Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Buffalo Ridge Park

1    11/13/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 181  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2013
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Located next to North Canyon High School, Buffalo Ridge Park is an 18 hole disc golf course about 30 minutes north of Scottsdale. This rugged course is what most would expect when disc golfing in the state of Arizona, including various types of cacti and other native foliage, dirt, rocks, and lots of creatures (some more dangerous than others).

Buffalo Ridge offers a lot of elevation, incorporating much of the surrounding hills and land near the playfields. However, the first five holes are flat, but somewhat challenging due to the tall bushes and trees spread throughout the fairways. The next ten holes play up, down, and alongside of the hills. Although the baskets are straight forward and the holes at times monotonous, the elevation and wind helped add to the overall difficulty. Hole #14 is BR's signature hole, having players throw from a high point on the hill across a small valley toward a basket sitting on an island. It is not only difficult to land on to birdie, but is also quite picturesque! The last few holes on the course level back out and are straight forward.

Baskets are Mach II's, durable, and in good shape. The addition of concrete tee pads was essential. Although a few could be longer for some of the bigger holes, they are flat, artistic, and well done. Each pad has a different design put in to the cement which makes the course that much more unique. Tee signs are there, and help visitors in locating the next tee when you can find them. The course also has a baseball field with grass attached to hole one's fairway where players can practice drives, stretch, or just play some catch. The area also has a nice playground for children, a restroom, and a water fountain.
Cons:
Often times, both the baskets and tee boxes are hidden from disc golfers. Since the brush can be fairly high in certain areas, locating the tee sign can be next to impossible without a map. First timers MUST print off a map in order to navigate the course or you will have difficulties finding some holes. Once played, Buffalo Ridge is easy to follow, and loops from the parking lot near hole one back to the parking lot after 18.

The tee signs are anywhere from one foot to three feet tall, brown, and offer little information. Although the thought was in the right place, it would be nice to get those signs updated with more information and accurate pictures. They do however show where the multiple pin placements are. It would also be helpful to raise them so that navigation is made easier for all those who are unfamiliar with the course.

Last, the baskets tend to blend in with the landscape. It would be great if they could paint the circle on top of the baskets bright orange or perhaps tie a ribbon in the middle of the basket so it can be spotted from the tee or at least the fairway.
Other Thoughts:
As others have mentioned in previous reviews, Buffalo Ridge will truly give you the Arizona experience. Although I preferred Fountain Hills due to it's history and challenge, this course did not disappoint. It was the perfect compliment to the other courses played in the Memorial, and coming from the Northwest, was exactly what I was looking for. The idea of throwing around cacti was quite entertaining and nothing like I have experienced in my 10+ years of playing disc golf. If you have the time to play Buffalo Ridge, do! It will be well worth your time.

NOTE: In order to not walk away with skin cancer during your disc golf experience, wear plenty of sunscreen! Also, bring lots of water, sunglasses, and tall socks too.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    9/24/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Korrupted
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course and true to the Arizona desert landscape. This course can be challenging for new players like myself, but it is still a ton of fun. Hiking up and down the mountain is a good workout, so bring good shoes if not hiking boots. Lot's of variety in the hole positions. A few locations with outdoor chairs to rest in the shade. No pedestrians in the way. Restrooms and water fountain near hole one.
Cons: Is extremely difficult to play all 18 holes in the summer days. Bring a lot of water then plan on bringing more. Very little shade trees so wear sunscreen and hats. Desert course is hard on plastic and will chew them up. Parking lot can be pretty full for sport practices.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course so far. It offers some easier birdie potential holes and some more challenging holes throughout the course. Very nice views from the side of the mountain tees. Don't speed down 16th street either. I have seen multiple cops sitting down side streets pulling speeders over. First time out bring a map of the course from Spinners on the Green, the tee pads and baskets can be hidden behind trees, etc.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Wow that was fun!

