Texarkana, TX 
Spring Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
upgraded course!

5+    7/14/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: huntin4hitters
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park this course is in stays well manicured.
New tee boxes have been built on various holes over the past year and also new baskets put in.

There are I believe actually around 27 holes if you know where all the extra ones are but it is a straight 18 typically.

Some long holes that give a chance to rip some drives.
Cons: some signs/maps at teeboxes are broken
Other Thoughts: very good average day course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

run down

1    3/10/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pretty park
good variety of distances
good variety of shot shapes
Cons: missing signs
unreadable signs
broken baskets
confusing navigation
mostly open, no tree lined fairways, which is expected of a public park type course
Other Thoughts: would be a good course to have nearby, but hard to enjoy on a road trip because you will do a bit of wandering to find your way

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A nice park

1    3/13/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice little park. Good distances. Good routes. Decent tee pads. A very pretty location.
Cons: A bit crowded. I would like to have seen a better variety of lengths and pars. I like to see a hole or two I can go for, and 500 feet probably has no business as a par 3. Poor signage makes it hard to navigate at times.
Other Thoughts: Really pretty park. Worth a stop.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/20/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 116  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The park is very easy to find and it is easy to find where to park and begin play.

-The course is very scenic. The trees are huge and the park itself is very well manicured and cared for.

-There were asphalt tee pads which is not as good as concrete tee pads but much better than grass or dirt. The course was very easy to follow on the first 10 holes.

-The course had very good lengths on some of the holes, some holes involve a big bomb others need the player to weave through the big tall trees.
Cons: -If the first 10 holes were easy to navigate the back 8 were nearly impossible to navigate. All 8 are missing signs and I completely missed about 5 holes because I simply could not find where to go, I never saw any of the last 5 baskets. I assume either they do not exist or they are in a different part of the park because were I go lost there was, what seemed like, a brand new walking path so those last few holes must have been relocated.

-Walkers are another thing to be cautious of. Some kind of walking path comes in play on a few holes on the front 9 and since the park seems to get a lot of walking traffic there may be small waits waiting for the pedestrians to walk through.
Other Thoughts: This course is very forgettable. The front 9 are fun but the fact that the back 9 is very hard to navigate makes for not so fun disc golf.

This seems to be the only course in the area that is worth playing but definitely needs a bit of work to get the rating up.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Lake Park

2-4    5/23/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: ulickeldroma
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice course, there are some large trees on some of the holes that adds some challenge. The course flows well and you can find the next hole pretty easily when there isn't a sign (at least for 1-18).
Cons: There really aren't any long holes. About half the signs are missing. There are 4 extra holes in the woods, but there isn't a sign or map directing you to them, so they're hard to find if you don't know where they are.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/21/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my favorite type of course. Huge mature trees, short grass, no schule to deal with. You can really let your disc do what it was designed to do. This type of course is usually criticized for not offering enough challenge but to me it makes for fun, stress free disc golf in the shade. What more could you want?

Right off I-40 so you can hit up a quick round if you need a break from driving across the vast expanses of Texas and Arkansas.

Cons: Very busy park with walkers, joggers, kids, soccer games, picnics, etc, etc... so you have to be very careful and patient to play this course, especially on a nice afternoon or a Saturday morning.

A walking trail winds it's way through the entire course and you have to throw across it on quite a few occassions so just be prepared to wait.

This course seems to have evolved into 22 holes so the flow is a little confusing. I think they could easily redesign it and take some of the wide open field holes out and use the wooded holes to create a nice balanced 18 hole course on the original side of the park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  great park

5+    4/13/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: yelkcubnwahs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a great place to get your toss down, and work on your mechanics. the distance is great for bigginers and long drivers will hit birdies with no problem.
Cons: as of right now hole eight's basket has been broken by hoodlems but it is still operational, the walk way goes through over half of the course. and the holes 2,6,and 17 have a fence that you are not suposed to jump over( but i am not losing my disc, so it happens, be careful begginners)
Other Thoughts: this is a great place, no fear of danger from riff raft, they recently opend a police training facility right next to the park so crime is almost no existant, park closes at 10pm so night golf is limited.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    5/1/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: cullen50
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: its a beautiful course with a great atmosphere. it is a large well groomed course. has a side course in thick woods across the street from #4 so u can work on ur short game.
Cons: i really dont see one bad thing about this course. i think it is missing a sign or two but this course is easy to figure out.
Other Thoughts: this was the course i first played on. i learned the game on this course and when i ventured out to other courses, the other courses seemed easy.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it

1    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, great lay out, great location (safe and beautiful),
Cons: signs been to be updated/replaced
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, in a great location. Be sure to watch out for people trying to fly kites, play foot ball or walk on the paths, because they all will cross here and there. but it adds to the game. The lay out is not that challenging, but... they are all good distance shots, some baskets hide behind trees which is interesting!

all in all, I really enjoyed the course and area, parking is easy as well!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So where's the next hole?

2-4    5/23/2010   5/29/2009
Review By: disc4life
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since the completion of the walking path, the holes have been moved and placement seems well thought out (given what obstacles they had to work with).

Like others have said: safe, nice, scenic park. I enjoyed my time walking around the course, checking the rest of the park out. Good place to take a family (plenty for spouse, kids to do if they don't play disc golf).

The signs that are up at Tee pads easily move you from one hole to the next.
Cons: Since the completion of the walking path and the movement of some holes, signs are missing in places and/or holes have just been renumbered. And, early in the day, I didn't run across any of the local players to show me the way. They were there as I was leaving, though.

Walkers of course have right of way, so you may have to be patient for a minute or two on 2 or 3 holes (the pedestrian path stays out of the way / to the side for the most part).

Not many shady tee pads throughout the course.

Not a good mixing of short / long (if you can call them that; the longest is a little under 500 feet) holes. Most of the shorter holes were around the beginning. Then the longer holes went out into the open fields.
Other Thoughts: Since they moved the holes around, the course no longer starts in the northeast corner of the park. As you enter and go left, the parking lot is about halfway back on the left side--the old hole one is now around hole 15 or so.

I pass through Texarkana every now and then. I'm sure I'll be playing this one again in the future.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.