Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Rock!

1    11/30/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 104  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of good variety in length as well as elevation type (flat to uphill to downhill to down and up hill). Some of the holes are hidden very cleverly and others are put out there so you can see them and the challenge you all at the same time. I particularly liked the holes that were on top of mounds. There are very good signs and most tees are nice with decorative work in the cement.
Cons: While there is some initial challenge, this is a fairly easy course. There is some brush on the first few holes and then scattered throughout that could eat discs. There are rocks on most holes which will rip discs up, especially cheaper plastics. A few tees, as nice as they are, did not leave room for much run up beyond the tee. The course was fairly busy as I played as well and was told by some guys that I joined that they had gone home and come back for their second round because of how busy it was earlier.
Other Thoughts: I would think this is a great course for beginners and better players playing with beginning friends. I scored very well having never played the course before. I did rather enjoy my time playing but my discs did feel worse for the wear afterwards.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Maybe Phoenix's Best

5+    11/23/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Terrain that is rarely experienced in most other courses. A few blind shots will challenge your approach to the hole especially number 4 with its basket in a stand of trees. Rugged terrain can make depth perception a challenge. Throwing up and down hills requires a different skill set altogether from "flatland" disc golf. The first 5 or so holes will challenge how some people release their disc because of the waist high brush that won't let you always release it low and flat.
Cons: hole 3 was a little tough to find. Signs are the shortest I've seen. Rollers and skippers will have no chance here due to a terrain that is as rocky as any you might ever play. The ground is scattered with rocks of all sizes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. Teeboxes are the best ever. The long downhill shots are fun to air out long throws. The views from the high teeboxes give a nice view of Phoenix and nearby mountains. Out of towners, you may want to wear long pants, Arizona plant life will be hard on your shins and ankles.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better PHX courses

2-4    11/9/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: RAW32728
Played: 230  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In an area that is devoid of trees, this course makes good use of the land to challenge the average player. Elevation changes and a variety of obstacles make this course a good one to play twice in a row to get a good feeling for it.
Cons: The distances are a bit on the short side, and if you like your discs, you might consider a less interesting course.
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are all concrete with some very interesting designs in the cement. Check out the photos to see how sweet some of them are.
With restrooms at the main parking lot and a playground for the kids, this course is one I can bring the family to.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course in Pheonix

2-4    10/17/2008   10/25/2008
Review By: domromer
Played: 48  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Plenty of elevation changes, well thought out holes, great use of the land. Doesn't ever seem to be real crowded.

Close to lots of places to eat.
Cons: First 5 holes aren't marked well, are mostly blind shots and are kinda boring.

This course is EXTREMELY rocky! It chews up DX disc with the quickness.
Other Thoughts: If your driving to PHX and only have one course to play, try this one.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Variety in the Desert

1    10/19/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: DJ_Premier
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety: blind shots, up and down terrain, elevated pole holes, canyon-long shots, nice city views. Nice newer concrete teepads. Not as crowded as other Phoenix courses. Great practice with the varied putts.
Cons: The potential for the course to chew up their discs. The location of each ensuing hole is not usually where you would intuitively expect it. Copious amounts of garbage strewn along the course.
Other Thoughts: Being new to the sport, this is literally the second course I have ever played. That being said, I really enjoyed the variety that comes with this course and I know I will be back soon. If you are new to the game, this is an interesting test to get you dialed in to mastering new shots and situations.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Love the course

5+    9/23/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: matt s
Played: 63  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I am biased as I live less than a mile and play this course all the time. Excellent elevation changes, 2 pin placements now on more than half of the holes. Great use of desert landscape. Tee signs and concrete pads are a great addition (recent course improvements).
Cons: Need water (more than you think!). Don't bring DX plastic as it will be eaten up within a round or two. A few blind holes, but the signs should be marked. Bring a map if you are new to the course.
Other Thoughts: Local groups can be found in evenings on on weekends. Not much traffic on the course, so safari can also be fun. There are longer tees on 4, 8, 15, 17, but they are not marked extremely well. Locals try to keep up with raking and trash detail, but please try to help out if you see it is needed. We try to switch the basket locations frequently, but it does not happen always. Hope you have fun - expect it at least 5 degrees warmer than the posted Phoenix temp - it is a desert course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding challenge

1    8/8/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 44  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto on everything the last 4 reviewers said.
Cons: Hot, but what do you expect in Phoenix?
Rocky- I don't recommend throwing DX plastic here if you can help it.
VERY hard to navigate first half of course- all signs are knee-height and the heavy scrub which makes the holes such a fun challenge can make the next tee hard to find. I had a map and I still couldn't find the tee for #7 after searching for 5 minutes or so.
Other Thoughts: Almost my favorite course ever, and I was playing in summer. A very unique desert experience for a midwestern player, but even taken on its own terms the course design is excellent. I can't recommend this course highly enough, as long as you bring: water, sunscreen, discs of more durable plastic, and a map of the course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quintessential desert course

3/23/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 26.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of a desert landscape
Good use of elevation
Well laid out, considering the lanscape available
Unique challenges due to vegetation and topography
Though the terrain is limited, not a lot of redundancy in layout
Cons: Of course, certain times of the year can have brutal heat (not the courses fault)
Discs take a beating on rocks
Occassionally hard to spot a disc in the brush..**"I know it landed somewhere near here"
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play.
The thing I like most about it is the desert terrain--it's so different than 97% of the courses I've played.
It's amazing how varied this course feels with the limited terrain options...whoever designed it did a great job...I love the hole (maybe 14) where you tee off on the side of the one hill and the basket is across a small "valley" and on top on a little hill--a great challenge...I have only birdied that hole once

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Desert disc golf

2-4    4/5/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unique desert terrain makes this a good Arizona destination course. Lots of short scrub and cactus, dry wash gullies, rocks and elevation. Challenging, especially the back nine with some frustrating basket positions and cross breezes.
Cons: Terrain can really beat up your discs badly in no time at all. Bring plenty of water, and try to avoid the hottest part of the day. Good sturdy shoes and socks recommended. Bring a map if possible, because navigation is a little tricky at times.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Throw over Vegitation

5/6/2008   5/19/2008
Review By: bcross822
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course was a blast. Great elevation changes, low vegitation everywhere. Completly changed the way I had to play. I was used to throwing low and flat. Can't do that here, you have to throw over knee to hip level vegitation on most shots. Tee pads were the best I have played from. Kudos to the people who keep up this course for all of the hard work yall put into it. It shows.
Cons: Hard to find the pins. Flags helped.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.