Disc Golf Store
Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT Hole #8
3 / 479ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Desert Fun

1    11/10/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Cooper2397
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: : I had the opportunity to play this course during a recent business trip to Phoenix. On Hole 1, I ran into a great group of guys who asked me to join them. The fact that I had so much fun playing with them really colors this review.

Amenities-- bathrooms on site, very active park with joggers, bikers etc, easy to find the park

Scenery-- being from the East, it was really cool to be in the Desert. I have been to Phoenix a few times and this is the first time that my feet have touched a non man made surface. The weather was perfect (72 degrees), so the walking was really easy both up and down the hill. I didn't bring any water.

Overall Course-- great location within the park. You are close to everything but minimal interference with hikers, bikers, etc. We had to wait a minute one time for a jogger to pass through. The course is wide open so it is next to impossible to lose a disc. You will get the opportunity to watch your disc fly here.

Holes 1-5-- Course starts off flat with some nice, straight forward holes. The designers tried to break up the holes with a few tricks (placing a basket behind an electric generator or a scrub bush). They did have the ability to move the basket to multiple locations on a few of the holes.

Holes 6-14-- The real challenge on these holes is playing up and down the mountain. You can really lose control of a downhill shot here and end up 200" off course especially if the wind is blowing (can still recover, see below). Again, the course designers tried to add some uniqueness with elevated baskets, etc.

Holes 15-18-- Similar to holes 1-5. They are flat straight ahead holes. Good way to finish a round after navigating the mountain.

Tee pads-- great cement tee pads on each hole

Aces: Plenty of opportunity to hit an ace on this course. This is definitely a "go for it" course.

Navigation: No idea--followed the guy in front of me. If you are solo, make sure you print out a map.

Cons: There isn't really any risk/ reward, especially if you have a big arm. Two hundred feet off the course? No problem, park one at the basket. The guys I played with consistently scored par on holes where their driver would have been lost back East. At the very least, it would have taken 2 shots to get back on the course. In addition, the holes can feel repetitive with only the elevation changing.

I chalk this up to the novelty of the course. Wind and elevation are your foe, not foliage.

Other Thoughts: The group I played with said they were putting in another 9 holes. I am anxious to see them. I rated the course a 3.5. I would have given it a 3.0 if I hadn't run into the group. They added at least a .5.

If you are in Phoenix and from the East Coast, definitely give this course a shot. It is a lot of fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  DTM FGMG

5+    6/12/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: DTM FGMF
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging, with the wind and different hole locations its a different course almost every time. Many holes can be a birdie. The view from the higher holes are very good. Great hiking from hole to hole.
Cons: Rocky and does chew up discs. Can misplace a disc with a funky drive.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course for a couple years now and on Sunday, 06/12/2011 had my first hole in one ever.
It was awesome...Hole 10, 355', 2 witnesses and 1 shot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A good 'un!

5+    3/24/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes. The new 9 holes (A thru I) is a superb addition! You can access these after Hole 6.
-Grippy t-boxes, with cool designs in the cement.
-Signage is accurate and intact.
-On the new 9 (A thru H), there are stone arrows laid on the ground, directing traffic.
-Elevation changes adds to the enjoyment as well as difficulty. There are just as many holes playing UP the hill as there are playing down it. It's hard to gauge how much power to put into your drive when the hole is marked as 300ft, but rises another 50ft. Great challenge! Inversely, throwing off the hill is a blast!
-The views are awesome here! As an added bonus, there are makeshift stools (made of rock, wood) up on the hill for a quick breather.
-Great workout! As others have stated, this is like an afternoon of hiking with a side of disc golf =)
-There are facilities at the park (water, restroom, benches, paved parking lot)
-Good chance to air out some discs. Lots of distance on this course. My advice is to warm up your arm (and legs!) well before embarking on a round here.
-Very difficult to lose a disc.
Cons: -No ceiling, not much necessary shot-shaping. This is the first thing I notice about a course. On most holes, there are a lot of options to the basket. The additional 9 adds some much needed shaping, however.
-Traversing this course can be rough if you're not ready for it. There's not much shade here at all. Remember, it's a desert-style course, so come prepared.
-Will eat your discs. Even the higher quality plastics can take a thrashing here.
-Not a great deal of risk/reward.
Other Thoughts: The additional 9 holes added to the course is a nice boost to an already buff course! The new holes bump up the difficulty by utilizing vegetation and the rolling foothills in their layout.
Protip: Hole H has an alternate teebox further up the hill you can shoot from.

Weather plays a huge factor determining at what time of the day you'll play this course.

Although it isn't perfect, it's a lot of fun (as well as work!) It provides enough of a challenge to keep players coming back.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun AZ Course

1    3/5/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Cement tee pads (each hole a a different design)
-Baskets, Mach II's
-Good signage
-Great workout
-Multiple pin placements on most holes
-A variety of long and short holes
-Quick play (if your by yourself)
Cons: -Could be real hot during the summer
-Need good shoes this course is rough
-Some baskets had funky inner chains
-Lots of broken glass on the lower holes
-Hole three needs some signs to the tee pad
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 is the gem of this course. I would play this course if you are in the area.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 buffalo awesome

5+    2/5/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: yonstermonster
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: challenging, clean, epic views. no overlapping holes. bathrooms are nice. very athletic course basically climb a mountain while doing the course.
Cons: almost none, wind. needs a drinking fountain at the base of the hill. and a shady spot to sit down.
Other Thoughts: hope they expand it and paint the markers some other color than black...

