Glendale, AZ 
Thunderbird-Paseo Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Wide open and throw it far

5+    8/26/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 135  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very wide open and plenty of chances for birdies. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Very little technical aspect. If the course is not mowed it is very easy to lose disks or small children in the /grass/brush in the middle.
Other Thoughts: This is the course closest to my house so we play here quite a bit. Almost to easy, but a good pick me up if you have had some bad rounds and need a low score to make you feel better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 WIDE OPEN SAPCES

5+    3/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: justint97
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Extremely easy to navigate! 0 shade if your trying to get a tan. Wide open if thats what you are looking for.
Cons: The 3rd time i went, my car was the only one in the parking lot and got broken into. Not enough elevation change or tree's to challenge the better player.
Other Thoughts: I am from out of state and played a few courses in the phoeniz area. Buffalo Ridge is by far my favorite.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your big arm here.

2-4    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Whomever designed this course did a great job, that is with what he had to work with. It is located on a drainage system in the middle of the city. It is pretty wide open with smaller trees that they try to make use of. Most of the holes are long, around 400 feet and straight shots. Get your long distant drivers out to practice here. Baskets are nice and signage is fabulous: large signs with all the info you need. While there are minimal trees on this course, they are used well to add to the challenge. Parking is very easy, right next to the 18th basket.
Cons: Not much excitiment on this course. Most hole just go back an forth across the dry canal. Though the teepads are large cement, there are a couple that have a slight dropoff the edge, just enough to make you feel you need to shorten up your x step as not to step off them. I think that there are a few teepads that use the sidewalk that edges the course. This can be busy at times, just have to wait to throw. Watch the little water at the bottom of the canal, it looks kind of dirty.
Other Thoughts: I feel they made the best course possible given the land that they had to work with. However, there is little to challenge an experienced player and new players might get frustrated with the longer, boring holes. This place can get hot and dry! No real shade to speak of so bring your liquids of choice. Generally speaking, one of the longer hole length courses in the area, so let those distance drivers fly!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A fair course

5+    12/23/2008   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Paseo is a great course for improving your long game, especially when the wind is up. Come here expecting to fling it pretty far. There isn't a whole lot of short shots to be had. Not too many obstacles so your focus will be about power and less on technique or finesse.
Throwing across a diagonal slope can present some interesting challenges for shot selection. Steep enough to get some bad rolls.
Somewhat similar to the look and feel of Shelly Sharpe (same lengths, same open terrain, grass etc.) although Shelly is nicer, better maintained, and not so remote feeling. Really spread out. The best signage in Phoenix, there are even little trash bins on each tee. (Hole one's sign was missing as of December of 2008). There are some interesting wild animals on the course, we have seen jack rabbits, mallards, giant egrets, and hawks that dive and swoop. Pretty cool.
Cons: Rare to see people playing on the course. In more than 5 visits, I have only seen another group one time. Footbridges across a wash can be muddy, slippery and dangerous. If you play this course after a rain, you can expect to get wet up to the knees or higher. The water can be stagnant and smelly. There is a real trash problem here.
Other Thoughts: I seem to notice the wind here more than any other course, probably due to the layout of the terrain which can act like a giant wind tunnel. This is a great course to work on drives. Your arm can be pretty sore if you play all 18.
Favorite hole - 13 - a long drive across a giant patch of gunite (O.B.) possible to get across in a single throw but tough.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not my kind of course

2/16/2007   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 26.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners
Creative use of a very bland terrain
Cons: Very redundant ( given the limitations of the terrain)
Not much challenge--felt like I was just throwing back and forth across a field
Other Thoughts: Hats off to the DG community of Phx for making the best out of challenging situations
I don't want my "negative" comments to be taken personally...
Playing any disc golf is better than playing no disc golf...but I would rather play a different type of course if I had the chance...and Phx offers a few other types of courses that are more fun for me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Desert River Bed

2-4    4/4/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly open with a few small scrub trees and drainage culverts for 'hazards'. Nicely laid out, good variety of distance. Course seems to be mostly disc golf dedicated except for pedestrians on the walkways bordering each side of the riverbank. Lots of chances to 'let it fly'.
Cons: Can be hot and dry in the middle of the day, bring water, and good socks and shoes and be prepared to get your discs scuffed up on the rough terrain.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly wide open, good for beginners

4/17/2007   12/29/2007
Review By: dherdt
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners. I took a few newbies from work and we had a couple of birds and many pars. Even the long holes are wide open with elevated tees. Holes 4-7 are ~250 ft and very ace-worthy. Excellent pads and best signage I have ever seen. Most of course is disc-golf only.
Cons: Not a huge challenge for the experienced. Grass (yes, there is real grass in Phoenix) can get high and hide discs.
Other Thoughts: Park closes PROMPTLY at dark, as security there will ensure you know. Share the course with a few bikers and walkers, especially on holes 1, 2 and 18. Water varies according to recent weather.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.