Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Awesome Desert Course

5+    7/18/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: CaliZac89
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 27 holes +1 practice basket.
Huge elevation changes.
Grippy custom concrete tees.
Optional basket locations.
Awesome course for night play.
Rest spots at hole 7 and 12.
Fairly secluded, you'll only see people playing DG and hiking once you get past 2nd tee.
A friend I play night golf with is slowly but surely adding solar powered lights to the baskets. I believe there is 7 out there now on holes #5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 12, and 14
Cons: HOT during the summer.
Can be tiring if you aren't ready to hike.
Losing a disc isn't too far fetched..
Other Thoughts: My home course, always a challenge. All par 3's. If you can't take the heat, STAY OFF THE RIDGE!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 If you are around Phoenix you have to play here

1    3/3/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: frizgolfkiller
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee signs and tee boxes. 27 holes! (although the new 9 wasn't really marked well as of 3/3). A lot of fun, true desert golf. Beautiful scenery. Restrooms on site. Great use of the land. A lot of elevation changes.
Cons: No shade. No trash cans on the course that I remember (although I don't recall seeing much litter on the ground). Somewhat lacking in distance on alot of holes, but it makes up for that with man made OB and hazards around the green
Other Thoughts: Bring water! I was out in AZ for the memorial and on the last day my friends and I decided to check this course out after hearing great things from the locals. Absolutely beautiful and tons of fun. Not like anything you see here in New England. Luckily a local happened to be there that played with us and showed us the new 9 holes. I can't wait to play this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but lacks challenge...

5+    1/7/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: Emoney
Played: 59  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a nice multi-use facility with soccer fields,playgrounds,...ect and most importantly DISC GOLF. Its located next to a school and there are usually ppl around but most of them stay away from the disc golf area. There are bathrooms and drinking fountains by hole 1 which is really nice.
Now to the course.....this course is one word "FUN". If u have a 300ft accurate hyzer you will score under par. The first 5 or so holes are very flat and just require a little distance control. After that, u start to make ur way up and down "buffalo ridge" for the middle section of holes. Then you finish with more flat holes. I will say that this course can be a struggle when the temps get in the 100's, so bring plenty of water and enjoy the hike. The teepads here are awsome and each one has its own flair. The course flow is pretty good but u should def download a map. The additional 9 holes seems to be more of the same, a few flat and a few elevated. There are a couple elevated greens which help the challenge. Tee signs are good(except xtra 9). Streamers on baskets help u locate the basket from the tee.
Cons: Well, this course lacks challenge and distance. You could easily shoot 10 under if ur a good intermediate. The wind will come into play but theres not enough penalty for a bad shot so u will still get your par. I was hoping the xtra 9 would be long holes with elevated greens but its another birdie fest. I understand that u have to work with the land you are given but i want to see longer pin placements for bogie risks.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is fun and a good confidence builder. The locals seem to work on this course alot and that is great, keep up the good work. If ur looking for a typical fun disc golf course, this is it. If ur looking for a challenge, fountain hills in the long position or marana rock in the longs down south.
P.s. if u want to play the xtra 9 i would suggest finding a local because they are not well marked.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Visit

2-4    1/28/2012   1/29/2012
Review By: ManU
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Use of the hill side is good. You warm up with some flat ground shots before hitting a number of holes where you throw up and down the hill.

The difficulty for this course comes about in misplaced shots and where your lie might be. Some of the bush and plant life is thick and prickly. So if you end up underneath or behind one your next shot will be tough.

You won't throw rollers here but you will need a good straight shot, hyzer, FH, and OH.

The baskets that are on elevated mounds make for some enjoyable holes. And there are a few decent ace runs.
Cons: Is it fair to say the lack of shade? Probably not as that is just the nature of the environment and not the fault of the course.
Again, not really any particularly tight fairways to hit. Some of the holes back up the hill are pretty much just open throws with the only difficulty being whether or not you have the distance.
Other Thoughts: The Course Map that you can download from this site is useful and helpful for navigation around the course.
It is quite rocky so you will want to use premium plastic. My star/GL discs held up quite well but I did put a couple of slices in a champ disc.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    11/20/2011   1/27/2012
Review By: mcbmaz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great desert coarse with a few up hill and down hill challenges. Provides good exercise because a good portion of the course is a hike.
Cons: Only con is having to dig your disc out of a thorn tree or a bush that looks like it would be a great place for a snake to get out of the hot sun.
Other Thoughts: If you have a chance play this course. Lots of fun!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Fun

1    11/10/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Cooper2397
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: : I had the opportunity to play this course during a recent business trip to Phoenix. On Hole 1, I ran into a great group of guys who asked me to join them. The fact that I had so much fun playing with them really colors this review.

Amenities-- bathrooms on site, very active park with joggers, bikers etc, easy to find the park

Scenery-- being from the East, it was really cool to be in the Desert. I have been to Phoenix a few times and this is the first time that my feet have touched a non man made surface. The weather was perfect (72 degrees), so the walking was really easy both up and down the hill. I didn't bring any water.

