Scottsdale, AZ 
Vista Del Camino Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #15 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 264ft.   3 / 296ft.   3 / 329ft.   3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Mid Fairway



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Too open - disappointed

1    1/13/2016   1/13/2016
Review By: gabereif
Played: 38  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Free
-Easy parking
-Beautiful kiosk with info on leagues, lessons, course map
-Great concrete tees
-Baskets with double chains that catch great
-Multiple pin positions
-Good use of water and existing topography
Cons: -Very flat plot of land
-Hardly any risk/reward. Rewards distance and places hardly any value on accuracy
-Course plays along pedestrian walkways and somewhat close to parking and apartments
Other Thoughts: I showed up at the course at 7AM and was glad to find the course was accessible, despite the fact that I had read something online that the park opens at 9AM. You can play it any time you want. The park was pretty dead and I was the only disc golfer around. I may have had a better experience if I had met some of the locals. But I may have had a worse experience if the trails had had more pedestrians.

This course is entirely different than courses in New England, where I play most of my disc golf. There is no rough. You do not have to hit lines. There is hardly any topography. The trees are few and far between. The holes are long and there are trees in the fairways, but you don't have to hit gaps in order to be successful. Just launch your disc as far as you can through a very wide space between a couple of trees, and you'll be left with a 50-100 foot approach and a pretty easy par. Distance makes birdies pretty much impossible unless you can throw accurate 325 foot shots (most of my accurate drives only go 280 feet). The golf is not dynamic or interesting. For the most part, it's repetitive. The course designer did a good job of using the small hills around the property, and some of the water holes provide some challenge. The pin positions on hills and near the water are good. But when I saw this course was rated 3.4, I was expecting something substantially better. The tees and baskets are great and the design is good and the use of water is very good. But I'm not interested in playing this course again, although it's certainly a valuable local resource.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The other course

1    1/18/2015   1/6/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 85  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2016
1 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: The course has more obstacles and is more interesting than the other courses in the area.
Cons: The course is far too long and the obstacles aren't enough to make it all that interesting. No elevation either. It's just another prime example of a place that the technology of the game has passed by. It doesn't offer any real technical (i.e. skill based) challenges and is just another glorified distance competition.
Other Thoughts: Courses like these need to go the way of the dinosaurs.

1 of 22 people found this review helpful.

A nice city park course with few challenges

5+    11/5/2016   9/5/2015
Review By: pianocomposer
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2016
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting with some challenging water and distance holes.
Cons: Few elevation changes, few challenges and few significant trees. Repetitious. Watch out for park users. Plays tough in the wind. Throwing into properties = lost disc. Water shots will be returned at nearby Spinners on the Green.
Other Thoughts: Very few challenges. Long does not equal interesting. This course does not belong in the desert (what a waste of water!)

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 overrated courses must be a thing in PHX

1    8/3/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 253  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -a couple of small, interlinked ponds that come into play on some holes
-a few holes make use of the extremely limited elevation changes
-tons of alternate basket placements is great for locals and replay value but difficult for the traveler to ascertain in which placement the basket is currently located
-some trees to provide shade and an obstacle or two
-concrete tees, older but decent baskets
Cons: -few obstacles on the course other than some sparse trees and the water. there are usually just one or two trees to avoid on each fairway but nothing that demands a certain line.
-tricky navigation spot: cross the creek after hole 3 to get to hole 4
-no marker system on the tees for the basket positions
Other Thoughts: This course is situated in a decently sized city park with a few small ponds running through the middle. The course makes decent use of the land but the land doesn't have much to offer. I found the only fun holes to be the ones next to the water and the elevated ace run on hole 8.

A great feature of this course is the many basket positions on every hole. Most holes have 5 or 6 positions and it is a nice way to keep the course interesting for the locals that play here. Unfortunately it makes it difficult for the traveler to determine which location is currently being used. There are all visible from the tee but it would be nice to know the distances on some of the longer holes where it is harder to eyeball off the tee.

A nice looking course with mediocre golf, saved from being completely boring by the water in play on holes 1, 9, 11, and 18. Seems like it is unfortunately one of the better options on the east side of the Phoenix metro area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course with "risk factor"

2-4    10/6/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: stratedge
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course/park that is well used with a disc golf shop nearby. Really enjoyed my day here hitting up the shop for a couple new discs, testing them out during a round, break for lunch/beer at the bar, then another 18.

