Glendale, AZ
Thunderbird-Paseo Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 330ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good local course

1    11/20/2012   12/23/2012
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy course to navigate with concrete tees, big easy to spot signs, and descent baskets. The course is built in a large drainage canal and incorporates the sloped sides into the design as much as possible. Shots vary from quite long to a few shorter technical shots. Many baskets are on a side hill requiring precision in landing strategies. What foliage is there comes into play as much as possible, including a nice blockage off the tee for a long shot toward the end of the course. A couple holes play under a road bridge which is always fun; said road bridge provides some shade (some of the only shade besides a few smaller trees on fairways). OB ditch adds a little bit of an artificial challenge, as well as the (optional) rockwork on hole 18. Mostly DG exclusive, spread out and easy to see if people are catching up or if you are approaching another group. Like Fountain Hills, this course provides mostly obtainable threes for the beginner with at least four opportunities for short birdies mid course. Advanced players will find their challenge in placing the disc near the pin for birdie.
Cons: There isn't any shade here, and I can imagine this course being unplayable due to the heat in the hotter months. No water available except at the beginning so make sure to bring your own. Grass in the center area of the canal can get quite long and created some disc finding issues with natural colored plastic, however big arms should have no issue crossing this region. Advanced players could find the middle of the course redundant.
Other Thoughts: All and all I think this course is a bit underrated here at DGCR but maybe we caught it on a good day. Other than it being really hot (in late November) and knowing that it only gets worse in Phoenix, I would find this a desirable course to practice at if I lived locally. No huge pronounced challenges really, but a good collection of longer and shorter holes. The 'ditch' with 'water' in the center of the course creates good goals for distance measuring. Beginners might find themselves bored here because many pins are unobtainable off the tee, but since there is no line shaping to be had it's a good opportunity to try something new. Throw a couple. An advanced player would appreciate the open-ness for practice once field practice becomes too monotonous. It did not appear to be busy so this is a great spot for that...the elevated tees are high enough to allow you to see what your disc is doing, and the crowds are low enough so you can throw a few with relative ease in finding your plastic afterwards. By no means a fantastic awesome destination course but a very descent place to hide at for a while while you hone in on your specifics.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent course if you live in the area

5+    7/5/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: discgolfkyle
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: Thunderbird is a fun course for all players. You can really air out your discs here as there is no ceiling or tunnel shots to get in your way. I played this course as a beginner and found it not very difficult. There are some real birdie opportunities here, but par shots are existent on every hole. There is almost never a wait and there are very few disc golfers on the course. Plastic will not take a beating here, either. Baskets and teepads are in good conditon.
Cons: In the summertime when the weeds in the middle are grown out, losing a disc is a possibility (I've almost lost a few). At all costs, avoid the drainage ditch in the middle. Again, very hot (it's PHX, what do you expect). Many holes are very repetitive. Most consist of just hurling your disc to the other side of the ditch. Never come after a storm, trust me.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not worth driving more than 30 minutes. If you live close, it's a good area to practice your drives, but nothing special. The city did the best they could do with what they had.

 Ok AZ. course

2-4    10/8/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: Korrupted
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly easy course compared to the other courses in the area. If you have some distance it makes for easy pars or possible aces. Good hole placement on a few holes that use trees and OB's to make a decent challenge. Good signage showing hole location and next tee pad. Trash cans at most of the tee pads. Not many pedestrians on the course, few bikers and joggers riding along the path. A lot of parking with restrooms.
Cons: This a drainage canal so it tends to be littered with trash. The 1st and 18th tee pad have graffiti on the signs. A lot of ants so be mindful of where you are setting down your bag or taking a shot from. The grass after the second hole can be near waist high and likes to hide discs. I also got a rash and itching after walking in the grass. I also had a lot of sticker pods stuck in my socks and shoes. I would not play this course after a rain. It becomes very muddy, smelly and littered with trash and debris.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course, but I would not travel out of your way to play it. If you are in the area check out Buffalo Ridge or Connocido. The first tee is in the center of the grass toward the left off parking lot. I have not seen a map of the course but the great signage makes navigation easy. Park opens at 6 and closes at sunset.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open and throw it far

5+    8/26/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 128  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very wide open and plenty of chances for birdies. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Very little technical aspect. If the course is not mowed it is very easy to lose disks or small children in the /grass/brush in the middle.
Other Thoughts: This is the course closest to my house so we play here quite a bit. Almost to easy, but a good pick me up if you have had some bad rounds and need a low score to make you feel better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.