Scottsdale, AZ
Vista Del Camino Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #18 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 355ft.   3 / 384ft.   3 / 408ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Love the water, but...

1    5/1/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 102  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice use of a long, kind of narrow "greenway" (it's not really that green!). This is one of the few really recreational courses I've played that incorporated so much water. Some might not like it, but it definitely forces some accuracy and adds character to the course. Each hole has numerous basket locations, so I imagine that the course gets a little refreshment when they move the baskets. The signage was pretty decent, showing the locations of the various pin positions and the respective distances. I liked that the basket locations made use of the little elevation the park has to offer, so there were several holes with baskets on a slope, making you think about whether you should go for it from 25-30 feet out.
Cons: The navigation of this course is way too difficult for just a regular park. There are usually 5-6 baskets within 400 feet of you at any given time, so it's not easy to figure out where the next tee is and what basket you are throwing to (the signs help a little, but they don't help you get to the next tee). Several holes had more than one basket in use! I've never seen a course than had multiple baskets in use on only some of the holes. Confusing. Several holes play too close to the trail, and I have to think it's only a matter of time before a bystander gets nailed by a disc. Not the way to grow the sport.

The holes on the back 9 that don't involve water are a little boring. There aren't a ton of trees here, so it's possible to spray shots well off your intended line but not get punished at all on the non-water holes (which is fine if you need the confidence boost, but it won't make you better).

Some might view the water and the potential for lost discs as a con, but I don't. However, it does make this a poor course for people who haven't played much.
Other Thoughts: The basket locations here seemed to take into account the topography pretty well, but not necessarily the traffic. If it weren't for the number of people, this course would be safer and a bit more fun. That said, I definitely enjoyed my round. The water shots made you plan your route to the basket, and the wind challenged me to throw my best shots on those holes. If you can get in here when it's not too busy, you'll probably have a good time, too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best to play in the morning if you are a beginner.

1    2/23/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: rcmalamutes
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + lots of variety of shots
+ lots of variety in distance
+ great use of the terrain (water, hills on front nine, trees)
+ great tee boxes (concrete, good size, mostly well marked... some of the signs need to be replaced.)
+ nicely marked pin locations (can be a bit odd, because the pins can be moved to different locations... this makes the distance (if you are using the record a round feature) fluctuate between color of tees... but it is pretty easy to check the distance using the signs... unless they are missing or faded (as they are on a few)
+access to SPINNERS ON THE GREEN is wonderful. This is the course that fees the most like a standard golf course... lots of use, pro shop close by... very cool
Cons: the only real con to this course is the number of people - both golfers and non (but mostly non).

I have gone to play this course about six times before today, and I was always scared away by the number of people on the course. They are everywhere. Bikers, pedestrians, joggers, dog walkers..... and the weekends... egads, forget it (unless you are a lot better than me, and don't get horrified by shanking a drive and hurting somebody).
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome. It is very nicely maintained and provides a lot of versatile practice.... distance, technique, putting, trees, water hazards... it is very cool. But, as a fellow disc golfer told me when I just about tagged a lady reading her book as she was walking her dog on a drive shot that got a bit away from me, you can really hurt people here. The course is played all along the foot/ bike path, on both sides, and that creates a rather narrow (again... I am new, so it feels narrow for me, but my drives aren't super controlled yet) fairway.

So I finally got a chance to play on a weekday just before 9 AM.... the course was mostly clear of people..... I had a blast... worked on some of my problem areas.... and only almost killed one soul. It was good all around....

