Phoenix, AZ
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Wide open spaces

1    9/21/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large rocky park with no real conflict from other park uses. There is some nice elevation, with the middle section of the course playing on the side of a large hill. That makes for some fun downhill shots and some tricky uphill shots. There are a couple throws across the hill as well, with the chance to fade or roll down the hill if you don't land your shot correctly. A couple cool pin positions make for some challenge in the short game with rollaway potential as well.

Some of the pins are placed well, using the low brush as a better obstacle than I expected. There's some length variety, with a few ace runs and a few holes where most players will pull out a max distance driver. The tees and baskets show a little age, but are in fine shape.
Cons: This course is wide open. You can throw whatever your favorite shot is on every single hole out here and score just fine. Nothing forces you to shape any different lines, and there's no punishment for even really bad shanks. You can recover for a 3 from anywhere with no trees and no rough that's tall or thick enough to force creative recoveries. Even the holes with elevation feel pretty repetitive when you're just throwing up and down the same hill over and over.

There's a lot of broken glass throughout the course, as well as some areas where trash has been dumped. The signage is inconsistent at best, navigation is pretty tough without a map or local guide. Several of the holes play really close to one another, especially a few holes on the added loop of 9 letter holes.
Other Thoughts: Beginners are going to find this course a little long but very approachable with no real punishment for a lack of accuracy. More experienced players can use this course to work on placing hyzer shots, but won't find much of a test of other disc golf skills. I liked the desert scenery here, the disc golf just wasn't very exciting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course and people

5+    9/12/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: jthacker48
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my new "home" course. It has 27 holes now. The group of guys that manage and play the course regularly really do a great job of keeping things fresh and clean. It's got beautiful views as you get up the side of the ridge. Offers a great experience of the desert. Lots of wildlife (lizards, quail, rabbits, and occasional snake). Core group plays regularly. They are very friendly and very talented.
Cons: Until you know the layout, it can be difficult to find your way around. Nothing more can be done to help though. It's just the nature of a desert course. Discs can get pretty beat up too. Once again, just the result of any desert course.
Other Thoughts: Being new to the sport, I'd only played Vista del Camino before moving north. It took a little getting used to but now that I have, I absolutely love it. I'd definitely recommend it. Give it a shot, and see if it's your cup of tea.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Middle of the pack

1    3/7/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 34  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great tee pads. Plenty of drop shots with a variety of up hill holes. Nice layout that doesn't overlap and is easy for players new to the course. The variety of hole length was pretty decent . Local flora does a good job shaping each hole for lower throws
Cons: No ceiling. Without trees the holes are somewhat one dimensional. Tomahawks are probably the best shot for every hole. Baskets were hard to see when the path wasn't obstructed by bushes. A splash of color on the baskets would help. No shade from the sun.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area and popped in for a round. This was the first desert course I have played. It's was very scenic and relatively uncrowded. It was a refreshing change to what I normally play. Be prepared for the carnage your discs will receive on this rocky course. My toughest discs got chewed up, so, leave the DX plastic at home.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Phoenix

5+    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: discgolfkyle
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buffalo Ridge is in a great desert setting with cacti and palo verdes. This is true desert disc golf. Almost all of the holes have a different feel, except for one or two that go straight up the mountain. You can really air it out here and have no trouble getting birdies. The baskets are in really good condition and the teepads are great (each pad has a different design). There are some well protected baskets and some wide-open ones. The new 9 (A-I), are great also. Hikers rarely interfere with disc golfers.
Cons: Very hot during the summer months. But what do you expect, it's Phoenix. There's no need for much of a line-shaping game here, as there are very few trees that get in your way. It can get a little difficult to find your disc if you don't keep an eye on it after you throw. The teepads are a little hard to find for the new 9, so try to find a local or take a picture of the map at teepad A.
Other Thoughts: This course is very beautiful and a blast to play. Bring lots of water. The course is a good form of exercise also. This is the best course I have been to in PHX.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Desert Course

5+    7/18/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: CaliZac89
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes +1 practice basket.
Huge elevation changes.
Grippy custom concrete tees.
Optional basket locations.
Awesome course for night play.
Rest spots at hole 7 and 12.
Fairly secluded, you'll only see people playing DG and hiking once you get past 2nd tee.
A friend I play night golf with is slowly but surely adding solar powered lights to the baskets. I believe there is 7 out there now on holes #5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 12, and 14
Cons: HOT during the summer.
Can be tiring if you aren't ready to hike.
Losing a disc isn't too far fetched..
Other Thoughts: My home course, always a challenge. All par 3's. If you can't take the heat, STAY OFF THE RIDGE!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If you are around Phoenix you have to play here

1    3/3/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: frizgolfkiller
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee signs and tee boxes. 27 holes! (although the new 9 wasn't really marked well as of 3/3). A lot of fun, true desert golf. Beautiful scenery. Restrooms on site. Great use of the land. A lot of elevation changes.
Cons: No shade. No trash cans on the course that I remember (although I don't recall seeing much litter on the ground). Somewhat lacking in distance on alot of holes, but it makes up for that with man made OB and hazards around the green
Other Thoughts: Bring water! I was out in AZ for the memorial and on the last day my friends and I decided to check this course out after hearing great things from the locals. Absolutely beautiful and tons of fun. Not like anything you see here in New England. Luckily a local happened to be there that played with us and showed us the new 9 holes. I can't wait to play this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but lacks challenge...