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 The definition of a AZ desert course

5+    10/5/2010   2/5/2011
Review By: azbab
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the prototype for a desert disc golf course. If you enjoy a challenging hike to go along with your round, this course is for you. It plays up and down a foothill so there are some awesome downhill shots that appeal to the ego of a noodle arm like me. Something about seeing a disc fly for 400+, when you know you are a 300-foot thrower.
Cons: This course eats plastic. Don't take your favorite, less than premium plastic to this course. It will never be the same.
Not a con for everyone, but if your not acclimated to the phoenix summers (or even most of the winter months) you will find this course a physical challenge. There are some days I have played, and have been happy I survived vs. shot a decent score. There is water available at hole one, but nowhere else on the course and very little shade available - plan ahead for this one.
Other Thoughts: This course plays up and down a phoenix area foothill, affording awesome uphill and downhill shots. Most of the tee pad shots are wide open, but do require some thought as most of the pins are guarded with desert trees and brush. Playing this course in the summer is not an endeavor to be taken lightly. Be sure to pack lots of water, and proper desert hiking footwear and apparel is a must.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 In one word AWESOME

2-4    1/19/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This desert course offers everything except a water hazard. The teepads are great with plenty of traction. The rugged landscape of cacti and rocky slopes is what makes this course unique. The holes are designed with a great flow. Some shots are blind. Some tee drives are difficult to see the basket because the gravel and dirt camouflage it. Right now there are long pink ribbons hanging on the baskets. I love the uphill and downhill challenges.

There are plenty of birdies to get. There are jackrabbits roaming the cliffs and mountainsides.

When you finish a hole there are some easily seen paths leading you to the next tee. I love how some holes have the basket on a mound or tucked behind a mound. This creates some strategic approach shots.

This is a must play course if you are in the Phoenix area. Bring ALOT of water.
Cons: The only con i can think of is it should be 36 holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring water and take your time. This course will wear you out with the hiking and heat together.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in Arizona

2-4    12/19/2010   1/16/2011
Review By: Patsie87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Almost every hole is a different type of shot and the hole course provides a great challenge. The flat desert holes have well placed baskets and each hole is different and then every uphill shot is different with even better downhill shots that you will want to drive off of all day.
Cons: Some of the rocks and desert terrain will really chew your disc up and it is quite the hike all over the mountain and 36 holes will make you tired easily.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in Arizona!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Repetetitive

2-4    11/20/2010   1/6/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.8 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amenities. Bathrooms, Ample Parking, Tennis Courts, Playground.

Baskets. Multiple pin positions available, and all baskets were in good shape.

Tees. Concrete tee pads are all in good shape. Tee signs give you a map with different pin locations and distance to the hole.

Navigation. Others have mentioned difficulty, I had no trouble finding my way around, weaving my way up and down and around and back to the parking lot.

Elevation. Lots of it, many elevated tee pads, and uphill shots, and a couple of elevated pin positions.

Cons: Variety of shots. Maybe I'm spoiled being from the midwest, these desert courses didn't appeal to me. I can see why these desert folks have only one shot in their bag, a big hyzer spike will get you almost anywhere on this course. Yeah the low bushes are somewhat challenging, but mostly it's wide open. A series of flat holes, followed by throwing across a hill, down a hill, up a hill, down, up, down, across, up, down, and then flat. There also seemed to be little variety in length of holes. Needless to say I didn't find it very challenging.

The course is murder on equipment, dx or pro plastic would probably only stand up to a couple of rounds out there, even my higher end plastic saw significant wear after 3 rounds.
Other Thoughts: Of the Desert courses I've played, this one was relatively enjoyable despite my griping, personally I prefer a more technical challenge.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A nice contrast to fountain hills...

1    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located on a MOUNTAIN!!! It is truly a desert course. There are cacti, mesquite trees, and other trees/bushes I couldn't recognize. The variety in shots is amazing. Elevation changes can be over 100 feet. Uphill shots, Downhill shots, flat shots, and even from the mountain onto a 100 ft. hill. There's a nice variety in distances to. Anywhere from 175 ft. to 490 ft. Shooting from the top of the mountain is awesome. It's amazing to watch your disc fly all the way down much farther than you're used to throwing. Every tee pad was big enough, flat enough, and clear enough. The only hole where there's sand on the tee has a broom at the tee. The course is very picturesque. There are beautiful views from the top of the mountain of the Phoenix area. My favorite hole was 12 I think. It's about 500 feet, but I was able to reach it because it goes all the way down the mountain.
Cons: The baskets are the older style and seem skinny compared to the newer DISCatchers and Chainstars. Every hole is birdie-able, so it's not too much of a challenge (which could be a pro for some people). There are a few places where the holes are switchbacks that the other baskets can make it confusing, but if you look at the hole distances, it's easy to find the correct basket. The brush can really hide the next tee, so the map that is located in the files section is highly recommended. The wind seems to be strong here, so I hope you've practiced playing in the wind! The rocks can also really chew up your discs, so baseline discs are not recommended here.
Other Thoughts: This is basically a mountain hike. Bring good shoes and water to drink. Some of the holes had ribbons on the basket to make them more visible and it can also show where the wind is. There seemed to be a seasonal stream that ran the the course, but I couldn't tell if it has ever had water. This is definitely one of my favorite courses ever. It seems like the made mesquite grove and said "This course stinks!" and decided to try again at a desert course the right way. Every tee pad had a different design on it, which was interesting and I have never seen anything like it before.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.