Phoenix, AZ 
Buffalo Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great Elevation Challenge

2-4    1/6/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.1 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Large teepads with unique designs stamped in the concrete.( this gives great traction)
-Starting with holes #1-5 are rather flat but challenging with a few blind shots.
-Course offers great elevation changes starting from hole #6 and switching back and forth or up and down to hole #14.
-Great risk reward on holes# 12 and #16 with an elevated basket putt.
-Nice views of the course and surrounding area.
-Have never seen it crowded or any waiting on the holes
- Large area to practice your drives too
Cons: -There is no water available on the course after hole#1.
Other Thoughts: - This is not your normal disc golf course with flat green fairways or wooded and shaded areas. This is the desert and expect cactus, reptiles, no shade, dust , wind and terrain that is brutal to hike let alone throw from. Tee pads are the only solid surface, be careful. Proper footwear and a shaded hat is recommended. Over all this course is fun and challenging for any level of player

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course!

2-4    12/27/2008   12/18/2009
Review By: mwarshafsky
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great tee boxes and signs, great shift in elevation, and great way to see the arizona landscape for tourists.
Cons: lots of hiking with jagged rocks and cacti. Some holes are tough to see but they are signs with hole maps.
Other Thoughts: if your in pheonix this is the best course

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun

2-4    11/25/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: rybob42
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Great signage, teepads, and baskets
Good elevation
Some memorable holes (bomb downhill, or shoot to a "island" hill)
Cons:
Can get repetitive
Hard to find some baskets (bring a map!)
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun on the course, but I didn't feel particularly challenged except for my noodle arm. And after playing the course the second time, I was tired of straight, uphill holes with no obstacles - there are several on the course. The island hole thrilled me like a water hazard and may be the most memorable hole I've played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 So this is dessert disc golf?

2-4    11/13/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good tee signs, nice mid length course, fun to play with the elevation and the wind around the hill. Elevated baskets are nice challenge, esp w wind. "fairways" are delineated to the extent that you do not have to trample the terrain to move through the landscape. Very little trash here. park is clean. While a few amenities here might be nice, trash cans, benches, posts for disc bag hooks I can easily see the reason NOT to do any of those things to alter the landscape and natural setting. maybe it is just best left as is. Yellow streamers on baskets make finding baskets easiet. Play a few times and you know where to look anyway.
Cons: No good signage to indicate location of 1st tee. hard to see baskets on many holes... they blend in to this environ... Some baskets have ribbons on them, flags would be nice... but I can see where some would feel this is a eyesore to the landscape. The mountainside can get a bit windy. Not a con as much as a natural element to be factored in.
Other Thoughts: This is my first time playing here in PHX. I enjoyed it very much. Terrain eats discs pretty bad. Baskets are hard to see in this environment. I am used to the forested courses in the mid west. nice use of elevation... we have little elevation in IL :)... Fun to toss downhill... makes my arm feel bigger :). Hard to lose a disc which is nice. A bit of experience and disc golf instinct and you will find your way through the course pretty easily... by mid round it was much easier to spot baskets and next tee pads. back to play again. Old review still holds up. Evidence since last visit of a lot of hard work to improve this course. Lots of rocks moved, piled stacked, etc to clean up and more formalize the course. I felt oddly obligated to participate. On each hole I moved a rock or two to contribute to the "building" of the course. Hole comments... 14 is a sig hole with elevated tee and basket. Fun to shoot over the gully like that. 8 is a serious downhill bomb that was a ton of fun. Wind was light so accuracy was quite high today and quite forgiving. 4 is a nice short hidden basket. Shaded tee pad and tree gateway on 2 was fun. Obstruction on 3 is kind of silly. 12 was another down-hiller that is just a bomb!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Enjoyable with water

