Scottsdale, AZ 
Vista Del Camino Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 315ft.   3 / 355ft.   3 / 384ft.   3 / 408ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A Scottsdale Favorite!

5+    5/4/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: The water: there are only a few courses in Arizona with water in play, and Vista del Camino has plenty of it. #1, 9, 10, and 18 involve throws over water, so be careful.

The terrain: a course in Arizona with grass?? It's a great change of pace for AZ disc golfers.

Spinners on the Green: the BEST disc golf shop in AZ, hands down! The shop is about a 2 minute walk from #11. Even if you're not looking to get a new disc, you should stop by. They also have a great lost-and-found system for discs - if you happen to lose a few in the water, check with Spinners later in the week!
Cons: The pedestrians: don't get me wrong, they aren't doing anything wrong. But some of the baskets require throws that are close to the Indian Wash Greenbelt, so watch out for cyclists and walkers.
Other Thoughts: I'm in Phoenix about once a month, and this is the course I always play!

nice park

1    3/14/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- large concrete tee pads
- good signage showing all relevant hole info
- well maintained grounds
- good use of water hazards
Cons:
- sign missing on hole 18
- just one set of tee boxes
- while the signs say there are 4 pin locations for each hole, it does not appear that the baskets have been moved in a very long time
- it can be difficult to find the next tee pad
Other Thoughts: The course is nested inside a very nice park. Give your self and extra hour and take a bike, skateboard, volleyball, horseshoes or etc. and spend some time hanging out after your round. Also, visit the disc golf shop (Spinners) near the tee for hole 12.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/24/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good signage and concrete tees
multiple pin placement
fun course
waterhazards come into play on a few holes
restrooms and water available
shop in the plaza next door
Cons: multiuse park, can be busy
Other Thoughts: I like this course. The water holes can be intimidating for the new player. Not much else to add to the other reviews. The tourney set up is really fun.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lets see, Vista Del Camino...

2-4    10/8/2010   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: VERY nice course situated in a public park with plenty of challenges. I really enjoyed this course with it's creek running through the middle, sloping greens. well placed layout through and around the trees (the trees make this a very comfortable course during mid-day heat), and nice grass throughout. Well maintained and played regularly by golfers also helps to divert regular park traffic to the other half across the road. Nice distances/challenges to each hole make this a great course for beginners and pros alike. Highly recommended.
Cons: Just the occasional pedestrian and a couple sticky OB areas. I managed to land a disc in the fenced off culvert off hole #8 which made an interesting retrieval..
Other Thoughts: Not very much privacy so be careful. Especially if your having one of those games. While I was there I saw a few families with children...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Vista Del Camino...

1    7/27/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays around a system of ponds and creeks that come into play on several holes. Most of the holes are flat, but some have big hills. Lots of pin positions are on the side of hills which creates some tough putting. There are real grass and real trees! It's a nice break from all of the desert courses in the Phoenix area. Concrete tee pads are good, but can get slick (why are they green?). Most of the tee signs are very good and fairly accurate, but they don't direct you to the next tee. Chainstar baskets are in good condition and usually work well, but you can occasionally get a slice-through. There's a nice variety of hole length.
Cons: From hole 13 to 17 it gets repetitive and confusing. Most of the those holes play straight with a few trees in your way. Not very many "lefty friendly" holes. Multiple baskets in play at one time can get confusing at times. Lots of non-disc golfers in the park which can get dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Water hazards are very fun to play, but if you land in the water it's pretty gross getting your disc out. Almost everyone in the park is nice, including the mowers who will stop for you when you get to a hole they're working on. I got to play with a local who was very friendly (and very good!). The concrete tee pads get covered in grass on mowing day. (The day I happened to play.) This is a must play if you're in the area.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    3/24/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice teepads
- Beautiful landscape
- Multiple pin positions
- High Risk/Reward shots
- Variety of distance
- Good signage for the most part
- Spinners pro shop
- Duke's Sports Grill
Cons: - Some navigation issues on where the next tee was.
- Multiple pin positions were kind of confusing the first time out. Would have liked to have someone who has played the course and knows the course with me.
- Multi-purpose park watch out for other park users especially bikers and runners.
- If you fear the water there are a couple risky holes, but for the most part it is easy to play it safe.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful park. As stated in the cons, my group had trouble figuring out which pin placement was in the ground on some holes. Despite that problem we still had an excellent round of golf. The course is designed and maintained beautifully. Spinners is a great stop right before heading out. They are well stocked and the man that helped my family was very knowledgeable. My group made an afternoon of it, hit Spinners on the way out, played the course and hit Duke's after. It was a memorable afternoon and course. If you are in the area or willing to make the trip, definitely check this course out.

***UPDATE***
After playing some additional courses this is not quite as good as the very best. It needs better tee signs and navigational help, but is still a great course, I changed my rating from 4.5 to 4.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best to play in the morning if you are a beginner.

1    2/23/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: rcmalamutes
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + lots of variety of shots
+ lots of variety in distance
+ great use of the terrain (water, hills on front nine, trees)
+ great tee boxes (concrete, good size, mostly well marked... some of the signs need to be replaced.)
+ nicely marked pin locations (can be a bit odd, because the pins can be moved to different locations... this makes the distance (if you are using the record a round feature) fluctuate between color of tees... but it is pretty easy to check the distance using the signs... unless they are missing or faded (as they are on a few)
+access to SPINNERS ON THE GREEN is wonderful. This is the course that fees the most like a standard golf course... lots of use, pro shop close by... very cool
Cons: the only real con to this course is the number of people - both golfers and non (but mostly non).