5+    1/7/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a nice multi-use facility with soccer fields,playgrounds,...ect and most importantly DISC GOLF. Its located next to a school and there are usually ppl around but most of them stay away from the disc golf area. There are bathrooms and drinking fountains by hole 1 which is really nice.
Now to the course.....this course is one word "FUN". If u have a 300ft accurate hyzer you will score under par. The first 5 or so holes are very flat and just require a little distance control. After that, u start to make ur way up and down "buffalo ridge" for the middle section of holes. Then you finish with more flat holes. I will say that this course can be a struggle when the temps get in the 100's, so bring plenty of water and enjoy the hike. The teepads here are awsome and each one has its own flair. The course flow is pretty good but u should def download a map. The additional 9 holes seems to be more of the same, a few flat and a few elevated. There are a couple elevated greens which help the challenge. Tee signs are good(except xtra 9). Streamers on baskets help u locate the basket from the tee.
Cons: Well, this course lacks challenge and distance. You could easily shoot 10 under if ur a good intermediate. The wind will come into play but theres not enough penalty for a bad shot so u will still get your par. I was hoping the xtra 9 would be long holes with elevated greens but its another birdie fest. I understand that u have to work with the land you are given but i want to see longer pin placements for bogie risks.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is fun and a good confidence builder. The locals seem to work on this course alot and that is great, keep up the good work. If ur looking for a typical fun disc golf course, this is it. If ur looking for a challenge, fountain hills in the long position or marana rock in the longs down south.
P.s. if u want to play the xtra 9 i would suggest finding a local because they are not well marked.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Visit

2-4    1/28/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: ManU
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Use of the hill side is good. You warm up with some flat ground shots before hitting a number of holes where you throw up and down the hill.

The difficulty for this course comes about in misplaced shots and where your lie might be. Some of the bush and plant life is thick and prickly. So if you end up underneath or behind one your next shot will be tough.

You won't throw rollers here but you will need a good straight shot, hyzer, FH, and OH.

The baskets that are on elevated mounds make for some enjoyable holes. And there are a few decent ace runs.
Cons: Is it fair to say the lack of shade? Probably not as that is just the nature of the environment and not the fault of the course.
Again, not really any particularly tight fairways to hit. Some of the holes back up the hill are pretty much just open throws with the only difficulty being whether or not you have the distance.
Other Thoughts: The Course Map that you can download from this site is useful and helpful for navigation around the course.
It is quite rocky so you will want to use premium plastic. My star/GL discs held up quite well but I did put a couple of slices in a champ disc.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great!

1    11/20/2011   1/27/2012
Review By: mcbmaz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great desert coarse with a few up hill and down hill challenges. Provides good exercise because a good portion of the course is a hike.
Cons: Only con is having to dig your disc out of a thorn tree or a bush that looks like it would be a great place for a snake to get out of the hot sun.
Other Thoughts: If you have a chance play this course. Lots of fun!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Fun

1    11/10/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Cooper2397
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: : I had the opportunity to play this course during a recent business trip to Phoenix. On Hole 1, I ran into a great group of guys who asked me to join them. The fact that I had so much fun playing with them really colors this review.

Amenities-- bathrooms on site, very active park with joggers, bikers etc, easy to find the park

Scenery-- being from the East, it was really cool to be in the Desert. I have been to Phoenix a few times and this is the first time that my feet have touched a non man made surface. The weather was perfect (72 degrees), so the walking was really easy both up and down the hill. I didn't bring any water.

Overall Course-- great location within the park. You are close to everything but minimal interference with hikers, bikers, etc. We had to wait a minute one time for a jogger to pass through. The course is wide open so it is next to impossible to lose a disc. You will get the opportunity to watch your disc fly here.

Holes 1-5-- Course starts off flat with some nice, straight forward holes. The designers tried to break up the holes with a few tricks (placing a basket behind an electric generator or a scrub bush). They did have the ability to move the basket to multiple locations on a few of the holes.

Holes 6-14-- The real challenge on these holes is playing up and down the mountain. You can really lose control of a downhill shot here and end up 200" off course especially if the wind is blowing (can still recover, see below). Again, the course designers tried to add some uniqueness with elevated baskets, etc.

Holes 15-18-- Similar to holes 1-5. They are flat straight ahead holes. Good way to finish a round after navigating the mountain.

Tee pads-- great cement tee pads on each hole

Aces: Plenty of opportunity to hit an ace on this course. This is definitely a "go for it" course.

Navigation: No idea--followed the guy in front of me. If you are solo, make sure you print out a map.

Cons: There isn't really any risk/ reward, especially if you have a big arm. Two hundred feet off the course? No problem, park one at the basket. The guys I played with consistently scored par on holes where their driver would have been lost back East. At the very least, it would have taken 2 shots to get back on the course. In addition, the holes can feel repetitive with only the elevation changing.

I chalk this up to the novelty of the course. Wind and elevation are your foe, not foliage.

Other Thoughts: The group I played with said they were putting in another 9 holes. I am anxious to see them. I rated the course a 3.5. I would have given it a 3.0 if I hadn't run into the group. They added at least a .5.

If you are in Phoenix and from the East Coast, definitely give this course a shot. It is a lot of fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.