Phoenix, AZ
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course and people

5+    9/12/2013   9/12/2013
Review By: jthacker48
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my new "home" course. It has 27 holes now. The group of guys that manage and play the course regularly really do a great job of keeping things fresh and clean. It's got beautiful views as you get up the side of the ridge. Offers a great experience of the desert. Lots of wildlife (lizards, quail, rabbits, and occasional snake). Core group plays regularly. They are very friendly and very talented.
Cons: Until you know the layout, it can be difficult to find your way around. Nothing more can be done to help though. It's just the nature of a desert course. Discs can get pretty beat up too. Once again, just the result of any desert course.
Other Thoughts: Being new to the sport, I'd only played Vista del Camino before moving north. It took a little getting used to but now that I have, I absolutely love it. I'd definitely recommend it. Give it a shot, and see if it's your cup of tea.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Phoenix

5+    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: discgolfkyle
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Buffalo Ridge is in a great desert setting with cacti and palo verdes. This is true desert disc golf. Almost all of the holes have a different feel, except for one or two that go straight up the mountain. You can really air it out here and have no trouble getting birdies. The baskets are in really good condition and the teepads are great (each pad has a different design). There are some well protected baskets and some wide-open ones. The new 9 (A-I), are great also. Hikers rarely interfere with disc golfers.
Cons: Very hot during the summer months. But what do you expect, it's Phoenix. There's no need for much of a line-shaping game here, as there are very few trees that get in your way. It can get a little difficult to find your disc if you don't keep an eye on it after you throw. The teepads are a little hard to find for the new 9, so try to find a local or take a picture of the map at teepad A.
Other Thoughts: This course is very beautiful and a blast to play. Bring lots of water. The course is a good form of exercise also. This is the best course I have been to in PHX.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If you are around Phoenix you have to play here

1    3/3/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: frizgolfkiller
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee signs and tee boxes. 27 holes! (although the new 9 wasn't really marked well as of 3/3). A lot of fun, true desert golf. Beautiful scenery. Restrooms on site. Great use of the land. A lot of elevation changes.
Cons: No shade. No trash cans on the course that I remember (although I don't recall seeing much litter on the ground). Somewhat lacking in distance on alot of holes, but it makes up for that with man made OB and hazards around the green
Other Thoughts: Bring water! I was out in AZ for the memorial and on the last day my friends and I decided to check this course out after hearing great things from the locals. Absolutely beautiful and tons of fun. Not like anything you see here in New England. Luckily a local happened to be there that played with us and showed us the new 9 holes. I can't wait to play this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great!

1    11/20/2011   1/27/2012
Review By: mcbmaz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great desert coarse with a few up hill and down hill challenges. Provides good exercise because a good portion of the course is a hike.
Cons: Only con is having to dig your disc out of a thorn tree or a bush that looks like it would be a great place for a snake to get out of the hot sun.
Other Thoughts: If you have a chance play this course. Lots of fun!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  DTM FGMG

5+    6/12/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: DTM FGMF
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging, with the wind and different hole locations its a different course almost every time. Many holes can be a birdie. The view from the higher holes are very good. Great hiking from hole to hole.
Cons: Rocky and does chew up discs. Can misplace a disc with a funky drive.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course for a couple years now and on Sunday, 06/12/2011 had my first hole in one ever.
It was awesome...Hole 10, 355', 2 witnesses and 1 shot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good 'un!

5+    3/24/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 90  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes. The new 9 holes (A thru I) is a superb addition! You can access these after Hole 6.
-Grippy t-boxes, with cool designs in the cement.
-Signage is accurate and intact.
-On the new 9 (A thru H), there are stone arrows laid on the ground, directing traffic.
-Elevation changes adds to the enjoyment as well as difficulty. There are just as many holes playing UP the hill as there are playing down it. It's hard to gauge how much power to put into your drive when the hole is marked as 300ft, but rises another 50ft. Great challenge! Inversely, throwing off the hill is a blast!
-The views are awesome here! As an added bonus, there are makeshift stools (made of rock, wood) up on the hill for a quick breather.
-Great workout! As others have stated, this is like an afternoon of hiking with a side of disc golf =)
-There are facilities at the park (water, restroom, benches, paved parking lot)
-Good chance to air out some discs. Lots of distance on this course. My advice is to warm up your arm (and legs!) well before embarking on a round here.
-Very difficult to lose a disc.
Cons: -No ceiling, not much necessary shot-shaping. This is the first thing I notice about a course. On most holes, there are a lot of options to the basket. The additional 9 adds some much needed shaping, however.
-Traversing this course can be rough if you're not ready for it. There's not much shade here at all. Remember, it's a desert-style course, so come prepared.
-Will eat your discs. Even the higher quality plastics can take a thrashing here.
-Not a great deal of risk/reward.
Other Thoughts: The additional 9 holes added to the course is a nice boost to an already buff course! The new holes bump up the difficulty by utilizing vegetation and the rolling foothills in their layout.
Protip: Hole H has an alternate teebox further up the hill you can shoot from.

