Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun AZ Course

1    3/5/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 107  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Cement tee pads (each hole a a different design)
-Baskets, Mach II's
-Good signage
-Great workout
-Multiple pin placements on most holes
-A variety of long and short holes
-Quick play (if your by yourself)
Cons: -Could be real hot during the summer
-Need good shoes this course is rough
-Some baskets had funky inner chains
-Lots of broken glass on the lower holes
-Hole three needs some signs to the tee pad
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 is the gem of this course. I would play this course if you are in the area.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 buffalo awesome

5+    2/5/2011   2/6/2011
Review By: yonstermonster
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: challenging, clean, epic views. no overlapping holes. bathrooms are nice. very athletic course basically climb a mountain while doing the course.
Cons: almost none, wind. needs a drinking fountain at the base of the hill. and a shady spot to sit down.
Other Thoughts: hope they expand it and paint the markers some other color than black...

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 The definition of a AZ desert course

5+    10/5/2010   2/5/2011
Review By: azbab
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the prototype for a desert disc golf course. If you enjoy a challenging hike to go along with your round, this course is for you. It plays up and down a foothill so there are some awesome downhill shots that appeal to the ego of a noodle arm like me. Something about seeing a disc fly for 400+, when you know you are a 300-foot thrower.
Cons: This course eats plastic. Don't take your favorite, less than premium plastic to this course. It will never be the same.
Not a con for everyone, but if your not acclimated to the phoenix summers (or even most of the winter months) you will find this course a physical challenge. There are some days I have played, and have been happy I survived vs. shot a decent score. There is water available at hole one, but nowhere else on the course and very little shade available - plan ahead for this one.
Other Thoughts: This course plays up and down a phoenix area foothill, affording awesome uphill and downhill shots. Most of the tee pad shots are wide open, but do require some thought as most of the pins are guarded with desert trees and brush. Playing this course in the summer is not an endeavor to be taken lightly. Be sure to pack lots of water, and proper desert hiking footwear and apparel is a must.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 In one word AWESOME

2-4    1/19/2011   1/19/2011
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This desert course offers everything except a water hazard. The teepads are great with plenty of traction. The rugged landscape of cacti and rocky slopes is what makes this course unique. The holes are designed with a great flow. Some shots are blind. Some tee drives are difficult to see the basket because the gravel and dirt camouflage it. Right now there are long pink ribbons hanging on the baskets. I love the uphill and downhill challenges.

There are plenty of birdies to get. There are jackrabbits roaming the cliffs and mountainsides.

When you finish a hole there are some easily seen paths leading you to the next tee. I love how some holes have the basket on a mound or tucked behind a mound. This creates some strategic approach shots.

This is a must play course if you are in the Phoenix area. Bring ALOT of water.
Cons: The only con i can think of is it should be 36 holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring water and take your time. This course will wear you out with the hiking and heat together.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best in Arizona

2-4    12/19/2010   1/16/2011
Review By: Patsie87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Almost every hole is a different type of shot and the hole course provides a great challenge. The flat desert holes have well placed baskets and each hole is different and then every uphill shot is different with even better downhill shots that you will want to drive off of all day.
Cons: Some of the rocks and desert terrain will really chew your disc up and it is quite the hike all over the mountain and 36 holes will make you tired easily.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in Arizona!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Repetetitive

2-4    11/20/2010   1/6/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1234  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amenities. Bathrooms, Ample Parking, Tennis Courts, Playground.

Baskets. Multiple pin positions available, and all baskets were in good shape.

Tees. Concrete tee pads are all in good shape. Tee signs give you a map with different pin locations and distance to the hole.

Navigation. Others have mentioned difficulty, I had no trouble finding my way around, weaving my way up and down and around and back to the parking lot.

Elevation. Lots of it, many elevated tee pads, and uphill shots, and a couple of elevated pin positions.

Cons: Variety of shots. Maybe I'm spoiled being from the midwest, these desert courses didn't appeal to me. I can see why these desert folks have only one shot in their bag, a big hyzer spike will get you almost anywhere on this course. Yeah the low bushes are somewhat challenging, but mostly it's wide open. A series of flat holes, followed by throwing across a hill, down a hill, up a hill, down, up, down, across, up, down, and then flat. There also seemed to be little variety in length of holes. Needless to say I didn't find it very challenging.

The course is murder on equipment, dx or pro plastic would probably only stand up to a couple of rounds out there, even my higher end plastic saw significant wear after 3 rounds.
Other Thoughts: Of the Desert courses I've played, this one was relatively enjoyable despite my griping, personally I prefer a more technical challenge.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A nice contrast to fountain hills...

