Disc Golf Store
Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 359ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wide open spaces

1    9/21/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large rocky park with no real conflict from other park uses. There is some nice elevation, with the middle section of the course playing on the side of a large hill. That makes for some fun downhill shots and some tricky uphill shots. There are a couple throws across the hill as well, with the chance to fade or roll down the hill if you don't land your shot correctly. A couple cool pin positions make for some challenge in the short game with rollaway potential as well.

Some of the pins are placed well, using the low brush as a better obstacle than I expected. There's some length variety, with a few ace runs and a few holes where most players will pull out a max distance driver. The tees and baskets show a little age, but are in fine shape.
Cons: This course is wide open. You can throw whatever your favorite shot is on every single hole out here and score just fine. Nothing forces you to shape any different lines, and there's no punishment for even really bad shanks. You can recover for a 3 from anywhere with no trees and no rough that's tall or thick enough to force creative recoveries. Even the holes with elevation feel pretty repetitive when you're just throwing up and down the same hill over and over.

There's a lot of broken glass throughout the course, as well as some areas where trash has been dumped. The signage is inconsistent at best, navigation is pretty tough without a map or local guide. Several of the holes play really close to one another, especially a few holes on the added loop of 9 letter holes.
Other Thoughts: Beginners are going to find this course a little long but very approachable with no real punishment for a lack of accuracy. More experienced players can use this course to work on placing hyzer shots, but won't find much of a test of other disc golf skills. I liked the desert scenery here, the disc golf just wasn't very exciting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Middle of the pack

1    3/7/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 42  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great tee pads. Plenty of drop shots with a variety of up hill holes. Nice layout that doesn't overlap and is easy for players new to the course. The variety of hole length was pretty decent . Local flora does a good job shaping each hole for lower throws
Cons: No ceiling. Without trees the holes are somewhat one dimensional. Tomahawks are probably the best shot for every hole. Baskets were hard to see when the path wasn't obstructed by bushes. A splash of color on the baskets would help. No shade from the sun.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area and popped in for a round. This was the first desert course I have played. It's was very scenic and relatively uncrowded. It was a refreshing change to what I normally play. Be prepared for the carnage your discs will receive on this rocky course. My toughest discs got chewed up. Leave the DX plastic at home.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but lacks challenge...

5+    1/7/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a nice multi-use facility with soccer fields,playgrounds,...ect and most importantly DISC GOLF. Its located next to a school and there are usually ppl around but most of them stay away from the disc golf area. There are bathrooms and drinking fountains by hole 1 which is really nice.
Now to the course.....this course is one word "FUN". If u have a 300ft accurate hyzer you will score under par. The first 5 or so holes are very flat and just require a little distance control. After that, u start to make ur way up and down "buffalo ridge" for the middle section of holes. Then you finish with more flat holes. I will say that this course can be a struggle when the temps get in the 100's, so bring plenty of water and enjoy the hike. The teepads here are awsome and each one has its own flair. The course flow is pretty good but u should def download a map. The additional 9 holes seems to be more of the same, a few flat and a few elevated. There are a couple elevated greens which help the challenge. Tee signs are good(except xtra 9). Streamers on baskets help u locate the basket from the tee.
Cons: Well, this course lacks challenge and distance. You could easily shoot 10 under if ur a good intermediate. The wind will come into play but theres not enough penalty for a bad shot so u will still get your par. I was hoping the xtra 9 would be long holes with elevated greens but its another birdie fest. I understand that u have to work with the land you are given but i want to see longer pin placements for bogie risks.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is fun and a good confidence builder. The locals seem to work on this course alot and that is great, keep up the good work. If ur looking for a typical fun disc golf course, this is it. If ur looking for a challenge, fountain hills in the long position or marana rock in the longs down south.
P.s. if u want to play the xtra 9 i would suggest finding a local because they are not well marked.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The definition of a AZ desert course

