Glendale, AZ 
Thunderbird-Paseo Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice Variety Of Throws And A Breeze To Navigate!

1    3/20/2015   3/20/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 715  Reviewed: 663  Exp: 37 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think the course designers did an admirable job here working the terrain they were given. Granted it's not the prettiest spot for a course, it's a giant floodplain which occasionaly fills up after extra heavy rains. But the designers managed to use every inch of the area to incorperate shorter ACE runs, several bombs across the valley, a couple of technical holes, and both hyzers and annies. I liked the variety here. The concrete tee pads had the hole # imbedded on them which helped and the signs are vandal proof and concise. There are mulitple basket positions although sometimes it's not clear which position the basket is currently placed. There is a small drainage ditch/creek which runs through the center of the valley. It could come into play depending on your arm.
The course is extremely easy to navigate. After attempting to play the nightmare that is Sweetwater this morning, I so appreciate the signage and helpful hints here.
Cons: There was so much trash strew about. I don't think it's from the players or even the neighbors. I think it maybe gets carried here when the waters are high. It's really annoying and such an eyesore. Kind of like playing disc golf at a landfill.
Other Thoughts: What this course needs is.... one of these old retired dudes down here decides he wants to be the course angel and make it his mission in life to pick up the trash. I've seen it happen on other courses before.
Or maybe a club/organization to adopt this park? Or maybe at a golf tourney, each player who brings in a bag of trash can subtract a stroke or something?
Thunderbird deserves better! Make it happen somebody!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Desert course

1    1/2/2015   2/12/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good distances. Some nice elevation changes. Good baskets. Good concrete tees. Good hole signs. Easy to follow course layout. Not many people play it. Small stream which comes into play on a few holes
Cons: Almost no trees. Plays in what could be considered a ditch. Some holes play next to culvert which could come into play. Lacks grass on most holes. Lots of thorn bushes. The course itself was difficult to locate. Most holes lack variety.
Other Thoughts: It's a desert course that would be good for begginers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Repetitive

1    10/20/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in a large drainage area that seems to be disc golf exclusive. The elevated sides of the drainage ditch offer some chances for elevation changes. There are some fun shots from elevated tees and several baskets on slopes that have the potential for rollaways. There aren't a whole lot of obstacles, but the ones that are available are used pretty well to add some variety. I thought the shot between the bridge pylons was fun and one of the more interesting shots here.

The tees are nice concrete pads, and the baskets are in good shape. The signs are large and plenty informative, we had no problems finding our way around here. There are alternate pin positions on many of the holes to try to add some more variety. There are some chances for longer shots here, and enough space to get to throw some distance drivers.
Cons: The course is pretty much wide open. Despite creative use of the available elevation and obstacles there just isn't enough potential here to make a very good course. No specific lines are forced here, you can get by with nothing but hyzers. The low areas of the course have tall grass, and with several holes crossing this area there's potential for frustration and lost discs. There are some crossing fairways, which made no sense to me given how much unused space there is on either end of the course. There's absolutely no excuse for introducing that kind of safety issue here.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course approachable though the long grass could be daunting for players without the distance to get all the way across. More experienced players will find this an ok place to practice drives and shot placement, but won't be challenged to use many different shots.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good local course

1    11/20/2012   12/23/2012
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy course to navigate with concrete tees, big easy to spot signs, and descent baskets. The course is built in a large drainage canal and incorporates the sloped sides into the design as much as possible. Shots vary from quite long to a few shorter technical shots. Many baskets are on a side hill requiring precision in landing strategies. What foliage is there comes into play as much as possible, including a nice blockage off the tee for a long shot toward the end of the course. A couple holes play under a road bridge which is always fun; said road bridge provides some shade (some of the only shade besides a few smaller trees on fairways). OB ditch adds a little bit of an artificial challenge, as well as the (optional) rockwork on hole 18. Mostly DG exclusive, spread out and easy to see if people are catching up or if you are approaching another group. Like Fountain Hills, this course provides mostly obtainable threes for the beginner with at least four opportunities for short birdies mid course. Advanced players will find their challenge in placing the disc near the pin for birdie.
Cons: There isn't any shade here, and I can imagine this course being unplayable due to the heat in the hotter months. No water available except at the beginning so make sure to bring your own. Grass in the center area of the canal can get quite long and created some disc finding issues with natural colored plastic, however big arms should have no issue crossing this region. Advanced players could find the middle of the course redundant.
Other Thoughts: All and all I think this course is a bit underrated here at DGCR but maybe we caught it on a good day. Other than it being really hot (in late November) and knowing that it only gets worse in Phoenix, I would find this a desirable course to practice at if I lived locally. No huge pronounced challenges really, but a good collection of longer and shorter holes. The 'ditch' with 'water' in the center of the course creates good goals for distance measuring. Beginners might find themselves bored here because many pins are unobtainable off the tee, but since there is no line shaping to be had it's a good opportunity to try something new. Throw a couple. An advanced player would appreciate the open-ness for practice once field practice becomes too monotonous. It did not appear to be busy so this is a great spot for that...the elevated tees are high enough to allow you to see what your disc is doing, and the crowds are low enough so you can throw a few with relative ease in finding your plastic afterwards. By no means a fantastic awesome destination course but a very descent place to hide at for a while while you hone in on your specifics.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course if you live in the area

