Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome Desert Course

5+    7/18/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: CaliZac89
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes +1 practice basket.
Huge elevation changes.
Grippy custom concrete tees.
Optional basket locations.
Awesome course for night play.
Rest spots at hole 7 and 12.
Fairly secluded, you'll only see people playing DG and hiking once you get past 2nd tee.
A friend I play night golf with is slowly but surely adding solar powered lights to the baskets. I believe there is 7 out there now on holes #5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 12, and 14
Cons: HOT during the summer.
Can be tiring if you aren't ready to hike.
Losing a disc isn't too far fetched..
Other Thoughts: My home course, always a challenge. All par 3's. If you can't take the heat, STAY OFF THE RIDGE!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 In one word AWESOME

2-4    1/19/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This desert course offers everything except a water hazard. The teepads are great with plenty of traction. The rugged landscape of cacti and rocky slopes is what makes this course unique. The holes are designed with a great flow. Some shots are blind. Some tee drives are difficult to see the basket because the gravel and dirt camouflage it. Right now there are long pink ribbons hanging on the baskets. I love the uphill and downhill challenges.

There are plenty of birdies to get. There are jackrabbits roaming the cliffs and mountainsides.

When you finish a hole there are some easily seen paths leading you to the next tee. I love how some holes have the basket on a mound or tucked behind a mound. This creates some strategic approach shots.

This is a must play course if you are in the Phoenix area. Bring ALOT of water.
Cons: The only con i can think of is it should be 36 holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring water and take your time. This course will wear you out with the hiking and heat together.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in Arizona

2-4    12/19/2010   1/16/2011
Review By: Patsie87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Almost every hole is a different type of shot and the hole course provides a great challenge. The flat desert holes have well placed baskets and each hole is different and then every uphill shot is different with even better downhill shots that you will want to drive off of all day.
Cons: Some of the rocks and desert terrain will really chew your disc up and it is quite the hike all over the mountain and 36 holes will make you tired easily.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in Arizona!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A nice contrast to fountain hills...

1    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located on a MOUNTAIN!!! It is truly a desert course. There are cacti, mesquite trees, and other trees/bushes I couldn't recognize. The variety in shots is amazing. Elevation changes can be over 100 feet. Uphill shots, Downhill shots, flat shots, and even from the mountain onto a 100 ft. hill. There's a nice variety in distances to. Anywhere from 175 ft. to 490 ft. Shooting from the top of the mountain is awesome. It's amazing to watch your disc fly all the way down much farther than you're used to throwing. Every tee pad was big enough, flat enough, and clear enough. The only hole where there's sand on the tee has a broom at the tee. The course is very picturesque. There are beautiful views from the top of the mountain of the Phoenix area. My favorite hole was 12 I think. It's about 500 feet, but I was able to reach it because it goes all the way down the mountain.
Cons: The baskets are the older style and seem skinny compared to the newer DISCatchers and Chainstars. Every hole is birdie-able, so it's not too much of a challenge (which could be a pro for some people). There are a few places where the holes are switchbacks that the other baskets can make it confusing, but if you look at the hole distances, it's easy to find the correct basket. The brush can really hide the next tee, so the map that is located in the files section is highly recommended. The wind seems to be strong here, so I hope you've practiced playing in the wind! The rocks can also really chew up your discs, so baseline discs are not recommended here.
Other Thoughts: This is basically a mountain hike. Bring good shoes and water to drink. Some of the holes had ribbons on the basket to make them more visible and it can also show where the wind is. There seemed to be a seasonal stream that ran the the course, but I couldn't tell if it has ever had water. This is definitely one of my favorite courses ever. It seems like the made mesquite grove and said "This course stinks!" and decided to try again at a desert course the right way. Every tee pad had a different design on it, which was interesting and I have never seen anything like it before.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!

2-4    12/27/2008   12/18/2009
Review By: mwarshafsky
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great tee boxes and signs, great shift in elevation, and great way to see the arizona landscape for tourists.
Cons: lots of hiking with jagged rocks and cacti. Some holes are tough to see but they are signs with hole maps.
Other Thoughts: if your in pheonix this is the best course

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Maybe Phoenix's Best

5+    11/23/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Terrain that is rarely experienced in most other courses. A few blind shots will challenge your approach to the hole especially number 4 with its basket in a stand of trees. Rugged terrain can make depth perception a challenge. Throwing up and down hills requires a different skill set altogether from "flatland" disc golf. The first 5 or so holes will challenge how some people release their disc because of the waist high brush that won't let you always release it low and flat.
Cons: hole 3 was a little tough to find. Signs are the shortest I've seen. Rollers and skippers will have no chance here due to a terrain that is as rocky as any you might ever play. The ground is scattered with rocks of all sizes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. Teeboxes are the best ever. The long downhill shots are fun to air out long throws. The views from the high teeboxes give a nice view of Phoenix and nearby mountains. Out of towners, you may want to wear long pants, Arizona plant life will be hard on your shins and ankles.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding challenge

1    8/8/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto on everything the last 4 reviewers said.
Cons: Hot, but what do you expect in Phoenix?
Rocky- I don't recommend throwing DX plastic here if you can help it.
VERY hard to navigate first half of course- all signs are knee-height and the heavy scrub which makes the holes such a fun challenge can make the next tee hard to find. I had a map and I still couldn't find the tee for #7 after searching for 5 minutes or so.
Other Thoughts: Almost my favorite course ever, and I was playing in summer. A very unique desert experience for a midwestern player, but even taken on its own terms the course design is excellent. I can't recommend this course highly enough, as long as you bring: water, sunscreen, discs of more durable plastic, and a map of the course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.