Scottsdale, AZ 
Vista Del Camino Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 2/2008)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 313ft.   3 / 341ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Too open - disappointed

1    1/13/2016   1/13/2016
Review By: gabereif
Played: 38  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Free
-Easy parking
-Beautiful kiosk with info on leagues, lessons, course map
-Great concrete tees
-Baskets with double chains that catch great
-Multiple pin positions
-Good use of water and existing topography
Cons: -Very flat plot of land
-Hardly any risk/reward. Rewards distance and places hardly any value on accuracy
-Course plays along pedestrian walkways and somewhat close to parking and apartments
Other Thoughts: I showed up at the course at 7AM and was glad to find the course was accessible, despite the fact that I had read something online that the park opens at 9AM. You can play it any time you want. The park was pretty dead and I was the only disc golfer around. I may have had a better experience if I had met some of the locals. But I may have had a worse experience if the trails had had more pedestrians.

This course is entirely different than courses in New England, where I play most of my disc golf. There is no rough. You do not have to hit lines. There is hardly any topography. The trees are few and far between. The holes are long and there are trees in the fairways, but you don't have to hit gaps in order to be successful. Just launch your disc as far as you can through a very wide space between a couple of trees, and you'll be left with a 50-100 foot approach and a pretty easy par. Distance makes birdies pretty much impossible unless you can throw accurate 325 foot shots (most of my accurate drives only go 280 feet). The golf is not dynamic or interesting. For the most part, it's repetitive. The course designer did a good job of using the small hills around the property, and some of the water holes provide some challenge. The pin positions on hills and near the water are good. But when I saw this course was rated 3.4, I was expecting something substantially better. The tees and baskets are great and the design is good and the use of water is very good. But I'm not interested in playing this course again, although it's certainly a valuable local resource.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The other course

1    1/18/2015   1/6/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 84  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2016
1 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: The course has more obstacles and is more interesting than the other courses in the area.
Cons: The course is far too long and the obstacles aren't enough to make it all that interesting. No elevation either. It's just another prime example of a place that the technology of the game has passed by. It doesn't offer any real technical (i.e. skill based) challenges and is just another glorified distance competition.
Other Thoughts: Courses like these need to go the way of the dinosaurs.

1 of 22 people found this review helpful.

A nice city park course with few challenges

5+    11/5/2016   9/5/2015
Review By: pianocomposer
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2016
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting with some challenging water and distance holes.
Cons: Few elevation changes, few challenges and few significant trees. Repetitious. Watch out for park users. Plays tough in the wind. Throwing into properties = lost disc. Water shots will be returned at nearby Spinners on the Green.
Other Thoughts: Very few challenges. Long does not equal interesting. This course does not belong in the desert (what a waste of water!)

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Top Level, but Humbling...

1    7/9/2015   7/9/2015
Review By: JNichols
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow. What a beautiful setting for a DG course in the Phoenix area! Lush, Green , some trees, all in a nice Park setting. A nice combination of hole lengths and Alternate Basket placements. The layout is a Great use of available space in the park. O.B. is well defined, fairways are fair, available trees and obstacles are well placed/thought out. A good number of Water holes to keep it interesting, especially with the lines of them and the WIND.
Cons: Some of the holes, particularly on the back 9, seem like repeats of the same hole. Not that it is a CON, per se, but this is a Multi use park. LOTS of other folks doing other things and you need to keep your eye out Before you throw.
Other Thoughts: I was Stoked to Finally set foot on this course after seeing it on Youtube over and over. If the Wind is Constant like it was today, I can see this course being a bit of a Sleeper, IMO. The WIND came up after Hole 5 and beat us to death. Steady 15-20 mph with 25-30 mph gusts. For an Intermediate player like me, I recommend being prepared to throw more Stable plastic than Normal! Can't wait to hit this course again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    11/8/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice city park. The fairways are grassy with some scattered mature trees. There are a couple holes with defined lines, others make you choose which way to go around an obstructing tree or two to get to the basket. The park is flat with a couple small hills coming into play and providing some rollaway potential.

The small ponds in the park come into play on several holes. Some have interesting risk reward decisions with an opportunity to lay up and take the water out of play or the chance to go for the pin with a trickier water carry. There is a variety of hole lengths with some shorter reachable ace runs and some longer holes where most players will be reaching for their long drivers. The tee signs are nice and descriptive, showing the multiple pin positions. The tees and pins are in fine shape.
Cons: The park is busy, with a walking path running through a lot of the holes. The design works to minimize conflicts, but there are still a lot of safety concerns. On top of this, many of the fairways seem to be popular picnic spots on a nice weekend afternoon.

The course is flat and mostly open. There just aren't enough obstacles or terrain to keep the holes from feeling repetitive. The tee signs are nice but don't indicate which pin position is in use which makes them a little less helpful for first time players.
Other Thoughts: This course does a pretty good job with the space available, but it ends up being a bit repetitive and doesn't present enough different challenges to be a top course. Beginners might find some of the holes a bit long, but with no underbrush it won't get too frustrating. Experienced players can get some good practice time in here, but with no line shaping required it's not going to be the best test of a full set of skills.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 overrated courses must be a thing in PHX

1    8/3/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 253  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -a couple of small, interlinked ponds that come into play on some holes
-a few holes make use of the extremely limited elevation changes
-tons of alternate basket placements is great for locals and replay value but difficult for the traveler to ascertain in which placement the basket is currently located
-some trees to provide shade and an obstacle or two
-concrete tees, older but decent baskets
Cons: -few obstacles on the course other than some sparse trees and the water. there are usually just one or two trees to avoid on each fairway but nothing that demands a certain line.
-tricky navigation spot: cross the creek after hole 3 to get to hole 4
-no marker system on the tees for the basket positions
Other Thoughts: This course is situated in a decently sized city park with a few small ponds running through the middle. The course makes decent use of the land but the land doesn't have much to offer. I found the only fun holes to be the ones next to the water and the elevated ace run on hole 8.