5+    7/5/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: discgolfkyle
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: Thunderbird is a fun course for all players. You can really air out your discs here as there is no ceiling or tunnel shots to get in your way. I played this course as a beginner and found it not very difficult. There are some real birdie opportunities here, but par shots are existent on every hole. There is almost never a wait and there are very few disc golfers on the course. Plastic will not take a beating here, either. Baskets and teepads are in good conditon.
Cons: In the summertime when the weeds in the middle are grown out, losing a disc is a possibility (I've almost lost a few). At all costs, avoid the drainage ditch in the middle. Again, very hot (it's PHX, what do you expect). Many holes are very repetitive. Most consist of just hurling your disc to the other side of the ditch. Never come after a storm, trust me.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not worth driving more than 30 minutes. If you live close, it's a good area to practice your drives, but nothing special. The city did the best they could do with what they had.

 Don't play this one for the views

5+    1/31/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: azbab
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Thunderbird is a beginner friendly course due to its open layout and really non-existent risk of losing plastic. The design takes good advantage of the very little landscape that is available in this location and beginners and intermediates will appreciate the options for throws that this open course provides. I find it to be a good course to practice different shots, when I am tired of fieldwork. Multiple pin placements do break up the monotony of this course.
Cons: The pros of this course will be cons for more advanced players, who will not be challenged here, being you can throw pretty much any shot on any hole.
Thunderbird is not maintained as a disc golf course so "fairways" are very seldom mowed and can get out of control, long at times. Certainly not a visually pleasing course that often times has lots of grimy garbage about due to it being located in a storm run-off retention basin.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a retention basin that doubles as a walking trail and park with some basketball courts and playground nearby. It tends to favor lefties and forehanders due to the direction it plays along the sides (lots of side hill pins) of the retention basin. Don't visit this one for line shaping challenges or visual appeal - there isn't any.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Located in a Ditch?!?

1    1/1/2011   1/2/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Whoever designed this course did an amazing job with the little he/she had. Some of the holes were fun. Driving from an elevated tee is always fun. Trees were well placed to block direct routes to the basket. Baskets were in nice condition. Tee signs were very good. It's a shame that they had to be wasted on a course like this.
Cons: Well, the course is in a drainage ditch under a highway. What can you expect? It's always muddy and trashy. There's a nasty river thing running through the center of the park. I could put all of the holes in two groups. Playing on the side of a hill and throwing from one side of the ditch to the other. Needless to say, there's not much variety in shots here. The grass was super tall and you could lose small dogs in there. There was graffiti on 1 and 18's tee signs. Some of the tee pads were very muddy. They were pretty small for some of the distances of the holes, and a lot of the tee pads were situated on a hill so you couldn't get a run-up. Some of the fairways made an X so you might aim for the wrong basket. Some of the tee pads had hole numbers on the wrong side with the wrong numbers, which only confused me more.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor was 0 here. Drive to Buffalo Ridge or Conocido instead of here.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 pass on paseo

2-4    12/6/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: yonstermonster
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: epic drives from high ground
Cons: everything short holes just a garbage dump of a course. my disc went in the sludge in the middle of the canal and its still smells funny...
Other Thoughts: don't go....throw discs at wall would be more fun

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ok AZ. course

2-4    10/8/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: Korrupted
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly easy course compared to the other courses in the area. If you have some distance it makes for easy pars or possible aces. Good hole placement on a few holes that use trees and OB's to make a decent challenge. Good signage showing hole location and next tee pad. Trash cans at most of the tee pads. Not many pedestrians on the course, few bikers and joggers riding along the path. A lot of parking with restrooms.
Cons: This a drainage canal so it tends to be littered with trash. The 1st and 18th tee pad have graffiti on the signs. A lot of ants so be mindful of where you are setting down your bag or taking a shot from. The grass after the second hole can be near waist high and likes to hide discs. I also got a rash and itching after walking in the grass. I also had a lot of sticker pods stuck in my socks and shoes. I would not play this course after a rain. It becomes very muddy, smelly and littered with trash and debris.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, but I would not travel out of your way to play it. If you are in the area check out Buffalo Ridge or Connocido. The first tee is in the center of the grass toward the left off parking lot. I have not seen a map of the course but the great signage makes navigation easy. Park opens at 6 and closes at sunset.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Graduation Day

1    3/12/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: RandomToss
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to Play! As a beginner I found this course very rewarding. It was one of the first course I played that allowed me to work on my long game without fear of losing a disc or going out of bounds.
Cons: Very minor detail: It is in a drainage ditch.
Other Thoughts: The cool details in the tees: some tees have discs pressed into them with a record of throw. I was able to make some long putts that I haven't made at other places.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.