But as the fellow disc golfer told me, there have BEEN A LOT OF COMPLAINTS about the disc golf communittee here by NON-PLAYERS.... and I guess we may be in danger of the city taking the course away because of people getting hit. I had a near miss.... BE CAREFUL ON THIS COURSE.... be conservative in the peak hours.... wait for non-players to be well out of the way... DO NOT TAKE CHANCES... just be PATIENT.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Truth About Shelly Sharpe

5+    1/10/2010   1/11/2010
Review By: Corey Devin Anderson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Punishes grip lock (for RHBH).
-Rewards long, well placed drives and good putts
-Good risk/reward ratio on most holes
-Lots of OB, but can generally be avoided with good shots
-Wind adds difficulty much of the year
--Roller shots can be used effectively when ground is hard pack in winter and spring.
-Flat concrete tee boxes on 17 of 18 holes
-Good balance of open space and tree foliage
-Great disc golf community (including league and pro shop); lots of very good pros and ams can be spotted on this course
-Park well-maintained
Cons: -Multiple use park, so one must work around park traffic at times (but disc golf traffic is usually high enough to keep the fairways clear)
-Not a whole lot of elevation changes, but slopes on side of park comes into play on many holes
-Often windy (see Pros)
-Easy to lose discs if thrown OB
-Lacks solitude
-Public bathrooms not easily accessible (unless Duke's is open).
-Some have made a business of retrieving lost discs, rather than turning them into the pro shop
-Hole #1 is located at the extreme end of the park from the pro shop (hint: most locals start at #12); so figuring out the flow of the course can be a struggle at first
-Hole #4 is located on the other side of the wash from Hole #3; this is a common source of confusion for first timers
-Poorly thrown hyser shot results in easy approach on many holes
Other Thoughts: I would be skeptical of those who have given Shelly Sharpe a low rating, as this is one of the premier disc golf courses in the country. Yes, it lacks the forested feel and elevation changes of some courses, but it is a great example of a "park" course with water hazards. Sure, if you think disc golf is all about throwing blind prayer shots into tree groves, then Shelly Sharpe may not be your place. However, for those with big arms and good putting skills, there are lots of birdie opportunities; others will find this course extremely challenging, especially when the wind picks up. The wind really adds to the challenge of the water features (esp. holes 1, 9, and 18).

A water retriever is a must on this course; I recommend the locally designed Ashley retriever which can be purchased at Spinners. The retriever will pay for itself in one day and you might even find some discs in the process (which should be turned in for store credit at Spinners).

All in all this is a great disc golf course that will grow on you over time. If the course had a little more variation in terms of terrain and were a pure disc golf park (with less pedestrian traffic) it would be a five star course. Nevertheless, a must play in Arizona and a great alternative to the desert terrain courses in the area.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 fun and straightforward

1    11/24/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: chonb
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: except for a couple of water shots, great for beginners: wide open, flat, ability to use rhbh for most drives. also a solid course for those more advanced to hone their pin-seeking skills as there are plenty of opportunities for sub-par scoring,
multiple pin locations and decent signage always a plus.
Cons: very flat, and plays repetively--most holes are just down and then back either side of the wash. a couple of over the water drives reminds me of aquatic park in berkeley. but at least here you can wade in and retrieve your disc.
Other Thoughts: spinners pro shop and a sports bar near the 12th hole makes it a great destination.
nothing inspiring, but a course worth playing again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 All around good fun

2-4    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the greenway park. Well signed. Clean park. Nice grass. Good variety of lengths. Nice use of water. A must play for the area. back for another visit 2, 2011. Dry grass great for skipping and rolling. Very clean. No trash.
Cons: A few holes gave me the water willies. Sadly, like others do, I threw a less than fave disc on shots where water spooked me... and with a less than fave disc, you make a less than ideal toss... Did not lose any plastic... but, if the lake was frozen like they do get back home... :)
Other Thoughts: Also must stop in at Spinners for discs. I stopped by, bought a few. Got the low down on courses in the area. Nice ppl. Thank you for your info and service. Still an enjoyabel place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty course that meanders along a small stream, grassy fields and a smattering of trees. Other than some water hazards, would be a great course for beginners. Enjoyable but no too difficult, as it's mostly open, with only slight elevation on two holes. The real bonus is Spinners Disc Golf Shop off the 12th tee- a great way to get out of the hot sun and add to your plastic collection! I hear they play this course at night- This would be the option to stay out of the summer heat.
Cons: There are several pin placements on this course that intersect with the greens/pins of other holes. It is very confusing to figure whether multiple pins belong to just one hole or to several (none of the baskets are numbered!!!!!). This occurs on #1/18, #2/17, #3/16. Also navigation is really confusing getting to tees #4 and #8. "next tee" signs please!
Other Thoughts: I think that courses with multiple pins should follow PA course Tyler St. Park's example- put a little rotating dial which indicates which position the pin is in. It can save some walking and guessing, especially when it comes to doglegs. All pins should have a number and letter that indicate exactly where you are.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My first course