The fact that the course is very easy is a "pro" for beginner/intermediate players. If you can throw in the 300-350 ft range, every hole becomes very deuce-able. I want to go back because I'm mad at myself for not throwing under par here.

The water holes are very interesting and make the game challenging on a psychological level; the challenge being to ignore the water and throw your normal shot. Not something I see in my home city so I enjoyed that. I actually had one disc go into the water after hitting a tree on hole 11, but it was at the edge so I just grabbed it.

Course is well used, which I like, it's nice to meet other people playing and exchange pleasantries.

Drinking water fountains came in handy as it was super hot when I was here.

The signage, tee pads, and baskets are all quality and well maintained. I was easily able to tell which basket placement was in use simply by looking at the basket relative to the trees around it, and then relating that to the map.
Cons: Primarily, the course is flat and sparsely treed, and so most of the holes play the same way and are very simple: long throw around the 1 big tree in play, upshot/long putt, putt out. It would seem to get boring rather quickly if you were to play it a lot.

The Sunday afternoon I was there, the park was really busy and human obstacles were a very big issue. Early in the afternoon I was able to play all 18 by just waiting for people to pass at times. But when I came back after lunch, I couldn't play hole 1 as a family had set up shop right in the sweet spot of the fairway. Then hole 2 was an issue as a bunch of guys were playing football right in that fairway. And waiting for people walking through the fairways, sometimes VERY slowly, was happening quite a bit. A couple holes play pretty tight to the pathway OB, such that you have to wait a few minutes for a break in traffic to throw comfortably. As seems to be the case everywhere, it's often comical how oblivious people can be to the disc golf happening around them.
Other Thoughts: If I was a Phoenix area local, this is a course that would be in my weekend rotation, but I don't think I'd be playing it too much.

As a visitor, this isn't a "destination" course by itself, but taken as a package with it's convenient location, the disc shop, and the bar which had good food... I had a great day here and would recommend it as a 4-5 hour excursion. The selection at "Spinners" is awesome, it was my first time in a dedicated disc golf shop and browsing through all the discs I'd read about online was interesting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/4/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Treedestroyer9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Some nice long nice holes some trees in the way make fun obstacles also the water hazards add a little butt pucker factor fun overall course!
Cons: stupid people yelling at you to put your dog on a leash and hoodlum kids cursing all over the place.
Other Thoughts: good course for phoenix. Ill play it again!

1 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: Poiball
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With the course runs around a little pond which is nice, and adds a bit of difficulty and diversity to the course. The signs on each hole are detailed enough so that it is hard to not be able to find a hole.
Cons: This course is not difficult by any means. The variety of shots are very limited, so if you are an intermediate or better the course is a little monotonous. There are no obstacles, other than the pond, to force a certain type of shot.
Other Thoughts: This course has two layouts, one long course for tournaments, and a shorter more boring course for everyday ams. I have only ever played the short, recreational course. So maybe when the course is set to its tournament layout it is better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 4 of 5 discs? Seriously?

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A open course set in a city park. Grass everywhere instead of the normal rock/dirt for the area. Baskets in good conditions as well as nice level concrete teepads. Water adds to the challenge on several holes, but a well thrown disc won't have any problems.
Cons: The signage is confusing on the holes. No maps left at the start and there was obvious navigation issues, especially between holes 3 and 4. Multiple baskets on each hole I presume. Standing on the teepad, there is easily 3 to 4 baskets that could be thrown at, but it is rather confusing to figure which ones belong to which hole. They do that for options in which to pick from, but way to confusing. Teepads are painted green and with the grass being wet from the sprinklers, the teepads get slick, watch your drives or you could end up on the ground. Park is flat and lacks a lot of trees. Trees are essential to a good disc golf course, something that has apparently been overlooked in Phoenix courses. Not a whole lot of variety in hole design, play the first few and that is what you get for the rest of the course. Also pay close attention to other park users as there is a trail throughout the park and a few homeless that don't know that a disc might be heading their way.
Other Thoughts: When I started ny review it was rated 4/5 discs. Really, a 4/5 disc rating? I definately stand by my 2.5/5 rating. The water shots on this course are something that is rare for the Phoenix area. There are few trees, but what they do have are used well. None of the holes really stand out for me. It is cool to have a great disc gold store right on site. Lots of beginners here and combine that with the other park users and it can make for some pretty long waits at times. For a much more technical challenge, I would head to another course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.