5+    10/5/2010   2/5/2011
Review By: azbab
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the prototype for a desert disc golf course. If you enjoy a challenging hike to go along with your round, this course is for you. It plays up and down a foothill so there are some awesome downhill shots that appeal to the ego of a noodle arm like me. Something about seeing a disc fly for 400+, when you know you are a 300-foot thrower.
Cons: This course eats plastic. Don't take your favorite, less than premium plastic to this course. It will never be the same.
Not a con for everyone, but if your not acclimated to the phoenix summers (or even most of the winter months) you will find this course a physical challenge. There are some days I have played, and have been happy I survived vs. shot a decent score. There is water available at hole one, but nowhere else on the course and very little shade available - plan ahead for this one.
Other Thoughts: This course plays up and down a phoenix area foothill, affording awesome uphill and downhill shots. Most of the tee pad shots are wide open, but do require some thought as most of the pins are guarded with desert trees and brush. Playing this course in the summer is not an endeavor to be taken lightly. Be sure to pack lots of water, and proper desert hiking footwear and apparel is a must.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Repetetitive

2-4    11/20/2010   1/6/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amenities. Bathrooms, Ample Parking, Tennis Courts, Playground.

Baskets. Multiple pin positions available, and all baskets were in good shape.

Tees. Concrete tee pads are all in good shape. Tee signs give you a map with different pin locations and distance to the hole.

Navigation. Others have mentioned difficulty, I had no trouble finding my way around, weaving my way up and down and around and back to the parking lot.

Elevation. Lots of it, many elevated tee pads, and uphill shots, and a couple of elevated pin positions.

Cons: Variety of shots. Maybe I'm spoiled being from the midwest, these desert courses didn't appeal to me. I can see why these desert folks have only one shot in their bag, a big hyzer spike will get you almost anywhere on this course. Yeah the low bushes are somewhat challenging, but mostly it's wide open. A series of flat holes, followed by throwing across a hill, down a hill, up a hill, down, up, down, across, up, down, and then flat. There also seemed to be little variety in length of holes. Needless to say I didn't find it very challenging.

The course is murder on equipment, dx or pro plastic would probably only stand up to a couple of rounds out there, even my higher end plastic saw significant wear after 3 rounds.
Other Thoughts: Of the Desert courses I've played, this one was relatively enjoyable despite my griping, personally I prefer a more technical challenge.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Buffalo Ridge Park

1    11/13/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2013
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Located next to North Canyon High School, Buffalo Ridge Park is an 18 hole disc golf course about 30 minutes north of Scottsdale. This rugged course is what most would expect when disc golfing in the state of Arizona, including various types of cacti and other native foliage, dirt, rocks, and lots of creatures (some more dangerous than others).

Buffalo Ridge offers a lot of elevation, incorporating much of the surrounding hills and land near the playfields. However, the first five holes are flat, but somewhat challenging due to the tall bushes and trees spread throughout the fairways. The next ten holes play up, down, and alongside of the hills. Although the baskets are straight forward and the holes at times monotonous, the elevation and wind helped add to the overall difficulty. Hole #14 is BR's signature hole, having players throw from a high point on the hill across a small valley toward a basket sitting on an island. It is not only difficult to land on to birdie, but is also quite picturesque! The last few holes on the course level back out and are straight forward.

Baskets are Mach II's, durable, and in good shape. The addition of concrete tee pads was essential. Although a few could be longer for some of the bigger holes, they are flat, artistic, and well done. Each pad has a different design put in to the cement which makes the course that much more unique. Tee signs are there, and help visitors in locating the next tee when you can find them. The course also has a baseball field with grass attached to hole one's fairway where players can practice drives, stretch, or just play some catch. The area also has a nice playground for children, a restroom, and a water fountain.
Cons:
Often times, both the baskets and tee boxes are hidden from disc golfers. Since the brush can be fairly high in certain areas, locating the tee sign can be next to impossible without a map. First timers MUST print off a map in order to navigate the course or you will have difficulties finding some holes. Once played, Buffalo Ridge is easy to follow, and loops from the parking lot near hole one back to the parking lot after 18.

The tee signs are anywhere from one foot to three feet tall, brown, and offer little information. Although the thought was in the right place, it would be nice to get those signs updated with more information and accurate pictures. They do however show where the multiple pin placements are. It would also be helpful to raise them so that navigation is made easier for all those who are unfamiliar with the course.