Overall Course-- great location within the park. You are close to everything but minimal interference with hikers, bikers, etc. We had to wait a minute one time for a jogger to pass through. The course is wide open so it is next to impossible to lose a disc. You will get the opportunity to watch your disc fly here.

Holes 1-5-- Course starts off flat with some nice, straight forward holes. The designers tried to break up the holes with a few tricks (placing a basket behind an electric generator or a scrub bush). They did have the ability to move the basket to multiple locations on a few of the holes.

Holes 6-14-- The real challenge on these holes is playing up and down the mountain. You can really lose control of a downhill shot here and end up 200" off course especially if the wind is blowing (can still recover, see below). Again, the course designers tried to add some uniqueness with elevated baskets, etc.

Holes 15-18-- Similar to holes 1-5. They are flat straight ahead holes. Good way to finish a round after navigating the mountain.

Tee pads-- great cement tee pads on each hole

Aces: Plenty of opportunity to hit an ace on this course. This is definitely a "go for it" course.

Navigation: No idea--followed the guy in front of me. If you are solo, make sure you print out a map.

Cons: There isn't really any risk/ reward, especially if you have a big arm. Two hundred feet off the course? No problem, park one at the basket. The guys I played with consistently scored par on holes where their driver would have been lost back East. At the very least, it would have taken 2 shots to get back on the course. In addition, the holes can feel repetitive with only the elevation changing.

I chalk this up to the novelty of the course. Wind and elevation are your foe, not foliage.

Other Thoughts: The group I played with said they were putting in another 9 holes. I am anxious to see them. I rated the course a 3.5. I would have given it a 3.0 if I hadn't run into the group. They added at least a .5.

If you are in Phoenix and from the East Coast, definitely give this course a shot. It is a lot of fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/12/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: DTM FGMF
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging, with the wind and different hole locations its a different course almost every time. Many holes can be a birdie. The view from the higher holes are very good. Great hiking from hole to hole.
Cons: Rocky and does chew up discs. Can misplace a disc with a funky drive.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course for a couple years now and on Sunday, 06/12/2011 had my first hole in one ever.
It was awesome...Hole 10, 355', 2 witnesses and 1 shot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good 'un!

5+    3/24/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 94  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes. The new 9 holes (A thru I) is a superb addition! You can access these after Hole 6.
-Grippy t-boxes, with cool designs in the cement.
-Signage is accurate and intact.
-On the new 9 (A thru H), there are stone arrows laid on the ground, directing traffic.
-Elevation changes adds to the enjoyment as well as difficulty. There are just as many holes playing UP the hill as there are playing down it. It's hard to gauge how much power to put into your drive when the hole is marked as 300ft, but rises another 50ft. Great challenge! Inversely, throwing off the hill is a blast!
-The views are awesome here! As an added bonus, there are makeshift stools (made of rock, wood) up on the hill for a quick breather.
-Great workout! As others have stated, this is like an afternoon of hiking with a side of disc golf =)
-There are facilities at the park (water, restroom, benches, paved parking lot)
-Good chance to air out some discs. Lots of distance on this course. My advice is to warm up your arm (and legs!) well before embarking on a round here.
-Very difficult to lose a disc.
Cons: -No ceiling, not much necessary shot-shaping. This is the first thing I notice about a course. On most holes, there are a lot of options to the basket. The additional 9 adds some much needed shaping, however.
-Traversing this course can be rough if you're not ready for it. There's not much shade here at all. Remember, it's a desert-style course, so come prepared.
-Will eat your discs. Even the higher quality plastics can take a thrashing here.
-Not a great deal of risk/reward.
Other Thoughts: The additional 9 holes added to the course is a nice boost to an already buff course! The new holes bump up the difficulty by utilizing vegetation and the rolling foothills in their layout.
Protip: Hole H has an alternate teebox further up the hill you can shoot from.

Weather plays a huge factor determining at what time of the day you'll play this course.

Although it isn't perfect, it's a lot of fun (as well as work!) It provides enough of a challenge to keep players coming back.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun AZ Course

1    3/5/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 107  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Cement tee pads (each hole a a different design)
-Baskets, Mach II's
-Good signage
-Great workout
-Multiple pin placements on most holes
-A variety of long and short holes
-Quick play (if your by yourself)
Cons: -Could be real hot during the summer
-Need good shoes this course is rough
-Some baskets had funky inner chains
-Lots of broken glass on the lower holes
-Hole three needs some signs to the tee pad
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 is the gem of this course. I would play this course if you are in the area.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 buffalo awesome

5+    2/5/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: yonstermonster
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: challenging, clean, epic views. no overlapping holes. bathrooms are nice. very athletic course basically climb a mountain while doing the course.
Cons: almost none, wind. needs a drinking fountain at the base of the hill. and a shady spot to sit down.
Other Thoughts: hope they expand it and paint the markers some other color than black...

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.