Tuscaloosa, AL 
Bowers Park Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #9 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 263ft.   3 / 316ft.   3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: "BEARDEN LANE"



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

1    5/29/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: tjohnson99
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some long and short shots. Well marked and it's very easy to find the next tee. Each tee pad was in ok shape and some even had brooms that could be used to sweep off any extra dirt.
Cons: There needs to be some bridges put in over the creek. It was difficult to cross and we had to get a little wet when crossing them.
Other Thoughts: Over all the course was good. It's was not easy after the first three holes, but it didn't seem impossible. If I'm ever back in that area I will for sure stop by and play it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

1    3/9/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 92  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very fun and challenging course set in a nice park mere minutes off the interstate. A variety of throws are required to navigate thick woods, some excellent elevation, a bit of water, left and right turns, with some good risk/reward pin placements. Good signs, flat tees and well defined fairways (excepting a few) make for easy flow, starting with open holes but quickly becoming technical. As with most heavily wooded courses, errant drives and seconds can be severely punished.
Cons: Carpet tees; all in all not bad, being flat and solid, but concrete is always an improvement. Bridges too, would be an improvement the few times you cross a creek. And while alternate pin placements are a definite plus, they need be clearly and correctly marked. Although a few holes still needed fairways they certainly make you utilize a variety of shots!
No one hole stands out as "signature."
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately I played this course only once but it left me wanting more. Fortunately, it was quite fun (so much so I felt it deserves a review) and I'd look forward to flying there again, no doubt. An excellent technical challenge for any level player this course has great potential.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great course right off the freeway

1    11/5/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.6 Years
Pros: Bowers Park has a great flow through a park perfectly suited for disc golf. I like how it starts with a few long, open holes to get the arm warmed up and then it gets technical by hole 4 all the way to 18. The wooded holes were well-defined and not as frustratingly difficult as they could have been. The designer put in a lot of thought into the shot shape of each hole and there weren't many oddly placed obstacles/trees to get in the way of a well-placed shot. This layout provided more downhill holes than uphill too. When I first stepped into the woods, i expected to occasionally have trouble finding discs (especially with the fallen leaves). This wasn't a problem as there was very little rough to worry about! These factors helped make this a FUN play as opposed to a highly technical frustratingly challenging play. Bowers park is definitely one of the more fun wooded courses I've played. I appreciated the multiple pin positions on each hole although it wasn't always clear where each pin was hiding. Signs were basic but useful
Cons: With concrete pads and a few bridges (instead of concrete-filled tires throughout the creek), I'd rate this course as a very strong 4 star. The carpet wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, but I did slip a few times on my run-up. I would imagine that these and the rubber pads would be trecherous when a little wet. As a positive, they were at least pretty uniformly flat. rubber teepads can get lumpy without proper maintenance
Other Thoughts: Driving from Louisville to New Orleans, this was a perfect pit-stop off the 59/20 hwy and exit 73. It is seriously a 1 minute drive from the highway! I played it with a friend in about an hour and we each had a thoroughly enjoyable disc golf experience.

 Nice wooded course

1    8/13/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice wooded course that starts you off with a 3 long holes that are mostly open with some big mature trees. From there you go into heavy woods for the rest of the round. The woods for the most part are tight and pretty thick. The majority of the holes have well defined fairways. There are mutliple pin location of every hole. 3 of the holes incorporate a nice little creek that can make for some really nice holes with baskets right before or just over the creek. There is a good mix of left and right throws.
Cons: Concrete pads would be nice but the carpet actaully felt fine.

A couple of the holes were kind of a crap shoot. Hit your first gap and hope.

There bidges over the creek need to be replaced, one of them was even missing.

The first hole buy the creek the pin was not in the marked location. I threw over the creek to were it was supposed to be only to get down there and find no bridge over the creek and the basket on the short side over to the left.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty tough course but was a fun play. There are some really nice holes and several duece oppurtunies. If you are close it is well worth checking out.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.