1    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located on a MOUNTAIN!!! It is truly a desert course. There are cacti, mesquite trees, and other trees/bushes I couldn't recognize. The variety in shots is amazing. Elevation changes can be over 100 feet. Uphill shots, Downhill shots, flat shots, and even from the mountain onto a 100 ft. hill. There's a nice variety in distances to. Anywhere from 175 ft. to 490 ft. Shooting from the top of the mountain is awesome. It's amazing to watch your disc fly all the way down much farther than you're used to throwing. Every tee pad was big enough, flat enough, and clear enough. The only hole where there's sand on the tee has a broom at the tee. The course is very picturesque. There are beautiful views from the top of the mountain of the Phoenix area. My favorite hole was 12 I think. It's about 500 feet, but I was able to reach it because it goes all the way down the mountain.
Cons: The baskets are the older style and seem skinny compared to the newer DISCatchers and Chainstars. Every hole is birdie-able, so it's not too much of a challenge (which could be a pro for some people). There are a few places where the holes are switchbacks that the other baskets can make it confusing, but if you look at the hole distances, it's easy to find the correct basket. The brush can really hide the next tee, so the map that is located in the files section is highly recommended. The wind seems to be strong here, so I hope you've practiced playing in the wind! The rocks can also really chew up your discs, so baseline discs are not recommended here.
Other Thoughts: This is basically a mountain hike. Bring good shoes and water to drink. Some of the holes had ribbons on the basket to make them more visible and it can also show where the wind is. There seemed to be a seasonal stream that ran the the course, but I couldn't tell if it has ever had water. This is definitely one of my favorite courses ever. It seems like the made mesquite grove and said "This course stinks!" and decided to try again at a desert course the right way. Every tee pad had a different design on it, which was interesting and I have never seen anything like it before.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Buffalo Ridge Park

1    11/13/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 197  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2013
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Located next to North Canyon High School, Buffalo Ridge Park is an 18 hole disc golf course about 30 minutes north of Scottsdale. This rugged course is what most would expect when disc golfing in the state of Arizona, including various types of cacti and other native foliage, dirt, rocks, and lots of creatures (some more dangerous than others).

Buffalo Ridge offers a lot of elevation, incorporating much of the surrounding hills and land near the playfields. However, the first five holes are flat, but somewhat challenging due to the tall bushes and trees spread throughout the fairways. The next ten holes play up, down, and alongside of the hills. Although the baskets are straight forward and the holes at times monotonous, the elevation and wind helped add to the overall difficulty. Hole #14 is BR's signature hole, having players throw from a high point on the hill across a small valley toward a basket sitting on an island. It is not only difficult to land on to birdie, but is also quite picturesque! The last few holes on the course level back out and are straight forward.

Baskets are Mach II's, durable, and in good shape. The addition of concrete tee pads was essential. Although a few could be longer for some of the bigger holes, they are flat, artistic, and well done. Each pad has a different design put in to the cement which makes the course that much more unique. Tee signs are there, and help visitors in locating the next tee when you can find them. The course also has a baseball field with grass attached to hole one's fairway where players can practice drives, stretch, or just play some catch. The area also has a nice playground for children, a restroom, and a water fountain.
Cons:
Often times, both the baskets and tee boxes are hidden from disc golfers. Since the brush can be fairly high in certain areas, locating the tee sign can be next to impossible without a map. First timers MUST print off a map in order to navigate the course or you will have difficulties finding some holes. Once played, Buffalo Ridge is easy to follow, and loops from the parking lot near hole one back to the parking lot after 18.

The tee signs are anywhere from one foot to three feet tall, brown, and offer little information. Although the thought was in the right place, it would be nice to get those signs updated with more information and accurate pictures. They do however show where the multiple pin placements are. It would also be helpful to raise them so that navigation is made easier for all those who are unfamiliar with the course.

Last, the baskets tend to blend in with the landscape. It would be great if they could paint the circle on top of the baskets bright orange or perhaps tie a ribbon in the middle of the basket so it can be spotted from the tee or at least the fairway.
Other Thoughts:
As others have mentioned in previous reviews, Buffalo Ridge will truly give you the Arizona experience. Although I preferred Fountain Hills due to it's history and challenge, this course did not disappoint. It was the perfect compliment to the other courses played in the Memorial, and coming from the Northwest, was exactly what I was looking for. The idea of throwing around cacti was quite entertaining and nothing like I have experienced in my 10+ years of playing disc golf. If you have the time to play Buffalo Ridge, do! It will be well worth your time.

NOTE: In order to not walk away with skin cancer during your disc golf experience, wear plenty of sunscreen! Also, bring lots of water, sunglasses, and tall socks too.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    9/24/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Korrupted
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course and true to the Arizona desert landscape. This course can be challenging for new players like myself, but it is still a ton of fun. Hiking up and down the mountain is a good workout, so bring good shoes if not hiking boots. Lot's of variety in the hole positions. A few locations with outdoor chairs to rest in the shade. No pedestrians in the way. Restrooms and water fountain near hole one.
Cons: Is extremely difficult to play all 18 holes in the summer days. Bring a lot of water then plan on bringing more. Very little shade trees so wear sunscreen and hats. Desert course is hard on plastic and will chew them up. Parking lot can be pretty full for sport practices.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course so far. It offers some easier birdie potential holes and some more challenging holes throughout the course. Very nice views from the side of the mountain tees. Don't speed down 16th street either. I have seen multiple cops sitting down side streets pulling speeders over. First time out bring a map of the course from Spinners on the Green, the tee pads and baskets can be hidden behind trees, etc.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Wow that was fun!

1    7/3/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: wallyG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First time playing a real desert course, that was awesome. Great views, great exercise, and great layout. This course was better than I expected. Teepads were really cool!
Cons: Course would have been hard to follow if it werent for my map I downloaded from spinnersdiscgolf.com (thanks keith). I had to walk halfway up some of the holes to spy the baskets. Terrain beat up some of my discs but thats ok. They sell more.
Other Thoughts: Did not see any snakes . . . but a jack rabbit jumped out from behind a rock as i was bending down to mark my disc and i nearly stroked out! Ha! Like everybody else says, take water jug you'll need it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.