I have gone to play this course about six times before today, and I was always scared away by the number of people on the course. They are everywhere. Bikers, pedestrians, joggers, dog walkers..... and the weekends... egads, forget it (unless you are a lot better than me, and don't get horrified by shanking a drive and hurting somebody).
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome. It is very nicely maintained and provides a lot of versatile practice.... distance, technique, putting, trees, water hazards... it is very cool. But, as a fellow disc golfer told me when I just about tagged a lady reading her book as she was walking her dog on a drive shot that got a bit away from me, you can really hurt people here. The course is played all along the foot/ bike path, on both sides, and that creates a rather narrow (again... I am new, so it feels narrow for me, but my drives aren't super controlled yet) fairway.

So I finally got a chance to play on a weekday just before 9 AM.... the course was mostly clear of people..... I had a blast... worked on some of my problem areas.... and only almost killed one soul. It was good all around....

But as the fellow disc golfer told me, there have BEEN A LOT OF COMPLAINTS about the disc golf communittee here by NON-PLAYERS.... and I guess we may be in danger of the city taking the course away because of people getting hit. I had a near miss.... BE CAREFUL ON THIS COURSE.... be conservative in the peak hours.... wait for non-players to be well out of the way... DO NOT TAKE CHANCES... just be PATIENT.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Truth About Shelly Sharpe

5+    1/10/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: Corey Devin Anderson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Punishes grip lock (for RHBH).
-Rewards long, well placed drives and good putts
-Good risk/reward ratio on most holes
-Lots of OB, but can generally be avoided with good shots
-Wind adds difficulty much of the year
--Roller shots can be used effectively when ground is hard pack in winter and spring.
-Flat concrete tee boxes on 17 of 18 holes
-Good balance of open space and tree foliage
-Great disc golf community (including league and pro shop); lots of very good pros and ams can be spotted on this course
-Park well-maintained
Cons: -Multiple use park, so one must work around park traffic at times (but disc golf traffic is usually high enough to keep the fairways clear)
-Not a whole lot of elevation changes, but slopes on side of park comes into play on many holes
-Often windy (see Pros)
-Easy to lose discs if thrown OB
-Lacks solitude
-Public bathrooms not easily accessible (unless Duke's is open).
-Some have made a business of retrieving lost discs, rather than turning them into the pro shop
-Hole #1 is located at the extreme end of the park from the pro shop (hint: most locals start at #12); so figuring out the flow of the course can be a struggle at first
-Hole #4 is located on the other side of the wash from Hole #3; this is a common source of confusion for first timers
-Poorly thrown hyser shot results in easy approach on many holes
Other Thoughts: I would be skeptical of those who have given Shelly Sharpe a low rating, as this is one of the premier disc golf courses in the country. Yes, it lacks the forested feel and elevation changes of some courses, but it is a great example of a "park" course with water hazards. Sure, if you think disc golf is all about throwing blind prayer shots into tree groves, then Shelly Sharpe may not be your place. However, for those with big arms and good putting skills, there are lots of birdie opportunities; others will find this course extremely challenging, especially when the wind picks up. The wind really adds to the challenge of the water features (esp. holes 1, 9, and 18).

A water retriever is a must on this course; I recommend the locally designed Ashley retriever which can be purchased at Spinners. The retriever will pay for itself in one day and you might even find some discs in the process (which should be turned in for store credit at Spinners).

All in all this is a great disc golf course that will grow on you over time. If the course had a little more variation in terms of terrain and were a pure disc golf park (with less pedestrian traffic) it would be a five star course. Nevertheless, a must play in Arizona and a great alternative to the desert terrain courses in the area.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 All around good fun

2-4    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the greenway park. Well signed. Clean park. Nice grass. Good variety of lengths. Nice use of water. A must play for the area. back for another visit 2, 2011. Dry grass great for skipping and rolling. Very clean. No trash.
Cons: A few holes gave me the water willies. Sadly, like others do, I threw a less than fave disc on shots where water spooked me... and with a less than fave disc, you make a less than ideal toss... Did not lose any plastic... but, if the lake was frozen like they do get back home... :)
Other Thoughts: Also must stop in at Spinners for discs. I stopped by, bought a few. Got the low down on courses in the area. Nice ppl. Thank you for your info and service. Still an enjoyabel place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Bring Spares Disc

2-4    4/12/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: disc_thrower
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. You really get tested on hole one having to throw over water with your drive. If you play it too safe away from the water, water comes into play on your second shot too. There are many holes that you can really let it fly and others you have to be more careful. I agree that parking near Duke's is recommended but if you start at 12, make sure you don't jump in when there is a group at the basket on 11.
Cons: Don't play on Easter Sunday. The park is full of families and they set up tables all over the course. I lost a few disc's in the water because I didn't want to land a disc near a family.
Other Thoughts: Spinners is a great Pro Shop. The staff is great and they have a large selection of Disc. Don't buy Disc's at the big sporting good stores. Support your local Disc Shops.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.