5+    9/1/2006   7/21/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great open course to play. Multiple basket positions. Very easy lay out to follow, except crossing from 3-4, cross the bridge to your right 4's pad is by the basketball court. Great signage. Locals are very friendly and easy to approach. Spinners On The Green pro shop located at the park. Great water holes. Course plays extremly long when it is set up in the Memorial layout. The club is working on getting more trees planted. Bathrooms and water on the course is always a plus.
Cons: Monsoon storms have taken their toll on the few trees that this park has and has left many hole scarred. Very soggy in the summer when the park is being watered.

It is a multi use park with many walkers, bikers, and runners in it because it is located on a green belt but that shouldn't affect your play.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course for the whole time I lived in Phoneix and I love playing it. Meet at hole 12 for doubles and handicap league.

For those that dis this course because it is too open I say this. Courses are different all over the country from extremely wooded to open fairways. Just because a course may be too open for you doesn't mean that it is not how a Disc Golf course should look or be. Variety is the spice of life.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a 4

1    6/25/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: AusTexDoc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Water is always a welcome challenge. Adjacent store to buy plastic. Cement tee pads (too bad they were all wet from sprinklers)
Cons: Too few trees to force technical shots. Wet and muddy in the summer early morning from sprinkers. Dog walkers and joggers on the trail need to be avoided. Needs markers on the baskets to direct to the next tee(s).
Other Thoughts: Moeur is more memorable

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 4 of 5 discs? Seriously?

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A open course set in a city park. Grass everywhere instead of the normal rock/dirt for the area. Baskets in good conditions as well as nice level concrete teepads. Water adds to the challenge on several holes, but a well thrown disc won't have any problems.
Cons: The signage is confusing on the holes. No maps left at the start and there was obvious navigation issues, especially between holes 3 and 4. Multiple baskets on each hole I presume. Standing on the teepad, there is easily 3 to 4 baskets that could be thrown at, but it is rather confusing to figure which ones belong to which hole. They do that for options in which to pick from, but way to confusing. Teepads are painted green and with the grass being wet from the sprinklers, the teepads get slick, watch your drives or you could end up on the ground. Park is flat and lacks a lot of trees. Trees are essential to a good disc golf course, something that has apparently been overlooked in Phoenix courses. Not a whole lot of variety in hole design, play the first few and that is what you get for the rest of the course. Also pay close attention to other park users as there is a trail throughout the park and a few homeless that don't know that a disc might be heading their way.
Other Thoughts: When I started ny review it was rated 4/5 discs. Really, a 4/5 disc rating? I definately stand by my 2.5/5 rating. The water shots on this course are something that is rare for the Phoenix area. There are few trees, but what they do have are used well. None of the holes really stand out for me. It is cool to have a great disc gold store right on site. Lots of beginners here and combine that with the other park users and it can make for some pretty long waits at times. For a much more technical challenge, I would head to another course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    6/29/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: grube.fresh
Played: 81  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: year round play, water,food, bathrooms,bar,pro shop spinners all within steps of hole 12. water on 4 holes add challenge. multiple pin placements. flat and grassy.
Cons: flat and grassy, not enough trees, must be able to throw 325 plus to cross water. they water during the day in the summer wich makes for wet tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: this course is a 4.5 during the winter when its cooler/no sprinklers/ temps below 110f.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.