A great feature of this course is the many basket positions on every hole. Most holes have 5 or 6 positions and it is a nice way to keep the course interesting for the locals that play here. Unfortunately it makes it difficult for the traveler to determine which location is currently being used. There are all visible from the tee but it would be nice to know the distances on some of the longer holes where it is harder to eyeball off the tee.

A nice looking course with mediocre golf, saved from being completely boring by the water in play on holes 1, 9, 11, and 18. Seems like it is unfortunately one of the better options on the east side of the Phoenix metro area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Scottsdale Favorite!

5+    5/4/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The water: there are only a few courses in Arizona with water in play, and Vista del Camino has plenty of it. #1, 9, 10, and 18 involve throws over water, so be careful.

The terrain: a course in Arizona with grass?? It's a great change of pace for AZ disc golfers.

Spinners on the Green: the BEST disc golf shop in AZ, hands down! The shop is about a 2 minute walk from #11. Even if you're not looking to get a new disc, you should stop by. They also have a great lost-and-found system for discs - if you happen to lose a few in the water, check with Spinners later in the week!
Cons: The pedestrians: don't get me wrong, they aren't doing anything wrong. But some of the baskets require throws that are close to the Indian Wash Greenbelt, so watch out for cyclists and walkers.
Other Thoughts: I'm in Phoenix about once a month, and this is the course I always play!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice park

1    3/14/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: a.sorensen
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros:
- large concrete tee pads
- good signage showing all relevant hole info
- well maintained grounds
- good use of water hazards
Cons:
- sign missing on hole 18
- just one set of tee boxes
- while the signs say there are 4 pin locations for each hole, it does not appear that the baskets have been moved in a very long time
- it can be difficult to find the next tee pad
Other Thoughts: The course is nested inside a very nice park. Give your self and extra hour and take a bike, skateboard, volleyball, horseshoes or etc. and spend some time hanging out after your round. Also, visit the disc golf shop (Spinners) near the tee for hole 12.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course with "risk factor"

2-4    10/6/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: stratedge
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course/park that is well used with a disc golf shop nearby. Really enjoyed my day here hitting up the shop for a couple new discs, testing them out during a round, break for lunch/beer at the bar, then another 18.

The fact that the course is very easy is a "pro" for beginner/intermediate players. If you can throw in the 300-350 ft range, every hole becomes very deuce-able. I want to go back because I'm mad at myself for not throwing under par here.

The water holes are very interesting and make the game challenging on a psychological level; the challenge being to ignore the water and throw your normal shot. Not something I see in my home city so I enjoyed that. I actually had one disc go into the water after hitting a tree on hole 11, but it was at the edge so I just grabbed it.

Course is well used, which I like, it's nice to meet other people playing and exchange pleasantries.

Drinking water fountains came in handy as it was super hot when I was here.

The signage, tee pads, and baskets are all quality and well maintained. I was easily able to tell which basket placement was in use simply by looking at the basket relative to the trees around it, and then relating that to the map.
Cons: Primarily, the course is flat and sparsely treed, and so most of the holes play the same way and are very simple: long throw around the 1 big tree in play, upshot/long putt, putt out. It would seem to get boring rather quickly if you were to play it a lot.

The Sunday afternoon I was there, the park was really busy and human obstacles were a very big issue. Early in the afternoon I was able to play all 18 by just waiting for people to pass at times. But when I came back after lunch, I couldn't play hole 1 as a family had set up shop right in the sweet spot of the fairway. Then hole 2 was an issue as a bunch of guys were playing football right in that fairway. And waiting for people walking through the fairways, sometimes VERY slowly, was happening quite a bit. A couple holes play pretty tight to the pathway OB, such that you have to wait a few minutes for a break in traffic to throw comfortably. As seems to be the case everywhere, it's often comical how oblivious people can be to the disc golf happening around them.
Other Thoughts: If I was a Phoenix area local, this is a course that would be in my weekend rotation, but I don't think I'd be playing it too much.

As a visitor, this isn't a "destination" course by itself, but taken as a package with it's convenient location, the disc shop, and the bar which had good food... I had a great day here and would recommend it as a 4-5 hour excursion. The selection at "Spinners" is awesome, it was my first time in a dedicated disc golf shop and browsing through all the discs I'd read about online was interesting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good warm up course.

1    9/20/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 61  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The lake. Without the lake, this course would not be worth playing. Of course the lake is there and adds a certain risk/reward factor to many of the holes, especially 1, 9, 11 and 18. What elevation there is is used well. The park is clean, the tee pads are concrete and there are multiple baskets on most tees.

Also a big plus is the location in the shopping center near hole 12 of "Spinners on the Green," a great disc golf shop. Stop by and give them some business before, during or after your round.
Cons: There are multiple baskets on some holes and multiple basket positions on all the holes. But there is no way to tell at the tee pad which of the 4-5 positions are being utilized, which defeats the distance marking at the tees a little bit. This is only a minor con.

The holes tend to be wide open with only sparse trees and occasional OB to add some complexity.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty easy course. More advanced players aren't going to get much of a challenge out of this course. But this course has a certain fun factor because of the layout of the holes that use the lake for OB that makes it a great choice if you are in the Phoenix area and looking to play a round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center