in the gang-ridden neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: It's a good park overall when it's not too crowded with non-golfers. Park has never been too crowded with other golfers in my experiences. I feel the course is not too easy (like Deerfield or Liberty Park are), and a nice break from (albeit a step down from) Huntington, La Mirada and El Dorado. It's a good practice field.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Needed help to figure out

2-4    2/28/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -The park itself is very nice and definitely has plenty of amenities for a nice day
-Well manicured grass
-The fact that it has lights for evening play is GREAT!
-The people were extremely nice and would move if you ask (they even said encouraging remarks when I threw one into a tree)
-Lastly, the local players are extremely friendly and helpful
Cons: -The signage is completely wrong and makes it almost unplayable, unless you have a guide
-Basket One is missing?! I ended up shooting at a light pole instead
-People are nice but when its busy it can get a little dangerous
-All the baskets are not the same type which can really throw off your putting
Other Thoughts: I was in the area so I decided to stop by and throw a round, but when I got there, I didn't know where to start. The signage was all defaced and some of the baskets had the wrong numbers. I was lucky to find a local player that showed me around. After you get the layout, it's not that bad.
I returned later that night to throw one more round and I was please to see how lighted it was. Hole 8 & 9 could need one or two more lights but unless you throw a horrible shot, you should be able to find your disc.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 not a go to if your planning a trip

4/21/2008   4/25/2008
Review By: Takeichi
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: random doubles on wednesday nights, lighted
Cons: pitch and putt
Other Thoughts: huge field to practice at other than that it's a pretty small course with very little challenge,

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.