1    7/3/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: wallyG
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First time playing a real desert course, that was awesome. Great views, great exercise, and great layout. This course was better than I expected. Teepads were really cool!
Cons: Course would have been hard to follow if it werent for my map I downloaded from spinnersdiscgolf.com (thanks keith). I had to walk halfway up some of the holes to spy the baskets. Terrain beat up some of my discs but thats ok. They sell more.
Other Thoughts: Did not see any snakes . . . but a jack rabbit jumped out from behind a rock as i was bending down to mark my disc and i nearly stroked out! Ha! Like everybody else says, take water jug you'll need it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This is a true Arizona Desert Course!

1    5/18/2003   5/18/2010
Review By: Chuck Cagle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The view and terain are what you would exscpet if you planned a trip to Arizona to play Frisbee golf. Desert and rocks and Cactus ect. Great Desert Layout . Alot of climbing. Great workout course.
Cons: I made the mistake of bringing my youngest son in a stroller thinging I was gonna push him around and it was not the best exp. Not made for anything but a great hike.
Other Thoughts: This is the course if your looking for a true Arizona desert experience while your in from out of town. Now there are man made park courses ect. but this one speaks to the Valley of the Sun!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Different is Good!

1    5/7/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.2 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located in next to what seemed to be a nice neighbor hood. The park has a baseball diamond and a basketball court. And parking was very close to the first tee. It is all very nice and fairly new looking. Tee pads and baskets are in great condition. The tee pads have a unique pattern etched into each one - nice touch. The tee signs are very helpful showing the hole in relation to key land marks - bushes, a shed, etc. They also indicate alternate basket placements and which one is in.

Some holes have alternate basket placements. This is great for returning players looking for more variety. To me this is a big "pro" even though I don't know how often they switch out the holes.

Restrooms and water are near hole one. This is more than what many courses can say. Since you are in the desert's dry heat, you should probably bring your own water though.

I don't think it's possible to review this course without mentioning the environment. It's beautiful. The hill as the backdrop as well as the course provides challenging and fun elevation changes not to mention picturesque views.

This course is long. It will definitely allow you to open up your cannon. It also provides a large area next to the course for you to practice your driving without any obstacles.
Cons: Navigation was tough on a couple holes (ie #2 to #3). But then we discovered the "Next ---->" on the tee signs. That helped, but with the tee signs being so short, the taller brush hide them at times. Very small con.

It's desert. There are not many obstacles to throw around. There are a couple of short, technical holes, but most of the variety comes in the form of elevation changes. Being without obstacles to throw around also means that there are no obstacles for shade.

Watch out - some of those bushes are prickly. Don't find out the hard way… ok so I'm having a hard time thinking of truly major "cons" for this course.
Other Thoughts: Being a midwestern guy, I didn't know what to expect as far as the rockiness of the course and how that will effect my discs. While it certainly is rocky, my Innova Champion plastic discs held up nicely. I think the traveling in my checked bag was tougher on them.

The first 4-5 holes are a warmup for the rest of the course in every way - visually, distance, difficulty. The back 9 is truly where this course shines.

I had a lot of fun on this course. While I don't have the largest arm, the long downhill drives gave me some added distance. Who doesn't need a good confidence booster? But then the uphill holes came.

If you are looking for something different and fun, come to Buffalo Ridge. The other courses in the area just seemed like more of the same of what I'm used to (not dissing them - that's not necessarily a bad thing). I had to check out this desert course and am very happy I did. When I'm out visiting my brother again, I will definitely come back to this course.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great Elevation Challenge

2-4    1/6/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.1 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Large teepads with unique designs stamped in the concrete.( this gives great traction)
-Starting with holes #1-5 are rather flat but challenging with a few blind shots.
-Course offers great elevation changes starting from hole #6 and switching back and forth or up and down to hole #14.
-Great risk reward on holes# 12 and #16 with an elevated basket putt.
-Nice views of the course and surrounding area.
-Have never seen it crowded or any waiting on the holes
- Large area to practice your drives too
Cons: -There is no water available on the course after hole#1.
Other Thoughts: - This is not your normal disc golf course with flat green fairways or wooded and shaded areas. This is the desert and expect cactus, reptiles, no shade, dust , wind and terrain that is brutal to hike let alone throw from. Tee pads are the only solid surface, be careful. Proper footwear and a shaded hat is recommended. Over all this course is fun and challenging for any level of player

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!

