Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
  Variety in the Desert

1    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: DJ_Premier
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety: blind shots, up and down terrain, elevated pole holes, canyon-long shots, nice city views. Nice newer concrete teepads. Not as crowded as other Phoenix courses. Great practice with the varied putts.
Cons: The potential for the course to chew up their discs. The location of each ensuing hole is not usually where you would intuitively expect it. Copious amounts of garbage strewn along the course.
Other Thoughts: Being new to the sport, this is literally the second course I have ever played. That being said, I really enjoyed the variety that comes with this course and I know I will be back soon. If you are new to the game, this is an interesting test to get you dialed in to mastering new shots and situations.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Love the course

5+    9/23/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: matt s
Played: 62  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am biased as I live less than a mile and play this course all the time. Excellent elevation changes, 2 pin placements now on more than half of the holes. Great use of desert landscape. Tee signs and concrete pads are a great addition (recent course improvements).
Cons: Need water (more than you think!). Don't bring DX plastic as it will be eaten up within a round or two. A few blind holes, but the signs should be marked. Bring a map if you are new to the course.
Other Thoughts: Local groups can be found in evenings on on weekends. Not much traffic on the course, so safari can also be fun. There are longer tees on 4, 8, 15, 17, but they are not marked extremely well. Locals try to keep up with raking and trash detail, but please try to help out if you see it is needed. We try to switch the basket locations frequently, but it does not happen always. Hope you have fun - expect it at least 5 degrees warmer than the posted Phoenix temp - it is a desert course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding challenge

1    8/8/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto on everything the last 4 reviewers said.
Cons: Hot, but what do you expect in Phoenix?
Rocky- I don't recommend throwing DX plastic here if you can help it.
VERY hard to navigate first half of course- all signs are knee-height and the heavy scrub which makes the holes such a fun challenge can make the next tee hard to find. I had a map and I still couldn't find the tee for #7 after searching for 5 minutes or so.
Other Thoughts: Almost my favorite course ever, and I was playing in summer. A very unique desert experience for a midwestern player, but even taken on its own terms the course design is excellent. I can't recommend this course highly enough, as long as you bring: water, sunscreen, discs of more durable plastic, and a map of the course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quintessential desert course

3/23/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of a desert landscape
Good use of elevation
Well laid out, considering the lanscape available
Unique challenges due to vegetation and topography
Though the terrain is limited, not a lot of redundancy in layout
Cons: Of course, certain times of the year can have brutal heat (not the courses fault)
Discs take a beating on rocks
Occassionally hard to spot a disc in the brush..**"I know it landed somewhere near here"
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play.
The thing I like most about it is the desert terrain--it's so different than 97% of the courses I've played.
It's amazing how varied this course feels with the limited terrain options...whoever designed it did a great job...I love the hole (maybe 14) where you tee off on the side of the one hill and the basket is across a small "valley" and on top on a little hill--a great challenge...I have only birdied that hole once

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Desert disc golf

2-4    4/5/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unique desert terrain makes this a good Arizona destination course. Lots of short scrub and cactus, dry wash gullies, rocks and elevation. Challenging, especially the back nine with some frustrating basket positions and cross breezes.
Cons: Terrain can really beat up your discs badly in no time at all. Bring plenty of water, and try to avoid the hottest part of the day. Good sturdy shoes and socks recommended. Bring a map if possible, because navigation is a little tricky at times.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Throw over Vegitation

5/6/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: bcross822
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course was a blast. Great elevation changes, low vegitation everywhere. Completly changed the way I had to play. I was used to throwing low and flat. Can't do that here, you have to throw over knee to hip level vegitation on most shots. Tee pads were the best I have played from. Kudos to the people who keep up this course for all of the hard work yall put into it. It shows.
Cons: Hard to find the pins. Flags helped.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Desert golf, rocky terrain

4/10/2007   12/29/2007
Review By: dherdt
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New concrete teepads. Fun challenges. Holes 1-5 on flat terrain with some blind shots and vegetation-protected holes. Holes 6-14 alternate between uphills and downhills, mostly wide open. Holes 14 & 15 have pins protected by bunkers. Holes 12 & 16 pin placement on 6 ft cones, making putting a risky venture.
Cons: Major rocky terrain on many holes will chew up a disc good. No real fairways on many holes, just playing around desert plantlife and into sharp rocks. Get water before hole 1 because there's no water elsewhere on course and it is HOT for most of year. Had challenge finding pin from tee on first 5 holes the first time I played there. Recommend bringing a map.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't say it is really "wooded", but there is a LOT of desert plant life, none if which exceeds 12 feet in height. Watch for bikers and hikers - sparse but present.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.