Glendale, AZ 
Thunderbird-Paseo Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Repetitive

1    10/20/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in a large drainage area that seems to be disc golf exclusive. The elevated sides of the drainage ditch offer some chances for elevation changes. There are some fun shots from elevated tees and several baskets on slopes that have the potential for rollaways. There aren't a whole lot of obstacles, but the ones that are available are used pretty well to add some variety. I thought the shot between the bridge pylons was fun and one of the more interesting shots here.

The tees are nice concrete pads, and the baskets are in good shape. The signs are large and plenty informative, we had no problems finding our way around here. There are alternate pin positions on many of the holes to try to add some more variety. There are some chances for longer shots here, and enough space to get to throw some distance drivers.
Cons: The course is pretty much wide open. Despite creative use of the available elevation and obstacles there just isn't enough potential here to make a very good course. No specific lines are forced here, you can get by with nothing but hyzers. The low areas of the course have tall grass, and with several holes crossing this area there's potential for frustration and lost discs. There are some crossing fairways, which made no sense to me given how much unused space there is on either end of the course. There's absolutely no excuse for introducing that kind of safety issue here.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course approachable though the long grass could be daunting for players without the distance to get all the way across. More experienced players will find this an ok place to practice drives and shot placement, but won't be challenged to use many different shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't play this one for the views

5+    1/31/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: azbab
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Thunderbird is a beginner friendly course due to its open layout and really non-existent risk of losing plastic. The design takes good advantage of the very little landscape that is available in this location and beginners and intermediates will appreciate the options for throws that this open course provides. I find it to be a good course to practice different shots, when I am tired of fieldwork. Multiple pin placements do break up the monotony of this course.
Cons: The pros of this course will be cons for more advanced players, who will not be challenged here, being you can throw pretty much any shot on any hole.
Thunderbird is not maintained as a disc golf course so "fairways" are very seldom mowed and can get out of control, long at times. Certainly not a visually pleasing course that often times has lots of grimy garbage about due to it being located in a storm run-off retention basin.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a retention basin that doubles as a walking trail and park with some basketball courts and playground nearby. It tends to favor lefties and forehanders due to the direction it plays along the sides (lots of side hill pins) of the retention basin. Don't visit this one for line shaping challenges or visual appeal - there isn't any.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Located in a Ditch?!?

1    1/1/2011   1/2/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Whoever designed this course did an amazing job with the little he/she had. Some of the holes were fun. Driving from an elevated tee is always fun. Trees were well placed to block direct routes to the basket. Baskets were in nice condition. Tee signs were very good. It's a shame that they had to be wasted on a course like this.
Cons: Well, the course is in a drainage ditch under a highway. What can you expect? It's always muddy and trashy. There's a nasty river thing running through the center of the park. I could put all of the holes in two groups. Playing on the side of a hill and throwing from one side of the ditch to the other. Needless to say, there's not much variety in shots here. The grass was super tall and you could lose small dogs in there. There was graffiti on 1 and 18's tee signs. Some of the tee pads were very muddy. They were pretty small for some of the distances of the holes, and a lot of the tee pads were situated on a hill so you couldn't get a run-up. Some of the fairways made an X so you might aim for the wrong basket. Some of the tee pads had hole numbers on the wrong side with the wrong numbers, which only confused me more.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor was 0 here. Drive to Buffalo Ridge or Conocido instead of here.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 WIDE OPEN SAPCES

5+    3/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Extremely easy to navigate! 0 shade if your trying to get a tan. Wide open if thats what you are looking for.
Cons: The 3rd time i went, my car was the only one in the parking lot and got broken into. Not enough elevation change or tree's to challenge the better player.
Other Thoughts: I am from out of state and played a few courses in the phoeniz area. Buffalo Ridge is by far my favorite.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your big arm here.

2-4    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Whomever designed this course did a great job, that is with what he had to work with. It is located on a drainage system in the middle of the city. It is pretty wide open with smaller trees that they try to make use of. Most of the holes are long, around 400 feet and straight shots. Get your long distant drivers out to practice here. Baskets are nice and signage is fabulous: large signs with all the info you need. While there are minimal trees on this course, they are used well to add to the challenge. Parking is very easy, right next to the 18th basket.
Cons: Not much excitiment on this course. Most hole just go back an forth across the dry canal. Though the teepads are large cement, there are a couple that have a slight dropoff the edge, just enough to make you feel you need to shorten up your x step as not to step off them. I think that there are a few teepads that use the sidewalk that edges the course. This can be busy at times, just have to wait to throw. Watch the little water at the bottom of the canal, it looks kind of dirty.
Other Thoughts: I feel they made the best course possible given the land that they had to work with. However, there is little to challenge an experienced player and new players might get frustrated with the longer, boring holes. This place can get hot and dry! No real shade to speak of so bring your liquids of choice. Generally speaking, one of the longer hole length courses in the area, so let those distance drivers fly!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not my kind of course

2/16/2007   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners
Creative use of a very bland terrain
Cons: Very redundant ( given the limitations of the terrain)
Not much challenge--felt like I was just throwing back and forth across a field
Other Thoughts: Hats off to the DG community of Phx for making the best out of challenging situations
I don't want my "negative" comments to be taken personally...
Playing any disc golf is better than playing no disc golf...but I would rather play a different type of course if I had the chance...and Phx offers a few other types of courses that are more fun for me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.