Weather plays a huge factor determining at what time of the day you'll play this course.

Although it isn't perfect, it's a lot of fun (as well as work!) It provides enough of a challenge to keep players coming back.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    9/24/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Korrupted
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course and true to the Arizona desert landscape. This course can be challenging for new players like myself, but it is still a ton of fun. Hiking up and down the mountain is a good workout, so bring good shoes if not hiking boots. Lot's of variety in the hole positions. A few locations with outdoor chairs to rest in the shade. No pedestrians in the way. Restrooms and water fountain near hole one.
Cons: Is extremely difficult to play all 18 holes in the summer days. Bring a lot of water then plan on bringing more. Very little shade trees so wear sunscreen and hats. Desert course is hard on plastic and will chew them up. Parking lot can be pretty full for sport practices.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course so far. It offers some easier birdie potential holes and some more challenging holes throughout the course. Very nice views from the side of the mountain tees. Don't speed down 16th street either. I have seen multiple cops sitting down side streets pulling speeders over. First time out bring a map of the course from Spinners on the Green, the tee pads and baskets can be hidden behind trees, etc.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Wow that was fun!

1    7/3/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: wallyG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First time playing a real desert course, that was awesome. Great views, great exercise, and great layout. This course was better than I expected. Teepads were really cool!
Cons: Course would have been hard to follow if it werent for my map I downloaded from spinnersdiscgolf.com (thanks keith). I had to walk halfway up some of the holes to spy the baskets. Terrain beat up some of my discs but thats ok. They sell more.
Other Thoughts: Did not see any snakes . . . but a jack rabbit jumped out from behind a rock as i was bending down to mark my disc and i nearly stroked out! Ha! Like everybody else says, take water jug you'll need it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This is a true Arizona Desert Course!

1    5/18/2003   5/18/2010
Review By: Chuck Cagle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The view and terain are what you would exscpet if you planned a trip to Arizona to play Frisbee golf. Desert and rocks and Cactus ect. Great Desert Layout . Alot of climbing. Great workout course.
Cons: I made the mistake of bringing my youngest son in a stroller thinging I was gonna push him around and it was not the best exp. Not made for anything but a great hike.
Other Thoughts: This is the course if your looking for a true Arizona desert experience while your in from out of town. Now there are man made park courses ect. but this one speaks to the Valley of the Sun!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Different is Good!

1    5/7/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located in next to what seemed to be a nice neighbor hood. The park has a baseball diamond and a basketball court. And parking was very close to the first tee. It is all very nice and fairly new looking. Tee pads and baskets are in great condition. The tee pads have a unique pattern etched into each one - nice touch. The tee signs are very helpful showing the hole in relation to key land marks - bushes, a shed, etc. They also indicate alternate basket placements and which one is in.

Some holes have alternate basket placements. This is great for returning players looking for more variety. To me this is a big "pro" even though I don't know how often they switch out the holes.

Restrooms and water are near hole one. This is more than what many courses can say. Since you are in the desert's dry heat, you should probably bring your own water though.

I don't think it's possible to review this course without mentioning the environment. It's beautiful. The hill as the backdrop as well as the course provides challenging and fun elevation changes not to mention picturesque views.

This course is long. It will definitely allow you to open up your cannon. It also provides a large area next to the course for you to practice your driving without any obstacles.
Cons: Navigation was tough on a couple holes (ie #2 to #3). But then we discovered the "Next ---->" on the tee signs. That helped, but with the tee signs being so short, the taller brush hide them at times. Very small con.

It's desert. There are not many obstacles to throw around. There are a couple of short, technical holes, but most of the variety comes in the form of elevation changes. Being without obstacles to throw around also means that there are no obstacles for shade.

Watch out - some of those bushes are prickly. Don't find out the hard way… ok so I'm having a hard time thinking of truly major "cons" for this course.
Other Thoughts: Being a midwestern guy, I didn't know what to expect as far as the rockiness of the course and how that will effect my discs. While it certainly is rocky, my Innova Champion plastic discs held up nicely. I think the traveling in my checked bag was tougher on them.

The first 4-5 holes are a warmup for the rest of the course in every way - visually, distance, difficulty. The back 9 is truly where this course shines.

I had a lot of fun on this course. While I don't have the largest arm, the long downhill drives gave me some added distance. Who doesn't need a good confidence booster? But then the uphill holes came.

If you are looking for something different and fun, come to Buffalo Ridge. The other courses in the area just seemed like more of the same of what I'm used to (not dissing them - that's not necessarily a bad thing). I had to check out this desert course and am very happy I did. When I'm out visiting my brother again, I will definitely come back to this course.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.