2-4    12/27/2008   12/18/2009
Review By: mwarshafsky
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great tee boxes and signs, great shift in elevation, and great way to see the arizona landscape for tourists.
Cons: lots of hiking with jagged rocks and cacti. Some holes are tough to see but they are signs with hole maps.
Other Thoughts: if your in pheonix this is the best course

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun

2-4    11/25/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: rybob42
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Great signage, teepads, and baskets
Good elevation
Some memorable holes (bomb downhill, or shoot to a "island" hill)
Cons:
Can get repetitive
Hard to find some baskets (bring a map!)
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun on the course, but I didn't feel particularly challenged except for my noodle arm. And after playing the course the second time, I was tired of straight, uphill holes with no obstacles - there are several on the course. The island hole thrilled me like a water hazard and may be the most memorable hole I've played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 So this is dessert disc golf?

2-4    11/13/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good tee signs, nice mid length course, fun to play with the elevation and the wind around the hill. Elevated baskets are nice challenge, esp w wind. "fairways" are delineated to the extent that you do not have to trample the terrain to move through the landscape. Very little trash here. park is clean. While a few amenities here might be nice, trash cans, benches, posts for disc bag hooks I can easily see the reason NOT to do any of those things to alter the landscape and natural setting. maybe it is just best left as is. Yellow streamers on baskets make finding baskets easiet. Play a few times and you know where to look anyway.
Cons: No good signage to indicate location of 1st tee. hard to see baskets on many holes... they blend in to this environ... Some baskets have ribbons on them, flags would be nice... but I can see where some would feel this is a eyesore to the landscape. The mountainside can get a bit windy. Not a con as much as a natural element to be factored in.
Other Thoughts: This is my first time playing here in PHX. I enjoyed it very much. Terrain eats discs pretty bad. Baskets are hard to see in this environment. I am used to the forested courses in the mid west. nice use of elevation... we have little elevation in IL :)... Fun to toss downhill... makes my arm feel bigger :). Hard to lose a disc which is nice. A bit of experience and disc golf instinct and you will find your way through the course pretty easily... by mid round it was much easier to spot baskets and next tee pads. back to play again. Old review still holds up. Evidence since last visit of a lot of hard work to improve this course. Lots of rocks moved, piled stacked, etc to clean up and more formalize the course. I felt oddly obligated to participate. On each hole I moved a rock or two to contribute to the "building" of the course. Hole comments... 14 is a sig hole with elevated tee and basket. Fun to shoot over the gully like that. 8 is a serious downhill bomb that was a ton of fun. Wind was light so accuracy was quite high today and quite forgiving. 4 is a nice short hidden basket. Shaded tee pad and tree gateway on 2 was fun. Obstruction on 3 is kind of silly. 12 was another down-hiller that is just a bomb!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Enjoyable with water

1    10/13/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: czechit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent altitude changes and distance. The course has six or so holes that back track up and then down the hill it resides under. Some tricky pin locations that make you use an array of discs from your bag (especially the generator hole, three I believe).
Cons: The cacti. If your not used to them don't reach into them. They poke with a needle like quality.
Packing in water. It tends to have some weight, and in the Arizona heat it will be a must. It is in a park so there are water fountains for refills, but the course never goes back to them till the last hole. In an emergency though you're covered! With the up and down hill courses especially. No one wants heatstroke/exhaustion.
Other Thoughts: The threat of the cacti make an interesting obstacle. Though they only appear on a few of the holes, there are other shrubs that are just as "pokey". Overall a very fun course. I would enjoy seeing it expanded around to the other side of the hill. Or possibly up and down the hill more often.
Wasn't sure if this was a pro or a con due to personal preference, but it is a bit more rough in terrain than say a grass course. So think about your footwear when playing this one. It gets a little rocky. Enjoy!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.