1    10/13/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: czechit
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent altitude changes and distance. The course has six or so holes that back track up and then down the hill it resides under. Some tricky pin locations that make you use an array of discs from your bag (especially the generator hole, three I believe).
Cons: The cacti. If your not used to them don't reach into them. They poke with a needle like quality.
Packing in water. It tends to have some weight, and in the Arizona heat it will be a must. It is in a park so there are water fountains for refills, but the course never goes back to them till the last hole. In an emergency though you're covered! With the up and down hill courses especially. No one wants heatstroke/exhaustion.
Other Thoughts: The threat of the cacti make an interesting obstacle. Though they only appear on a few of the holes, there are other shrubs that are just as "pokey". Overall a very fun course. I would enjoy seeing it expanded around to the other side of the hill. Or possibly up and down the hill more often.
Wasn't sure if this was a pro or a con due to personal preference, but it is a bit more rough in terrain than say a grass course. So think about your footwear when playing this one. It gets a little rocky. Enjoy!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 LOVED IT!

5+    8/16/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 45  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Water fountains at entarnce. Easy to navigate. No where to lose your disc if you pay attention. Good baskets, great locals, not too busy good elevation, and distance.
Cons: The rocks will tear up your discs a bit if you have the wrong plastic. Anyone reading this knows its hot in AZ. There is NO shade on this course. But a hat and water solves that problem.
Other Thoughts: The course is off the charts on fun factor. Good scenery. I will come back to Buffalo any chance i get and I'm from out of state.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Real Desert Course

5+    9/1/2006   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a real desert course. Lots of scrub and Mesquite trees that obscure the baskets and your driving line. Great elevation changes. Scenary from the holes on top of the ridge are fantastic. Locals are very helpful and eager for you to join their group. Restrooms and water at the parking lot.
Cons: HOT HOT HOT! This is a true desert course. You'd better be ready to hike and bring plenty of water. Cactus, prickly trees, sometimes snakes. This course is rock and dirt if you're throwing DX plastic it will probably be the last time you use that disc again. A little tough to follow the first time through as the low trees can obscure the next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: I used to live 5 miles from this course and played it often. One of my favorite courses. The club has done a great job on some improvements with the tee pads.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Desert is Different, but Good!

5+    6/27/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: Bohica1010
Played: 46  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Elevation changes challenge throwers to adapt conventional thoughts for distances. Locals take very good care of the course. Wind/breezes can test the best with a gust helping/hurting throwing up or down.
Cons: It's hot in the desert in Phoenix, period. Course chews up discs and spits them out.
Other Thoughts: Take a lot of water with you, although bathrooms have a fountain. Sunscreen is helpful.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Phoenix?

2-4    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course plays on the side of a mountian offering wonderful views of the surrounding city. Definately has a more unique feel to it then the other courses in the area. Bring your big arm here. Some of the holes are pretty long, but the pay off the side of the mountain and thus you get to unleash those bombs all the way down the hill. Though there are not a lot of trees on the course, there is enough of the brush that makes you be careful on your drives. I think it is hole 15 that the basket is on top of a large hill, enjoying and challenging. The baskets are in decent enough condition and the teepads are one of a kind with their unique patterns imprinted into the concrete. Definately some time put into these.
Cons: This course looks like it needs a little love to it. Trash on the course in some areas. Most of the holes are pretty straight shots because there are no trees to shoot around. Some of the holes are long, 450+ feet, which I feel was just added to increase the difficulty of not having more trees around.
Other Thoughts: The challenge on this course comes in the form of longer holes, uphill shots and baskets on top of large dirt mounds. Short technical holes are just not found here and lack of any real trees decrease the skills needed here. Play with Innova DX plastic or the same and your discs with take a severe beating on the rocks. Looking to throw some long straight shots and get a little workout in, then come here. This course is a good all around example of what a desert mountain landscape is all about. If you are coming to the Phoenix area and only have time to play a few courses, this one definately has a palce at the top of the list.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

1    3/15/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: raley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Terrain was fun. Great elevation on the back 9.
Cons: Front nine = blind baskets. Rocks, rocks, rocks. Need to put orange dots on the baskets rather then black which blends in to the terrain.
Other Thoughts: Bring water or 'liquids' of choice.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.