Last, the baskets tend to blend in with the landscape. It would be great if they could paint the circle on top of the baskets bright orange or perhaps tie a ribbon in the middle of the basket so it can be spotted from the tee or at least the fairway.
Other Thoughts:
As others have mentioned in previous reviews, Buffalo Ridge will truly give you the Arizona experience. Although I preferred Fountain Hills due to it's history and challenge, this course did not disappoint. It was the perfect compliment to the other courses played in the Memorial, and coming from the Northwest, was exactly what I was looking for. The idea of throwing around cacti was quite entertaining and nothing like I have experienced in my 10+ years of playing disc golf. If you have the time to play Buffalo Ridge, do! It will be well worth your time.

NOTE: In order to not walk away with skin cancer during your disc golf experience, wear plenty of sunscreen! Also, bring lots of water, sunglasses, and tall socks too.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Elevation Challenge

2-4    1/6/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Large teepads with unique designs stamped in the concrete.( this gives great traction)
-Starting with holes #1-5 are rather flat but challenging with a few blind shots.
-Course offers great elevation changes starting from hole #6 and switching back and forth or up and down to hole #14.
-Great risk reward on holes# 12 and #16 with an elevated basket putt.
-Nice views of the course and surrounding area.
-Have never seen it crowded or any waiting on the holes
- Large area to practice your drives too
Cons: -There is no water available on the course after hole#1.
Other Thoughts: - This is not your normal disc golf course with flat green fairways or wooded and shaded areas. This is the desert and expect cactus, reptiles, no shade, dust , wind and terrain that is brutal to hike let alone throw from. Tee pads are the only solid surface, be careful. Proper footwear and a shaded hat is recommended. Over all this course is fun and challenging for any level of player

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun

2-4    11/25/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: rybob42
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Great signage, teepads, and baskets
Good elevation
Some memorable holes (bomb downhill, or shoot to a "island" hill)
Cons:
Can get repetitive
Hard to find some baskets (bring a map!)
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun on the course, but I didn't feel particularly challenged except for my noodle arm. And after playing the course the second time, I was tired of straight, uphill holes with no obstacles - there are several on the course. The island hole thrilled me like a water hazard and may be the most memorable hole I've played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Phoenix?

2-4    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course plays on the side of a mountian offering wonderful views of the surrounding city. Definately has a more unique feel to it then the other courses in the area. Bring your big arm here. Some of the holes are pretty long, but the pay off the side of the mountain and thus you get to unleash those bombs all the way down the hill. Though there are not a lot of trees on the course, there is enough of the brush that makes you be careful on your drives. I think it is hole 15 that the basket is on top of a large hill, enjoying and challenging. The baskets are in decent enough condition and the teepads are one of a kind with their unique patterns imprinted into the concrete. Definately some time put into these.
Cons: This course looks like it needs a little love to it. Trash on the course in some areas. Most of the holes are pretty straight shots because there are no trees to shoot around. Some of the holes are long, 450+ feet, which I feel was just added to increase the difficulty of not having more trees around.
Other Thoughts: The challenge on this course comes in the form of longer holes, uphill shots and baskets on top of large dirt mounds. Short technical holes are just not found here and lack of any real trees decrease the skills needed here. Play with Innova DX plastic or the same and your discs with take a severe beating on the rocks. Looking to throw some long straight shots and get a little workout in, then come here. This course is a good all around example of what a desert mountain landscape is all about. If you are coming to the Phoenix area and only have time to play a few courses, this one definately has a palce at the top of the list.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Rock!

1    11/30/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of good variety in length as well as elevation type (flat to uphill to downhill to down and up hill). Some of the holes are hidden very cleverly and others are put out there so you can see them and the challenge you all at the same time. I particularly liked the holes that were on top of mounds. There are very good signs and most tees are nice with decorative work in the cement.
Cons: While there is some initial challenge, this is a fairly easy course. There is some brush on the first few holes and then scattered throughout that could eat discs. There are rocks on most holes which will rip discs up, especially cheaper plastics. A few tees, as nice as they are, did not leave room for much run up beyond the tee. The course was fairly busy as I played as well and was told by some guys that I joined that they had gone home and come back for their second round because of how busy it was earlier.
Other Thoughts: I would think this is a great course for beginners and better players playing with beginning friends. I scored very well having never played the course before. I did rather enjoy my time playing but my discs did feel worse for the wear afterwards.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.